check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jon Fanburg

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Executive Waterfront Home - *** FALL SALE NOW ***

24 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Ellsworth House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 1 den, 4 baths, sleeps 10

'Austin’s Point' is a large 3500 sq ft home located on 5 private acres with 300' of waterfront along the Union River in Ellsworth. Cathedral wood ceilings with large windows give great views up and down the river from every window. A deck with a hammock and a grill allow viewing of bald eagles, osprey, and seals. Fish from the back yard, or bring your boat/kayak/canoe along for easy access to the Union River Bay and ocean beyond. Inside are 4 bedrooms, 1 den, and 4 bathrooms, sleeps 10 people; 2 of the bedrooms in a self contained attached apartment with complete kitchen. A high quality pool table is in the home. Board games and a full Cedarworks playground set are available for kids. 25 minutes to Bar Harbor, Acadia, and Blue Hill, and 40 minutes to Schoodic Peninsula.

Sleeping arrangements include high quality mattresses:

1 king, 3 queens, 1 futon couch full.

House has lots of space:

2 living rooms, 2 dining rooms, 2 kitchens for everyone to have their private space.

Please NO sales solicitations. Rental inquires welcome.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Jon Fanburg (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Jon Fanburg

We lived in this beautiful home for 10 years before moving to Portland, Maine because of our jobs. I won't sell the home because I LOVE the home and location. We have shared the home with over 60 happy renters over the last seven years - just check out the great reviews.

Jon Fanburg purchased this house in 1998

Why Jon Fanburg chose Downeast and Acadia

True tranquility made us buy this house. Large rooms with high ceilings and big windows make you feel like you are part of nature. At night, you can see the stars from you bed. An added perk is being only 20 minutes from the hiking of Acadia National Park. But you don't even need to travel that far, as seals, osprey, and bald eagles hang out along the river's edge out back of the house.

What makes this house unique

LOBSTER - I LOVE IT. I use to park my boat out back and go check the traps each morning. For those without a boat, you can buy it fresh within 10 minutes of the house (both cooked or live).

Guestbook comments from the owner

Your home is truly a gem! We had the most wonderful time. We vacation in various places throughout the U.S. and rent homes in each site, but your home is truly one of the top choices.
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.9
based on 24 traveler reviews

Executive Waterfront Home - *** FALL SALE NOW ***
average rating of 4.875 based on 26 reviews
Allentown
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful place to stay and close to everything you would want to do while visiting northern Maine. Ellsworth was a beautiful town to walk around and do window shopping. Mount Desert had all kinds of hiking, biking and walking trails, restaurants, winery and activities for couples and families. The owner Jon was super helpful and very nice...the house had everything you could ask for! We rented the house with two other couples (one which just had twins) and the house was large enough for all of us to have our own space. My husband brought our bass tracker and was able to anchor it along the property. We will be renting this place for sure on our next visit to Maine...thanks for having us!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect home and perfect family vacation

  • 5 of 5

August 21-27, 2016

Family of 7 from Ann Arbor, Michigan

What a wonderful, spacious home in an idyllic location!. We had a joyous week of hiking, paddling, climbing, and just taking in the breathtaking vistas. The well-appointed, contemporary house, overlooking the stunning Union river, comfortably fit our family of 7 plus two additional guests. The house served as a great launching pad for daily trips to Acadia/Bar Harbor, about 20 minutes away, and other local attractions for our kids (e.g., ropes course, zip line, and mini golf). The kitchen is well stocked with utensils, supplies, and all the appliances you need if you want to cook in. Several very good grocery stores are located around 10 minutes drive into Ellsworth. The pool table, kyak, and high speed internet were wonderful bonuses. The owner is highly responsive and provides a list of restaurants with his personal ratings and reviews that was very helpful in deciding where to eat and what to do around the area. One of our best family vacations ever. Hope to visit again.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house and great views!

  • 5 of 5

Great house and great views. Accommodated 7 adults easily. Lots of room for everyone. The owner was responsive and accessible. Shopping was only minutes away. Bar Harbor was only about 30 minutes away. No broadcast TV capabilities and slow Internet service so video streaming was a problem. Would highly recommend this property if you are looking for waterfront access, views, and lots of living space for your vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is a great house with great views. We admit that rural internet is slow, slow, slow, but best available to date. However, lucky for future renters, that the cable company is laying down line and this property is scheduled to get access to cable in the fall of 2016. This will allow for both cable TV and 10-20x the internet speed of yesteryear. Till then, will have to kick the kids outside to see nature.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

WOW! Great vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

Austin's Point is a fantastic place to relax in peace and serenity of a nature and wildlife refuge, and still be a convenient base for touring the many points of interest in the area. The spacious house is clean, versatile, and well equipped, and the property offers great views of the river and a quiet hideaway for enjoying nature. We enjoyed our stay immensely. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Vacation in God's country!

  • 5 of 5

Our family visited Austin Point for two weeks during which we had perfect weather! The house has windows everywhere which are perfect to enjoy the beautiful surroundings. We were right on the water and sightseeing was in short travel times. Extended family is such a luxury for children and shared vacations provide the perfect setting for stories, activities, tall tales, laughs and questions, which connects all the age groups and all the many talents within the family.

I recommend that you gather your loved ones, rent this home and start all new memories!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
College Station, TX
5

Outstanding Rental!

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed at this rental several times and each time I think it just can't get any better--but it does! The house is clean and well cared for; the owners are easy to deal with. It is close to Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Isle (and Acadia National Park)--where the hiking and shopping are wonderful. Yet, this rental is a peaceful and calm oasis from all the hectic activity when I come "home." It's big enough for family, but small enough to feel intimate and homey. I recommend this rental to you with no reservations whatsoever!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Bar Harbor Airport (BHB) (in Trenton)
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Trenton Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
multiple
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Newberry Neck
Car: recommended

Acadia National Park - most visited park in the US.

Blue Hill Penninsula

Schoodic Pennisula

Lobster - lots of it !!!!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ellsworth House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 4 2016 - Dec 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
$490
$1,780
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$490
$2,980
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning/Booking Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Please note that in the summer we prefer turn over day on SUNDAYS where possible with one week stays. Exceptions can be made more easily in the spring and fall months.
For persons over 8 people, there is an additional persons charge of $30/person for the week.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ellsworth House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Study Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Vacuum System
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - Full Size Futton Couch - Den
  • 1 Crib: Pack-and-play available with prior request.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Other Amenities: Able to launch small boat from property edge. For larger boats, town docks have dock space for rent (2 miles away). Kayak/canoe rentals available in area (with delivery). Other Activities: Acadia National Park - most visited park in the US.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties