check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Cheryl Assemi

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

A block from the beach - Home Port Cottage

24 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Golden Rectangle Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, 1 full bathroom, living room, kitchen - sleeps up to 4

Home Port features a king bedroom, a living room with a sofa/sleeper and toasty gas fireplace, a kitchen, and a patio right off the rose garden.

This picturesque property is just steps from Carmel Beach, the Pacific Ocean and downtown Carmel. With nearby shopping and boutiques, restaurants, golf, scenic drives and so much more, this is the perfect destination for your next getaway.

Just one block from Carmel Beach and a few blocks away from downtown Carmel.

(Maximum occupancy 4)

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Cheryl Assemi (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Cheryl Assemi

My family and I have lived in the area since 2008. Purchasing, remodeling and restoring Home Port Cottage was a labor of love which took most of 2012 to complete and something we strive to maintain. We want it to look the way, we felt, it always should have.

Cheryl Assemi purchased this cottage in 2011

Why Cheryl Assemi chose Carmel

For us, it was love at first sight. Home Port and our other 4 listings (Tradewinds 938557, Home Port 938549, Moon Gate 938556 and Sky Way 938553) reside on one property, collectively called the Carmel Cottage Inn. The cottages are full time vacation rentals with hotel status, which allows us to rent by the night. The gardens and patios are designed to give each cottage a feeling of privacy. The proximity of our cottages, patios and gardens to each other, as well as to the beach and downtown Carmel, make them equally ideal for a single cottage rental or for larger groups, family reunions, etc. To keep the houses fresh for longer visits, we arrange for periodic light housekeeping for stays of 3 nights or longer.

What makes this cottage unique

Built in the 1940's, Home Port Cottage is a charming little home away from home. With it's hand stenciled wood floors, the rose garden next to the patio, or sinking back into the couches at the end of an eventful day. We hope our guests will love Home Port Cottage as much as we do.

Reviews

5
based on 24 traveler reviews

A block from the beach - Home Port Cottage
average rating of 4.9583335 based on 24 reviews
5

Relaxing, quaint cottage

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had a much needed, relaxing vacation to Carmel. The cottage was perfect for the two of us, and the location was awesome.....one block from the beach and up the hill to town. The microwave did not work when we got there, but a new one was brought within 2 hours after my call....great service! We definitely will book this again!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home Port Cottage was wonderful and close to the beach!

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was a dream come true. Sometimes on home away.com it's hit or miss and this is definitely a hit. Snow white like cottage with everything you need. Beautiful yard and garden with sitting area. Short walk to town and very, very close to the white, sandy beach...like a 5 minute walk...tops. Gas fireplace handy even in summer. Highly recommended!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Cynthia, Thank you for the kind review. Your Snow White comment made me smile. The first time I walked through the gardens, Alice in Wonderland came to mind! Best regards, Cheryl
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sacramento
5

Fabulous Cottage and Location

  • 5 of 5

This cottage appears to be straight out of a Pottery Barn magazine. The accommodations were comfortable and the place is more than well kept up. We found the location very conveniently located a block from the beach and a few blocks from downtown Carmel-by-the-sea. Can't wait to spend time here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michelle, Thank you for the kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and approve of our decorating! LOL...only the couches and a few of the pillow are from Pottery Barn because we love sitting in their couches. Best regards, Cheryl
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a great place!

  • 5 of 5

Really, this place is wonderful and a great place to stay in Carmel. We stayed here in June 2016 on the occasion of our wedding! We had two little groomsmen in tow (ages 2.5 and 9 months) and the cottage comfortably accommodated us all (save that the little dining table in the kitchen only seats 2).

Home Port is one of a number of cottages located on the site and is nestled amid the absolutely gorgeous gardens that surround the cottages. These are historic buildings that are oozing with genuine character (including Home Port's wonderful vintage kitchen). I was concerned that Home Port might lack privacy given its location on the site (and it is visible from the road) but that truly wasn't an issue at all. There are so many windows but they have blinds and the walkways around the site really are unobtrusive.

The location is just unbeatable for a Carmel vacation. The cottage is located literally a block from the beach (Carmel Beach - the main city beach) and something like two blocks from Ocean Avenue (though you've a number of blocks to walk uphill to get to the shops).

The cottage is comfortably and stylishly furnished and well equipped with plenty of storage, cupboards etc.. It just looks adorable from every angle too! It feels a good size, even though the bathroom and kitchen are compact. The cottage was cleaned periodically throughout our stay - I think twice over the week - which we really appreciated.

Customer service - We were disappointed to be refused permission to have our family visit the cottage for pre-dinner drinks on our wedding day - I can't put a positive spin on that! It would only have been 13 people for 1 hour... However, the owners did come to the rescue on the day to let us in when my mother in law took the key to the cottage on to the restaurant without us. Thank you so much for that!

Great places in and around Carmel - walk along the bluffs overlooking Carmel Beach, visit Point Lobos State Reserve (seriously, one of the most beautiful places on the planet), have drinks at Terry's Lounge, eat at the Dametra Café (the food is average but the entertainment makes it worth a visit)!

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and will almost certainly do so if we find ourselves back in Carmel.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ian, We are so glad you liked Home Port Cottage and thank you for the wonderful review. It was unfortunate that the restaurant you had planned your reception at fell through for you, but in hindsight I hope you might be understanding that we do not rent our cottages out for wedding receptions. We would love to have you back again sometime and wish you every happiness in your new life together. Best regards, Cheryl
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Carmel cottage

  • 5 of 5

I grew up spending a week every year at a cottage in Carmel and Home Port so perfectly recreated that experience for me. It is an immaculately kept home and was a perfect place for our family to stay. My 4 year old literally said to me "oh mommy, it's perfect!" The quaint home served our needs and was a wonderful location 1 block from the beach and a few blocks from downtown. We had no issues with anything on the property during our stay. This will absolutely be the home we return to for future trips to Carmel.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Stacey, Thank you so much for your kind words! The nostalgic experience you felt was exactly the concept we were aiming to create for Home Port and all of our cottages. All of us are so glad you enjoyed your time here! Best regards, Cheryl
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, quite property yet walking distance to great restaurants and two blocks from the beach

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was so cute and comfortable. Large, comfortable king bed. Roomy living room with fireplace. Great light throughout from the many windows and doors. Lovely garden area for sitting or sunning. We walked all over Carmel and the beach and never had to move our car. Great for a relaxing getaway.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Margaret, Thank you for the kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Best regards, Cheryl
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6.5 Miles
Montery Airport
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Pebble Beach Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Highway 1
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Carmel Beach
Car: necessary

Home Port is set in the beautiful garden of the Carmel Cottage Inn, located in Carmel-by-the-Sea. There are nearby restaurants of all cuisine, ideal shopping and boutiques, art galleries, beach, scenic walks and drives, golf and so much more!

The surrounding area is full of activities: restaurants, horseback riding and wineries in Carmel Valley, the wharf and the Monterey Aquarium in Monterey, the light house and scenery in Pacific Grove, the coast drive to Big Sur.

...just one block away from Carmel Beach and a few blocks away from downtown Carmel.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Golden Rectangle Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Sep 5 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$395
From
$450
Fri,Sat
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
$395
 
 
Winter
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Winter
Dec 26 2016 - Dec 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
New Year 2017
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Winter
Jan 2 2017 - Jan 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
Martin Luther King Holiday
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Winter
Jan 17 2017 - Feb 8 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
ATT Golf Event
Feb 9 2017 - Feb 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
Winter
Feb 14 2017 - Feb 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
President's Day
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Winter
Feb 20 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
Easter
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$395
From
$450
Fri,Sat
 
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$395
From
$450
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Concours
Aug 16 2017 - Aug 20 2017
4 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$395
From
$450
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$395
 
 
Winter
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
Winter
Dec 26 2017 - Dec 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
 
New Year 2018
Dec 29 2017 - Dec 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$395
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$395
From
$450
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Asse $1/night (see note) $2
Tax Rate 11.0%

$350-$450
Rates and minimum stay may vary for weekends, holidays and special events.
Starting Mar 1, 2016 A 1% assessment fee will be calculated in with the 10% tax. Also the city requires a $1/night TID assessment.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Golden Rectangle Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 755 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Free Local Calls
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , w/ Fireplace, Kitchen & Patio
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Patio
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Home Port Cottage will be cleaned prior to and after guest stay. Periodic light housekeeping to change towels, etc will be scheduled for guests that stay 3 or more days. Pets are not permitted.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties