Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakefront Large lot, Pontoon Rental Free Canoe and Paddle Boat WIFI Cable TV

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,550 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom 2 Bath, The 3rd bedroom is in the large guest house.

Wow! Biggest beach on the lake! This is a peaceful home on the quiet end of Wiggins lake.The home has a real cottage feel to it. It also has a nautical theme throughout as well as a large kitchen with a beautiful harvest table and very nice sized family room. Home is very well kept and clean. Brand new mattresses. (New May 1st 2015.) Guest house (3rd Bedroom) with lovely lake views! It will provide sleeping area for 6-10 guest. There is a great lake view from the family room/living room for an awesome sunrise. Very nice ground level deck with new bbq. Large green yard for play. Wiggins lake is home to 2 couples of swans. They love to eat crackers out of your hand from the dock. Wiggins is a great lake to catch pike and bass. There are some big ones. Swim, water ski, tube or jet ski. In the evening take slow boat ride and listen to the call of the loons. There are many coves for exploring. Also available to rent is rent my beautiful 2012 bennington pontoon. If golf is your game, gladwin's golf course is 1 mile away. Also canoe the cedar river. It is very scenic and close by. You are dropped off up river and finish where you park

Pontoon boat rental available: 20 foot pontoon available for rent. ! If pontoon is rented it must be rented for entire length of stay. Must return with tanks full or $7.00 per gallon will be accessed. We have a nice paddle boat and canoe free for your use.

More Details

Owner
Joe Machiniak
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 7, 2017

About Joe Machiniak

My name is Joe. I'm a home improvement specialist. I am also a vocalist and singing is my greatest love besides my beautiful wife Renee.

Renee is and Pastor of a small church in Royal Oak and is well known in or city for all her loving outreach. She also is a very accomplished speaker. You

Joe Machiniak purchased this house in 2014

Why Joe Machiniak chose Gladwin

We were so very fortunate this year. Our neighbor offered to sell us her lake home as she needed to move on because of her age. After we closed on the property we did several improvements to make it as enjoyable for our visitors. We also re- constructed the beach front area and brought in 60 yards of sand. Lots for the kids to play in!

What makes this house unique

This home has a beautiful veiw of the lake, a large yard and the homes on our street have large yards for playing. You are not crammed together like many lakefronts. Our end of the lake is very queit with little boat traffic

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed the weekend at this nicely refinished home. What a kitchen! The theme rooms were adorable, the nautical and swan rooms were very special.The beach was beautiful and wow what a view. The beds and furniture were very confortable and the baths and shower heads were awesome. I feel spoiled now. Everything you need is right at your finger tips. We packed way too much. We will definitey be back this summer with some friends and we are going to rent the pontoon too. Very nice boat.
May 2014
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Midland
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Gladwin
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Several
Car: necessary

Home on the Quiet end of the all sports Wiggins Lake. Great fishing and water play. Just 5 minutes west of the city of Gladwin. Just 30 minutes south of Houghton and Higgins Lake. Numerous ATV trails within 10 miles. Canoe the Cedar River for a day long and short trips available. Enjoy music in the park every Tuesday in the town of Gladwin. Enjoy some Ice Cream at The Corner House only ten minute from the Home, YUM-Yum. Small Town of Gladwin has many shops for the ladies to go treasure hunting. Sure to please all. Two hours north of metro Detroit. Lovely waterfront. Enjoy the Swans and the Loons that stop by to say hello.

Amenities

Gladwin House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1550 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Large Bath with tub and shower, also a 3/4 bath with a shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , New Bunk House Cottage Available May 1st 2015
  • 2 bedrooms 1 sleeper sofa New Bunk House Sleeps 4
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Lakefront Large lot, Pontoon Rental Free Canoe and Paddle Boat WIFI Cable TV
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 28 reviews
5

Fantastic week!

  • 5 of 5

Had a great week in Gladwin. House was clean and the kitchen was well stocked with cookware and dishes. Plenty of space in the house and bunk house for our family to enjoy. We rented the pontoon boat and swam and fished right off the dock. Visited the Stone house and of course had Ice cream at both places in town. Joe was very courteous and answered any questions I had in a timely manner. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family get away!

  • 5 of 5

Cute, family friendly cabin on the lake!

We had 2 families stay comfortably over Labor Day weekend. The home was what we expected from the listing, the owner provided clear, conscise instructions for our stay and it was super convenient to downtown Gladwin. We enjoyed the pontoon and the bonfire daily. It was a great getaway. We would defintely recommend staying here!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Madison Heights, MI
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Joe's property for one week and enjoyed every minute of it. The accomodations were superb; decorated so nicely and we really enjoyed the nautical themes throughout the home. It was cozy, clean and updated, and for a smaller home, felt very spacious. The view overlooking the lake was beautiful and we had bonfires every night and played in the lake each day, diving off the pontoon boat in the deep part of lake. Easy on/off re: pontoon boat!

We highly recommend this "best kept secret" and plan on coming back again next year! Thanks, Joe, for a great new vacation spot!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow thank you Rhett! I love it too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Shelby Township
2

BAD ending, Renters Beware!

  • 2 of 5

Our week started off good. The home was clean. I was surprised upon arrival at the amount of weeds in the lake close to the home as none of the pictures showed any. There is an area cleared directly in front of the home for swimming. On Wed of our trip I heard gurgling in the toilets which meant a problem with the septic. I contacted the owner who replied quickly & sent a person to check it out the next morning. The septic was full & the owner had it pumped out. It was determined there was a clog & that's when the digging began around 12 on Thursday afternoon. The owner & a worker were digging up dirt filled with septic water. The SMELL was sickening! At 4:00 we were told they were going to go get a mini excavator. Both my husband & myself were sick to our stomach's from the smell. We were traveling with a 5 year old & 1 year old. Leaving the property for hours at a time was not an option for us although that is what we were told we could do. We finally decided to leave at 7pm when we couldn't stand the smell & it didn't look like they were even close to being finished. At first the owner seemed understanding & even agreed to refund us $400 for the days missed as we left on Thur but were suppose to stay till Sat. Then a week later, after there were other renters in the home, the owner questioned if we had seen the DVD player. We did use the DVD player during our stay & it was there when we left. The owner said it was missing & that both myself & the guest after me were denying it which I took to mean he thinks I stole it:( It took 16 days after we left to receive our deposit back only after he contacted me for my address saying he had lost it. The deposit check included a letter stating the owner changed his mind & would only refund us $100 since we could have gone into town, out on the boat or down by the beach(which SMELLED like SEPTIC WASTE) because it is relatively close to where they were working. We rented the home to relax as a family with young children at the beach & play in the water. This was no longer possible as the dirt they were digging up was filled with waste water. Even after the problem was fixed the bacteria filled dirt would be accessible to our children which we did not feel was safe. VERY DISAPPOINTED we were promised a $400 refund which we felt was fair & only received $100. I realized this was our one experience but felt I needed to share to let others know before you take a chance with your vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I offered to pay this guest $400 dollars for her lost time when the septic tank failed to drain. After digging up the yard and finding she had flushed handy wipes down the toilet which then plugged up the drainfield. I offered the guest $100 for the six hours that it took me to retrieve her flushed Wipes. Digging up the septic field cost me $1000 as I needed to use an excavator , pay another helper and pay to have the tank emptied which I just did the spring. The tank was pumped before I began to dig so there was absolutely no smell in the yard or any sewage of any kind. Also there are no weeds near my Lakeshore whatsoever. This guest was upset because she was found to be at fault and so she posted a fictitious review. I wish I could post the photos on this response but it will not allow me to.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Vicksburg MI 49097
4

Very pleasant place for a week's summer vacation!

  • 4 of 5

The home, grounds and pontoon were very well kept. Included more than enough room for all guests to stay. We caught fish off the boat, dock and also out in the small swimming area.

Very nice area for all ages. The only issue we had, was the sandy slope down to the water. I had a hard time getting back up the hill!!!! Would be nice to have some steps and a handrail for the little bit older folks.....

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family week on the lake!

  • 5 of 5

Had a great week on the lake. Joe was awesome at answering the array of questions we had before booking. The house was very clean and well stocked with towels and kitchenware. Pretty much a home away from home! We rented the pontoon boat which was very well maintained and had fun out on the lake. Everyone had enough room in the house to move around and the bunk house was perfect for my brother, his wife and their two teenage daughters. Played a round of golf at the nearby course and visted the Stone house and of course both ice cream shops in town. Overall a fun stay with the family! Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning $90
Pontoon security $300
Refundable damage deposit $300
Pontoon $95 per day $600

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties