check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Nate and Jenny Orsburn

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Quiet and charming, views of historic Leelanau county, close to beaches

29 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Empire House Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms (1 master bedroom and 1 loft) sleeps up to 6, 1 full bathroom

Property is located within Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakshore, close to hiking trails and beaches. The Village of Empire is just a couple of miles up M-22 for restaurants, coffee and shopping. Empire beach was voted the best sunset beach in 2015. Enjoy all that Leelanau County has to offer, fruit stands, rivers for kayaking and amazing dune bluffs for views of Lake Michigan.

Sit on the front porch or by the campfire (firewood provided) and enjoy open views of nature and historic Leelanau County. The house has one master bedroom with king size water bed and an open loft upstairs with three beds (2 twin and 1 full size). There is a full size kitchen with cookware, living room, and one full bathroom. A laundry room includes a washer and dryer for you to use. We provide satellite TV and Wi-Fi at no additional cost. For 2016, a there are larger TVs, and a smart TV in the living room. If you do need to unwind and watch a movie we do provide a TV and DVD player in living room and master bedroom, with numerous DVDs for you to enjoy. We provide towels but do not provide bed linens nor pillows, please bring bed linens and pillows with you. Outdoor seating and a charcoal grill are available.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Nate and Jenny Orsburn (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 29 traveler reviews

Quiet and charming, views of historic Leelanau county, close to beaches
average rating of 4.965517 based on 29 reviews
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time! The cottage was clean, had everything we could every want, beds were comfortable, atmosphere was quiet and relaxing. We had a great time watching the wildlife (saw many deer and one grey fox who came right up to the porch) star gazing and even saw a small bit of the Northern Lights. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful place with us!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dayton, Ohio
5

Quiet & Peaceful, Perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

This property is a real gem! This is our second stay and it was fantastic. The location is a great place to unwind and only minutes from the beach and other activities. The amenities are nice (washer, dryer, wi-fi, sat TV, etc) and it's spotlessly clean. We saw deer everyday and heard the coyotes just about every night. It's also great for stargazing . We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a clean and comfortable house in a perfect location - look no further. We love this place and have stayed twice. Both times the charming home with beautiful views of a prairie field left us longing to return.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States
5

Another great vacation!

  • 5 of 5

This is our third year coming to this house. We love it and wouldn't stay anywhere else. It is clean, comfy, peaceful, and is perfectly located.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very comfortable atmosphere

  • 5 of 5

Our first thoughts upon arriving at this property were about the relaxing setting. Then upon entering the house we were very pleased with the cleanliness of this property! It was such a pleasing, comfortable place to come back to each day of our stay after hiking, swimming, dune climbing, wine tasting, and shopping. Another major plus was that we were able to enjoy all the above activities without spending a lot of time driving. The location of this property worked out so well for my husband and I that we will certainly want to return here for another round. We would like to bring our grandkids to the dunes in the not too distant future as they are 8 and 5 now and love the outdoors. Highly recommend this place!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Perfect Place for Our Family!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Nate and Jenny's house (just outside of Empire) was so wonderful! This was our third trip to Sleeping Bear Dunes (in three years!) and it was just what we needed (simply perfect!)-- a beautiful, relaxing, and very clean home to just be together as a family (property is exactly as described, but better in person) -- enjoyed a porch swing (loved it!), old fashioned horse shoes, a great view west for sunsets while sitting on the porch swing, great amenities within the home, close proximity to so many things (we did and loved all of these!): Dune Climb, Fish Town, Leland, Empire Bluff hike, Empire Beach -(great for sun and fun during the day and beautiful sunsets), Traverse City, Mission Peninsula - (vineyards/wine, cherry picking, light house, picnics on the beach, and a trip to the old fashioned general store for treats and fun conversation) and great ice cream in downtown Empire after a day at the beach. Nate and Jenny provided great trip tips! We were so pleased with this home as it was so clean when we arrived (we like "clean"), and all that was on their property was so kindly placed -- a swing for young children (while tempting, our kids were too big), charcoal grill (we grilled almost every night), fire pit, sweet garden shed, lavender growing (smelled so good) along front walk -- very comfortable "family living" inside for all five of us. No matter what time in the evening or day, many great chess matches too (even a chess set ready to play!)! Each night, a few deer would run across the field close to the house. Our youngest lost a "long distance" staring contest with one of the deer one evening. We did not see porcupine, bear, or fox. We are so very glad we stayed here! Beyond their great home, Nate and Jenny are also very kind and compassionate as our trip followed a very difficult time for us with the loss of a parent (and grandparent to our children). With the uncertainty and emotion in the weeks leading up to our trip, their understanding was such a blessing. Knowing the wish of our parent, we still came and the trip was just what we needed, and Nate and Jenny's home was "like home" to us during a week to be grateful for being together as a family in such a beautiful place -- we will be back again. Thank you so much Nate and Jenny!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
24 Miles
Traverse City
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Joe's Friendly/Village Inn
Nearest Ferry
28 Miles
Manitou Island Transit
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Dunes Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
M-22
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Village Inn
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
The Homestead Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Empire Village Beach
Car: necessary

Home is located within a couple miles of the quaint Village of Empire within Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore. Everything you need for a stay you can find in Empire. Traverse City is a nice 25 minute drive away for a more urban experience. Hiking trails and beaches are within walking / biking distance from the house.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Empire House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2016 Fall
Sep 10 2016 - Oct 28 2016
3 night minimum stay
$115
$675
 
 
2017 spring
Apr 7 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$95
$590
 
 
2017 Memorial Week
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$115
$675
 
 
2017 summer
Jun 3 2017 - Sep 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,085
 
 
2017 fall
Sep 9 2017 - Oct 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$120
$675
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 6.0%

A $250 deposit is reqiuired 5 days after the reservation is made. Full fees are due 15 days before check in. Deposit is returned with in 7 days of a successfull check out.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Empire House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Ducted Heating
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Laundry Soap
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , loft
  • Bed linens and pillows not provided, please bring own
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • skiing
  • swimming
Notes:
Pets are not allowed, smoking is not allowed in the house. We now have Wi-Fi in the house.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties