Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Jekyll Beach - Terrapin Haven

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Jekyll Island is state owned, and as such, development of the island is restricted to only 35% of the island creating a very quiet, laid-back atmosphere. If you want to 'get away from it all,' this is the place! The beaches are relatively undisturbed, and summer is a great time to see the huge sea turtles come onto the beach to lay their eggs.

This is a vacation rental that's large enough for the whole clan, yet comfortable for one or two, and it's located in the Jekyll Beach area. The home has lots of living areas, including a sunroom that's perfect for games and entertaining. The dining room table seats six, but if there are only two, just sit at the breakfast bar. Jekyll's newest wooden crossover to the beach is across the street. This house is on the west side of Beachview, and is approximately 100 yards from the beach.

There is a minimum rental of 4 nights required.

Come enjoy the beach!

Keywords: House, jekyll, beach, home, bungalo

More Details

Owner
Nancy Fazio
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2017

Why Nancy Fazio chose Coastal Georgia

Jekyll Island is a true beach vacation as I remember in the 80's. Jekyll has avoided the busy growth of nearby St. Simons, and as a state park, allows a quiet vacation experience.

What makes this house unique

Love to walk on the quiet beach with lots of areas with no crowds. I enjoy seeing the sea turtles, and even have deer in the yard in the evenings.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wonderfully quiet and peaceful family vacation! We loved it here.
Jul 2007
  • 1 of 8

Amenities

Jekyll Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) King sized bed in Master Bedroom., Queen size Beds (1) Queen sized bed in one guest bedroom., Twin or Single Beds (2) 3rd bedroom has two twin beds in room., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sleeper sofa in living room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Sleeper Sofa, Breakfast Bar, Kitchen open to Den. Picnic table on back Patio.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

Jekyll Beach - Terrapin Haven
average rating of 4.6764708 based on 42 reviews
Wisconsin
5

Lovely home

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for us. Close to the beach (very short walk), in a nice residential neighborhood. Lots of good hiking on the trails in the woods behind us, and of course the usual wonders of Jekyll Island (our third stay here): fishing, beach walking, relaxation. We stayed for a month, and it seemed too short. The house is very well equipped; we lacked for nothing. And though the house is situated on the main road around the island, traffic was never a bother. Jekyll is always quiet. We appreciated the island's new shopping center a couple of miles to the south, and Brunswick and St Simons are easy to get to for more serious grocery shopping. All in all, highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for posting such a wonderful review. You captured everything we love about the island and location of our home. So happy you had a wonderful stay. Again, thanks for taking the time to write a review, it helps so many people who visit our site.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pennslvania
4

Nice!

  • 4 of 5

Very satisfied. Clean. Well supplied with plenty of linens, kitchen needs, and very comfortable beds! We enjoyed our stay very much! Master bathroom toilet pipes very noisy only minor inconvenience to report.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write a review and making us aware of the noise issue so we can address that. We appreciate our guests letting us know how we can improve.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Columbia SC
5

The location was perfect for our stay on Jekyll. The beach access was a short walk from the house.

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 6 (2 adults and 4 children) enjoyed our stay in the house. The bedrooms and living areas were spacious. The children loved playing games and puzzles in the sunroom. The garage was nice for storing our bikes and beach toys. We cooked many meals in the kitchen. The Jekyll Market was nearby and we had a lot of fun exploring the island. We were able to see 3 Loggerhead turtle nests hatch and watch the hatchlings crawl into the ocean. We were so sad to leave and look forward to returning soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed the island and our home. Thanks for your wonderful review and look forward to having you return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great home to enjoy vacation.

  • 5 of 5

Thanks for allowing us to use your home. Plenty of space, the kids each had a favorite place to read and play on tablets. Fully furnished. Loved back patio area. Short walk to beach. Not to far to waterpark and other attractions. Loved it. The Comers.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear that our guests enjoy our home and the island. We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review, thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We enjoyed our stay at your house very much.

  • 5 of 5

We took our five grandsons with us (ages 5 to 12), and there was ample room for them to separate, if wanted or needed. They loved the beach across the street in the mornings for walking and exploring the tide pools for stone crabs. Later in the afternoon we went to the public beach.as the tide came in. A great time was had by all as we continue to help these cousins become best friends.

FYI: 1. You might want to have your dishwasher checked. It was pulling away from the cabinet.

2. A DVD on one of the larger TVs would have been an asset.

However, neither of these interfered with our visit. If you would ever consider a five day visit during the summer, please contact me. A week continues to be a bit long for a couple of our boys to be away from their parents.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review! Our reviews are so helpful to new guests searching for a vacation rental and your review captured many of the things we love about our home when we vacation with our granddaughters on the island. It is also helpful for us to know ways to improve to keep our guests coming back. Glad you had a great vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great- would stay here again.

  • 5 of 5

Our family loved this house. It was bigger and nicer than I expected from previous beach rentals. We had never been to jekyll island but loved it. This house was very homey. Felt warm like someone actually lived there different from some other beach rentals. The sun room was great! The shower out back was very handy keeping our 2 small children from getting sand everywhere. It was clean and tidy. Everything worked great and we had no issues. Quick walk to the beach and there were even sand toys, beach chairs, and an outdoor grill we could use. We also enjoyed the playground, sea turtle hospital, and water park( twice). Plenty of cookware etc to use. We like to rent houses so we can cook most of our own food as going out with 2 small children is hard and have a washer dryer is a must. This property was great for our needs and we would like to return to jekyll and this home if available in the future.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We would love to have you return! Your comments let us know that our efforts to make our guests' stay comfortable and memorable are working. We love that others are enjoying our house and the island as much as we do. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Jekyll Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
May 13 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
4th of July Week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
Summer
Jul 9 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Transaction Fee $35
Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 14.0%

A deposit of 1/2 of total rent is due to reserve home with remaining 1/2 due two weeks prior to arrival. The deposit less $100 processing fee is refundable up to 45 days prior to check in when deposit becomes nonrefundable. Jekyll Island has a bed tax of 14% which will be added to all stays.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Bird Watching; Sea Turtle Nesting Area; Summer Waves Water Park; Miles and miles of beach and bike trails, golfing at every level!

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties