check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Modern luxury house in the heart of the Golden Circle - Winter and Summer!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
1
Half Baths
2
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

5 bedroom (incl one guesthouse), 3 bathrooms, sleeps 10.

Grund is a modern luxury house 220 sqm. only 45 minutes drive from Reykjavik with hot tub, steam bath, washer & dryer, Internet wi-fi, TV. Perfect property for anyone who wants to see some of the most beautiful sights of Iceland and relax with all the comfort you can imagine. Small soccerfield w goals if you want to play and several golf courses in close range. Located in the heart of 'the Golden Circle' the famous sight seeing route.


Owner
Thorsteinn and Bjargey
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, swedish, danish, Icelandic, Danish, Swedish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 19, 2017

About Thorsteinn and Bjargey

We have been involved in tourism for more than 20 years.

Thorsteinn and Bjargey purchased this house in 2008

Why Thorsteinn and Bjargey chose Iceland

We built this house 2008. Since we now live in Sweden because of work, we wanted travelers to Iceland to have the opportunity to stay. Grund is located in the heart of the popular Golden Circle. Close to Reykjavik, the capital and very short to get service at Selfoss and Hveragerdi. A lot of things to see and do in the neighborhood but also an excellent place to do just nothing but relax and enjoy the nature.

What makes this house unique

The size and quality of Grund and the location makes it unique.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Modern luxury house in the heart of the Golden Circle - Winter and Summer!
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 21 reviews
2

Iceland is amazing

  • 2 of 5

Iceland was amazing and beautiful. The house was great size for all of us and amazing location but it was dirty, dust everywhere, pee stains on the mattress, dirty towel under one of the beds covered in dust. Someone pants that stayed there before us was in the garden frozen. Wasn't cleared away. Hot tub was great but bubbles don't work but still relaxing under the stars. For the price the house needs to be a lot cleaner. Plus you agree with the price and pay deposit. Soon as you get there he adds more money to the bill due the currency changing which is not right!!!!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guest, I'm very sorry that you experienced Grund that way and we always do our very best to make our guests happy. However, there are few things I want to mention regarding this review. I was there when you arrived and I showed you around the house. I only got very positive replies at that time. As you know there was snow all over and the wind blowing so if someone had left something in the garden it was hard to discover that at that time. The hot tub does not have bubbles and is not advertised as jacuzzi w bubbles. Regarding the payment, I usually quote the rent in USD like in this instance. I'm not adding more money to the bill. You wanted to pay it in a different currency and it is just based on the official exchange rate when you pay. I actually spoke to you twice in person about the payments plus more emails and you never mentioned that the rate was higher than originally quoted. Therefore, it's a surprise to me to see this comment here. I've double checked this myself and I can not see that you have been charged more than originally quoted, but like I wrote to you please be in contact and explain to me what you mean and of course I refund you if you have paid too much. Best regards, Thorsteinn
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great house and flawless process...no complaints!

  • 5 of 5

The house and renting experience was amazing. Not only was Thorstein responsive but he was available to answer any questions and concerns we had. Iceland was amazing because of the comfort and location of this home. The group of 11 friends enjoyed every amenity- hottub, kitchen, sound system, heated floors, cards and games, laundry equipment and sauna. Thank you and hope to stay here again!!

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent location and home.

  • 5 of 5

Great location within Golden Circle. Loved the hot-tub and the spacious rooms.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Stunning!

  • 4 of 5

The property was absolutely incredible! We had two families, 12 ppl accommodated comfortably. The large shower has two shower heads for showering in pairs, but only one shower room so we had to schedule our showers to get everyone through. Kitchen was well equipped, all furniture and decorations modern and in good condition. Would recommend, and would stay again.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This house is stunning

  • 5 of 5

Two families with children ranging from 3-8 stayed at this house mid-August. It is comfortable, warm, great location, beautiful large windows, and is architectually lovely. We spent a lot of time in the hot tub and playing games from the large assortment of games in the kids' room. The fridge and cabinets were well stocked and the coffee maker made delicious drinks. Before you arrive, look at the pics of the house again so you know where it is from the turnoff road. The owner sent a map before arrival which was helpful but it also helps if you are looking for the house with the large windows. The house is in a great location to get to Gulfoss, Geyser, Laugergatn, and Fluoir. Just hiking around the property is otherworldly with the local geology. Buy alcohol and food in Selfoss before you arrive (20 min from house). I slept like a baby every night and I cried when we left!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Sehr, sehr schön!

  • 5 of 5

Wir - vier Erwachsene und drei Kinder - wohnten in dem Haus Grund für 10 Tage und waren begeistert. Das Haus an sich ist wunderschön und gemütlich eingerichtet. Die Platzierung des Hauses auf einem Plateau in der Landschaft ist einmalig. Die Aussicht zu allen Seiten ist nicht zu toppen. Und der Eigentümer, Thorstein, ist einfach nett und sehr servicebereit und bemüht. Dazu kommt, dass das Haus inmitten der schönsten Landschaft Islands liegt. Hier fährt man schnell nach Geysir, Gullfoss, Thingvellir und und und. Abends dann lecker gegrillten Lamm auf dem Webergrill zubereiten, danach die Badesachen anziehen und eine Dusche in der Außendusche genießen, bevor man in den warmen Jacuzzi in einer vor dem Wind geschützten Gebiet der Terrasse hineinsteigt. Wie kann das Urlaubsleben besser sein? Vielen Dank für diesen phantastischen Urlaub! Takk fyrir!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Vestmanna
Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon
Hveragerdi
Nearest Airport
95 Kilometres
Keflavik airport
Nearest Ferry
60 Kilometres
Ferry to Vestman Islands
Nearest Golf
7 Kilometres
Öndverdanes golf club
Nearest Restaurant
7 Kilometres
Thrastarlundur
Car: necessary

The house is located only 50 minutes drive from Reykjavik in a quiet area close to lake Thingvallavatn, a part of the golden circle (one of the must see places in Iceland). Its closest village Selfoss is appox 15 min driving with all services needed. Excellent hiking all around and only 20 min drive from lake Laugarvatn. Geysir and Gullfoss two of most visited sights are not far. Two good 18 hole golf courses 7 km (Öndverdarnes) and 13 km (Kidjaberg) away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 14.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

South House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 220 m²
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm System
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Paper Towels
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 mini spa - toilet , shower , double shower / mini spa
    Bathroom 2 2nd floor - toilet
    Outdoor shower - outdoor shower , outdoor shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , guesthouse
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Guest house
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , TV room
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Sauna
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • volcano
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers