check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

William Hubbard

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

10% Off our published rate when booking on Homeaway through December 18.

12 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Cheyenne Estates House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 6--10 at times-please call

Rustic, quiet, beautiful, and private. This 4 bedroom, 3 bath hacienda becomes your private retreat with charm, comfort and room to relax!

The Master Suite has been updated and enlarged and features a King Size Bed, huge soaking tub and a walk-in closet that has to be seen to be believed.

There is a beehive fireplace,TV and desk as well.

The second bedroom has a Queen size bed and has access to a full bathroom with Tub/Shower and double sinks.

Next to the Second bedroom is another bedroom. It has a Queen size bed and has access to a full bathroom with Tub/Shower and double sinks.

On the other side of the house is another Suite that has a Full size Murphy bed, private full bath with Tub/Shower and an office space. There is also a futon in this Suite that opens for sleeping.

The hacienda has a Dura-Flame log burning fireplace, and a huge outdoor patio with a cooking area that features a gas grill, refrigerator and sink.

The dining room features an authentic Mexican Table that seats 10.

The living area has 2 leather couches and entire rock wall that features the fireplace.

There is a separate TV Room that features a Flat Screen TV with Direct TV and Blu-Ray DVD Player. There is also another TV available for the Master Bedroom.

There is High speed wireless available over the entire property.

There is a very large pantry and Utility room with a washer and dryer.

There is a nice size pool and many areas of the grounds that allow you to relax, meditate and reflect and recharge. There is a hammock, a meditation garden swing, and numerous sitting areas around the grounds. The gentle wind chimes will allow you to find your inner peace and become one with the Sonoran Desert.

The main house shares the grounds with our other vacation rental, The Bed and Burro, the smaller guest house that is perfect for 2-4 people. If available, both properties can be rented for larger parties.

Convenient to restaurants and shops as well as Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon, and Saguaro National Park East. Tucson is home to Kitt Peak National Observatory, San Xavier Mission, Pima Air and Space Museum, Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, University of Arizona, Tucson Botanical Gardens, and more. Perfect for visitors to the World's Largest Gem and Mineral show, La Fiesta de Los Vaqueros Rodeo, and the UofA Wildcats.

The perfect location for biking, hiking, horseback riding, bird watching and golf (35 courses). For day trips try Nogales, Kartchner Caverns, Bisbee, Tombstone and Tubac.

Bicyclists!! We are on the Northeast side of Tucson and have countless bike trails to all major attractions. We are on the route of El Tour de Tucson and the Hubbard Hacienda is perfect for your base.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
William Hubbard (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About William Hubbard

My wife and I are school guidance counselors and local actors here in Tucson and in Hawaii. We split our time between Tucson and Haiku, Hawaii on the island of Maui. We do local theater productions and commercials and film work here in Tucson and Phoenix and Hawaii. Bill was born and raised in Tucson, Vicki is from Tennessee and Florida. We have 2 sons...one is an actor in LA and the other is a music producer.

This home is a labor of love and we wish we could move it to the beach!!

This is our home and we love it! Please enjoy the home during your stay but remember it is our home too. If you break something, let us know. If something needs our attention, let us know. And remember to leave the home in the same way you found it. If you move furniture, please put it back the way you found it. Enjoy our home as if it were yours. Thanks!!

William Hubbard purchased this house in 2000

Why William Hubbard chose Arizona

This was the perfect property for us when we purchased it in 2000. It is on a little over an acre of land, and was just big enough to accommodate our 2 donkeys, 3 dogs and 2 cats. It is just outside the city limits...literally! The animals are now with us on Maui…well not the donkeys…they are living on a wonderful ranch north of Tucson.

We have a wide variety of wildlife here, and our guests like the seclusion and peacefulness that surrounds them.

We didn't know how to market the property, but Vicki came up with The Bed and Burro. We had 2 donkeys and at the time I don't believe there was another rental that has pet donkeys on the property!! Quill, is our rescue donkey from Nevada and Jasper is our newest. They no longer are on the property...they live on a beautiful ranch near Aravaipa Canyon, but there memory is still present.

What makes this house unique

Your stay here will be peaceful and relaxing. Your casita comes fully equipped with a full kitchen, laundry facilities, linens and towels. You have your own carport and parking area and the benefits of the entire grounds to rest and relax.

You might be lucky enough to see some of the wildlife here including many bird species, javelina, bobcats, coyotes, and lots of rabbits!

We are very close to outdoor activities including the Saguaro National Monument East, Mt. Lemmon and Sabino Canyon. Many guests use this as a base for day trips to Tombstone, Karchner Caverns and Mexico.

Reviews

4.4
based on 12 traveler reviews

10% Off our published rate when booking on Homeaway through December 18.
average rating of 4.4166665 based on 12 reviews
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

We had the most wonderful stay at the hacienda. The pool was cool and refreshing and the house was much better than the pictures or previous reviews led us to expect.

It's a big comfortable ranch style home with all the amenities you could need including anything for cooking and fun including board games. The desert is absolutely breathtaking. Surrounded by creosotes and mesquites it's my favorite area around Tucson. We enjoyed watching the monsoons and unbelievsble Arizona sunsets and wildlife. We had visits from a roadrunner, watched a morning dove make a nest and quietly tiptoed by the nesting hummingbird hanging under the side patio. We truly felt at home and also like we were on a vacation. Bill was a terrific host. Thank you Hubbords for a great couple weeks in Tucson.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Property great; owner & manager friendly/attentive

  • 5 of 5

House comfy and well-supplied. Has character! Quickly seemed like a home. Great location--near Mt. Lemmon and lots of hiking trails. Enjoyed visits by lots of birds and wildlife. Pleasant neighborhood.

Owner and manager went out of their way to make sure we were cared for and comfortable. Very friendly and accommodating.

We are looking forward to return stay and have highly recommended it to others.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bellevue, WA
5

LOVED IT!!!! Hope to return sometime. Definitely recommended!

  • 5 of 5

Our party of 4 had a great, cozy relaxing time here! The beautiful Spanish mission-style home is completely private and quiet. The entire property is enclosed by a stucco winding wall. ( Hopefully keeping rattlesnakes from visiting!) I especially enjoyed exploring all the great treasures in the yard! An outdoor eating bar with grill, nice pool, clay chimineas, hanging shell mobiles, and sitting areas with fire pits all around. I even used some fresh rosemary out of the garden. Beautiful mountain views surround, and being from the Seattle area, I really enjoyed walks admiring all the different species of cactus, different terrain and SW style homes. Not to mention the gorgeous sunsets! The interior is spacious, comfortable and clean with every little thing provided. I lost my glasses and was even able to borrow a pair here! Bill very thoughtfully put together a binder to tell guests about local wildlife, places to visit, including their favorite restaurants and even supplied copies of driving directions. They also provided board games, books and travel brochures. Nice touches like this are throughout the property. We felt like we each had our own "wing" of the house. We each had a private bathroom, and there are two tv areas complete with direct tv. Home away from home. The only thing I would change is to have stayed longer! Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful home, and I would love to visit again!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such a nice review and showing our home such love and respect during your stay. You were great guests and hope you will visit again!! Bill and Vicki
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Horrow Hacienda

  • 1 of 5

Terrible, terrible, terrible! Do not stay here! Home in terrible disrepair. Furnace broken and never cleaned; termites dropping out of ceiling; water pipes breaking; kitchen sink backed up on Thanksgiving and we could not use it! Very upset with the whole place. Health department should come in!

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, in the service industry, it is very hard to please everyone. When someone makes a concerted effort to harm a business, it is important to refute those claims. In response to this review, we would like to say the following: A) This guest did not even book through HomeAway/VRBO, so we assume the guest put this review up to attempt to slander us and ruin our good reputation, or extort a full refund from us. B) All of the guest's complaints were addressed during their stay. C) The complaints began from the first day with complaining that the light bulbs were "too bright" and continued throughout the stay, including complaints of mosquitoes in the 23 degree weather, which is not possible. On the 3rd day we received a text stating "Hi......ur beautiful Hm is filled w LOVE N Laughter! Thnk you......all is great." We were surprised when the guest demanded a full refund at the end of her stay, which we denied. We can only assume this guest works hard at logging complaints in the hopes of receiving a full refund, aka free vacation. Kind of like finishing an entire meal at a restaurant, then refusing to pay. D) We did give this guest a large refund for the plumbing inconvenience. The weather was unusually cold and pipes froze, which unfortunately we have no control over. The backing up of the sink again was out of our control. The heater was certified to be in proper working condition as well with no problems. E) If you look at our track record, you'll see there have been 6 out of 9 five star reviews, and we have a 100% satisfaction record. On our other property at the same location there are 17 out of 20 five star reviews. We hope this review will not influence anyone, as we have had many, many happy guests, and will certainly have more in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
3

Beautiful Southwestern home in need of some TLC

  • 3 of 5

This home was very lovely inside. The back yard, pool area could be a show place with a little TLC. Front side gate off hinges, just needed some weeding, etc. We never used the pool because of the chilliness but no one ever showed up for pool maintenance as stated on Tuesday. The inside of home was lovely, loved the stone fireplace. Disappointed that back bathroom was not working and never repaired during out stay. Plumbers showed up but just dug a hole and that was it. Back bedroom floor was very dirty, could not walk in bare feet, rest of house was clean. We could have used more blankets/comforter for the cool nights. Not much heat in back bedroom. The comforter that was provided was stained and we did not want to use. I would rent this home again if above listed improvements were made. Owner was nice and easy to work with but never heard back about the plumbing. Bill, you might want to check with your property management people.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. So sorry we were not up to your expectations. The back bathroom has been taken care of. We were at the mercy of the plumbers and blue stake people. I'm glad that you had 2 full bathrooms that were working. We have spoken to the landscaper and pool service and they have assured us service would be better...even during the winter. The cleaning crew assured me the floors were clean and thought perhaps they felt dirty because of the nature of the tile. The natural Satillo tile that is not glazed or finished can feel rough to bare feet and maybe even dirty. We will do even a better job in the future. The blankets/comforter situation has been fixed and we have posted information on how to utilize the heater in the back room. There is a wall heater/AC unit that usually provides plenty of heat. We have also provided more blankets if the need arrives. Thanks again for your comments and I hope you will in fact stay with us again!! Bill
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Tallahassee, Florida
5

Wonderful place with amazing outdoor

  • 5 of 5

My clients 3 sisters stayed for a week in October. First of all booking the house and communication with the owner William was great and easy. He was very accommodating and helpful, easy to reach via email and phone. My clients loved the house, beds were comfy, kitchen well equipped and outside with the grill and sitting area amazing. Mountain view from the house was amazing. Thank you for accommodation my clients and providing a home away from home for a sister's getaway. We would recommend this house for anybody who wants a nice and comfortable place to relax in Tucson, Az.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Tucson International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Irish Pub
Nearest Golf
1.6 Miles
49ers Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Many
Nearest Ski
32 Miles
Mt. Lemmon Ski Valley
Nearest Beach
229 Miles
Rocky Point, Mexico
Car: recommended

Our Hacienda is located near the Tanque Verde Valley, in the NE part of Tucson near Tanque Verde/ Houghton.

Our year-round sunshine makes Tucson the perfect getaway for hiking, biking, bird and wildlife viewing. Nature lovers will enjoy viewing local flora and fauna in their natural habitat at the Arizona-Sonoran Desert Museum as well as the unique desert landscape of Saguaro National Park.

Other popular activities include: The Tucson Museum of Art, the Arizona State Museum, the Flandreau Planetarium, the University of Arizona Museum of Art, the Center for Creative Photography at the UA, as well as Arizona's resident professional theater company, ATC, Tucson Opera and the Tucson Symphony Orchestra.

Sports fans can take in professional golf with the Accenture Match Play Tournament in February, professional soccer and professional baseball as well.

Other activities include Old Tucson Studios, Mount Lemmon, Mission San Xavier del Bac, Biosphere 2, Kitt Peak National Observatory.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cheyenne Estates House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall/Holiday
Oct 1 2016 - Dec 18 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,225
$5,250
 
 
Peak
Dec 19 2016 - May 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,365
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,085
$4,650
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 6.05%

NO TAX ON STAYS OF 30 DAYS OR MORE
Check in 4:00 PM
Check out 11:00 AM

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Cheyenne Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 3 (Private Suite) - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon , This has a full size murphy bed that pulls down.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Hubbard's Hacienda has a pool that is not heated…(sorry), a meditation garden and mature landscaping throughout the grounds. There are some wonderful hikes along the Agua Caliente Wash right from the property.

Partner Offers