Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

REDUCED FALL RATES VERY BEACHFRONT !! Larry's Lazy Susan- WC HC Elevator 5BR Pet

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, 14 sleeps, 15 max

IF YOU WANT TO BE ON THE BEACH, WE GOT IT, YOU CAN'T GET MUCH CLOSER !!!

PLEASE VISIT www.larryslazysusan.com OR CALL ME TO BOOK, DISCUSS OR ASK QUESTIONS 540-616-8447 LARRY MARTIN OWNER.

EXPANDED BEACH FRONT DECK WITH ENCLOSED AND OPEN SHOWER.

Booking 2017 and 2018 with 2016 rates - Reduced fall rates available - BOOK IT NOW !!!

PLEASE SEE OUR CALENDAR WHICH IS ALWAYS UP TO DATE.

ALSO PLEASE SEE OUR VISIT OUR WEBSITE - larryslazysusan.com for links to our YOUTUBE VIDEOS, AERIAL VIDEO TOUR, VIRTUAL TOUR PANORAMIC PHOTOS, PINTEREST AND LIKE OUR FACEBOOK PAGE FOR MORE INFORMATION.

Elevator goes from the ground to all levels above and is wheelchair accessible, any questions please call or email.

ADVANTAGE OF BOOKING WITH OWNER NO WAIT IN LINE AT REALTOR'S OFFICE FOR A KEY.

We also can recommend a private chef to prepare a meal for you in our gourmet kitchen, please let us know if you are interested, see our Facebook page for more information.

Come and try the 'Larry’s Lazy Susan Experience' at Topsail Beach for a Lazy relaxing refreshing vacation which our guests have enjoyed for 20 years. Larry’s Lazy Susan has been recently expanded and renovated by myself an Architect to provide you with a relaxing home to experience the beauty and wonderful sights and sounds of the Atlantic Ocean.

Your family will enjoy Larry’s Lazy Susan a peaceful Lazy getaway at our beach house only a short drive from shopping, dining, golf, fishing and other activities. The house is located on a secondary street off the beaten path great for jogging and cycling. You will feel like you are literally on the beach with only a few steps, COME SEE HOW CLOSE!!

Larry’s Lazy Susan has two wonderful oceanfront decks for your family and friends to enjoy. An intimate upper deck allows you a panoramic view of the beaches below. Enjoy sitting up here and relaxing in the warm Carolina sun. The lower deck offers a cooler, shaded retreat to sit on while watching your children play in the sand.

Bring your fishing poles and try surf fishing, you may catch something great for dinner! Our house accommodates up to 15 guests with 5 bedrooms and 4 baths.

Larry’s Lazy Susan is a short drive to downtown(approximately ( 5 miles)

A typical day for us includes morning coffee on the ocean side deck watching the shrimp boats just off shore dragging their nets, birds flocking behind feeding on the left over shrimp and fish. The dolphins trailing behind and the pelicans are floating in formation along the shore.

After a walk on the beach looking for shells and sharks teeth, we decide to set up our beach chairs and umbrella for a day of sun bathing and swimming in the surf. We take a break to play some beach games, volleyball and fly a kite.

After a fun filled beach day and as the sun begins to set on the sound side, a beautiful view is afforded from the three decks on the street side. After dinner is prepared in the kitchen which has a view of both the ocean and the sound, the dining room which seats 8 at a square table has a wonderful view of the setting sun across the sound, the breakfast/dining area has ocean view dining seating 6 at a rectangle table where you can enjoy the ocean breeze. Having this dining area located off of the living area provides the gamers in the family a great place to play games, put together puzzles!

The kitchen also has bar seating for three on bar stools where the family can join in on the preparation of dinner.

Come, enjoy and make your own memories at Topsail Island and Larry’s Lazy Susan. You will LOVE the 'LAZY SUSAN EXPERIENCE'

Keywords: House,topsail beach, fishing, oceanfront, sound view, elevator, handicap accessible, king beds, queen beds, decks, balconies,kayaking, surfing,tourist attractions, Wilmington, Jacksonville,restaurants, seafood ,sunset, dolphins, scuba, golf, shells, sharks teeth

More Details

Owner
Larry Martin
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2017

About Larry Martin

I am a self employed architect in Virginia, which has been very beneficial with our great beach house since we have renovated and added additional rooms recently in 2011. Susan and I have six children that were all young when we purchased the house. The house was perfect for our family but now that our family has grown, we expanded and renovated to provide more room. You can call me at 540-616-8447.

Larry Martin purchased this house in 1994

Why Larry Martin chose Ocean City Beach

We vacationed at North Topsail Beach for two years prior to purchasing and rented our house the summer before we purchased. We love the secluded beach only a few steps from our deck (about as close as you can get). A great place to bring the family for a relaxing LAZY vacation. We love to swim, surf fish, boat and jet ski, fly kites, play in the surf, hunt for shells and sharks teeth of which we have thousands. Other activities include golfing, tennis, biking, etc. The house is on a less traveled street off of the main road (less commercial traffic), but very easily accessible and many conveniences within 5 minutes including several restaurants with affordable prices.

What makes this house unique

We are able to view nature at its finest, watching the dolphins play in the ocean, pelicans and gulls flying in formation, watching loggerhead turtles laying their eggs and watching them hatch at our steps to the beach(which we have done). Views that are spectacular from all rooms, multiple ocean and sound side decks and the PROXIMITY of the house to the ocean. The ELEVATOR which is extremely helpful for the elderly, disabled and moving in luggage. The separate under counter 50# ICE MAKER is a must for plenty of ice for drinks and coolers.

Map

Daddy Mac's Beach Grille
"Good food overlooking the beach http://www.bluemainsail.com/daddymacs/ "
Emr Wings
"Good wings and great onion rings."
Hwy 55 Burgers, Shakes, & Fries
"Very good cheese steak"
Rick's Restaurant & Sports Bar
Green Turtle -- CLOSED
"Great food with nice view of the waterway."
Red Pepper
"Good Chinese if you like spicy"
North Shore Country Club
"Great golf, well maintained, beautiful and challenging course. "
Sneads Ferry
Clam Digger Restaurant -- CLOSED
Riverview Cafe
Max's Pizza
Beauchaines 211
Andy's Burgers Shakes & Fries -- CLOSED
Mollie's Restaurant -- CLOSED
Quarter Master's Restaurant
Island Delights
Sears Landing Grill & Boat
"Great seafood, views of the waterway, boat slips and docks."
The Crab Pot
Long Island Pizza
Margaritas
Batts Grill -- CLOSED
Buddy's Crab House and Oyster Bar
Sand Bar Saloon -- CLOSED
Mainsail Restaurant
Crabby Mike's
New York Corner Deli
Castle Bay Golf
"Good links course, very open www.castlebaycc.com "
Domino's Pizza
Food Lion
Cancun Mexican Restaurant
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Wilmington, NC
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Rick's Restaurant and Sports Bar
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
NorthShore Country Club, Sneads Ferry, NC
Nearest Motorway
30 Miles
Interstate I 40
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Rick's Restaurant and Sports Bar
Car: necessary

The house is located off the main road of the island on a small residential street providing more privacy and less traffic. Located about halfway between Surf City and Sneads Ferry, a short drive to either for shopping, restaurants, marinas, seafood and golf. We also suggest a home cooked meal in our gourmet kitchen by Chef Yogi Paliott, please let us know if interested. Loggerhead turtle watching, great shark teeth hunting, kite flying, crabbing, surf fishing, surfing, swimming and golf.

Amenities

Ocean City Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Ducted Heating
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Split-System Heating
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 17 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 First Floor Bedroom 1 - toilet , shower , Shared with Great Room
    Bathroom 3 Second Floor Bedrooms 2&3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shared between bedrooms 2&3
    Bathroom 4 Queen Suite Second Floor Bedroom 4 - toilet , shower , Second Floor Queen Private Suite
    Bathroom 1 Master Suite First Floor - toilet , shower , HC assessible shower with seat and grab bars, toilet grabbar
    Exterior Shower - outdoor shower , Hot & cold water on beach deck with enclosed and open shower
  • All bathrooms have porcelain tile floors, vanities, showers or tub showers and faux finish walls, beautifully decorated.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 First Floor - 1 queen , First floor, shared full bath 2 with great room
    Bedroom 2 Second Floor - 1 king , Second floor, shared full bath 3 with bedroom 3
    Bedroom 3 Second Floor - 2 queen , Second floor, shared full bath 3 with bedroom 2
    Bedroom 4 Queen Master Suite Second Floor - 1 queen , Second floor, private bath 4, private deck sound view
    Great Room Sofa Bed Living Area - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Great Room: Queen sleeper sofa, elevator access
    Second Floor Loft DBL Futon - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Second floor, Loft with double futon
    Master Bedroom Suite First Floor - 1 king , First floor, private bath-makeup, covered deck, sound view
  • Bedrooms tastefully decorated with ceiling fans, flat screen cable televisions, telephone, alarm clocks and very comfortable bedding. SEE FLOOR PLANS IN PHOTOS SECTION
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Golf ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Elevator provides handicapped accessibility from ground level to all floors above with wet weather access from covered parking. Ramp access to beach front deck from parking area. Kitchen has buffet with under counter 50# per day ice maker in addition to ice maker in refrigerator. Telephone unlimited local and long distance (US), Hot cold water exterior shower. NO WAITING in line at Realtors office for a key at check-in.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(113 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
REDUCED FALL RATES VERY BEACHFRONT !! Larry's Lazy Susan- WC HC Elevator 5BR Pet
average rating of 4.80531 based on 113 reviews
5

Wonderful week!

  • 5 of 5

Larry's Lazy Susan was a fantastic house. Plenty of room for our family of six and three dogs. The elevator was a big help with my mother in-law who is in a wheel chair. Also nice being able to load all the "stuff" you bring into the house in just a few short trips.

The new appliances in the kitchen were nice. We cooked most of our meals and there was plenty of plates and silverware to go around. Having the washer and dryer on the main floor was also a big plus. Big screen TV in the great room had a wonderful picture and we also brought our Fire Stick to watch Netfix on one raining day. Nothing like 9 hours of binge watching every episode of Stranger Things.

The access to the beach was also a huge plus! This is the first house we have rented right on the beach. My wife is big on looking for sharks teeth and we had a great collection by the end of the week. I think she found over a hundred teeth. Being November, we had great, quite long walks on the beach with hardly anyone around. Great to sit on the porch drinking coffee and watching the shrimp boats go up and down the coast just a few hundred yards from the beach. We went to a local fish market and bought some local shrimp and scallops and they were awesome!

North Topsail Beach is a beautiful area and we hope to come back again next year. Thanks Larry for letting our family enjoy your beautiful home.

Doug, Kim, Kasey, Kelsey Thomas

Fred and Jill Barton

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Doug, glad you had a wonderful time. Our house is located on a great beach and very close to the beach. The elevator is great for unloading luggage and is wheel chair accessible. Our kitchen has been updated with stainless steel appliances and is great for preparing family meals. We have televisions in all rooms and most large flat screens. We do have high speed internet which works well for all streaming services. We have found thousands of shark teeth right in front of the house. We have found as many as a 1000 in one week, all sizes. Our oceanfront deck has been expanded doubled in size providing a great way to enjoy the beach. We always purchase fresh seafood and prepare in our kitchen, you don’t get any better. Thanks for the great review and please come back next year, Larry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Relaxing Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Once again spent a great week at Topsail! Loved the newly renovated deck and second set of chairs to watch the shrimp boats and even got to see the dolphins play one day. Always know when I stay here it will still feel like my second home. The range and new recliner were surprises and made our stay even better. Our family always enjoys having meals and watching the surf. We did not have any issues with the house. Small things made a difference; liners in the trash cans, toilet paper, paper towels and hand soap in the bathroom. The curtains in the downstairs master bedroom were beautiful with the new comforter set. As for the TV, there were some programs that had been set to dvr, but all you had to do was cancel the request and everyone was able to watch any program anytime. We have vacationed here for years and plan to continue to do so. All of my family is able to come, including my furry one!

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Marcie, we are very glad you keep returning to our home. As you stated, we have made several improvements including the enlarge deck with extra seating, two showers including an enclosed shower. We have upgraded our kitchen appliances with stainless steel and new furniture in the living area with a new recliner. We are always striving to update our home with new furnishings in order to make the house as comfortable as possible. Also, a clean home is absolutely our number one priority. With so many repeat guests like yourself, we feel we are doing a satisfactory job in providing a clean, safe and comfortable environment for our guests. We appreciate your accurate review of our home, please come again, Thanks, Larry
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Location great. House not so much

  • 2 of 5

Location is great. Beautiful sunrises. House was not clean by any stretch of the imagination. Mold on shower curtains. Shower floor slimy and dirty, had to go buy comet so that we could stand to be in the shower. Dishes in cupboards with food still on them. Kitchen countertops had food stuck to them still. Ceiling fans were dirty and wobbly, looked like they were ready to fall down. Main floor toilets are ancient and low, not suitable for my 80 yr. old mother. We brought her toilet assist but couldn't use it as the old toilets don't accommodate it. Smell of mold very strong. Apparently if you want to watch cable in a bedroom and the living room you had better want to watch the same thing. If you changed channels upstairs it changed it in the living room. Pictures made this place look much better than it was. Will find somewhere else to stay next time.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were very surprised by your review, when we called the next day after arrival as we do all our guests to inquire if everything was acceptable. You responded everything was fine, had you mentioned your concerns, we would have had our cleaner return and reclean to your satisfaction. We are surprised by the cleaning issues, when we left the same day before you arrived we know we did not leave the house in this condition. We also had the house cleaned by our professional cleaner who also was surprised by your comments. She always cleans the showers with comet and the kitchen counters thoroughly. We would not have left dirty dishes in the cabinets. We should not have any mold since we clean very thoroughly with Clorox. The house was renovated in 2011 with new toilets which are not ancient. As far as the television, we have Dish as advertised and all televisions are able to watch separate channels. Some do have dual receivers which supply different rooms. We have instructions for operating these since we do not have cable. We understood when you booked your mother was coming and needed a recliner, so we purchased a new recliner which you were the first to use in hopes this would be helpful to your mother. Our photos on the website are as depicted except for improvements made after the photos were taken. We are always making improvements to our house for our guest’s enjoyment. A phone call or email to me could have addressed your concerns. We always value our guest’s opinions and try our best to address any concerns. Out of 112 reviews, we have only 2 that are less than a 4 or 5, Thanks Larry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
4

Family vacation

  • 4 of 5

We had a nice family vacation, enjoyed the location, house and especially the proximity to the beach. Everyone (came in from four states) had a great time.

Thank you!

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonnie, we are glad you had a great family vacation. Our house does have a wonderful location on a wonderful beach which is sparsely populated. We have terrific views of the beach and ocean, including spectacular sunsets over the sound and sunrises over the ocean. Please come again, thanks for the review, Larry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location and views - we'll be back again

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time at our stay on Topsail at Larry's Lazy Susan. The new deck is much nicer and it's great having an outdoor shower now (although the water pressure is very weak).

It would be hard to find a better location than this house as it is right on the beach. Nice new stove, dishwasher, and refrigerator in the kitchen. It's too bad none of the bedrooms have an ocean view, but the loft and deck have awesome views.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ron, we glad you chose to stay at our home again, we love repeat guests. We did enlarge our ocean front deck doubling the size, with both an enclosed and open shower. Not sure about the water pressure, since normally we have excessive pressure, I will check into this. Our location is terrific, right on the beach with wonderful views. We have also upgraded our kitchen with stainless steel appliances, with the intent of upgrading the counter-tops to granite in the near future. We are also looking at the possibility of creating another master bedroom overlooking the ocean. We try to listen to our guests and their suggestions, please return and thanks for the review, Larry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Marion, NC
5

Labor Day Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Our family, my wife and I, daughter and son-in-law and 5 grandkids enjoyed very much our stay at Larry's Lazy Susan. The house is right on the beach, easy walk to set up beach chairs, fishing equipment, etc. Larry had just expanded his beachfront deck and it was great. We sat out on the deck most evenings just watching the ocean. Plenty of room for the kids to play on the deck also, and there are 2 gates to keep all the kids on the deck. There is also a shower on the deck as you come up from the beach. The beach is really nice in front of the house. The elevator was a real help in loading and unloading the cars. There is also a new ramp from the parking area to the beachfront deck that is very useful. The house is very comfortable also, the beds all slept well, and there was plenty of room for all 9 of us. We could tell that a lot of thought has been put into making this place a wonderful beach getaway! Larry even called to check to see if we needed anything the day after we arrived. Our family would highly recommend this house as a wonderful place to stay on your beach vacation.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Greg, we appreciate the great review and the fact that our house provided you with a great vacation. Our house is right on the beach as you noted and great for families with children especially so close to the beach. We have expanded the deck adding an enclosed shower in addition to the open shower both with hot and cold water. The gates are also great for dogs. The elevator is a must at the beach and is handicapped accessible. We try our best to provide a great experience for our guests on their vacation. We do as a courtesy, call our guests to make insure everything is acceptable. We are also only a phone call away if our guests need anything. Please return for your next vacation, Thanks, Larry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Linens (sheets & towels) not included, available for rental from http://tirentals.com or http://meandmomrentals.com.

We offer linen and bed making service for a fee, please let us know if you are interested.

Pet fees are $150 per pet (dogs only no cats allowed) per week plus 10% tax. Just let us know if you wish to add pets'

All rates are subject to change until booking confirmation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties