check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Linda

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

A Whale Crossing Vacation Rental North Shore, Big Island

19 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hawi Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

PRIVATE OCEAN VIEW VACATION RENTAL. A Whale Crossing Vacation Rental is nestled on the coast of North Kohala, near Upolu Point, on the northwest tip of the Big Island of Hawaii. Enjoy the breathtaking ocean view from this cozy country cottage situated on a secluded pristine coastline. December til May, watch the majestic whales, jumping and singing while relaxing on your private lanai. Magnificent sunsets. Mystical moonbows. Magical Galaxy Bubbles. Enjoy the sounds of nature, birds, butterflies & whales :) The bedroom gazebo, sleeps two has a queen size bed, settee, cable TV,WIFI, CD/radio. The inclosed kitchenette has a double sink, two burner stove with oven, sm refrig, microwave, toaster, blender, coffee maker. pots, pans, dishes. Everything you need. Table & chairs on deck, lounge chairs & BarBQ in the yard. Awesome sunsets!

The bath house has an old-fashioned clawfoot tub with a tropical outdoor garden shower.

**Also available is THE HOUSE.. two story, two bedroom, full kitchen, with wrap around deck. Sleeps 5 Awesome ocean views

*Great hiking trails. Walking distance to the ocean and King Kamehameha's Birth Site and the Mo'okini Heiau. Just minutes to Hawi and Kapaau towns for great dining, galleries and shopping. Convenient location with a 45-minute dive to the Kailua Kona Airport, and 25 minute drive to the Gold Coast Resort beaches and golf. Hapuna Beach and Mauna Kea Beach ... the top 10 best beaches in the world. Come and enjoy this 'Special Rustic Hawaiian Experience' It is a special place!

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Linda (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Linda

My husband, Marty & I have lived here 35 years. We are so lucky! A Whale Crossing Vacation Rental is a 'Special Place'. We call it a Hawaiian Experience... Come visit.

We look forward to meeting you.

Why Linda chose Kohala Coast

It's the best.. very private in the country side. Only two houses on this road.

What makes this cottage unique

Very Historical...Walking distance to the ocean. Awesome Views!! Surrounded by 850 acres of Bishop Estate pasture land. Very Private...Whales give birth in the bay in front of our property.... Very Cool!! Some times the whales will wake us up at night flapping their tail and with their song. We have boogie boards, snorkel gear, beach chairs and even suntan lotion so come play.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is a "special place" A true Hawaiian Experience!
Jun 2008
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 19 traveler reviews

A Whale Crossing Vacation Rental North Shore, Big Island
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 20 reviews
5

Very Comfy

  • 5 of 5

We were very happy with our stay at Linda & Marty's vacation rental. The rental tiki-hut was very cozy, with a comfortable king bed and a full kitchen. It was close to town, yet far enough away that gives one a private, secluded feel. Gorgeous views of the ocean and Maui. Nicely landscaped. Close to a great hiking trail that takes you to a sacred ceremonial sacrificial site and King Kamehameha's birthplace.

We will definately stay again when spending time in north Hawaii.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Perfect place to just enjoy Hawaii

  • 5 of 5

This was the place we chose for our 20th Anniversary vacation. It did not disappoint. There is no stress here. Only peace and quiet, whale sightings, views and tranquility. We really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing it with us!

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming, Rustic & Unique

  • 5 of 5

We really like remoteness of the northwestern area off the Big Island of Hawaii. A Whale Crossing consists of a vacation house, a vacation cottage, and the owner’s home. On over an acre, there is plenty of privacy for all. We stayed in the thatch roofed cottage. Described as “rustic”, on the website, the cottage was wonderful. Kitchen, bathhouse, sitting area, a wonderful deck and some friendly geckos overlook the Maui channel. The bed is probably a king, not a queen. Seeing whales breach from your bed and listening to the waves break on the rocks at night make this location magical. It’s just about ½ mile walk to the waves breaking on the rocky shore. The location is very remote, quiet and peaceful. It provides a great opportunity to explore a part of the Big Island that many people never see. (And if you need wifi, it works great.)

The beauty of the location is surpassed by the hospitality afforded to us by the owners – Marty and Linda. They went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. If you need snorkeling gear, ice, mosquito repellant, a guitar (!), dining / hiking / driving recommendations – anything - they will make it happen.

If you’re looking for a unique experience in a magical place, consider staying at Whale Crossing, You’ll be glad you did!

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Auburn, WA
5

What a beautiful view and the most wonderful hosts -- Can't get any better!

  • 5 of 5

We had the best time at A Whale Crossing! Wonderful views of the Big Water with whale sightings every day as well as unbelievably beautiful sunsets. Our hosts, Linda and Marty, were so very friendly and knowledgeable about the area, and never hesitated to answer questions, share information, or make sure we had what we needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cottage, especially the outdoor shower set among tropical plants. The many birds of all types frequented the trees and plants around us and provided hours of enjoyment. The family Golden Retrievers were super friendly and polite, which allowed us to vicariously love our dogs waiting for us at home. Walks along the water's edge to the Birthplace of King Kamehameha and the Moʻokini Heiau were a wonderful start to a day of relaxation or activities, depending on our mood. We felt completely comfortable staying 'home' all day or heading out to nearby Hawi and Kapa'au to check out the fun shops, galleries, and restaurants, or over to Pololu to hike down to the black sand beach, or west to all the beautiful beaches, or into Waimea, or driving the beautiful Hamakua Coast over to Hilo, or or or... There is so much to do and see within a relatively short distance! Our accommodations suited us perfectly, and we fondly refer to the cottage as our "little grass shack." We were able to leave all our cares and worries behind and relaxed as one can truly do while island living. We can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Wyoming, USA
5

Perfection in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was unavailable, so we stayed in the 2BR house. Just the two of us. We have stayed in numerous other VRBO rentals on the Big Island and this was by far the best location. Nowhere else could we watch whales from the bedroom, have acres and acres of open country around us and live like local homesteaders. This place is unbelievably unique in its setting of wide open long distance views. No condo or high-end resort can match this experience. The accommodations are very comfortable and rustic in a really good way. The Hawaiian way. Linda was so helpful, and she knows everything about the area.

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Intoxicating, this cocktail

  • 5 of 5

Essence of Fijian bure; echo of Robinson Crusoe; whiff of Gilligan. Can you see the whales dance like luminous bubbles beneath the rainbow garnish? Can you feel the saffron finches tickle the frangipani? Can you hear Miles Davis performed on a washtub bass?

Experience Marty and Linda's welcoming embrace and you may forsake job and shoes forever. Both the cottage and house are utterly charming.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Kohala Historical Sites State Monument
"Walking distance to the ocean King Kamehameh's Birth Site and more historical sites"
Pololu Valley
Pololu Valley Lookout
Spencer Beach Park
King Kamehameha Statue
Hapuna Beach Park
"Top 10 beaches in the world..20 miles down the road"
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
KOA
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Bamboo Restaurant..Sushi Rock
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
King Kam Park 10 hole for $10
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Akoni Pule Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Sushi Rock, Minnie's
Nearest Beach
20 Miles
Mauna Kea..Hapuna Beach
Car: necessary

Walking distance to the ocean. (1500 ') Walking trails to Historical Sites, King Kamehameha's birth site and more

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hawi Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Tax Rate 13.4%

2nd UNIT ON PROPERTY 2 STORY 2 BEDROOM HOUSE SLEEPS 5.. FULL KITCHEN, WASHER/DRYER, WRAP AROUND DECK WITH AWESOME OCEAN VIEW... WALK TO THE OCEAN....YOU CAN HEAR THE WHALES!
**No refunds unless I'm able to re-book

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hawi Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Private Bath House has an Old Fashion Bath Tub with an Outside Garden Shower....Awesome!
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Other (See Description) - 1 king
  • KING size Bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
King Kam Park (3 miles in Kapaau Town) has a1/2 size Olympic size pool.. open free to the public with hot showers

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties