check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Courtney Erickson

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Gorgeous Vintage Tudor in Travis Heights / SoCo / Downtown Area

31 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

South Congress House Rental Photos and Description

6 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms

Stately vintage Tudor rises above the rest in Travis Heights minutes from the shops, restaurants, and bars of South Congress and downtown. Beautiful 2-story rests on a 1/3 acre lot with a fenced yard, gravel patio and pool. Amazing renovated interiors with living areas on both floors! Gorgeous kitchen with expanded cabinets, marble countertops and center island. Walk along Stacy Park to the hike and bike trail at Lady Bird Lake or over to the Whip In for dinner or drinks. The music scene is a 5 minute car ride downtown, check out our favorite music venue Mohawk. This is truly the house for a 'local' experience! This is not a party house. Per the city of Austin 6 or more guests must be related. STR license 008063

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Courtney Erickson (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Reviews

4.6
based on 31 traveler reviews

Gorgeous Vintage Tudor in Travis Heights / SoCo / Downtown Area
average rating of 4.645161 based on 31 reviews
5

Well-located and accommodating property

  • 5 of 5

This house is exactly as described. We used most aspects of the house in our stay and for the most part, everything worked marvelously. The kitchen was large and well suited to our needs. There was plenty of comfortable bed and bathroom space. We also went in the pool 3/4 days, which was key in the Texas heat and humidity. We did not use the TV because we were having too much fun entertaining ourselves.

Some notable items that I don't think take it out of the 5-star category, but that I would have liked to know going in. There was one small hiccup during our stay, which is that the upstairs air conditioner blew hot air and I had to call Courtney to get directions on resetting the fuse box. I had to do this a couple of times to get the cold air blowing, which was a bit of shame because the upstairs was an interesting place to hang out. A nit picky thing, is that the carpet was quite uncomfortable. We were walking around in our flip flops because it actually hurt. Also, the owners waited for VRBO to initiate the deposit refund, which I found out could have been manually initiated earlier. This was a bit annoying as I did not understand what was holding up my deposit (until I asked), which took two weeks to get back. However, none of these items are enough for me to take a star away and if ever I needed such a place again, I would happily rent from Courtney.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! Y'all were lovely guests! I'm so sorry about the upstairs A/C. We had the electrician out after your stay and discovered the fuse had blown and had to replace it entirely. HomeAway and VRBO refund the security deposit one week after a guest's stay and our policy is to take that week to make sure there isn't any damage to the home. Thanks again and we hope you'll come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and spacious

  • 5 of 5

Clean and spacious - kid friendly

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome house with a great private pool!

  • 5 of 5

This house is fabulous and the owner, Courtney, was extremely nice and helpful. Everything was super clean and updated. Plenty of towels, pool towels, etc. We did cook and the kitchen was wonderfully stocked - pots and pans, towels, paper towels, etc, everything. The pool is awesome! Courtney, you need to upsell the pool more! It doesn't look very big in the photo, but it's big! Also it was a little unclear from the listing and Google earth whether the pool was private or shared by the neighbors, but it's totally private. There were a bunch of already-inflated pool floats ready to go when we got there! So awesome. Love this house.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a wonderful time at the house

  • 5 of 5

The house was the perfect size for our large group. It was clean and the pool was fantastic. The location of the house was perfect for getting to Congress Ave where there were countless restaurants and boutiques and a short drive to Rainey St and 6th St for great nightlife. There were extra towels, 4 clean restrooms and laundry supplies. Courtney was very helpful throughout the process. She kept in contact with us as necessary leading up to our stay and answered any questions we had. Not only did she provide us with a document with many suggestions for things to do around town, Courtney was also available during the weekend to recommend a great take out place when we asked. All and all, our stay at the house could not have gone any better! I would definitely rent this house again if I am back in Austin.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5

The house is nicely laid out and had plenty of beds. We weren't sure how big the pool would be based on the pictures but it was a good size and really great in the Texas heat. It's also really close to downtown which made fake-ubering in and out of the city really easy.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great house for great friends to get together

  • 5 of 5

We have a reunion every year in different cities and Austin was next up on our list. We are so glad that we rented Courtney's home! The house is laid out perfectly for multiple couples to be comfortable and the number of unique, cozy shared spaces make you want to spend time at the house when you're not having fun in town. With the added bonus of a pool, great art and furnishings, and a welcoming chef's kitchen, we really could not be happier with our stay here.

Courtney was also just the best. We arrived a little early and she was able to accommodate our needs every step of the way. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Rent this house - you will not be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Austin Bergstrom
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Whip In
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-35
Car: recommended

Travis Heights is just a 10 minute walk from South Congress Ave. (SoCo) where you will find local restaurants like Perla's, Vespaio, Enoteca, and Magnolia Cafe. Play tennis at Little Stacy Park. Swim at Big Stacy Pool - heated, spring-fed, and free. Town Lake, bordered by 10 miles of hike/bike trails, is less than a mile away & also offers kayaking, sculling, and canoeing. At dusk (April - Oct.) catch the famous bat show from the South Congress Bridge. Across the bridge is Second Street for restaurants & shopping; Lambert's, La Condessa, Jo's, Mercury. Enjoy the nightlife in the Warehouse District, Sixth Street, and Red River. Explore the East side for more delicious food and drinks; Eastside Showroom, Liberty Bar, Shangrila, Eastside Kings Trailer. Swim in other spring fed pools - Deep Eddy or Barton Springs. Close the deal at the Convention Center. Explore the flagship Whole Foods. Catch a world-class performance at the Long Center. Visit the State Capitol. Entertain the kids at The Thinkery. Enjoy Austin, then retire to your private retreat.

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Congress House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall / Winter
Sep 5 2016 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$700
$4,000
$9,000
 
 
SXSW interactive
Mar 9 2017 - Mar 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
SXSW music
Mar 16 2017 - Mar 20 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$900
$4,000
$10,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 15.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

South Congress House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Town
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Rumpus Room
  • Secure Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Main Level Bath 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Main Level Bath 2 - toilet , shower
    Downstairs Bath - toilet , shower
  • Two bathrooms on the main floor, one down, and one upstairs.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Upstairs One - 1 king
    Upstairs Two - 1 queen
    Main Level One - 1 king
    Main Level Two - 1 queen
    Main Level Three - 2 double
    Downstairs - 1 queen
    Downstairs Living Room - 2 twin/ single , daybed with a pull out trundle
  • Two bedrooms on the top floor, two on the main floor, and one downstairs. Separate space downstairs with a daybed and trundle.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • mountain biking
Notes:
Two living rooms, large fenced yard (property is 1/3 acre), separate fence around outdoor pool.

Partner Offers