Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Modern luxury house in the heart of the Golden Circle - Winter and Summer!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Half Baths2
Space 2,368 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedroom (incl one guesthouse), 3 bathrooms, sleeps 10.

Grund is a modern luxury house 220 sqm. only 45 minutes drive from Reykjavik with hot tub, steam bath, washer & dryer, Internet wi-fi, TV. Perfect property for anyone who wants to see some of the most beautiful sights of Iceland and relax with all the comfort you can imagine. Small soccerfield w goals if you want to play and several golf courses in close range. Located in the heart of 'the Golden Circle' the famous sight seeing route.

The registration number for Grund is HG-00001169.


Owner
Thorsteinn and Bjargey
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, swedish, danish, Icelandic, Danish, Swedish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 15, 2017

About Thorsteinn and Bjargey

We have been involved in tourism for more than 20 years.

Thorsteinn and Bjargey purchased this house in 2008

Why Thorsteinn and Bjargey chose Iceland

We built this house 2008. Since we now live in London because of work, we wanted travelers to Iceland to have the opportunity to stay. Grund is located in the heart of the popular Golden Circle. Close to Reykjavik, the capital and very short to get service at Selfoss and Hveragerdi. A lot of things to see and do in the neighborhood but also an excellent place to do just nothing but relax and enjoy the nature.

What makes this house unique

The size and quality of Grund and the location makes it unique.

Map

Vestmanna
Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon
Hveragerdi
Nearest Airport
95 Kilometres
Keflavik airport
Nearest Ferry
60 Kilometres
Ferry to Vestman Islands
Nearest Golf
7 Kilometres
Öndverdanes golf club
Nearest Restaurant
7 Kilometres
Thrastarlundur
Car: necessary

The house is located only 50 minutes drive from Reykjavik in a quiet area close to lake Thingvallavatn, a part of the golden circle (one of the must see places in Iceland). Its closest village Selfoss is appox 15 min driving with all services needed. Excellent hiking all around and only 20 min drive from lake Laugarvatn. Geysir and Gullfoss two of most visited sights are not far. Two good 18 hole golf courses 7 km (Öndverdarnes) and 13 km (Kidjaberg) away.

Amenities

Southern Region House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2368 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm System
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 mini spa - toilet , shower , double shower / mini spa
    Bathroom 2 2nd floor - toilet
    Outdoor shower - outdoor shower , outdoor shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , guesthouse
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Guest house
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , TV room
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • volcano
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
10% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Modern luxury house in the heart of the Golden Circle - Winter and Summer!
average rating of 4.724138 based on 29 reviews
4

Great location, great layout

  • 4 of 5

The location was great if you don't want to stay in the city. Many different attractions within an hour or two. Hot tub was a small and had quite a bit of leaves in it to start due to the cover not being complete but we made it work and ended up being not much of an issue. There is only one shower so that is a work around but not terrible since there are two shower heads. Got to see the northern lights the first 3 nights so it was great for that. The main negative was finding the house initially, directions were a little lacking since we weren't 100% familiar with road signs. I was having trouble opening documents emailed to me so it may have been on my end. Overall my entire party loved the place and if we ever go back it would definitely be a place i would highly consider.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house in Iceland for large group!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing stay in Iceland and this house was perfect for our group of 10! The house is well appointed with a great kitchen, wide open common areas, a really great deck outside and we were very comfortable with plenty of towels, linens, and kitchen utensils. The heated floors would be wonderful during the colder months! I would recommend this house!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

My sons wedding in iceland

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't have been happier with our stay in this beautiful home.

I would highly recommend it and will certainly stay again when we return.

Thank you to our extremely helpful hosts for all your help

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Delightful, peaceful - quintessential Iceland

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED Grund! It was the perfect home base for our multi-generational Icelandic adventure (2 parents, 3 children, 3 grandparents). It is a beautiful space for relaxing after being outside all day. We enjoyed the hot tub and beautiful views. The house layout gave everyone space at night, but a comfortable common area to visit. The kids had their own large space to spread out and play upstairs which was quite nice.

We chose the location because it placed us closer to more places we wanted to visit and explore in the Golden Circle, to reduce travel time and Grund was great for this. You will want to rent your own car.

The Owner is responsive and flexible - a great person to work with. We found the house to be clean, high quality, and well prepared for making meals and a great night's sleep. Enjoy your visit to Iceland - the country is amazing!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great house, not clean

  • 3 of 5

The house is a great size for a large group, especially with the open floor plan allowing for large family meals. We had 6 adults and 2 kids in the four bedrooms in the house, we didn't use the fifth bedroom outside and still had plenty of room. We were able to see the northern lights several nights from the patios and were centrally located to everything we wanted to see that week.

A couple of negatives:

- The hot tub cover was broken and it wasn't fully covered when we arrived. We never used it because we weren't sure about the cleanliness, more about that below.

- The house was dirty when we arrived. We had to spend the first part of our visit cleaning - sweeping up old food off the kitchen floor and dining room, sanitizing down surfaces in the living areas that clearly had not been cleaned before we arrived (old food, smears, etc.), and sweeping excessive dust off the stairs and floors.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sarah, I'm sorry to hear that the cleaning was not up to your standard. Of course we do our very best to keep all in order and clean when our guests arrive. Regarding the hot tub. The water is always fresh, clean since the hot water runs constantly into it. Usually we do have the cover on in order to protect it from leaves and more, but does not have a lot to do with how clean it is in general. I wished you had been in contact so I could have explained this to you when you arrived and you could have enjoyed the tub like our guests do. Best regards, Thorsteinn
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Warm, cozy and beautiful!!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our group of 9. We had 2 grandparents, 4 kids from ages 5-9 and three parents. Because we were traveling with children, we asked the owner if we could come straight to the home after our flight landed at 5am and they had no problems with this request. This made life so much easier, as we could all get some sleep right away and still have a full day to see some sights close by like Gullfoss. There was plenty of space for all of us. The house was very warm and all the amenities worked well. The kids loved the hot tub and exploring the area around the house. We also got to see an amazing display of the Northern Lights simply by walking outside! Everything was wonderful, and we hope that we are able to return to this beautiful spot again one day!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 14.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.