check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Stay Here! Great Family Lodging for Any Occasion in Any Season

26 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Paonia House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

This former duplex for coal miners was built in 1938 and has been upgraded to provide our guests with the modern comforts of home. Our Cozy Cabin is a fully furnished 2 bedroom, 1 bath log cabin home located on Onarga Avenue in Paonia, Colorado.

In its current incarnation, it is a tastefully decorated and cheery one family house. Wood floors, colorfully painted walls, a fabulous tiled bathroom, a shaded three-season sitting porch and a fully-fenced backyard with full size picnic table and gas grill, are just some of the features that will make your stay at Our Cozy Cabin relaxing and enjoyable.

Our Cozy Cabin is located within two blocks of Downtown Paonia's diverse selection of cafes, restaurants and independently-owned shops. It's superb location allows you to walk to the library, post office, banks, grocery and hardware stores, movie theater, art galleries, and public radio station. Elms, Maples and Cottonwoods line Onarga Avenue, making it a shady neighborhood oasis for your stay in the North Fork Valley.

While Our Cozy Cabin does not have air conditioning it is very well insulated and stays cool all summer long with the help of shade trees and misting fans.

We do not provide cable TV or any TV channels. In lieu of this we have an entertainment center (see amenities) with an extensive movie library. We are located only two blocks from the local movie theater and news programs are available by tuning into our locally-run public radio station KVNF (90.9FM).

We hope you will think of "Our Cozy Cabin" as your 'Your Cozy Cabin' during your visit to the beautiful North Fork Valley.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

We're Cliff and Ruth Baacke, retired college administrator (Cliff) and librarian (Ruth). We now live in Washington state, although we previously have spent many years in New York and Maryland. We love to travel and with our chocolate lab Gracie, enjoy hiking and other outdoor activities. We are avid readers.

The Owner purchased this house in 2012

Why The Owner chose Southwestern Colorado

Our grandson and his mom (our daughter) and dad live in Paonia. We bought Our Cozy Cabin because we wanted a little get-away just blocks from them for our increasingly frequent visits. We now love Paonia as much as they do. It is a special little town in a beautiful location with lots of friendly folks.

What makes this house unique

We love walking with Gracie around town, to the parks, and of course to our grandson's house! Evenings at Revolution Brewery or The Flying Fork are always highlights of our visits. The new library is a very welcoming place. We have never been bored in Paonia!

Reviews

4.8
based on 26 traveler reviews

Stay Here! Great Family Lodging for Any Occasion in Any Season
average rating of 4.8076925 based on 26 reviews
5

Paonia - worth to stay longer

  • 5 of 5

We - two couples from Germany - spent two nights in this lovely cabin.

Looks like the owners do live here once in a while: In the moment, when you enter the cabin, you feel like arriving "home".

Everything well equipped and clean.

Our recommendation or Paonia - book with confidence.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Highlands Ranch, Co
5

This place should be called the extra cosy cabin.

  • 5 of 5

The property was nicely decorated and larger than we expected. The property had several amenities and more. Big size fans, comfortable furniture and large yard. What was not mentioned in the listing was the lovely enclosed porch area for sitting and reading the newspaper, have coffee or read a book. Close to town and grocery store too.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A Great Little Getaway

  • 4 of 5

The house, although not big, was the perfects size for my wife, sister-in-law, and I along with two dogs. The location was convenient and a nice "home base" for our outdoor adventures. The only criticism I have is that I wish the backyard wasn't almost completely gravel. But, I can understand how it would be easier to manage and care for without worrying about water. I highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a great Paonia experience.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mount Shasta, CA
5

Everything we needed

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at the Cozy Cabin with my two pets and it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay in Paonia. The fenced in back yard gave us a safe space and the little porch in the front was wonderful for sitting in the afternoon sun. Easy walk to downtown and the neighborhood had a quiet and friendly feel to it. If I ever need to go back to Paonia I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Thank you Cliff and Ruth!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Lynn, for your nice review. We hope you got back to Minnesota safely. Ruth & Cliff
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just what we needed!

  • 5 of 5

Adorable cabin in walking distance to in-town events, restaurants, etc. We had a great time just relaxing and checking out the Mountain Harvest Festival. The cabin was cozy, charming, and quiet..and had everything that we needed. Great for a family getaway.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Authentic Paonia Experience

  • 5 of 5

This little cabin is perfectly nestled in downtown Paonia. We loved the backyard for hanging out and enjoying breakfasts in the forest of sunflowers. The house was comfortable and well stocked. The bathroom is super cool and gave it an eclectic feel. Check in and check out were painless and the trip was stress free. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Located in the beautiful North Fork of the Gunnison Valley, Paonia is close to Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park, the North Fork of the Gunnison River, West Elk Wilderness areas, Colorado National Monument, Grand Mesa, and Dinosaur Museum. Activities nearby include Hiking (mountain and canyon), Mountain Biking, Snowshoeing/Cross Country Skiing. Local winery tours.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Paonia House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$99
$550
$1,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $80
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 8.8%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Paonia House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Trundle bed contains two twin beds that can be joined to form a king bed., Baby Cribs (1) Pack-n-Play, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen size. Also have a queen size blow up mattress available.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Non-Toxic Cleaning Products, Medical Re-Circulation Air Cleaner, Fully-Fenced Backyard

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties