check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Keow Law

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, mandarin, chinese, Bahasa Malaysia

Cozy, Clean Cobble Hill Brownstone

18 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Cobble Hill Apartment Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 4, extra bed provided for extra guest

This beautiful and spacious Garden apartment takes up an entire floor of our 1880s brownstone. It has its own backyard which is great for summertime barbecue.

Our building is only two to three stops from Manhattan via the 4, 5, and F trains, and a couple of stops from Williamsburg, Brooklyn. Compare this to other Brooklyn apartments that are half an hour or more from Manhattan. We are also only steps away from Pier 6 where you can hop on a water taxi into the city or Governor's Island, play some beach volleyball or walk down the promenade. Easy access to Grocery stores for food shopping and other daily amenities as well.

Cobble Hill is a great neighborhood bordering Brooklyn Heights and Carroll Gardens - all of which are filled with quaint and award winning restaurants (Sushi, Thai, Irish pubs, Americana you name it), shops, French cafes and parks. Admire the 1800s architecture as you stroll through this historic neighborhood - you may even decide to spend the day exploring this area rather than venture into Manhattan.

The apartment has a queen bed with a memory foam mattress top, a comfortable gigantic sofa that is large enough to seat 4-5 or sleep one comfortably, two brand new LCD TVs with DirecTV, a kitchen with stainless steel range and new cookware, original hardwood floors. We know you will enjoy your stay here with us!

The backyard/garden is shared with me and my family - if you plan to have an event in the backyard please contact me ahead of time to coordinate.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Keow Law (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, mandarin, chinese, Bahasa Malaysia

About Keow Law

Hey, I’m Keow Law!

New York, New York, United States · Member since December 2011

I've owned my home in Brooklyn since 1994, I'm a former restaurateur and chef. I'm friendly, easygoing and looking forward to making connections on Homeaway.

What makes this apartment unique

This beautiful and spacious Garden apartment takes up an entire floor of our 1880s brownstone. It has its own backyard which is great for summertime bbqing. The backyard/garden is shared with me and my family - if you plan to have an event in the backyard please contact me ahead of time to coordinate.

Our building is only two to three stops from Manhattan via the 4, 5, and F trains, and a couple of stops from Williamsburg, Brooklyn. Compare this to other Brooklyn apartments that are half an hour or more from Manhattan. We are also only steps away from Pier 6 where you can hop on a water taxi into the city or Governor's Island, play some beach volleyball or walk down the promenade. Easy access to Grocery stores for food shopping and other daily amenities as well.

Cobble Hill is a great neighborhood bordering Brooklyn Heights and Carroll Gardens - all of which are filled with quaint and award winning restaurants (Sushi, Thai, Irish pubs, Americana you name it), shops, French cafes and parks. Admire the 1800s architecture as you stroll through this historic neighborhood - you may even decide to spend the day exploring this area rather than venture into Manhattan.

The apartment has a queen bed with a memory foam mattress top, a comfortable gigantic sofa that is large enough to seat 4-5 or sleep one comfortably, two brand new LCD TVs with DirecTV, a kitchen with stainless steel range and new cookware, original hardwood floors. We know you will enjoy your stay here with us!

Interaction with Guests

100%

Other Things to Note

The unit sleeps 4. 1 bedroom apartment, 2 extra guest sleep in the living room with a full size and a single size pull out couch provided. There is a door in between the living room and the bedroom.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful experience having our relatives stay at Keow's home. It was so comfortable with everything needed for a great stay. Beds are great with lovely linens. Kitchen is equipped with all you need to make a meal instead of having to rely on going out all the time. It rained for the days they stayed so did not have a chance to hang out in the back garden, which was disappointing as it looks lovely from the kitchen windows. Also of note, even though it is right next to a busy street, it was very quiet. More quiet than our apartment further back in Brooklyn.

Keow was super nice and was very easy to communicate with for any questions. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone wanting to stay in Brooklyn - and especially to have an entire apartment with all conveniences available. It is a great place to stay.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 14

Reviews

4.8
based on 18 traveler reviews

Cozy, Clean Cobble Hill Brownstone
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 32 reviews
5

Clean, Quiet, and Convenient

  • 5 of 5

This place really worked well for us. Although it is a bit of a walk to the subway, it was really nice to have a place to relax at the end of the day. There is a nice grocery store close by and there is also a Trader Joe's if that is more your style. We had most of our groceries delivered to us using Fresh Direct which have some fantastic meal kits. As this is a rental, do not expect any staple grocery supplies, so by using the meal kits we did not need to purchase a bunch of pantry items to cook meals. The only real negative thing I have to say is that there are not many pots or pans in the property and there were no baking sheets, not that we wanted to heat up the oven in the middle of August ;). The air conditioning was fantastic and we were very comfortable even though the heat index reached 110 degrees! I want to thank Keow for her wonderful hospitality and I would gladly rent this property again!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home away from home in Cobble Hill

  • 5 of 5

This was our first experience with VRBO and we could not have been more pleased. Don't let the BQE across the street worry you, the unit is very quiet, more so than on some of the interior streets in the area, and the submerged freeway is out of your sight lines. The host was friendly and very helpful, yet we never felt like we had anyone watching over us. The unit was well stocked for a lengthy stay, all we added were our groceries. The neighborhood is quaint, quiet and full of options for dining, shopping and places to meet up with friends. A sizable grocery store was a block away. Our stay coincided with the blizzard of 2016 and our host was out shoveling on and off all day so we would not be inconvenienced by the snow, keeping our entry clear and safe. Considering we travel to Brooklyn several times a year we will definitely check this listing before looking elsewhere. There is no comparison in value, the VRBO beats the hotels in the area hands down! Thanks to Keow for going above and beyond our expectations!

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gem in the heart of Brooklyn

  • 5 of 5

3 adults - stayed 10 days at the end of October 2015

From the moment I inquired about the apartment Keow was very helpful. She answered my emails very quickly! Could not ask for a better host!

When we first arrived at the apartment it was a little scary as it is on a main road, but once inside we couldn't hear hardly any noise. This apartment is in the basement of Keow's house so if you need anything she is easy to get hold of. Very clean and has everything you need. The bed is amazing and extremely comfortable. Sofa is massive and just what you need at the end of the day. Lots of space to hang your clothes and a pile of clean towels for you to use.

The neighbourhood is beautiful. There are 3 subway stations - Bergen St and Carroll St are within a 10 min walk and Clark St is about 20 mins and they all go to the centre of Manhattan within 20-30 mins. We preferred using Clark St as it was a beautiful walk and there was a great diner and bar that we liked to go to. Brooklyn Bridge Park begins within a 5-10 min walk. The area felt so safe and we had no problems. There is a supermarket very close as well as a lot of restaurants to enjoy. We liked staying in Brooklyn as at the end of a busy day in Manhattan it was nice to go back to a quieter and more civilised neighbourhood. The restaurants and bars had enough people to have the right atmosphere but not too many where it was over crowded and too noisy.

On the last day Keow kindly stored our luggage while we were out and then called us a taxi to the airport. It was so nice to have a flexible host.

Will definitely be staying here again. We are already planning our visit for next year!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Genna and her parents are wonderful guest! They are friendly, respectful and clean.They are great communicator throughout the Homeaway (VRBO) inquiry, booking and reservation process.It was a real pleasure to host Genna and her parents for their stay here at my place in Cobble Hill Brooklyn. Thank you for being such a great guest! l highly recommend them to any host! Thanks Genna! P.S (check your mail, i emailed you my email address ) Keow L
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and lovely place

  • 5 of 5

We enjoy our stay very much at this clean brownstone building apartment. The bed was also very comfy to sleep on after a long day out and about exploring. It is close to our friends who where living in Brooklyn Height. And also close to the subway where we can walk safely back at night after bar hopping in the city. The only thing that was a bit distracting was the noise from the freeway close by. My boyfriend slept comfortably. But because I'm a very light sleeper, the noise was a bit distracting. Overall, we highly recommended this place. And thank you Keow for hosting us.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Edmonton, AB, Canada
5

Most Accommodating! Easy Going!

  • 5 of 5

Great Price and Nice Clean Accommodation. Easy Walking distance to two nearby subway statons. We found this place to be a Great Base to visit various areas of the city from! (Thanks Again for the stay Keow!)

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxed stay in Brooklynn

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in the Brooklynn appartment. It was very clean, well equiped and with a garden we could use. It is a short walk to the riverside where you have a beautiful view over to Manhattan and the Brooklynn bridge.

The owner, mrs Keo L. was very helpfull.

The distance to the nearest subway is about a 15 minutes walk and the busstop is 5 minutes walking away. Restaurants and shops are almost around the corner. After a day in busy Manhattan, it felt very relaxed to come back to.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
19.1 Miles
JFK International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.9 Miles
O 'Keefe (sports bar & grill) on court street
Nearest Ferry
0.8 Miles
Pier 6, Governors Island
Nearest Golf
8.3 Miles
Marine Park
Nearest Train
0.8 Miles
F,G,N,2,3,4,5
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
BQE ( Brooklyn Queens Expressway)
Nearest Restaurant
0.8 Miles
sushi, indian, mexican,french,chinese, etc.
Nearest Ski
59.2 Miles
Poconos ski resort
Nearest Beach
11.6 Miles
Coney Island, Brighton beach
Car: recommended

This Pre-war Brownstone is located in the historic and established Cobble Hill neighborhood in Brooklyn. This trendy area is filled with restaurants, French Patisseries, cafes and shopping boutiques. If you want to visit Manhattan it is only a 5 minute subway ride from one of our many subway stations (A,C,2,3,4,5,F,G stations).

We are also also steps away from Pier 6 - a newly built recreational area that includes beach volleyball courts,promenades, areas for fishing and picnicking. During the summers boats offer free rides to Governor's Island (a popular tourist destination) and various areas in Manhattan. From Pier 6 you can watch the 4th of July fireworks,or enjoy the night view of the Manhattan Skyline.

The newly built Nets basketball stadium, located next to the Atlantic Mall,is a 10 minute drive from this property.

Also within walking distance is the DUMBO area which is home to cobble streets, the Brooklyn Bridge, famous Grimaldi's pizza, and the Five Star Restaurant - River Cafe.

Whether you decide to stay in Brooklyn or venture into Manhattan we hope you enjoy your stay with us in this wonderful city!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cobble Hill Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
$945
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.88%

Please note: no smoking, no pets, no parties. Check in is 3pm (contact me and we can make some arrangements for early check in), check out by 1 pm (depending on availability, we can sometimes make other arrangements to suit your schedule).

Please Note: Use of BBQ set is an additional $30 per day [fee to replenish supplies etc.]. If interested in using the BBQ during your stay please give me notice ahead of time. Thank You.

The backyard/garden is shared with me and my family - if you plan to have an event in the backyard please contact me ahead of time to coordinate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Cobble Hill Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Intercom System
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis Court
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Please Note: Check in time is 3pm.Check out time is at 1pm. (contact me and we can make some arrangements for early check in), of BBQ set is an additional $30 per day [fee to replenish supplies etc.]. If interested in using the BBQ during your stay please give me notice ahead of time. Thank You.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties