Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Fuller Breeze Cottage - a Favorite for Family Reunions

Bedrooms 6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12-16)

This unique island property originally built in 1929 was completely renovated in 1996. The house retains the character and charm of a traditional beach house with all the modern amenities. Lots of space for family gatherings.

Two separate living areas, two kitchens, a large deck with outdoor eating areas, and three screened porches with porch swings and rocking chairs allow for private time also. The house can be rented in its entirety, or rented as one of two wings, depending on your needs. ''Fuller Breeze'' in total has six bedrooms, broken down into ''’Lesser Breeze'' having two and ''Island Breeze'' having four.

Located a short walk from the ocean in a quiet neighborhood, one mile to the pier and village on the island-wide paved bike path.

The interiors recreate the original house built in the 1920's by our grandparents, but with modern comforts. All rooms feature beaded board ceilings and overhead fans. Parking for up to six cars, two of which can be parked under the house out of the weather.

''Fuller Breeze'' has six bedrooms: three queen size beds, two bedrooms have a double bed, and the sixth bedroom has two twins. A queen sofa sleeper is also available in each living room.

Two fully equipped kitchens have a gas stove, electric oven, dishwasher, refrigerator (both with icemakers). The larger kitchen has a dining table seating 8-10 and a breakfast bar seating 4. The rear deck has two tables seating four each. The rear porch has dining seating for 6.

Each living room has a television, VCR, DVD, stereo with CD. An iPod dock with speakers is located in the main living room, this large space opens through french doors to the rear deck. Two stack washer/dryers, wi-fi, and an outdoor gas grill are available for your use.

We hope you enjoy our home as much as we do! St. Simons Island is a special place every season of the year. We are happy to share ''Fuller Breeze'' with you!

Keywords: House

More Details

Judy Body
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2017

About Judy Body

Owned by two sisters (native Atlantans), we consider St. Simons our second home.

Our connection to St. Simons goes back to the early 1900's. Our maternal grandparents, Leo and Harry Fuller, came to the island beginning on their honeymoon around 1910, arriving on the Emmaline and Hessie ferries and staying at the Arnold House.

They loved the island so much they purchased the first lots available in the first island subdivision planned near the Arnold House (roughly where the King and Prince Hotel is today) for $500. Our property was once the vegetable garden for the Arnold House and also had some type of aviary on it. At that time the ocean was visible from the front porches. Our grandfather was raised in Maine and surely thought he had gone to heaven, especially the year he grew 8 ft. tomato plants!

Photographs of our grandparents’ many adventures and old St. Simons scenes are framed on the walls of house.

The two modest cottages were enjoyed by our family for almost 70 years. We rebuilt the houses in 1996 raising and joining the two houses that once sat side by side. A large living/dining/kitchen room was added between the two houses with parking below. The houses can now be rented and enjoyed as one large 6 bedroom house or two individual houses, one with 4 bedrooms, one with 2 bedrooms.

Judy Body purchased this house in 1929

Why Judy Body chose Coastal Georgia

Our property was created with family in mind. The furnishings are comfortable and the layout provides for together time as well as alone time. The flavor of the interiors is that of the original island cottages. The location of ''Fuller Breeze'' is ideal....a few minutes walk to the beach, restaurants, and a short bike ride to the village or try a longer ride on the island-wide bike path. Even golf carts are for rent nearby.

What makes this house unique

''Fuller Breeze'' feels like home from the minute you walk in the door. A place to relax and wind down. Settle down in the rocking chairs or on the porch swing. We do not have white sofas!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for allowing my family to stay in your home. We enjoyed our stay. We had ages from 6 months to 91 her with us. We enjoyed every minute!
Sep 2015
  • 1 of 8


Saint Simons Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2), Child Beds (1) A Pack and Play is provided
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Ceiling fans are in all rooms, we also have an outdoor shower with hot water.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Fuller Breeze Cottage - a Favorite for Family Reunions
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 14 reviews
Greenwood, South Carolina

Great Older House with Lots of Character

  • 5 of 5

We loved Fuller Breeze and Lesser Breeze for our extended family of 14. House has lots of old fashion character with modern AC and kitchens. The great room was wonderful for our 14 plus 3 who stayed elsewhere but ate with us. The kitchen was good and the dining area was GREAT. We really liked the porches but didn't use them much because of the heat. Bedrooms were small but worked fine. Three short blocks (easy walk) to good wide beach. If you need to ride, parking at beach is adequate early and late in the day. We enjoyed using the gas grill.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so glad your family enjoying creating wonderful memories at our home, and hope to host you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, TX

Our Second Home

  • 5 of 5

Fuller Breeze, Lesser Breeze, and the cutest little house right next door (I forget the exact name) have served as our family vacation home(s) for four different visits now over the course of 17 years. To call this place a "rental" doesn't do it justice. Fuller Breeze is our second home. The openness of the living room/kitchen is inspiring and perfect as a common area for a large family like ours. Not only is the beach super close, but there several cute shops and restaurants within walking distance that are delightful. There are so many great porches with plenty of sitting room, and are extremely well kept along with the swings and rocking chairs. I cannot say enough good things about this place and I will be counting down the days until we get to go back. There will never be another vacation home that is as special and charismatic as Fuller Breeze and I give my HIGHEST recommendation!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Madison AL USA

Perfect for multifamily vacation with small children

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here in 2010 and could not have asked for a better place to come with family and a few close friends- the adopted family that you gather along the way :) The lesser breeze connects to the Fuller Breeze off the main room- makes a quiet side of the house if you need one. Also, there are two laundry areas. This was an unexpected surprise that was also very helpful. The covered parking was a great place to slip the beach gear. Much easier than a small hotel room could handle... I did see the negative review- things are not all brand new- but in a light homey vintage eclectic style. The kitchen was very well stocked and super functional to feed a large group from :) Thank you so much for sharing your home. (We were looking on VRBO today just to see if the home was still out there- hopeful wishes for next summer)... we actually stayed in Jul/Aug 2010 but the dates would not allow us to go back that far.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you, and your family & friends enjoyed your vacation on St. Simons and in Fuller Breeze Cottage! When our extended family stays in the house, we have also found that Lesser Breeze is a great place to escape the group...or if that's occupied one of the three porches works! Great point about the covered parking area being a helpful storage area. It's safe too! We often store bikes, kayaks, and beach chairs down there. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope that you can return next summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newton, MA, USA

A Family Reunion Favorite

  • 5 of 5

We have rented this property for a number of years. It is the number one favorite vacation spot for our extended family. We find the home attractive, comfortable, clean, and well supplied, with all of the beach gear, kitchen amenities and furniture, books, movies and puzzles we ever need. We especially enjoy the four porches, on the largest of which we often eat, grill and visit, as well as the fig tree and the little blueberry bush. We love this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA

Family Renunion

  • 4 of 5

For the last 6 years my family and I have come from different parts of the country to spend time together at the beach. This was the perfect house for a large group of people. Some young, some old, we could all be together or if not in the large family room it had nice smaller sitting areas inside and out. In addition to the 6 bedrooms they had foldout sofas in the small den area that the young kids liked piling up in and sleeping together. Very roomy and very comfortable. It was a short walk to the beach that seemed kinda of private so we could all come and go at different times. Definitely will be back next year.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Chattanooga, TN

Pictures are deceiving.

  • 2 of 5

My family and I was disappointed in the state of the outside and inside of the home. The grounds have not been properly taken care of and all of the porches need re-building. The outside of the home itself could you a good washing.

Although clean, the furnishings inside of the home were old. The cable would not work properly. When called to complain we were given an alternative to bypass the cable box (which we did) and told someone would be out to look at it Monday - that never happened.

Until the outside of the home is better maintained on the outside, and some upgrades made inside and out, I would not recommend this to a friend or relative.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: After receiving 99% positive reviews since 1997, we were surprised to have the above posted on VRBO. This home has been in our family for 4 generations, we do not think of it as rental property but our own second home and care for it as such. Photos on the website are updated as needed and in fact show the home exactly as it is. The customer review has made a statement regarding the conditions of the decks/porches at our home that can be interpreted as that they are unsafe. This kind of interpretation could be very damaging to us. The decks/porches are most definitely not in need of rebuilding, but surface sanding and sealing at the most. Regarding the grounds, we have a service that provides bi-weekly attention. The whole Southeast has been in a drought for two years, so perhaps it does not look as tropical as they had wished. The property is in a residential setting and is designed appropriately as far as the plant materials go. The driveway is crushed shells and is supplemented regularly. Our furnishings are updated annually and on an as-needed basis. To contend that it is dirty or old is just insulting. The house is furnished to be comfortable for families, it is not hotel-like or overly decorated. The cable situation would have been addressed by the company that handles repairs for us on a 24 hour on-call basis. I am not sure what time the service was called for and if perhaps no one was there when the service people did arrive? This same company reports any condition issues to us weekly after cleaning the house regarding the interior and the exterior. We maintain our property very well, and are sorry that these renters felt that the aesthetics made for a bad vacation. We typically do large scale cleaning and repairs in the Fall after peak season. We hope that the majority of people that have rented from us via VRBO will continue to pass along their positive comments (we keep a guest book) and enjoy their family gatherings at our home. VRBO’s policy is to print reviews without edit or confirmation.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2


Nearest Point of Interest
Community Pool, Water Park, and Playground
Nearest Point of Interest
The Village and Pier
Nearest Point of Interest
Community Tennis Court
Nearest Point of Interest
Demere Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Myrtle Street Beech

Our property is located a short walk to the beach and one mile from the pier and village. Close to bike and golf cart rentals as well as kayak, windsailing and paddle board rentals. Surf fishing and crabbing either in the ocean at the pier are popular. The village shops provide something for everyone. Many restaurants are one block away and many more in the village area.


Rates & Availability

Saint Simons Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Aug 8 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jan 1 2018 - Feb 28 2018
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200

Please inquire about GA/FLA weekend rates.
During the peak summer months of June and July we try to rent from Saturday to Saturday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties