check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jerry Kirsch

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, Spanglish

Escape Away 6 Bedroom Lake Front Cottage Cranbrook Rockies

39 Reviews
Sleeps18
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

East Kootenay C Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 18)

Escape Away Vacation Rentals offers Canadian Rockies vacation accommodation rentals at Jimsmith Lake near Cranbrook, BC. Surround yourself with exceptional mountain views, and take part in the great number of recreational activities that are available to you. In summer, go swimming, fishing or enjoy excellent golfing at several nearby golf courses like Trickle Creek, St. Eugine Mission, Bootleg Gap, Shadow Mountain and many more. In the winter months our Canadian Rockies accommodations are a perfect place for your ski vacation at Fernie Alpine Resort and Kimberley Alpine Resort or snow mobile any of the many open areas. The road is plowed daily through the winter as the Cranbrook Lake House is on located a school bus route. The drive way is professionally shoveled every snow fall for you which is included FREE.

In addition to the numerous outdoor activities that the Kootenay region offers, you will also enjoy the wide variety of features that our accommodations provide. Fireplace, full kitchen, dishwasher, washer/dryer, Netflix on AppleTV, DVD are among the amenities that Escape Away Vacation Rentals offer.

Relax on the deck with your sweetie and a cool drink while watching the sun set behind the mountains...

Easily work from home with high speed WiFi from Shaw Cable and excellent cell service.

Experience a Canadian Rockies vacation like no other! The drive out to the Kootenay region is spectacular or we are accessible by air via Calgary International Airport (YYC) and the Canadian Rockies International Airport (YXC) located just outside of Cranbrook, BC - rental cars or taxis are available. Air Canada (Jazz) has daily scheduled flights from Calgary and Vancouver. Integra Air offers direct flights from Edmonton and Fort McMurray.

Contact Jerry at 1-888-355-4647 to start your mountain dream vacation today!

Keywords: Lake, Beach, Cabin, Cottage, Mountain, Waterfront,BC,Lake front

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Jerry Kirsch (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, Spanglish

About Jerry Kirsch

I want to help people enjoy the endless possibilities for rest and recreation in the Canadian Rockies

Jerry Kirsch purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Jerry Kirsch chose British Columbia

I designed the lake house in a way that provides space for people to relax and unwind...

What makes this cottage unique

Close enough to all services while enjoying a truly natural experience

Guestbook comments from the owner

We will always remember our wedding at the lake - your lake house was perfect for our family. Grandparents, my sisters and their kids were very comfortable. The warm, natural feeling was amazing...
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.6
based on 39 traveler reviews

Escape Away 6 Bedroom Lake Front Cottage Cranbrook Rockies
average rating of 4.5897436 based on 42 reviews
Edmonton, AB
5

Absolutely perfect for our summer family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family absolutely fell in love with this cabin. The log furniture and mountain décor made it feel so cozy. The open concept; large living room/kitchen was perfect for our evenings of games/socializing and preparing of meals. The dock and floating platform were perfect for swimming and the huge front deck was enjoyed by all of us after our day of fun. The complimentary canoe was perfect for exploring the lake, especially in the morning when the water is as smooth as glass. I highly recommend this cabin (felt like a home away from home) - we plan to make this family weekend at Jim Smith lake an annual event and will definitely be booking here for next year. Jerry was great to deal with and answered all of our questions.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Susan for your excellent review! I am glad that you made use of the new BBQ! I sincerely enjoy helping great families like yours build incredible memories together... Please let me know when I can help you again. Cheers, Jerry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
5

Calm, family friendly lake

  • 5 of 5

Having vacationed in BC many times before, my wife and I decided to try taking the family to Jim Smith lake. We are very happy that we stayed here as everything was as expected and there were many amenities included that we didn't expect. Already cut and dry firewood is stacked under the stairs and netflix is available on all tv's, which the kids were very happy about. The kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms are particularly nice -- of note is the slate flooring, such a nice touch -- impressive fireplace and a view of the lake. BBQ available that cooks great steaks. The swimming from the dock to platform is a great way to cool off from playing/exploring outside all day. No motors on this lake means you don't have to worry about big waves or reckless drivers coming too close. This is a great place overall that we would recommend to other families.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the excellent review Mike. The no motor lake is perfect for family swimming and canoeing without worrying about speed boats. I sincerely enjoy helping great families like yours build incredible memories together... Please let me know when I can help you again. Cheers, Jerry Kirsch, Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Natural and Peaceful Experience

  • 5 of 5

We Loved the natural lake front with the peaceful morning sun on deck every morning. Jerry was quick to respond to all of my questions about the swimming dock and canoe, which was just as described on the Web. Our family swam in the warm lake and paddled in the canoe to see the painted turtles. At night all 10 of us gathered to eat dinner on the beautiful deck for a BBQ. The beautiful trees and well groomed yard was nice for the kids to play soccer and we could see them while they played all day. We brought the lounge chairs on the extra long dock to watch the loons every morning ant the kids fished off the dock. Movie night at the Cabin was an evening of laughs and unforgettable family Fun and sparky the dog. Our family will be back very soon. Thank you Tam Family 😀

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Deborah for you thoughtful review. Our large private lake front property is perfect for family fun. I am glad that you enjoyed swimming and canoeing the warmest lake in BC. Please let me know when I can help you again. Cheers, Jerry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alberta
5

Perfect for a large family

  • 5 of 5

We decided to take the kids on a trip right before school started and this cabin was perfect. The lake was warm and a great size for kids to play in as there weren't any motorised boats. We could barely get the kids to come in for dinner at the end of the day as they were having so much fun on the swimming wharf. If we needed more seating we just pulled in some chairs from the patio. We have 5 kids total so we needed a lot of space (which we were nervous about) but this cabin provided more than enough beds for everyone. The kids loved having their own living room in the basement where they could have their own space to play and watch netflix (complimentary). The edges of the lake does have reeds and vegetation but that is why we were able to see painted turtles, ducks, loons and other creatures! The kids will never forget getting to touch a turtle shell for the first time. We were worried about it being too hot in the cabin but there was great airflow when we opened the windows so it was always a comfortable temp. We barely spent time in the cabin during the day anyway and it cools down in the evening. Everything was well stocked and there were plenty of towels (we used up a lot after swimming in the lake every day) and the kitchen was perfect for preparing enough food for the whole family. An amazing surprise was when our kids started to find fossils of plants and small fish in the slate tiles on the floor, they were so cool! The public beach was a short walk from the property and it was a great place to meet other families with kids. There is a security/emergency camera on the outside of the property, which gave us peace of mind. Overall a very natural, peaceful vacation in the mountains. The kids are already begging to come back next summer so I'm sure we will be booking again soon (the schedule fills up quickly). Thanks again Jerry! Regards from the Brennan family.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Mary for your awesome review. I sincerely enjoy sharing the natural lake front with wonderful families. The painted turtles are rare in Canada and we treasure them and the lake shore. Please let me know when I can help you again. Cheers, Jerry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
calgary
5

Even better in real life

  • 5 of 5

My stay at this cabin was even better than I expected! It was a perfect getaway from city life. The place was as described with all the things we needed for the weekend. The fire pit provided a superb night setting for star gazing from the huge front deck and the beds were really comfortable. Fishing in the lake was easy from the dock and swimming platform. Trails are located near the cabin for afternoon hikes around the lake and up the hills. But, the best thing was waking up with a coffee and walking out to the front porch only to be surprised with deer feeding on the grass in the yard. Truly memorable. Thank you again Jerry for hosting my friends and I.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Leanne and Trevor for you excellent review, I sincerely appreciate your time and please let me know when I can help you again. Cheers, Jerry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary, AB, Canada
5

Huge cabin for affordable price

  • 5 of 5

Our annual couples golf weekend was absolutely perfect thanks to Jerry and his beautiful cabin! He was quick to respond to any questions and concerns and provided very detailed directions. The large cabin was perfect to accommodate six adults and we all had our own very comfortable, large beds in gorgeous mountain themed rooms. We loved waking up to the warm morning sunshine and the patio was great to relax on with a cold beer and food. The cabin was spotless clean when we first got there and the kitchen was fully equipped. I loved the towels provided in the bathrooms, so soft! Cooking was easy with the bbq's and large kitchen. We were nervous about whether there would be propane provided and found that the tanks were full and ready for us. The view of the lake and the natural sounds of the wildlife on the property is amazing. It was so nice on one of the cooler days to have the wood burning fireplace inside with tons of pre-cut wood under the stairs to use! The location is perfect for a golf weekend as it is close to the courses we played. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jen, I appreciate your time and your excellent review. The free pre- cut firewood is excellent for cozy fire after a great meal with family and friends. Please let me know when I can help you again. Cheers, Jerry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Kilometres
Rockies International Airport (YXC)
Nearest Barpub
3 Kilometres
Heidout Brewhouse and Grill
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Wildstone Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
Highway 3
Nearest Restaurant
3 Kilometres
Alegra Restaurant
Nearest Ski
30 Kilometres
Kimberley Alpine Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
Jimsmith Lake Park
Car: not necessary

Private lake front allows your family to experience swimming in the clear, warm, spring fed water of Jimsmith Lake from a private dock. Spring fed means that the water temperature is warmer and clearer than other lakes fed by rivers and streams.

Golf in the area is world class without problems getting your tee times - Wildstone Golf Course, Cranbrook Golf Course, St. Eugine Mission, Shadow Mountain, Bootleg Gap, Kimberley Golf Course and Trickle Creek are all 18 hole PGA highly rated courses.

Kimberley Alpine Resort is only 30 KM and the legendary champagne powder of Fernie Alpine Resort is only one hour away.

Rates range from $249 to $428

Photos

Rates & Availability

East Kootenay C Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Fall
Sep 4 2016 - Oct 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
$280
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Oct 7 2016 - Oct 10 2016
3 night minimum stay
$265
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 29 2016
3 night minimum stay
$303
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
new years 2016
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$356
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
new year week
Jan 2 2017 - Jan 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$303
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Ski 2017
Jan 8 2017 - Feb 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$189
From
$227
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Family
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$265
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
winter 2017
Feb 20 2017 - Jun 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$189
From
$227
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Early summer 2017
Jun 2 2017 - Jun 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$227
From
$280
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
Jun 23 2017 - Sep 3 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,653
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2017
Sep 4 2017 - Oct 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$280
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2018
Jun 24 2018 - Sep 2 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,653
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$189
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Cancellation policy requires 45 days written notice.
Cancellation fee is equal to one night charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

East Kootenay C Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Lake
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Carport
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Split-System Heating
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 bunk bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 queen , one on upper level, one on lower level
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofas (2) Two living rooms - each has a pull out sofa bed, Bunk Beds (2) upper is a twin and the lower is a double size
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • naturism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • water sports
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers