check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

5 Minute Walk to Douglas Beach...Luxury Get-Away...'Lakeside' Has it All!

29 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Douglas House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, 1 half bath, sleeps 6 (w/Aerobed to sleep 2 more)

You will love this location! Lakeside Beach House is less than a 5 minute walk to beautiful Douglas Beach on the shores of Lake Michigan & just a short bike ride to the DT areas of Douglas & Saugatuck.

This home is fully equipped with everything you can possibly need for cooking, cleaning, laundry, sleeping, entertaining & going to the beach. Simply put, Lakeside feels like home! It's beautifully furnished, impeccably clean & maintained and so comfortable that you won't want to leave.

Walk with morning coffee to Douglas Beach, searching for sea glass & take in Lake Michigan. Enjoy the cozy fireplace in the living room during cooler evenings. There's plenty of space and a great open floor plan. Free wireless access is provided for all those who keep up on e-mails or just love to play online.

Lakeside is just right for the perfect vacation! The beach, regardless of weather is spectacular. In town, you will find art galleries and more than enough shops & restaurants.

The first floor has a spacious sun-filled living room with vaulted ceilings, adjacent dining area, cook's kitchen, half-bath, and a fabulous master bedroom with full bath. BRAND NEW the Fall of 2014 is a 14' x 20' screened in porch with a lovely walkway to the outdoor patio and outdoor shower. This has quickly become everyone's 'favorite' room of the house.

The second floor has a large closet housing the washing machine and clothes dryer, two roomy beautiful bedrooms with a shared Jack 'n Jill bathroom. Both rooms have stunning views of the wooded lot.

All bedrooms are furnished with high-end pillow-top mattresses, luxurious linens and towels, ceiling fans, and HD TVs with full cable services.

Lake Michigan is so close by that when the windows are open, or when you are sitting on our patio or NEW porch you can hear a 'roaring sound'...it's nothing other than the waves of Lake Michigan hitting the sandy shore.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 29 traveler reviews

5 Minute Walk to Douglas Beach...Luxury Get-Away...'Lakeside' Has it All!
average rating of 4.8965516 based on 29 reviews
5

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had the best vacation at Lakeside. The house exceeded my expectations and was the perfect place for my family and I to relax and get away from it all!! My girls' favorite part of the house was the porch. It was the best place to gather as a family at the end of our day. Jo was great to work with and made sure that we had everything we needed. I really cannot say enough good things about Lakeside. My family has already requested that we return to Lakeside and I think this is going to become our annual vacation spot!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Little slice of heaven!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing vacation at Lakeside. The accommodations were more than expected, so beautiful and peaceful. The location was perfect - 5 minutes from the very private and convenient Douglas beach and a less than 10 minute drive to quaint downtown Saugatuck. There is an awesome screened in porch, perfect for relaxing after a long day at the beach! There is a supermarket very close by and the kitchen was fully stocked which made preparing meals very easy.

Jo was a pleasure to work with and very accommodating! We look forward to making more memories at Lakeside in the future!

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Stepahie! Thank you so much for your wonderful words about Lakeside!! For all the reasons you mentioned...I too love to be there. :) ~ Jo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful summer home

  • 4 of 5

Very nice home. Close to beach for the summer. Nice decor. I like the sunroom. Would recommend if staying in town.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words! We LOVE the sunroom...we spend most of our time in it!! :). ~ Jo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grosse Pointe Park, MI
5

Beautiful home in beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a wonderful vacation in this beautiful home. The house was just as pretty in person as in the pictures. And very clean! My children enjoyed having lots of room to run and play in the yard when we were not at the beach. The adults enjoyed relaxing on the screened in porch. I appreciated the well stocked kitchen, which made it easy to cook for our group of 8. The location is ideal too...just a short walk to Douglas beach or a short drive to Oval beach. We had a blast doing the sand dune rides, the duck tour in a amphibious vehicle and climbing Mt. Baldhead. There were also tons of great restaurants and cute shops nearby. The owner left a welcoming note with her phone number, so I would have felt comfortable calling if we had any problems, but we had none. This was a perfect rental home and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jill...We are very happy that you had a great vacation at Lakeside! It is a family-friendly beach home, meant for sandy feet and evening chats on the porch. We appreciate the time you took to give us feedback. We hope you will visit us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Luxurious Accommodations in Tranquil Beach House

  • 5 of 5

We had the pleasure of staying in this homey yet elegant beach house last month for 4 nights. We were lucky enough to score a beautiful fall weekend after the owners had completed their wonderful screened in porch. We used the porch for our morning coffee and evening wine outside nestled amongst the peaceful woodsy area.

We came as two couples (our son and his wife) and my husband and I, and found everything we needed was there for our use! The house is beautifully decorated and has many amenities including a fireplace which was wonderful on those cool evenings.

The area is great for rest, shopping, art galleries and easy access to Holland or Grand Rapids.

I look forward to another fall stay at this fabulous beach house!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind remarks. I am glad that you and your family were pleased with our home! I hope to have you back in the future. 😊
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Memorable summer vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a wonderful week at the lake house. The house is adorable, spacious and welcoming. We loved using the outdoor shower after beach days and sitting in the screened in porch. Douglas beach has soft, warm sand and was perfect for our kids to run and swim. The five minute walk to the beach is part of the fun because the neighborhood is so cute and beautiful. We would walk there after dinner and watch the sun set. We also took a short drive to Oval beach. Oval beach is bigger, there is a concession stand and also a perfect place to run around and play. One day, we climbed Mount Baldhead (300 stairs) and ran down the back sand dune to Oval beach. Highly recommend. The lake house is conveniently close to downtown Douglas and Saugatuck where you can shop and dine. We loved Wild Dog Grille in Douglas. It was a pleasure working with Jo and she is very accommodating. We had a wonderful time!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Debbie, thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We hope to have you and your family back again soon. :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Gerald R. Ford, Grand Rapids, MI
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Phil's Bar & Grill
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Chain Ferry
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Clearbrook Golf Club
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Holland, MI
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-96
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Every Day People Cafe
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Douglas Beach
Car: necessary

Enjoy the secluded, wooded setting just a 5-minute walk to the shores of Lake Michigan on the coveted Douglas Beach.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Douglas House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall/Winter 2016
Sep 17 2016 - Jan 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$325
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter/Spring 2017
Jan 29 2017 - Jun 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$280
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,960
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
Jun 3 2017 - Sep 16 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
One time Cleaning Fee $130

NO Pets Allowed;

50% Deposit Due at Time of Reservation; Balance Due 45 Days Prior to Arrival;

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Douglas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Baby Gate
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Ducted Heating
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower , 2 Vanities/Sinks
    Jack 'n Jill - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2 Vanities/Sinks
    Main Level - toilet , 1 Pedestal Sink
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower , Pure outdoor pleasure!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master - 1 queen , Main Level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upper Level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Upper Level
    Aerobed - 1 queen , Upper Level
  • The Aerobed can easily accommodate 2 more adults/kids, increasing the sleep number from 6 to 8. There is ample floor space to set up the Aerobed...great fun for the kids who rise and shine early.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • DVR
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • MP3 Dock
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Raft
  • Small Cooler
  • Yard
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 7 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeping
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
* Owners have severe allergies to pets---so we are sorry that no pets are allowed.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties