Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Weeks in June and August still available this summer. Call for specials!

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Space 3,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 14-18)

3000 square foot private vacation home located in the beautiful Northwoods of Wisconsin on Dam Lake. Newly remodeled property is perfect for one family or can sleep up to 20. Beautiful deck overlooking the lake creates lifelong memories.

Amenities include lower level game room and fire pit overlooking the lake. All watersports encouraged, including a 14-foot fishing boat and powerboats available. Excellent walleye, musky, smallmouth bass, crappie and perch fishing on the lake. Great hunting in the fall and winter for big and small game. It is the snowmobiling capital of the world. Great for downhill or cross-country skiing, hiking and sightseeing. The activities are endless in all seasons. Great for family vacations, holiday gatherings, family reunions, corporate getaways or a weekend away. Call now for our specials.

Keywords: Up North Vacation Home

More Details

Property Manager
Pete Schlosser
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2018

About Pete Schlosser

My 3 brothers and I own the Sprucewood on Dam Lake. We are all from Oconomowoc, WI. We love this property in the north woods and have made many great memories with our families over the years.

Pete Schlosser purchased this house in 2003

Why Pete Schlosser chose Eagle River

We chose to buy this home after renting it for a number of years. We had always expressed an interest in the property to the owner and told him that if he ever considered selling to please let us know. The time came that the owner moved to Florida and we were fortunate enough to get the call from him.

What makes this house unique

The serenity and beauty is unmatched. You are truly in one of the most peaceful places in the world. The lake is beautiful and a fantastic fishing lake as well. It is a class AAA musky lake. Great boating and skiing lake as well as being on the chain of 4 other lakes on the Sugar Camp chain of lakes. The dining in the area is tremendous and the overall northwoods experience is wonderful.

Guestbook comments from the manager

The kitchen, living room and interior has just been upgraded and looks absolutely beautiful. Not many places in the North Woods as nice and as spacious as Sprucewood. Great time. We will defintiely return.
May 2007
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Eagle River House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
25% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
Weeks in June and August still available this summer. Call for specials!
average rating of 4.3 based on 21 reviews
2

we were a little disappointed in the house for the price

  • 2 of 5

the tub faucet didn't work like it should - we had to turn it several times to get warm water

the couch in the basement had mold on it

there were signs of mice

there was no fooz ball table like it said when we looked to see what the house had

we found the baby crib in a storage room in the basement but we would not use it because of the way it looked

the bolts on the bar stools were loose so they were not safe to sit on

the wall knob for the thermostat in the one bedroom was missing so we couldn't turn it to adjust the heat

the kitchen faucet leaked

the toilet leaked

the toilet seats were not clean

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very disappointed to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay and we definitely want to take care of you. We are also very surprised to hear of many of the things you mentioned as we have had renters in the home for multiple weekends prior to your stay and we were not made aware of any of your claims. To address your concerns we had our property manager immediately go to the house and report on the issues you mentioned: - The tub faucet was in working order and you do need to turn it 3 revolutions to receive hot water. - Our property manager did not find mold on the couch in the basement, however it is an older couch and we asked them to remove it and it has since been replaced with a new couch. - We apologize for the signs of mice. Sometimes that does happen this time of year up north. We do have Plunkett's Pest Control manage the property monthly. They came immediately and didn't find signs of mice, but did add additional mice control to prevent anything in the future. - The heirloom baby crib in the storage area of the basement is not intended for use unless in an emergency. We advise all renters with small children to bring their own pack n play to use. - The bolts on the stools can come loose, but typically our property managers check them and tighten them if necessary each week. Our apologies for the loose bolts. - There are not wall thermostats in any of the bedrooms. All temperatures are regulated by the gauge on the baseboard heaters. - The kitchen faucet has been replaced with a brand new model. - Our property managers could not find a leak at the toilet, but re-sealed all areas that could possibly leak. - We apologize if the toilet seats were not clean. That is something that is addressed by our cleaning crew before every rental and should always be clean. There is no excuse for that and has been address with our property managers. When you requested that we buy the NASCAR channel for you for the weekend we were happy to do so, even though it ended up taking us hours to get it done over 2 days through our provider. Please contact me as we would like to make this situation right for you as we want everyone to have a great experience at Sprucewood. Thanks again for staying with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Fantastic Stay in the Northwoods!

  • 5 of 5

Great week in the north woods! What a beautiful home. Our group of 10 had plenty of room to relax and enjoy the serenity of up north Wisconsin. The house itself was clean and cozy. No issues at all for us. The TV in the kitchen/dining area is a nice touch and the kids played pool for hours in the basement. From the time of booking to the day we left, both the owner and the manager made us feel welcome and were very accommodating. We lucked out with the weather as we only had one partial day of rain. We spent most of the days relaxing on the lake. The kids loved swimming to and jumping off the raft and paddling around in the boat. We also caught enough walleye and perch to have a nice fish fry! Delicious! The location is nice as well as it is about a 10 min drive to the grocery store in St. Germain and about a 5 min trip to Elmers Go Karts. The kids AND the adults had a blast here! We had pizza at Knockers one night, and dinner at Northern Pines another. Both are highly recommended. When not at the lake, we spent most of our time around the campfire and on the very large deck overlooking the lake. Saw several bald eagles and even had deer walk right up to the house in the back! Can't say enough about this stay. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Todd, glad to hear you had a great stay. Look forward to having you stay with us again. Pete
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect for our Wedding

  • 5 of 5

We hosted a small wedding ceremony and reception in the backyard for 25 people and the location was perfect. The house was plenty big enough for most of our guests to stay with us and for everyone to comfortably sit inside in the evening. The lake access was wonderful - we opted not to get a boat as it was rainy most of our stay - but we fished off the dock and it was a perfect spot to fish all day. The bedrooms were very comfortable and the master bedroom had plenty of space for myself, maid of honor, mother, aunt, and sister in law to all get ready. The living space and kitchen are also very comfortable and updated. The house came with everything we needed for the week and even had extras in the garage such as grilling supplies and life vests for the kids. We would definitely recommend this rental for family getaways or other events and would certainly rent again!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Oshkosh, WI
5

Great Weekend

  • 5 of 5

My family and I just spent a great weekend here. The kids had a great time, the fishing was pretty good and even the dogs enjoyed the swimming! Very quiet, peaceful area, huge house to allow for the kids to be in the lower level while the adults were upstairs and they couldn't be heard. A couple of maintenance issues but nothing to take away from the good time that was had by all. Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Rustic, not fancy, but comfortable

  • 4 of 5

First of all, want to make it clear we had a great time here and would come again. The house is spacious, lots of room, great yard on a terrific, quiet lake. Furnishings are not fancy, even worn, but comfortable. We were there with a bunch of kids and never felt threatened by the furnishings. No air conditioning, but not really necessary. No wi-fi: a blessing. Lots of peace; often the loudest sounds were the songs of the Eagles! Lake access is down a group of stairs, but they are easily navigated and the immediate swim area is very kid friendly. We rented a pontoon from Bubba's boats and it was there on the pier on arrival-glad we did, as the kids were tubing or swimming sunrise to sunset. There is a crummy old rowboat with one oar. That initiates the negatives-small stuff: one bathroom door doesn't lock. Lots of lighting doesn't work. Some of the carpeting is beat up. Several windows don't open. None of this affected our experience, but might bother others. Overall, a great vacation rental.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Pewaukee, WI
5

Dave

  • 5 of 5

10 of us had a great Christian Retreat easily accommodating all of our needs for a long weekend of fun, relaxation, great eats, worship, sightseeing... Incredible views from the family room of the lake with a fireplace! Haven't been here in the Summer but imagine the North Woods have to be stunning as they sure were in the Winter!! Big Property with plenty of bedrooms to accommodate big families or large group of friends. A must Do Place to Visit.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.