check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Carole Clarke

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Charming 18th Century Gamekeeper's Cottage at Williamstadt House

25 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Ballyglass Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 4

The GameKeeper's Cottage is a newly rennovated space in an 18th Century Coach House in the

Courtyard of Williamstadt House. (HomeAway listing #380103)

It boasts modern conveniences but period style and sits in the lush grounds

near the banks of Lough Derg, boasting views of the Tipperary hills across the Lake. There is a fifty acre private wood on the property with trails that run along the lake and private coves, perfect for swimming, kayaking and fishing. This is a listed Historic property which dates back to the 1700's.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Carole Clarke (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 25 traveler reviews

Charming 18th Century Gamekeeper's Cottage at Williamstadt House
average rating of 4.96 based on 25 reviews
Annapolis, Md
5

Wonderful cottage with fantastic hosts

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the Gamekeepers cottage. It was comfortable and cozy and the grounds were beautiful. It had wonderful old buildings, beautiful flowers and very friendly animals, especially Sally and Walter. Carole and Kevin were fantastic hosts and gave us great advice on local interests and places to visit and where to eat. We greatly enjoyed sitting by the fire and relaxing at night in the cottage and would highly recommend this beautiful place to others.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Delightful stay at the Gamekeeper's Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Our family fell in love with the Gamekeeper's Cottage from the moment we pulled in the driveway. Pictures can not capture the remarkable character this place has to offer, not to mention the wonderful hospitality of the hosts Kevin and Carole. We felt so at home here. Our 10 year old daughter and 6 year old son were enamored with the the dogs, chickens, ducks and horse. Collecting duck eggs remains a highlight of their trip. We hope to be back next year. Great location with easy proximity to King John's Castle, Birr Castle, the Cliffs of Moher, Bunratty Castle and the Burren.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming, friendly, and Great Location

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I booked the Gamekeeper's Cottage for a 2 week family stay as a graduation gift for our daughter in June 2016. She had always dreamed of visiting Ireland and seeing not just the main tourist attractions, but she wanted to experience the "real, everyday life" in Ireland. After a lot of searching vacation packages, and tour companies, we just couldn't find that out-of-the way, casual, authentic location she was looking for. We almost gave up, but then we found Gamekeeper's Cottage, it looked and sounded promising. Once we arrived our expectations were even better than imagined. The accommodation is so charming, clean and refreshing, and had everything we needed and more. We could not have asked for a better stay. Not only was the location perfect for making day trips to all kinds of interesting tourist destinations, it was also quaint and away from any crowded town or city. We enjoyed their two little dogs, Walter and Sally; and were amused by the little ducklings waddling around and playing in the natural spring watering hole right outside our door. And, after some coaxing, our daughter was finally able to get their horse to eat from her hand, and we have to say - we loved it! The hosts, Carole and Kevin, made our stay even more perfect. They offered advice on what to see, and also asked what we were interested in, and then made more recommendations based on our interests. Carole was helpful in recommending routes that took us by unexpected ruins and quaint little shops and great pubs and coffee shops. We visited a wonderful local shop that she had recommended and bought locally made cheeses that where better than any we'd had from home. Even though we went out almost every day to sight-see, we had found ourselves just wanting to take of couple of days to "stay in" and enjoy visiting with our hosts, walking the grounds and visiting near-by villages. After an afternoon of visiting with Kevin, he learned of our daughter's interest in reading. The next day, when we arrived back at the cottage, our daughter was so excited to see a stack of books with local writer's poems, and stories he left for her to read. She read them for the rest of the trip and plans on buying a few. The only lament we had, was more time to spend in this charming place. I don't think we've ever been so sad to leave a vacation destination. We home to return someday soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Authentic Irish experience!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, brother and sister in law and I stayed in the game keeper's cottage for a week in May 2016. The rustic cottage is fully equipped and homey. Carole and Kevin were attentive hosts who ensured we were comfortable for the duration of our visit. It was a truly authentic Irish experience, much more than we expected! They provided us with tips for travel that made our site seeing easy and allowed us to see sites that are off the beaten path. Close to many tourist spots. Trust Carole's scenic direction as the GPS way is not nearly as pretty. The area around Lough Derg is beautiful and minutes walk from the cottage. We enjoyed meeting many locals who dropped by to visit the Clarke's. Kevin has many interesting stories that we enjoyed hearing while we sat under the stars in the courtyard. We felt at home, down to the morning greetings from the pups Walter and Sally. The Clarke's are lovely, caring and hilariously funny people and exceptional hosts. Already planning a trip back. Couldn't ask for a better time in Ireland!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It's pure authentic Ireland!

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't have made a better choice! Our hosts Carole and Kevin made our stay memorable. They know all the best things to do and see in the area. The renovated accommodations in the rustic farm setting were comfortable and charming.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Essex, Vermont, USA
5

Exceeded oOr Expectations And Then Some #1

  • 5 of 5

My wife, her cousin, and I stayed in the Gamekeepers Cottage attached to the Williamstadt Manor house in Whitegate for five nights in September. Everything about the stay was wonderful. Maureen and Bill planned to do some research and sightseeing around family history in Clare and the Gamekeeper's Cottage was perfectly situated between Killaloe and Crusheen where the family had roots. The Cottage looked lovely on the website but in reality was ten times better! The courtyard, the cottage, the main house, the grounds, the animals, gardens, the sibin (shebeen), and the hand-painted murals on the walls simply overjoyed us. My wife was absolutely taken by the authenticity and beauty of the place. It added so much to her experience in Clare on an the trail of ancesters!!!

The rooms were very comfortable and uniquely decorated, Kevin and Carole related fascinating stories about the furnishings, as well as many other stories and tales of the area. As hosts they were perfect. Kevin would lay a fire for us just before dusk and we often shared a drink and conversation together in the manor house. Kevin and Carole were very relaxed and easy to be with. We felt welcomed and at ease and had the run of the grounds!

The Cottage is self-catering and the kitchen is well equipped for cooking. Carole had great recommendations for food shopping, butchers, spirit shops, and other basic needs. There are not a lot of restaurants right in the Whitegate area so cooking at home is a good choice, unless you plan to be out for the evening listening to Irish music in Doolin or Ennis, which have a lot of good places to eat. Right in Whitegate, however, is a small, friendly pub called the Half Barrel which has very good food. Carole also helped us in finding a local genealogist, who was excellent, and in gathering information for local fishing prospects. She really worked hard for us in the months prior to our trip to connect with people for help and research.

We would not hesitate to return to Williamstadt Manor/Gamekeeper's Cottage for another stay

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Shannon Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The nightingale
Nearest Ferry
45 Miles
Kilrush
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Portumna
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Half Barrell
Nearest Beach
45 Miles
Lahinch

The gamekeeper's cottage is 1 mile from the village of Whitegate which has a restaurant and 2 pubs. The scenic village of Mountshannon is 6 miles away, Scarriff is 12 miles, Killaloe 17 miles. Limerick, Galway,Ennis and Bunratty Castle and folk park are all within an hour's drive. The Burren and the Cliffs of Moher an hour and a half away. Portumna and East Clare golf courses are within thirty minutes drive. The lovely villages of Garrykennedy, Dromineers and Terryglass are across the lake in Tipperary and are within 30 minutes by boat. Holy Island is 10 minutes by boat from Mountshannon. Cragganowen is a 20 minute drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ballyglass Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Shoulder
Sep 1 2016 - Dec 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$85
From
$90
Fri,Sat
$550
$2,000
 
 
Peak
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 8 2017
4 night minimum stay
$100
From
$110
Fri,Sat
$650
$2,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$90
$600
$2,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $75

100/nt - 500 w/k
required deposit to book, balance due 30 days prior to arrival.
$75 Cleaning fee

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ballyglass Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Boat Dock
  • Courtyard
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Walkway to Water
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • forests
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers