Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Florida As It Used To Be! Historic Pass-a-Grille

Bedrooms 2
Space 936 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

If you would prefer not to book online, feel free to contact me personally by clicking on the "Send Email" button.

Blue Water, White Sand! Come to our little corner of paradise, an easy 28 minutes from Tampa Airport or 15 minutes from St. Petersburg and Clearwater Airport. Our two-bedroom, one-bath apartment, built in 1944 and completely renovated, is just 100 paces from the sugar-like sand beaches of the Gulf and just 70 paces from the Intercoastal Waterway. Be prepared for your breath to be taken away, as you cross the sand dune walkover and see the bluest-blue and greenest-green Gulf for the first time. Think Corona beer commercials.

Rent a car if you want, but you will find that you can walk everywhere you need to on our little island. Great restaurants like Paradise Grill, the famous Hurricane's, and the Seahorse will have you believing that you have just stepped out of your parents' 1955 Chevy. Go deep-sea fishing or take a shelling or sunset cruise from little Merry Pier, or rent a pole, buy some shrimp bait and catch sheepshead, grouper, or snapper off the jetty. Grab a cone at our local ice cream store, Paradise Sweets, and stake out a bench on the sea wall. Wait for the daily parade of dolphins leaving their safe intercoastal environs and heading out to the Gulf for hours of play and eating – you might even spy a manatee poking its bristly nose up for air!

When lazing your days away eating grouper and shrimp – so fresh they are still salty – gets old, you are only a short drive from Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, the Salvadore Dali Museum, and the Ringling Museum. Orlando is only 90 minutes away and Sarasota, for a great day of shopping and dining in St. Armand's Circle on Siesta Key, is a simple day trip. Of course, there are outlet stores along the way, or you can go native at a beachy fish joint on Anna Maria Island.

Completely renovated in 2007, our second-story apartment with its own private entrance is full of our favorite tropical art and the colors of the Gulf. A large Great Room blends seamlessly into the brand new kitchen, with a king Tempurpedic bed in one bedroom and two twin beds in the second. A full sleeper sofa in the living room and a yard to call your own will all make you feel right at home. You'll want to invite everyone you know for a sleepover, but we're sorry to have to limit you to those you mentioned in your initial inquiry. Enjoy breakfast or dinner on the deck inside our landscaped and fenced yard. The owners live right on the property - separate from your space, of course! - so your wish is our command. We will answer your initial inquiry within 36 hours. Finally, our property is a smokeless and a firearm-free zone.

Just one thing, you have to promise to leave when your stay is over. We have more guests arriving!

Keywords: Apartment

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 31, 2017

About Chris

Midwesterners Ann and Chris 'found' Pass-A-Grille in 1990, traveling here for vacations with our mothers for almost ten years before purchasing our home which we call Blue Water White Sand. We are proud and happy to say that we were married in 2014 and plan on spending the rest of our days right here! Ann is a Benefits Consultant and Chris is retired and manages the property. We have two Australian Shepherds, Scout and Ben, and love to travel, sail, play golf, kayak, fish, and spend time just chilling with our PAG friends.

Chris purchased this apartment in 1998

Why Chris chose St Pete Beach

We first came to Pass-A-Grille in 1990 and immediately felt as if we'd stepped back in time. Our little town typifies the 'old Florida' feel. We call it 'Mayberry on the beach.' Everyone knows each other - from Andre the mailman, to Rebecca and Julie at the Salon, to Debbie at the Seahorse Restaurant, to Bruno the Turtle Man - it can take an hour to walk your dog just because of all the conversations with friends! On the other hand, we are minutes away from major league baseball, terrific museums and restaurants, and all the beach life you could want. We can be fishing in five minutes and setting off on our sailboat in ten. Every sunset is an art show and it's tough to beat the cornhole tournaments with a beer at the Paradise Grille. Life is pretty darn good.

What makes this apartment unique

The most pleasant by-product of staying in Pass-A-Grille is how your spirit finds quiet again. Walking the beach or the endlessly interesting alleys, a peace descends on you, washing away all your stress and worries. This is the Florida that many of us knew as children - beaches full of sea life, a convenience store, knotty pine tables at the local breakfast spot, nights so quiet you can hear the waves from a block away, and one and only one stoplight. Come and enjoy riding your bike down the middle of the street again!


Pass-a-grille Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 936 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Gated, fenced-in yard


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Florida As It Used To Be! Historic Pass-a-Grille
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 19 reviews
Central Virginia

Absolutely delightful in every way!

  • 5 of 5

I booked this VRBO for 4 nights as a surprise birthday trip for my husband. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely apartment. It's much nicer and more spacious than the pictures would suggest. Every detail is thought out, from the fresh water dispenser, to the well stocked kitchen, and the comfortable king size bed. Chris is the ultimate hostess and could not have been more kind and generous. We were fortunate to have use of some borrowed bikes which completely made our stay! We rode them everywhere - to the Merry Pier for the Shell Key shuttle, The Seahorse Cafe for breakfast, Hurricane for tropical drinks and dinner, The Brass Monkey for lunch (the blackened grouper Reuben sandwich was TO DIE FOR!), exploring the island down to the southern tip, and even an emergency ride up to St. Pete Beach for a sun hat. We brought the beach chairs and umbrella provided with the rental to the beach for a couple of exquisitely relaxing afternoons. And the icing on the (birthday) cake... Chris recommended Katherine, a local massage therapist who makes house calls, for a fantastic massage right there at the apartment! You can be certain that if/when we come back to Pass-a-Grille Beach, we will stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were so happy to host these guests for their Mystery Weekend. What a nice surprise that she gave her husband! They fit right into PAG life and were acting like locals within a couple hours of their arrival. We hope to see them again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of five (three young kids + two parents) thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this apartment. It was clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated, and steps away from the beach. The kitchen is well-stocked and user friendly, and we enjoyed grilling some Florida grouper on the grill outside. Chris is a thoughtful, courteous host, and she made sure we had everything that we needed for a great stay. She was even kind enough to mail us a small stuffed animal that one of our children accidentally left behind! The location is wonderful - an easy walk to the beach and several restaurants. We would love to stay there again when we visit Pass-a-Grille!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were so happy to host M. and A. and their family for their return to PAG! What a delightful family. You are welcome back anytime (and we are happy that someone's little animal made it home safely!)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Home away from Home!!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed for one week apartment eas more than we expected pictures dont do it justice.All the adminities of home, with a few more extras thrown in. Had a Great relaxing vacation, this beach has become our favriote, dophins, manates were a daily accurance.Ate at Sea Critters twice old florida at its best. Chris was attentive to all are needs, Great host would recomend highly. Hope to be back next year. Jeff& Julie.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

We'll be back!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 2 weeks in this wonderful apartment but could have happily stayed for 2 months or more. We have already reserved for next year, such an easy decision to make! The apartment is clean, bright and spacious with tasteful decorations throughout. The kitchen is excellently equipped - we were never short of anything. The water dispenser is a real plus, as is the gas grill on the decking which we used many times. Chris and Ann are lovely people who looked after us superbly. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we so enjoyed their interesting and intelligent conversation. The location is just great! A short stroll to beautiful Pass-a-Grille beach one way and to Shaners land and sea market, Sea Critters restaurant and the Wharf waterside bar the other way. We had friends stay over one night and they loved the apartment too!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were delighted to host our guests from the UK. They taught us so much in our conversations about the upcoming Brexit vote! We look forward to the return of our new friends and beach lovers next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Beach Vacation!!!

  • 5 of 5

This apartment was AMAZING! My husband and I just visited Chris and Ann in Pass-a-grille for ten days over Memorial day and had the best experience! The apartment was immaculate and every detail was thought of! Chris and Ann were so attentive to our needs, but we were still able to enjoy a much needed vacation alone! We truly felt like it was an all-inclusive package! We have been to sandals many times and this was a very close second to the all-inclusive experience! We loved how close it was to the beach and with the gas grill we hardly had to leave in the evenings! We were able to walk to shaners land and sea market and giovanni's italian restaurant to get food and either go to the beach for sunset or grill at the house and walk to the beach after dinner! We needed a vacation that was relaxing and totally stress free and that is exactly what we got! This apartment is close to many other restaurants, but we just loved being on the beach so much a quick grilled dinner was all we needed! Chris and Ann were nothing but professional and respectful! My family came to stay our last night and added a total count of five people. Chris and Ann were nothing but helpful with the process of letting them stay and gave them a parking pass for their car. We respected them by letting them know who was coming and they respected us by letting us have the five people that the contract allowed. PLEASE do not hesitate to rent this apartment on the previous review. Chris and Ann are such kind and attentive people who run a beautiful business in Pass-a-grille! Hope you will visit soon! We can not wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that this couple enjoyed themselves so much while they were our guests. They were wonderful renters and clearly enjoyed the beach, spending every possible moment walking, swimming, sunning, or sitting and people-watching. We are fortunate to have made two new friends with Brett and April and look forward to their return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Paradise that went wrong

  • 2 of 5

Upon entering our home for the next 7 days, we were overjoyed! The apartment is beautiful and really close to the beach. The rental agreement we signed said no more than 6 people could be in the apartment at any time. When booking I thought this is perfect, it is me, mom and my 2 daughters from Milwaukee. We have family in the Tampa area, so I thought this is great, my nephew and his son can stay over on one weekend night if they wish, as they are about 45 minutes from this apartment. I read the rental agreement over and over and it never anywhere stated anything about having to identify who was coming or anything, just 6 people maximum at anytime including guests. Well my white nephew and his mom came for a visit for dinner one night. No problem. Then on Friday, May 20th my half white half Spanish nephew came with his 13 year old son. And suddenly Chris was asking to speak with me. She said you cannot have anyone over night except the 4 of you. I said, oh the rental agreement says no more than 6, so I thought we would be ok. We were not rowdy, it was 2 kids and my 65 year mom, me 46, 27, year old daughter and my 35 year old Spanish looking nephew. We had wine, but were not partying. I believe it was the fact that he was Spanish looking. When I saw Chris the next day and said sorry if we upset you but the agreement said 6 so it should have been ok...and that my nephew had to drive back 45 minutes for really no reason was rude. Chris proceeded to tell me a story about 4 college girls that had Cubans over and she had to tell them no way. So, that just told me it was about how brown my nephew was. Because the White one that stopped in for a beach day, it was no issue at all. The reviews that got me to rent from here were families of up to 6. If you have an issue with different races or maybe men, then just make it clear in the rental agreement, that you can have no one over ever, change what you have in there now about 6 people max including visitors. You really ruined our last weekend, my nephew felt upon arrival you did not like him because he looked Mexican and I said no way she is so nice, then all of a sudden he had to go. Not cool and not ok. I do not recommend this place because as Chris said the day after she said my nephew could not stay, this is there home and they cannot have any liability. If someone were to get hurt, etc. I was thinking, um you are renting weekly, it is a liability. So disappointed and obviously still upset.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My first thoughts to simply refer potential guests to all the other reviews we have received. My second thought is, "Oh, please." This guest is correct. Our Rental Agreement does stipulate that no more than six people may stay overnight at any one time. What is customary is for the guest to inform the owners of expected overnight guests ahead of time. When your nephew arrived, the reason I approached him was because he had parked entirely across the driveway, blocking your car in. Once he identified himself and your daughter brought him the street parking pass, I had no other thought beyond how handsome he is. No other thought until I then saw him entering the apartment with a suitcase and a bag full of liquor. You then told me he was from a community which is less than seven miles from here and that his going home that night after visiting would "not be a problem." To suggest that the owner may have any sort of bias based on ethnicity is ludicrous. We have rented our apartment for 18 years to people from all over the world, of all different races, genders, and ethnicities. Using a descriptor is not a sign of prejudice; it is simply a part of a story. You listed on your site inquiry that you and three others would be sleeping in the apartment. That in itself constitutes a contract. The different number of people sleeping in our apartment puts us in a dangerous situation with our liability insurance, which covers only those who we know are to be staying there. If someone outside our knowledge slips in the tub, we would not be covered. We are sorry that you were disappointed. In 18 years of renting, we have had only two guests who have not met our expectations as visitors. For the following reasons, we now have a list of three; - the cleaner, who typically prepares the apartment for the next guest in under two hours, spent 5.5 hours getting it back in order, - I am still trying to get bloodstains out of the sheets and coverlet, - in spite of leaving your sandals at the door as requested, there was an inordinate amount of sand in the apartment, to the degree that the cleaner had to vacuum out the dryer before using it, - members of your party were outside at night being loud enough that our neighbors remarked on it to us. Since we live in a residential neighborhood, we must be especially cognizant of any noise our guests impose on our neighbors. Going forward, our suggestion is that you have a deeper conversation with owners about your plans while renting.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Tampa International or Clearwater/St. Petersburg
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Wharf
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Shell Key Shuttle
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Sea Critters
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Pass-A-Grille Beach
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Pass-a-grille Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Low Season
Jun 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
High Season
Nov 1 2017 - May 31 2018
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Pet Fee $100

50% of total due to book reservation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties