Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Chateau / Country House, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

A luxurious country getaway for the traveler who needs to spread out and relax! (Sorry, we do not accept weddings or events and we do not allow more than eight persons.) Sit in the pergola with a glass of wine, enjoy the view and stroll the rose garden. Designer kitchen with AGA stove,teak countertops and stone floors; wood-burning fireplace in the living room, and a cigar room for the discriminating gentleman...or lady! After a hard day touring the local award-winning wineries, take it easy in the spa. You can't help but enjoy yourself. Plenty of room to roam and breathe the country air. See the stars at night. Tour the Danish village of Solvang, do a little antiquing, or go for a walk down a country lane. Wonderful spot for Spot, as well. Half-acre fenced grassy yard with plenty of shade trees guarantees a sweet time for your dog while you are off having fun. Safe and secure, entire property is fenced, with separately fenced half acre around house accessible by doggie door. Santa Ynez Valley at its best!

Keywords: Phenomenal Country Estate Five Acres Romantic Getaway for Two or More with Privacy and Ultimate Relaxation for Sipping Wine and Enjoying the High Life

More Details

Owner
Paul Rudder
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2017

About Paul Rudder

We live in Mammoth Lakes year round and come down to Santa Ynez to enjoy the warmth and the wine. We love the property as it is private, secure, and a beautiful place to stroll around and enjoy.

Paul Rudder purchased this chateau / country house in 2004

Why Paul Rudder chose Santa Barbara County

Santa Ynez Valley has much more reliable weather than the coast, but Santa Barbara is very close by. Being in the middle of the wine country and horse country means being surrounded by beauty and always having a fun place to go and explore.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

With real casino gaming just a couple of miles away, you don't have to give up big-name entertainment to be in the country. In the other direction, a short ride up a big hill takes you to Figeroa Mtn. and the national forest. Plenty of hiking and biking and exercise for those who love the out of doors. Local area has spas galore, ask for reccomendation.

Amenities

Santa Ynez Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • smoking allowed ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Local Calls
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Secure Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (3), TV Room with two twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Porch Furniture
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Heavily landscaped property with gazebo for dining and drinking overlooking walking paths and gardens. Orchard, patio with barbeque, large comfortable private spa. Close to dozens of wineries and vineyards, Solvang, Santa Ynez, and Los Olivos. A perfect country retreat, designed to relax and rejuvenate. Cigar room and smoking allowed outside. Near Santa Barbara and the ocean for world-class shopping and all water sports.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 45 reviews
Los Angeles
5

Great Experience

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful home that is much larger than the pictures show you.

The owners were responsive and available when we needed them but not at all intrusive.

I would highly recommend this house if you plan on doing a casual and elegant wine tasting weekend in valley!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Marino, CA
5

Great Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay at this beautiful home. We were with our 3 kids and grandparents and there was plenty of space for all of us and our kids just loved playing and exploring on the expansive property. The kitchen and dining area were a perfect place for us to gather for meals and the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. We just wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy this piece of paradise a little longer!

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Bittersweet - recommended with reservations

  • 3 of 5

Our experience was bittersweet. Leading up to the stay, we received very little and fragmented information about the property and had to keep asking for details (such as address, cancellation policy, etc). Upon arrival, there was no checklist or handbook, as we've encountered in other properties (i.e. checkout policy, cleaning instructions, guide to the property). The house and property were very spacious though, and well-equipped. The jacuzzi and kitchen setup worked great. Several of us discovered a rash of bites on our bodies (not bed bug bites). It should be noted that the 4th bedroom is more of a converted hallway and does not allow very much privacy. Upon checking out, we received a very rude phone call about how messy the house was, although we had done a considerable amount of cleaning (and paid a hefty cleaning fee prior) - the only thing we left was the trash/recycling because there were no trash bins to dispose of it, and no instructions or guidance to follow. We were threatened with a late fine (we were cleaning up and left about 20 minutes after checkout, and there had been no notification about fees), which did not materialize. If you stay here, we recommend getting the security deposit waiver, because the property owners submitted a claim for something we did not break or even see broken when we were there. All in all the house was nice and well-situated, although it's a good idea to take precautionary steps to make sure you're covered.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have been renting our house for four years and have a huge number of five star reviews and a like number of five-star guests. Terrific people from all over the world. But, every so often, you'll get a clinker. One in four years is not so bad. This guest and her crew, however, were awful. When they left, we had a broken shower handle that required replacement. Our cleaning crew inspects the house carefully each time and takes photos. This handle was in one piece when they arrived. My assumption is that another guest broke it but was too embarrassed to inform the woman and so she denied it. Meanwhile, the house was a complete disaster. It took 15 hours of cleaning beyond the normal amount to restore the house to rentable shape. Simply put, these people were disgusting pigs. But, when you rent out your house to the public, you have to expect that now and then. The overwhelming majority of our guests are terrific people that we welcome back time after time. We can't let the one loser in the bunch spoil it for everyone else. Wine Paradise really is a paradise and we work very hard to keep it that way. But when they made Paradise, they made another kind of place because there is always another kind of folks. Oh well. If you look at our reviews over the last four years, we have had 44 reviews and 43 of them were five stars, you can draw your own opinion. Our guests love the house and love the way they have been treated. That's the important thing. Paul ps No one has ever been threatened in our house, and no one has ever reported bug bites. I suspect these folks brought their own bugs with them!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Los Angeles, CA
5

gorgeous peaceful retreat!

  • 5 of 5

I visited for a weekend retreat with 7 other friends and found the home to be idyllic.

a beautiful setting! perfect location! comfortable, luxurious, picturesque!

the owner and caretaker were thoughtful and helpful.

a wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Hidden Gem of VRBO and Santa Ynez!

  • 5 of 5

This is the second year in a row we came to the Private Paradise retreat, we could not get enough last year and had to come back. Our party consists of 4 couples - and hence the title of the property we look for privacy, beautiful grounds, a place that's local to everything (It's 3 mintues away from the market)and of course receiving great service when we need anything. The property manager Kristie is very accommodating, even if it's a extra towel you need she is there within minutes. We are always received well by Krisite. The owner accommodated us although it was very last minute, which no other owner did on VRBO (Called and emailed over 12). As a group of young professionals from all over Los Angeles, we come to relax and escape to wine country, go to bars/restaurants and come back to a place that feels like home (minus an amazing hothub that my home doesnt have and if i had room for one i'd get the one at the house) and find the perfect combination to celebrate life. It doesn't get better than this place for that, and i say this because i have been coming to Santa Ynez/Los Olivos every year for 8 years, and stayed at many places, the last two have spent at Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat and frankly don't need to look anywhere else. The set up of the house and kitchen is perfect for a good time. You cannot beat the price for the place- There is only so much I can say, it's truly the GEM of Wine Country. Thank you Paul/Kristie again - we'll be seeing you soon!

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Palo Alto, CA
5

Beautiful in every way

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing gem in the middle of SantaYnez Valley. The house and property are even more lovely than in the pictures. It is such a quiet and peaceful spot and there are flowers everywhere. The house is well appointed and everything is top of the line. The little village just a few minutes away is charming and has a few excellent restaurants. There is a gourmet grocery store - El Rancho -that offers exceptional food and wine. Looking forward to coming back soon!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Santa Ynez Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$445
From
$775
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,700
$9,990
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $260
Pet Fee $80
Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change until your reservation is confirmed. X-mas and New Year's weeks require a minimum 5 night stay. Our cancellation policy is as follows: 75% if cancelled 90 days or more prior to the Check-in Date
50% if cancelled 60 days or more prior to the Check-in Date
0% if cancelled less than 60 days prior to the Check-in Date

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Car: necessary

The perfect place to locate for your wine tour of the Santa Ynez Valley. World-famous road biking and the Danish village of Solvang are extremely popular. Las Vegas-style gaming and nationally known entertainers at the Chumash Casino! Fine dining with famous-name chefs. Santa Barbara with all it has to offer is only thirty minutes away.

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties