Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A block from the beach - Moon Gate Cottage

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 750 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

1 bedroom, 1 full bathroom, living room, kitchen - sleeps up to 4

Moon Gate is the most secluded cottage set within the garden of the Carmel Cottage Inn. It has a king bedroom, a living room with a sofa/sleeper and gas fireplace, a kitchen and an outside brick patio just perfect for enjoying a cup of coffee in the morning.

This picturesque property is just steps from Carmel Beach, the Pacific Ocean and downtown Carmel. With nearby shopping and boutiques, restaurants, golf, scenic drives and so much more, this is the perfect destination for your next getaway.

Just one block from Carmel Beach and a few blocks away from downtown Carmel.

(Maximum occupancy 4)

More Details

Property Manager
Cheryl Assemi
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 27, 2017

About Cheryl Assemi

My family and I have lived in the area since 2008. Purchasing, remodeling and restoring Moon Gate Cottage was a labor of love which took most of 2012 to complete and something we strive to maintain. We wanted it to look the way, we felt, it always should have.

Cheryl Assemi purchased this cottage in 2011

Why Cheryl Assemi chose Carmel

For us, it was love at first sight. Moon Gate and our other 4 listings (Log Haven 937413, Tradewinds 938557, Home Port 938549 and Sky Way 938553) reside on one property, collectively called the Carmel Cottage Inn. The cottages are full time vacation rentals with hotel status, which allows us to rent by the night. The gardens and patios are designed to give each cottage a feeling of privacy. The proximity of our cottages, patios and gardens to each other, as well as to the beach and downtown Carmel, make them equally ideal for a single cottage rental or for larger groups, family reunions, etc. To keep the houses fresh for longer visits, we arrange for periodic light housekeeping for stays of 3 nights or longer.

What makes this cottage unique

Built in the 1940's, Moon Gate Cottage is a charming little home away from home. With it's hand stenciled wood floors, the marbled, lighted 'Moon Gate', or sinking back into the couches at the end of an eventful day. We hope our guests will love Moon Gate Cottage as much as we do.

Amenities

Golden Rectangle Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Free Local Calls
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , w/ Fireplace & Kitchen
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Moon Gate Cottage will be cleaned prior to and after guest stay. Periodic light housekeeping to change towels, etc will be scheduled for guests that stay 3 or more days. Pets are not permitted.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

A block from the beach - Moon Gate Cottage
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 24 reviews
5

Perfect Anniversary Get Away!

  • 5 of 5

Such thought was given to our stay. The cottage was picturesque as shown, but we arrived to a "Happy Anniversary" message and a few thoughtful gifts as well. Just one block from the beach - we could hear the waves crashing at night. It is removed enough from town to provide privacy, but also close enough to walk back and forth several times a day. We had an amazing stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A charming and very conveniently located cottage.

  • 5 of 5

This was a lovely and charming place. My only complaint was that I couldn't get the hot water hot enough for my shower. (Even though I used the bypass switch.) Perhaps there was some other trick I was missing. It never got warmer than warm. Otherwise, it was absolutely delightful for a quick stay of two nights.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Francine, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to post a review. We care about the experience our guests have in our cottages which is why we give all of our guests several contact numbers to call us in case there is a maintenance issue during your stay. We wish you had called us to let us know the shower was giving you trouble. If we weren't able to fix it ourselves, we would have called a plumber! Best regards, Cheryl
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
5

So Sweet

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our weekend at the Moon Gate Cottage. The unit is very clean and private. My favorite part was the fireplace in the living room; it was so wonderful to read a book before the fireplace and listen to the sound of ocean waves. I recommend the Moon Gate to anyone!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Stacia, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind review. I have to agree, I love being able to hear the waves. Best regards, Cheryl
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quaint private cottage close to the beach

  • 4 of 5

Really cute, quiet cottage. Short walk to the beach. We could hear the waves crashing during the night. Private little yard and off street parking.

Bed was extremely firm as were the pillows, but it was clean and mostly well appointed. There was an ironing board, but no iron, which I thought a little odd. Disappointed that an email prior to my stay and one after were completely ignored. If you need to reach the owner you might want to phone instead.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Christie, I'm glad you liked the cottage. We left the original built in ironing board in the cottage because it was cute, not expecting anyone to use it. We have a steamer in the closet which we feel is much easier on clothes than an iron. As to the email, I'm so sorry, I didn't receive it. I did a search, but only found one email from you in my spam folder. Also, we give our guests 3 phone contacts and a number to a service line to make sure our guests can contact us as needed. Best regards, Cheryl
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful little cottage on the seaside.

  • 5 of 5

Location is great, and the cottage and property are gorgeous. We look forward to coming back sometime soon.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I love the gardens, especially like the wall of fuchsias in the patio. Best regards, Cheryl
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing cottage! We recommend most highly!

  • 5 of 5

Moon Gate cottage was amazing and better than we expected. The location was perfect...close to the beach and close to town. The cottage was beautifully furnished and very private. The wonderful fire place was perfect for the cool mornings and evenings when the fog was "in". Cheryl has paid close attention to all the details right down to the welcome gift bag on the coffee table! We will definitely stay here on out next trip to Carmel.

Richard and Connie Gambatese, Austin, TX

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Connie, Thank you for the kind review. I'm so glad you liked your stay. I'm also a big fan of the foggy mornings! Best regards, Cheryl
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Monterey Airport
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Pebble Beach Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Highway 1
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Carmel Beach
Car: necessary

Moon Gate is the most secluded cottage set in the beautiful garden of the Carmel Cottage Inn, located in Carmel-by-the-Sea. There are nearby restaurants of all cuisine, ideal shopping and boutiques, art galleries, beach, scenic walks and drives, golf and so much more!

The surrounding area is so much fun: restaurants, horseback riding and wineries in Carmel Valley, the wharf and the Monterey Aquarium in Monterey, the light house and scenery in Pacific Grove, the coast drive to Big Sur.

...just one block away from Carmel Beach and a few blocks away from downtown Carmel.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Golden Rectangle Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Regular
May 29 2017 - Aug 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$395
From
$450
Fri,Sat
 
 
Concours
Aug 16 2017 - Aug 20 2017
4 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
Regular
Aug 21 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$395
From
$450
Fri,Sat
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$395
From
$450
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Regular
Sep 4 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$395
From
$450
Fri,Sat
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$395
 
 
Winter
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
Winter
Dec 26 2017 - Dec 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
New Year 2018
Dec 29 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Winter
Jan 2 2018 - Jan 11 2018
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$400
Fri,Sat
 
 
Martin Luther King
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 14 2018
3 night minimum stay
$350
From
$400
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Winter
Jan 15 2018 - Feb 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$400
Fri,Sat
 
 
Presidents Day
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 18 2018
3 night minimum stay
$350
From
$400
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Winter
Feb 19 2018 - Mar 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$400
Fri,Sat
 
 
Memorial Day
May 25 2018 - May 27 2018
3 night minimum stay
$425
From
$475
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Concours
Aug 15 2018 - Aug 18 2018
4 night minimum stay
$475
 
 
Labor Day
Aug 31 2018 - Sep 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$425
From
$475
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$425
From
$475
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Asse $1/night (see note) $2
Tax Rate 11.0%

Rates and minimum stay may vary for weekends, holidays and special events.
Starting Mar 1, 2016 A 1% assessment fee will be calculated in with the 10% tax. Also the city requires a $1/night TID assessment.
We do not accept reservations or guarantee pricing more than one year in advance.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties