check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Ft Screven Beach Cottage. Historic. Near lighthouse and beach. Pets.

27 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Property type cottage

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more




Tybee Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 3 baths, plus cabana bedroom, sleeps 12

This beach cottage is in the shadow of the Tybee Island Lighthouse, which is just 1.5 blocks away. The beach also is just 1.5 blocks away. In the heart of the former Fort Screven, this rustic cottage was built in 1920 by the US Army to house non-commissioned officers. It has been updated with modern conveniences such as central heat and air. Originally the cottage was heated by coal stoves and cooled by ceiling fans. The fans are new but the original stove chimneys remain. Just a block away is Battery Garland and the Fort Screven museum. This is the islands quiet, secluded north end preferred by celebrities. The army built the houses facing each other with a sidewalk between --- no street, just a sidewalk. The streets run behind the houses. The front of Ft Screven Cottage faces a sidewalk; the back is on a traffic-free gravel lane. Some of the interior walls are the original 5-inch wide tongue and groove planks laid horizontally. With 4 bedrooms and a large sectional sofa in the living room, this home can sleep up to 10 people inside the house --- plus 2 more outside in the cabana bedroom, a small room across the deck from the house.

Tybee Island's North Beach: Great dolphin viewing --- virtually guaranteed on the north end of the island. Dolphin boat tours are always available, but sitting on the north beach is just as effective. We once watched a band of dolphins frolicking with a delighted kayaker. Tybee's beaches are equipped with porch swings that seem to be about 100 yards apart. From the north beach swings you can watch the sun set over Savannah and the mouth of the Savannah river --- incredible sunsets. Savannah, being 15 miles away, is too far away to actually see but you can see the fireworks on July 4th and New Year's Eve. Shrimp boats with their nets spread like wings are always in view.

The Two Lighthouses: Two lighthouses less than 3 miles apart but so radically different in character. As you approach Tybee Island, you see the impressive Tybee Light in the distance. Tall, dark, and handsome with a white cumberbund. He was honored a couple of years ago when he got his own US postage stamp. ( In lighthouse circles that is akin to an Oscar.) But then as you cross the Lazaretto bridge onto Tybee Island, you look down to the left and blink. Is that a lighthouse in the water? Indeed it is. That's plucky little Cockspur Lighthouse. Weathered, plain white masonry. Not flashy at all, except ... At every high tide Cockspur stands in the ocean well off-shore. Only at low tide does the stony spur appear that supports the little lighthouse. A firm foundation after all.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Ted Walker
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 15, 2016
Call Manager

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you so much for the stay! The cottage was charming and roomy. I hope to be a visitor again.
Jan 2014
  • 1 of 1


based on 27 traveler reviews

Ft Screven Beach Cottage. Historic. Near lighthouse and beach. Pets.
average rating of 3.7407408 based on 28 reviews
Byron, GA

Thank You Letter to Ft Screven Beach Cottage Owner

  • 4 of 5

Just wanted to let you know that we certainly enjoyed ourselves in Ft Screven Beach Cottage, the cottage was perfect accommodations for our family; we had plenty of room. There were plenty of towels and linens and the beds were so comfy! We had everything we needed. From arrival to departure, everything about the cottage was great. It was nice, clean and comfortable. Like a home away from home. “Relaxing, cozy retreat; it was the ultimate beach house!” The cottage beach theme was the best and really allowed you to relax. Easy walk to the beach, as well as just a step away from the beautiful Tybee Island lighthouse, restaurants and Museum. There was enough space to find a quiet moment and plenty of room for everyone. We would certainly love to visit again.

My grandson, Dashawn, Farewell Roast on Friday, January 13, 2012 turned out fabulous. There was plenty room for all 10 of us to be able to sit together and watch “A Walk through Memory Lane” family movies. My grandson was very surprised!

The following day was our eldest daughter, Rose, 38th birthday. Her dream of staying in a beach house being close to the ocean came true for her and she cannot stop stating that it was; “The Best birthday beach trip ever!”

Mr. Ted, it was a pleasure being able to meet you. Thank you for being so helpful to us when a couple of issues arose. We certainly appreciated your quick response. What a great experience! Thank you for helping make our vacation wonderful and for sharing your home with us!

Much Regards,

Mrs. Maria A. Concepcion

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
26 61

A bit ran down a lot of bugs but perfect for college students.

  • 3 of 5

Perfect place for college students to get away not so much for family hot tub doesn't work house is ran down and very hot only one ac unit and bugs everywhere.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The hot tub is not intended for guests. We don't advertise it. The house has central heat and air. That's all it needs. We have an AC professional who is very prompt at correcting any AC problem at any of our properties. Mosquitoes and sand gnats happen.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 1 of 5

The very first thing that made our stay difficult was the fact that the maid was there until 5. We were supposed to be able to check in around 3. We had 3 small kids and two teens who were hot and tired from being at the beach all afternoon while waiting on check in time. She said we could come in while she finished but we chose not to. When we got in she had left a ton of sheets in the dryer that were wadded up in a ball, we finished drying them and folded them. The outside trash can was over flowing with trash and was left right infront of the house. We moved the can so we didn't have to smell it when we came up to the house, and luckily it was picked up the next day.

There was old furniture propped against the house in the back yard with a tarp full of water and mosquitos. I called Ted and upon the second call he sent someone over to dump the tarp, which my husband helped do. There were so many mosquitos that you could not go outside w/o repelant. We tried to grill on evening but there were just to many mosquitos. Plus the awful eyesore of nasty furniture did not make for a nice relaxing environment that you want while on vacation. Also the back deck was slick with an algae like substance that we did not notice until 3 of us actually slipped on it and fell. After that we all chose not to use the back yard. That was very disappointing because we were looking forward to chilling and grilling in the evenings.

The floors were so dirty that my kids had black feet from walking around in there. I ended up making them wear their shoes at all times indoors. There were also German roaches in the kitchen, although we didn't see a ton they were there. The fridge was turned all the way down when we got there and it took an entire day to cool down. Luckily we had ice in the cooler to keep our milk and lunch meat cool. Also, the kitchen sink will shock you if you are touching the sink while running water. So if you are washing dishes don't touch the side of the sink. My brother who is an electrician was there and said that is likely due to a bad element in the water heater. Either way, it zapped me and my daughter several times. Ouch!

This could be a nice house but it needs some work and lots of TLC.

On the plus side, it is in a quiet location and is pretty close to the beach.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Thoroughly enjoyable stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay! The beach house was cozy and well air conditioned, and the beds were firm and Comfortable - fresh and pretty bedding. I haven't slept that well in months! The living area was perfect as well. It wass a short walk to the lighthouse and the beach. We had a great weekend! The owner, Ted, bent over backwards to accommodate our every need!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 4

Fun for all!

  • 4 of 5

My family and I enjoyed our stay at this cottage, it was roomy and a short walk to the beach. The cabana was cute & the backyard was nice for sitting and relaxing.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 4

There was plenty of room for our group.

  • 4 of 5

Close to beach which was a plus for us. Ted was available whenever we needed him. Problems were taken care of right away.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 6


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
North Beach Grill
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Wilmington Island
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Hwy 80
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
North Beach Grill
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Tybee beach

Just a half-block to the south of Ft Screven Beach Cottage is a large park with a stream, gazebo, and park benches. To get to the beach from the cottage you walk north past 2 cottages (a short block) and the beach is a half-block to the right(east), the lighthouse is a half-block to the left(west), and Fort Screven museum is a half-block straight ahead (north). The museum is where all of Tybee Island's parades begin. Easily the most popular parade is the Beach Bum Parade --- an audience participation parade --- usually held the weekend before Memorial Day weekend. All the floats are equipped with barrels of water so that people on the floats can shoot water at the spectators --- and the spectators shoot water back at the floats (and any other target at hand). For more civilized entertainment there is the Savannah Film Festival in late October and the many art galleries resulting from the growing renown of the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD), which has branches in Atlanta and Paris. Savannah (just 20 min away) also has live theatre, concerts, and a very popular music festival.


Rates & Availability

Tybee Island Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Mid -season Fall
Sep 5 2016 - Oct 31 2016
1 night minimum stay
Off season 2
Nov 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
1 night minimum stay
Mid season Spring
Mar 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $120 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

Last-minute deals are available when a reservation is made within 10 days of arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Tybee Island Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm System
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , tiled, double-head shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 5 is a detached Cabana bedroom with a queen-size sofa sleeper.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 10 garden chairs
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties