check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Elizabeth and Tony

Member since: 1998
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Family Mountain Retreat--Secluded Feel, Yet Close to Town

24 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Breckenridge House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

We want to introduce you to our magnificent family home nestled in the forest of Breckenridge! If a great price, a fantastic location, and a host of amenities interest you, this is the place you want! IMAGINE 2 acres of incredible views from all sides of the property, three decks, a jacuzzi under the stars, and 3,000 sq. feet of space in the house - THAT'S LAURAWAY! Located on two wooded acres, which border the famous Blue River … all of this remoteness is less than 5 minutes from the center of historic Breckenridge.

Lauraway is a family home, we all work on the house so it is much more than just a rental - you'll find warmth and friendly additions at Lauraway. We take pride in owning and caring for our home.

Lauraway is ideal for family reunions and groups of friends who want special times together. The dining room table which can seat 12 makes meals an opportune time to share, the picnic area by the Blue River provides outdoor eating, and the multi-levels give some 'space' when space is needed! The house will comfortably sleep 12 and there are also convertible beds (hide-a-beds).

And for those people who find they must do just a little work while vacationing, we do have WIFI service.

WE WANT YOU TO EXPERIENCE LAURAWAY, TOO!

HOUSE DESIGN:

LOWER LEVEL - As you enter the house, there is the game room with TV/DVD, pool table, and barstools and counter. A deck with table, chairs, and large Jacuzzi 'under the stars' sits next to the game room. Also on this floor is a Sauna. One bedroom, Lodgepole, has a queen bed while the second bedroom, Aspen, has two sets of bunk beds. And finally, the bath on this lower level has a shower.

MIDDLE FLOOR - This is all entertainment. Our renters comment that they love a level with no bedrooms so 'entertainment' can occur at all hours of the day or night! The great room hosts a TV/CD/DVD unit, a wood-burning fireplace, a game table, and lots of seating - two couches, a recliner chair, and two window seats. The kitchen hosts modern conveniences and there is a long kitchen counter with 5 barstools. In addition, the dining room table can seat 12, so all can enjoy each other's laughter and tales of the day! We have even added a second refrigerator for large groups. The washer and dryers on this floor may be used by guests. There is also a half-bath. Outside on this level is a deck with patio furniture and a propane grill.

TOP LEVEL - You may find yourself fighting for the master bedroom suite - the Wildflower room has a king bed, walk-in closet, two window seats, two couches, private deck with exquisite views, TV, and bathroom with a shower. The second bedroom on this floor, Pinecone, has a queen bed; and the other bedroom, Spruce, has two twin beds. These two bedrooms share a full bath with double sinks.

GUEST COMMENTS:

- “We had a FABULOUS time at Lauraway. We have stayed in the Summit County area on several occasions and everyone believed that Lauraway was the best place we ever stayed.”

- “My husband and I really believe that staying at the right house makes or break a vacation. The huge living room was a great gathering place for everyone so that we could catch up on everyone’s activities for the day. And it was really great to have a dining room table big enough for everyone to eat together. The hot tub and pool table got a lot of use as well.”

GPS coordinates: N 39 27.784 W 106 02.138

Keywords: Single Family, House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Elizabeth and Tony (Owner)
Member since: 1998
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Elizabeth and Tony chose Breckenridge Area

We fell in love with Breckenridge while skiing there years ago and decided it would be a perfect place to own a vacation home. Our home is nestled on 2 wooded acres so it feels like you're away from it all, yet it's less than 2 miles to the gondola. And the best part - summers are just as great as winters in Breckenridge with endless outdoor adventures.

Reviews

4.5
based on 24 traveler reviews

Family Mountain Retreat--Secluded Feel, Yet Close to Town
average rating of 4.5 based on 24 reviews
2

Scenic Mountain Hide-Away

  • 2 of 5

We selected Lauraway for its secluded location, stunning views, and picnic area beside the river. We appreciated owners' prompt response to questions prior to rental. Hearing about the tree house for our grandchildren to enjoy sealed the deal.

PROS:

*Floor plan with 2 ground floor bedrooms and 3 top floor bedrooms comfortably accommodated our family of 8

*Clean upon arrival

CONS:

*Towels plentiful but stiff and tattered from overuse

*Back of a dining chair was broken, leaving a 3" screw dangerously exposed

*No hairdryer available as advertised

*Dense undergrowth prevented access to river-side picnic table; tree house disappointingly inaccessible

*Vintage fridge not fully functional. Items stored in door fall on floor upon opening; 2nd fridge provided in another room

*Owners request no outside shoes indoors; Beware sock-covered feet on steep spiral stairs. Despite caution, we had 3 falls!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great Location

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at Lauraway the nights of 2/7/16 thru 2/12/16. The place was clean and acceptable. Understand the week before Breckenridge did receive quite a lot of snow the did hamper the use of the house some. We had to enter on the bottom floor, since the second floor was pretty much snowed in. What we did not know is that there were two sets of spiral staircases between floor that we had to use. Since my wife had just knee surgery 1 month before this was somewhat difficult but not overcome.

They do have a wood burning fireplace, and we were told that firewood was placed on the deck each weekend, however the amount of wood provided a fire for the first half of the superbowl. We had to purchase our own firewood. Also we never did find the recliner that was suppose to be on the second level.

When we first got there we read the rules and regulations that were normal and expected, however we did not think we should have to be carrying out the trash of the people that were there the few days before. Two full garbage cans plus many sacks of trash.

Our group consisted of 6 people ages from 6 to 65 so the space a was very adequate. Lauraway was just a short trip to the gondola, perhaps 10 minutes, so the location was nice and also secluded.

I give it 3 stars, perhaps another half do to the lack of firewood and spiral staircases and trash removal. Possibly could return but doubtful.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Lauraway--it was quite the perfect snow weekend! I understand your concerns about the spiral staircase which is why we clearly described the stairs in our vrbo ad. Also we do have two pull out beds in our home--one in the master and one on the main level. I apologize if you were unable to find them. We thank you for taking out the trash, but you were not required to take out trash from previous guests. When you asked, I said it would be good if you were able to take out your own on trash day so it wouldn't pile up for you. I'm sorry if that wasn't clear in our emails back and forth on the matter. Again, we're glad you enjoyed your trip and hope you'll consider staying again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great time, good location, plenty of room but has maintenance issues.

  • 3 of 5

We had a group of 12 staying over the Christmas break. Overall, the house provided plenty of room for all of us, seating was good, kitchen was well equiped. The location was good, just a few minutes from town. The hot tub worked, the grill worked and fireplace in living room worked, thankfully!

What didn't work was the heat in the living room - it was very cold over Christmas so heat was an issue and owner never responded to the issue while we were there or after. Also, the refrigerator was broken - there were bungy cords for the door shelf brackets. Things falling out everytime you opened the door. Needless to say, they did not work well and there were leveling issues with some of the main compartment shelves - a few things slid off an broke. The 2nd refrig was very convenient but was sort of disgusting - something in the bottom looked nasty. Both refrigs ran very very cold - lots of stuff frozen even after adjusting the temp.

Evidently, there was firewood at the end of the driveway - must of been covered up with snow? Never saw wood but we didn't try to dig it out either. We spent money on firewood as a result.

All in all, it was a decent place to stay. If owners would have responded to the heat issue, and acknowledged the poor condition of the refrigerators, I would rent again as location and size was good and price reasonable.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your week at Lauraway! I wanted to take a quick second to address some of your concerns. We already purchased a new refrigerator for the kitchen and will be moving the old one into the entry as an additional refrigerator for guests to use. We plan to do some additional kitchen renovation work this spring. After you notified us about the heat, we had the technician take a look and he said nothing was wrong with the heating element. As we spoke about, I think it was just an issue of not turning the correct thermostat knob since each zone has its own throughout the entire house. Again, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll consider a return trip next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

Our kids (now college-age) remarked over and over again that this was the best place we have yet stayed in for a ski vacation in the Rockies (we've vacationed in five locations so far, I believe). What made Lauraway the best of them all were: the spacious accommodations--there was a bed for everyone (nine people), the middle level with no bedrooms (to help keep things quieter when some want to stay up later playing games, etc), the large dining table that seated everyone in our party, the living room big enough for everyone to crash in at the same time, adequate hot water, a large and well-equipped kitchen, plenty of towels, toilet paper, etc, large (working) hot tub and sauna, and more. In short, it was the closest (to the ski slopes), most spacious, most complete of accommodations we stayed in so far! And it's very reasonably priced (with very nice and "reachable" owners) at that! Would definitely stay in again.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great mountain home.

  • 5 of 5

Annually, we reunite a group of friends to ski Summit County. Some from the northeast, some from Florida, some from Colorado. We've stayed at the Lauraway for 10 years. It's like our second home. Lots of space, very comfortable, well equipped, close to the ski areas, and the owners are great people. Highly recommended. How can you go wrong with a hot tub, pool table, and a sauna?

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Location for a Ski Vacation!

  • 4 of 5

We were on a two family ski vacation (10 people). The house was plenty big enough to accomodate us all comfortably. Location was beautiful and peaceful. Skiing was 5 minutes down the road!

Would certainly come back again!

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Denver
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Breckenridge Brewery and Pub
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Breckenridge Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Hwy 9
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Breckenridge Brewery and Pub
Nearest Ski
1.5 Miles
Breckenridge
Nearest Point of Interest
Restaurants and Shops
Nearest Point of Interest
Ski Gondola
Nearest Point of Interest
Ice Rink
Car: necessary

In addition to your mountain adventures, Lauraway is located 20 minutes from Lake Dillon, 5 min from Breckenridge Rec Center with swimming, exercise, indoor tennis, rock climbing wall & more

Photos

Rates & Availability

Breckenridge House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
September
Sep 6 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
 
 
Early October
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 10 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Fall
Oct 11 2016 - Nov 21 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2016 - Nov 27 2016
4 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
Early ski
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
$300
From
$350
Fri,Sat
 
 
Pre Holiday
Dec 15 2016 - Dec 20 2016
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Holiday
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 2 2017
5 night minimum stay
$750
 
 
Early Jan
Jan 3 2017 - Jan 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$375
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
MLK
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Late Jan
Jan 17 2017 - Jan 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
From
$375
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
Early Feb
Feb 1 2017 - Feb 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$375
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
Pres Day
Feb 16 2017 - Feb 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Late Feb
Feb 21 2017 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
From
$375
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
Early March
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 6 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
From
$375
Fri,Sat
 
 
Spring Break
Mar 7 2017 - Mar 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$400
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
Spring Ski
Mar 27 2017 - Apr 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
From
$250
Fri,Sat
 
 
Value
Apr 17 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$295
 
 
Early Summer
May 30 2017 - Jun 11 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
From
$250
Fri,Sat
 
 
Summer
Jun 12 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
From
$325
Fri,Sat
 
 
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$385
 
 
Peak Summer
Jul 6 2017 - Aug 13 2017
3 night minimum stay
$295
From
$350
Fri,Sat
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 14 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$275
Fri,Sat
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$220
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $200
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 7.0%

Long-term rentals welcome. 7 nt min. holiday season, 3 nt min. all others.
Rate range $195-$750/nt

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Breckenridge House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size Beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Twin size Bunk Beds (2 sets), Baby Cribs (2), Sleep Sofa (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
Notes:
Three Decks, Incredible Views, Solitude, extra refrigerator, high chair, stair gate

Partner Offers