Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lovely home with hot tub near Volcano National Park

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps up to 8

Hale Ma‘ukele is a large, beautiful, well decorated home located near the heart of Volcano Village and one mile from Volcano National Park. It has hardwood floors throughout, a full kitchen, and an eight person hot tub set in the rainforest garden. There is laundry, a barbeque, a comfortable backyard with a deck and a gas heater to take the chill off of cool Volcano mornings. We have three bedrooms: the master bedroom has a kings size bed and a full size folding futon in the closet, the second bedroom has two full size beds, and the third bedroom has a queen size bed. TAT#: W32963412

More Details

Owner
Adam Jacobstein
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

Amenities

Mauna Loa Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Internet
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Solar Hot Water
  • Solar Panels
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon , pack and play is crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , pack and play is crib
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , pack and play is crib
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • forests
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

Lovely home with hot tub near Volcano National Park
average rating of 4.891892 based on 37 reviews
New Boston, NH
5

Gorgeous and Peaceful Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much. We were very relaxed in this beautiful, immaculate home. The Volcano National Park is not far, and definitely worth the trip. We highly recommend staying at the Volcano House while visiting the Big Island of Hawaii!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much. I hope you all can return someday. Aloha, Adam
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
5

Wished we had stayed longer

  • 5 of 5

The house has lovely wood floors, a great kitchen, and lovely hot tub area. The fresh fruit bowl was generous. We appreciated that there were basic items in the refrigerator and in the cupboards that would have been handy for cooking had we stayed longer. We enjoyed the hot tub set under a massive fern canopy. The master is wonderful, and our friends that slept in it were very comfortable. We only stayed one night, with plans to hike in Volcano National park for two days and enjoy seeing the evening glow of Kilauea at sunset while enjoying dinner at The Rim Restaurant. It was just two couples. Both couples agreed that we could enjoy two or three nights here and we wished we had planned a longer stay, primarily because we felt very comfortable in the lovely home. Additional nights would have allowed us to enjoy more of the lovely rainforest hikes in Volcano and take in more of this side and end of the island. Our only complaint which could warrant a lower rating is that we slept in the second bedroom that has one bed with the equivalent of a tatami mat on a frame. It was not comfortable and it made for a poor night's sleep. In retrospect, we should have slept in the room with two beds, as it appears those beds have normal mattresses. If you don't need the third bedroom, this home would be perfect...just use the bedroom with two beds as your second bedroom. The husband and wife team that maintains the house were great. We accidentally left some local goat cheese and chocolates in the refrigerator that we had procured at the Waimea farmers market on our trip over. We called the local managers after check out when we were in the park ready to picnic and remembered we had left the cheese and chocolates. We weren't hopeful. They not only answered the phone, but said "yes, I saw them, they are still there, and you are welcome to come by and get them." In most situations in my experience these type of food items left would have been taken or eaten by the property management staff and we would have been told they were "already gone." We were very impressed with their honestly and helpfulness. Ignoring the one uncomfortable bed, the architecture, the quality, the kitchen, the ambiance, the hot tub, the fruit, coffee, tea and condiments, the location and the property managers made this a 5 star experience.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the compliments, especially about our housekeepers. They are a local couple who take care of the house and not only do a great job, but really do care about the guests experience. We've known them for 6 years now. Thanks for the feedback on the mattress in the third bedroom. Different folks do have different preferences for mattresses. I'll have a new one put on that is a little softer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely house near Volcanoes National Park

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful house in the rainforest (very quiet neighbourhood) near Volcanoes National Park. Location was extremely convenient for visiting the Park, and we could walk to restaurants in Volcano. Hot tub was great! Kitchen was somewhat under-supplied relative to other places we stayed, but totally functional (but grocery options in Volcano are a little sparse!) We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us! Occasionally some of our small kitchen ware items can walk off, which is what happened here. We've replaced these items.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, clean home in the middle of a rainforest

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much! Everything in the house was perfect. The jacuzzi in the middle of the rainforest was so memorable. Super close to Volcano National Park. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect home in picturesque setting

  • 5 of 5

This home was perfectly positioned in Volcano in amongst beautiful surroundings, we literally had to pinch ourselves it was real.

The Nene frolicked out the front and we enjoyed the hot tub after long hikes. It rained everyday but this simply added to the appeal of the area and the charm of its ruggedness. Plus the fern canopy kept the rain off us in the hot tub......magical.

The home was well equipped with everything we needed and all instructions for our stay were clear and easy.

If we come back to volcano (and I do hope we do), I will be sure to look this place up again.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Adelaide, South Australia
5

Great accommodation

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful holiday home in beautiful surroundings - we would have no hesitation in returning. Apart from the house being everything that is claimed, all the communications were quick and effective (no hassles). If you really want to experience "the volcano" area, I would advise planning to stay for at least three days. Longer if you want to explore the east & south coast of the Big Island form here.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Volcano Village is located next to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Located in the only high elevation tropical rainforest in the United States, the village also has a thriving art community and plenty of good restaurants and natural beauty.

Golf: The Volcano Golf Course is located next to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park nearby the Volcano Winery.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mauna Loa Estates House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$190
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $90
Tax Rate 13.14%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties