check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Karen Howard

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Mountain Cottage with country decor and fantastic lakeview above Eagle's nest

65 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Curwensville Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 Loft bedroom, 1 full bathroom, 1 full kitchen, 1 front room, sleeps 2-4

Nestled above Curwensville Lake, the cottage is in a country setting, next to the host home, yet only about 12 miles from Interstate 80.It will sleep up to four with a queen-size bed in loft and a sleeper couch in the front room. It has HD satellite flatscreen TV with DVD player, a fully equipped kitchen,keurig, outdoor grilling area, hot tub, and a relaxing tree swing overlooking the lake and beautiful West Branch of the Susquehanna River Valley. Wildlife (such as turkey, whitetail deer, grouse, and an occasional black bear) abounds in central PA and often make appearances around the cottage. Even Bald Eagles often soar in the valley as their nest is directly below the cottage.

This charming country cottage was completed in 2011 and is within the PA Wilds part of central Pennsylvania. Besides fishing and boating at the lake other attractions are also nearby: such as elk viewing, Punxsutawney Phil, Penn State football, amish, golfing, sightseeing the state forests of Penns Woods, etc...

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Karen Howard (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

We can't begin to thank you enough for this perfect getaway. You have an amazing home, thank you for sharing that with us. this is the ideal get away I needed to take a step back from my daily life on the ground in Afghanistan. Also if you haven't taken the opportunity to go explore Pennscave, I highly reccommend it. We will definitely be reccommending your cottage to our friends. May God bless you and your family.



P.S. Please keep me in your prayers as I travel back over seas.
Feb 2012
  • 1 of 8

Reviews

4.9
based on 65 traveler reviews

Mountain Cottage with country decor and fantastic lakeview above Eagle's nest
average rating of 4.876923 based on 73 reviews
Greencastle, Pa.
5

Great stay at the dancing crow!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I had a wonderful time staying at the dancing crow cottage for our 30th anniversary celebration. We really enjoyed the setting even though it was quite foggy in the morning while we were there. It was real peaceful sitting in the hot tub in the evening looking at the stars and listening to nature calling out to one another. The cottage was quite comfortable for the two of us and met our every need. I would definitely recommend staying here, very nice!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

relaxing beautiful view and atmosphere

  • 5 of 5

the cottage was adorable, clean and fully equipped..the hot tub was amazing and the property offered scenic views.. and we even saw deer and turkey..plan to return for another stay

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property in a relaxing setting

  • 5 of 5

This place was a perfect weekend getaway for us and had all the amenities we needed. We brought a lot of our own food but we stopped at a local store about 10 minutes away for some things we forgot. We cooked in the grill mostly but made breakfast inside. Also nearby we went to a great brewery and two wineries. It was so relaxing sitting in the porch each morning or by the fire pit in the evening. Would love to live in that setting.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Location and View of Lake

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend. The cottage is beautifully decorated and was very comfortable for the two of us. I believe the arrangement of the furniture in the living room has changed slightly since the pictures were taken, but I think it's an improvement. We enjoyed eating at the small table in front of the window, but most of our time was spent outdoors enjoying the beautiful views of the lake. The owners were home, and although their house is close to the cottage, it felt quite private. We enjoyed the beautiful, quiet surroundings. Our weekend was hot but the air conditioning worked great, and the outdoor breezes kept us comfortable. We hope to return again!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
virginia
4

Wonderful cottage

  • 4 of 5

We greatly enjoyed our stay here. The view is incredible and we enjoyed staring out at it from the porch and hot tub. The house is very close but caused no problem. Our big surprise was the kitchen- there are no pictures so we did not realize how small it was- it is basically the same size as the bathroom. There is virtually no counter space to work on (it is a galley kitchen with stove, dish drain, wide sink, then small square of counter that has coffee maker on it) so do not plan to actually make a meal here. Originally we thought there was no place to eat inside but realized later that there is a small table with 2 stools under it in the living room. This did not cause us a problem as the weather was good and they have a covered outside eating area. The loft bedroom is low- I am 5 foot and hit my head several times- (my husband decided to sleep downstairs). If you are taller than 5 foot you can enter the bedroom ducking slightly and walk straight to the bed but cannot walk around the bed. (it is A frame upstairs so the ceiling slants down on both sides. The air conditioner is in the wall but we had no trouble keeping the place cool. Bathroom is spacious and beautiful. It is well supplied with what you need. They do need to update their instructions for the fire pit but they have already replied to our note on this so are obviously very responsive.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have not responded to any guest's review for quite some time. We considered not responding to this review as it is in the minority of opinions expressed by over 90 % of the other reviews. I would like to point out however that there are (2) photos of the kitchen in the cottage portfolio of pics, not quite sure how you missed them. To my knowledge we have never had anyone decide not to sleep in the loft because of the reduced head room. I might suggest that this is not a spacious townhouse rental but rather a cottage rental which is priced accordingly. Fortunately for us most guests that have stayed in the cottage have not focused on things that you deem problems, but rather have focused on the positives.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful view and so relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I visited for our mini-honeymoon and loved the place. It was cozy inside and beautiful outside. We enjoyed sitting on the back porch listening to the rain (not even rain could ruin our time spent there!), enjoying breakfast in the nook and the beautiful views from the hot tub and fire pit.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
DuBois
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Hangar 453
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Eagle's Ridge
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
SR 453 and SR 879
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Central Hotel
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Curwensvile Lake
Car: necessary

Curwensville Lake is located in the PA Wilds area of central Pennsylvania. The area is known for its scenic beauty and recreational activities such as boating, fishing, hiking, golfing, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, elk viewing with new visitor center (Benezette), Horseshoe curve (Altoona),Johnstown flood

museum (South Fork), Penn State football, Amish, Punxsutawney Phil, and sightseeing the state forests of Penns Woods.

There is local shopping in downtown Curwensville such as groceries, hardware, flea market,'Strawberry Tree' craft store, as well as various restaurants, all just (3 miles) from the cottage. For national chain store shopping

and additional restaurant choices there is Clearfield

(10 miles), DuBois (21 miles), Altoona (45 miles), and

State College (45 miles).

Photos

Rates & Availability

Curwensville Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$145
From
$160
Fri,Sat
$860
$2,395
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%

Refund) Due to cancellation refund will be minus the amount of the credit card charge which is .025 percent.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Curwensville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Mountain
  • Rural
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Hydronic Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Secure Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Towels, soap, toilet paper, and hairdryer supplied.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , loft
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , in frontroom
  • All linens supplied
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers