check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Amenity-Packed Waterfront Island Retreat

28 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Lopez Island House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms +Queen size air matress, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

This rambling oceanside home offers sweeping views of San Juan Island, lodging for up to 12 people, homey amenities, and a getaway vacation you'll never forget. Known as Channel House this sunny westside waterfront home has 315 feet of waterfront and 5 acres with wooded uplands. With 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 2 living rooms, 3 gas stoves, 1 wood stove and a bar area complete with dartboard, it is ideal for extended families or multiple families. Couples will also appreciate the privacy and special amenities offered by this idyllic getaway setting.

Upon entering Channel House, you are immediately welcomed into the bar area where guests gather for casual evenings playing darts and recounting the day's activities. This opens up onto the dining area and kitchen with a nearby reading nook, all with spectacular channel views. Down the hall from the kitchen you pass the first bedroom, known at the Bunkhouse, it sleeps four in 2 bunk beds and is the perfect hideaway for kids and teens. The Bunkhouse has its own TV and the house is stocked with a huge video library. Wi-fi and satellite TV are also available throughout the house.

Down the hall is the first living room complete with an expansive selection of books to suit everyone’s interests, a cozy gas stove and views through the pines to San Juan Island in the distance. This is the perfect space for the luxury queen size air mattress which is available upon request. Two full, nicely appointed bathrooms are adjacent to this room, both stocked with plenty of fluffy cotton towels.

Beyond this living room, down a private hallway, are two additional bedrooms. One has a king-size bed and the other a queen-size bed. Both have abundant closet and drawer space. Nearby is the mudroom with a full size washer and dryer and access to the side yard and parking area.

The second living room, with a wood burning stove, is located toward the rear of the house and features a chess board, board games, and a telescope for boat and bird watching. Eagles are sighted regularly here.

Follow the stairs upstairs to the secluded, king-size bed master suite with its own living room. office, romantic gas stove, and 2 covered balconies to soak in the spectacular views. The en suite bathroom has double sinks and a full bath/shower.

The amenities of this house extend beyond the interior to its wraparound deck and 6-person spa. Just past the deck your private beach waits below where sea glass, shells and other treasures are collected.

Keywords: house,retreat,multi-family,getaway,home,cabin,lodge,rental,property

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Sandra and Martin Button
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 18, 2016

About Sandra and Martin Button

My husband and I both have very busy schedules that include lots of travel and the day-to-day requirements of running our own companies. We come to Lopez to rejuvinate and spend time with our family. I grew up in Seattle and have a deep appreciation for all the Pacific Northwest has to offer. We love to fish, hike, kayak, snoop around the village, cook, and spend time here unplugged from the demands of our hectic lives.This is our dream house and we are sure you will enjoy its charms as much as we do.


based on 28 traveler reviews

Amenity-Packed Waterfront Island Retreat
average rating of 4.678571 based on 28 reviews

What a relaxing beautiful place

  • 5 of 5

We stayed over a weekend with 3 other couples. What a great place to relax, dine, play games, go for a beach walk and explore the island. Love the Lopez wave. I love the big island with chairs all around. You can participate in helping to make meals or just sit and watch. We ended up having a couple of meals there and then used the long more formal table for the other meals. It's a super comfortable home. The best part is the view and the sunsets are awesome. There's a resident eagle's nest not far away so you are almost guaranteed seeing them. We plugged our IPhone's in the Bose set up and had music to fit the mood! The beds and linens were super comfy. The décor is also classy and well done. Would highly recommend. Go make memories and relax. I would also like to comment on the review that suggested there were bats or bed bugs..... The house is spotless and there are no bed bugs or bats!!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Most beautiful place in all the world

  • 5 of 5

We celebrated the 20th annual ladies kayak adventure aka Peggy's Passionate Paddling Pals this weekend and stayed at the Channel House on Lopez Island. It was such a wonderful place for all the ladies to have a large place to gather and celebrate this annual event. The layout of the house gave large areas to share and more quiet spaces for reading and journaling. There was plenty of room and comfortable clean beds with soft sheets! The house was spotless and just about every amenity one could hope for including two dishwashers !! The hot tub was clean and such a wonderful place to relax after a long day of kayaking. The huge deck view was so beautiful and just a long stair case away from the beach. Interesting and eclectic art filled the walls! Terry the manager was accessible to meet our needs. I was also able to access the owners while seeking information about if this house would meet our needs. There was an informational notebook to tell us about the house and all the cool things to do while on Lopez.I felt like I was sharing such a special place with my friends which will never be forgotten by all the gals. We have rented many houses over the years but never one as awesome as the Channel House. We hope to return next year and hope all of you reading this will have a chance to rent this most beautiful slice of paradise!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great House! Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic stay at the Channel House! The location is great and the views are amazing! The pictures do not do this place justice!! I would without a doubt stay there again!! The property manager was always very helpful and extremely friendly. It looks like the previous review might have been malicious; we did it have any problems with bats or bed bugs, and everything was very clean/well kept. Only problem we encountered was lack of Internet and an ant every once in awhile (definitely not an infestation like the previous review suggested).

Stay at Channel house! You will have a great stay!!



  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family and Friends Reunion/Getaway disaster

  • 1 of 5

My Friends and Family started a tradition to travel to Lopez island to either start or end the summer... We saw this house and thought we would try it.. The views looked spectacular, the kitchen is large and easy to work in...What was thought to be a fun retreat turned into a nightmare.. The arrival day walking upstairs to the master bedroom around 7ish pm we encountered 3 bats flying around. No doors or windows were open upstairs the bats had to have been there prior to our arrival day.. We thought all three vacated the house however the following night another bat was flying around in the room so that either means 4 bats or only 2 vacated... Advising the House manager Terry she advised we the group left doors and windows open. All of us are now getting Rabies shots due to sleeping with a bat in a house equals being bitten, this is what all our doctors and ER doctors are advising us since their teeth are so small and Rabies can be transmitted from saliva, a bite or a scratch we would not even know we were bitten.. As far as us leaving doors and windows open how could we the bats were there prior to our arrival. As the reunion progressed people began to noticed red hard and eventually itchy bumps, soon everyone was covered from head to toe with these bumps which doctors have stated are consistent with bedbugs. We also encountered Black Carpenter ants as well as Red ants and we were told they were harmless too.. I would not recommend this home, the house manager and owner should of advised us of the infestation of bedbugs and ants refunded our money or work out something with another home on the island... The house manager made me feel like the issues in the house were all our fault... Do not go to this home until after the fumigate and fix their bat issues

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA

Long weekend gate away with bed bugs

  • 1 of 5

Me and my friends stayed st this home for a week. 8/25/16 to 8/30/16.

Everyone (10) of us came back with bed bugs bites.

Ants crawling all over the main family room with a pull out bed. Bats also hiding in the master bedroom.

This was the worst experience ever staying at a VRBO.

We are reporting this incident with the Health Department.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These people are scammers and blackmailers, but they failed. They stayed a full week and never said a word during their stay then after leaving threatened to write a bad review if we did not give them a 100% refund. We obviously did a full investigation of their accusations and all beds were stripped and inspected when they attempted to blackmail us. Nothing was found of course. As for bats, we have spent many months at Channel House and have never seen sight nor sound of a bat. Please read the rest of our reviews. They are 100% five star. We are sad to have been attempted to be scammed by these unscrupulous renters and hope no VRBO owners will ever rent to these people again. They are absolute liars and scammers. Kindly ignore their comments. For further information please feel free to contact me via Thank you. Martin & Sandra Button
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent home with a beautiful view

  • 5 of 5

We were attending Lopez Island for a family reunion and this home was a perfect place to say for our two large families. The kitchen was beautiful. The bedrooms were very comfortable and the living space was very spacious. There was a beautiful deck and wonderful hot tub overlooking the beautiful West side of the island, creating exquisite opportunities to view the sunsets each evening. Access to the private beach was great for the kids - allowing us to see wonderful wildlife- Eagles, sea lions, and deer. There was also a very nice lawn space that allowed us to play outside games as a family. Great place to stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


o Rent a bike and explore the rolling countryside and open farmland of Lopez.

o See the seals & sea lions at Shark Reef Park after walking in on the beautiful wooded trail.

o See more tide pools and climb the rock at low tide when you visit Agate Beach Park.

o Visit the picturesque Center Church and the Lopez Cemetery.

o Play a round of Golf at the Lopez Golf Course

o Rent a Kayak and paddle in protected Fisherman Bay or explore the more dramatic shoreline of the island.

o Browse the book store, shops and galleries in this walking village.

o Saturdays May thru September, enjoy the eclectic choice of wares from the many local vendors at the Farmers Market.

o See a free movie on Saturdays at the Library.

o Visit the many Galleries and Studios around the island.

o Walk Channel Houses’ 2 miles of protected shoreline at the bottom of your private stairway.


Rates & Availability

Lopez Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Garbage Transport $65 + Tax
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $195 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.1%

One Week Minimum July & August
We will be accepting 1 WEEK MINIMUM bookings for JULY & AUGUST 2012 until May 15.
After May 15th we will accept reservations for 2-night minimum bookings.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Lopez Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • PC
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (4)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Wood Deck
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Baby bed, high chair and other supplies available.

Partner Offers