check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jean Pierce

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Grotto Bay -- Affordable Luxury with a Private Beach

22 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms2
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Long Island Studio Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms; sleeps 4

This exotic island getaway overlooking Salt Pond's Regatta course sits at the edge of a serene cove with views of fishing vessels and uninhabited offshore islands.

Guests of our two studio units (each sleeping 2) are only steps away from their own private sandy beach where they can swim, snorkel, kayak, paddle board and even fish at their leisure. A regulation horseshoe pit is on the beach, as well as beach palapas for shade and hammocks for relaxing. Turtles reside just offshore, and a little cay is within easy kayaking distance and great for bonefishing. Sunsets are magnificent!

Our new open-air kitchen is now available exclusively for our guests and is fully equipped for easy meals or snacks. We provide all the essentials, including coolers for your picnics. A grocery store, liquor store and restaurants are less than a mile away.

Beneath the property's tropical gardens of banana, avocado, papaya and citrus trees, lies a three-chambered cave system with five species of bats and still-forming stalactites and stalagmites.

Grotto Bay's owners, Kris Newman and Jean Pierce (PADI-certified instructor and divemaster), can set up diving guides and also provide snorkeling equipment.

Every visit receives personalized attention to ensure the best vacation possible. Both the Turtle Room and the Triggerfish Room have ocean views, high-quality linens, air-conditioning and ceiling fans. The fully-equipped guest kitchen is adjacent to the guest units.

Ocean kayaks, both single and double, are available for guests at any time, as are some new paddle boards! A couple of uninhabited offshore cays are within easy kayaking or paddle-boarding distance.

We will provide snorkeling equipment, and there is nice snorkeling right off of our own beach. A family of turtles can frequently be seen and dolphins also visit occasionally.

We provide beach towels, coolers for your island touring, and complimentary shorty wetsuits if the water is chilly. Fishing handlines, hooks, sinkers and bait are also complimentary. Throw out a line, hook your fish, then throw it right on our beach barbecue -- yum!

We provide a complete restaurant list, suggestions for island touring, maps, etc., and we can arrange a rental car to be waiting at the airport. We can also arrange for scuba diving and fishing excursions.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Jean Pierce (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Jean Pierce

Jean Pierce and Kris Newman are originally from California's Napa Valley. Kris has a background in the film industry and engineering. Jean is a former travel writer, travel guidebook editor and travel magazine editor. Both are avid scuba divers and have provided support to underwater film productions.

Jean Pierce purchased this studio in 2000

Why Jean Pierce chose Bahamas

Grotto Bay is located on the calm side of the island, which is perfect for all sorts of water sports. However, those so inclined can trek less than a mile to see waves crashing on the other side of the island! Restaurants and grocery stores are within very easy walking distance. Long Island's annual Regatta (the first weekend in June) takes place literally off of Grotto Bay's beach.

Reviews

5
based on 22 traveler reviews

Grotto Bay -- Affordable Luxury with a Private Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
5

Surf, Sun, Sand ... Superb!

  • 5 of 5

The amenities really are the "little things" that make a big difference here:

- First and foremost, THE HOSTS! Kris gave us a great overview of the property and was a wealth of information. When we wanted to drive to another cove for some sightseeing, he recommended specific places based on wind conditions that day. When grilling a lobster for dinner, he showed us how to cook it like the locals do. He was helpful without being intrusive, and we genuinely enjoyed getting to know him a little bit.

- THE BEACH has an abundance of hammocks, chairs, kayaks, paddle boards and a fire pit to keep you occupied. Fishes of various sizes can be seen when snorkeling just off the beach, and if you're lucky, Amy the resident turtle may swim by for a quick cameo.

- THE EXTRAS - a canvas beach bag in your room, coolers in the kitchen, free snorkeling gear, and even a "Sand menu" (samples of the different colors/textures of sand from various Long Island beaches) were some of the fun little things that added to the experience.

If you're looking to truly 'get away' and enjoy some quality time on a tranquil beach, this is a great spot. The question is not IF we're going back, but WHEN!

Thanks, Kris!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alex and Dawn, thank you so much for your great review. We truly enjoy sharing our little piece of paradise with guests that embrace the experience as you both did. It was truly my pleasure having you both stay with us and I am looking forward to your return as there is so much more to explore. All the best, Kris & Jeannie
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Couldn't have chosen a better honeymoon spot

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent ten days at Grotto Bay on honeymoon, and had the best possible time. We loved Jeannie and Kris, who went above and beyond to make our stay amazing, from lending us wetsuits, to taking us on a tour of the next-door caves, to ordering in a coconut from a friend's farm in the far north of the island (thanks Jeannie, it was amazing!!). The rooms were immaculate, and the view was perfect, with the beach starting as soon as we stepped down from the wrap-around porch. I saw hummingbirds and rare warbler species in the trees just outside, while Amy the resident turtle was a highlight of our trip. Of course, no review would be complete without mentioning Driftwood and Scrapwood, Grotto Bay's beautiful resident cats! To sum up - we loved our time here, and in fact we never wanted to leave. As soon as we can organise a return airfare to Long Island, we'll be back!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Hidden paradise

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable room with hot water shower, AC and fully equipped kitchen....private beach with easy snorkelling (colorfull fish)on premises and very quiet place to sunbath and relax or take a kayak to visit surroumding waters. Great caves to visit also on premises. Long Island has many attractions such as secret beaches, Dean's blue hole, plantation ruins, nicest beaches in the world, good restaurants, friendly people, interesting history and culture, good fishing, and more we did not see. All you need is to rent a car. Thanks Kris and Jean to allow sharing a piece of your paradise. So far the nicest Bahamian island we visited (our fifth trip to the Outislands)!

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Long Island is truly unique -- it's people are warm and friendly and it's beaches are unparalleled! In the aftermath of the horrendous hurricane Joaquin in October, islanders, expats, boaters and so many kind contributors from around the globe, all coalesced to rebuild houses, get fishing boats back in the water, and restore businesses. It's still ongoing , even with visitors giving their time and donations. Our guests are worldly well-travelled people who appreciate the 3,000 industrious Bahamians who live here and this beautiful, natural place.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Sluce of Paradise

  • 5 of 5

This place is the most relaxing place we have stayed in the Carribean. It is perfect for 2 couples or in our case my son & girlfriend. So private yet right in mid island so you can get anywhere on the island. Jean & Kris are the best hosts you could ever ask for- interesting- knowledgeable and funny.

The pace isn't fancy but very clean- incredibly beautiful with very private beach , entrance to the caves, kayaks, paddle boards and snorkeling gear. They arranged the Suzuki AWD for us -dropped us off advised us on restaurants, sites- arranged a dive master & trip and fishing guides with advance notice ( we should have listened to her on that)

If bone fishing you want a guide at least twice then maybe DIY.

Best deal in the Bahamas in a real Bahamaian experience.. Go here if you want to experience Ling Island - the best island for the real thing- prettiest one in the Bahamas- great beaches, vistas over the Atantic !

Loads of fun. Stay here !!

Pat S

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Long Island is truly a hidden gem in the Family Islands. Home to Deans Blue Hole and a lot of very friendly islanders and depats. Thanks so much, Pat, for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to learn that we're doing something right!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Tranquility at it's best

  • 5 of 5

This property is a must stay for anyone looking for complete privacy within your own tranquil compound. You have your own beach, free snorkeling gear, paddle boards and kayaks at your disposal to enjoy in the most beautiful, calm, crystal clear waters. The property it self has hammocks right on the beach as well as on your deck to just chill out and enjoy the spectacular views. Our room was very nice, clean and had all the amenities one would expect with the most comfortable bed that you could lay in and look out the windows at the beautiful waters. There is a great outdoor kitchen for you to cook up a storm or use your own Weber Grill right on the sand. We enjoyed ourselves so much at this property that it was difficult to leave for the day and see the many attractions Long Island has to offer. Since the property is situated in the middle part of Long Island you are only a short drive away to many other beautiful secluded beaches, restaurants, grocery stores and attractions. And if I may add the people of this island are just so nice and pleasant to talk with as well as the owners of this property. This has been our third time here at Grotto Bay so that ought to tell you something!

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful and private getaway

  • 5 of 5

For our honeymoon, we sought a destination that was private, beautiful, and had areas to explore. Long Island was definitely all three! Jeanie was a helpful and kind host. She provided advice and a list of all the best places to visit on the island. Grotto Bay itself is quiet and enjoyable. We happily cooked breakfast every morning in the outdoor kitchen... we had fun paddle-boating and kayaking (Jeanie's provides very nice equipment) and throwing horseshoes right on the beach just steps from our room. From what we saw during our week stay, we believe Grotto Bay is the best place to stay on Long Island for couples (rooms only have one bed).

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We pride ourselves on providing a private getaway in a very romantic setting -- perfect for honeymooners!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Deadman's Cay
Nearest Barpub
428 Metres
Long Island Breeze
Nearest Ferry
428 Metres
The mail boat arrives within walking distance.
Nearest Motorway
100 Metres
Queen's Highway
Nearest Restaurant
428 Metres
Long Island Breeze
Car: recommended

Grotto Bay is on the calm side of the island, facing west -- perfect for boating, snorkeling & swimming. Sunsets are sensational! It takes only a few minutes for visitors to hop over to the opposite side of the island where the wind blows & waves crash.

Anglers can kayak out to nearby uninhabited cays and cast a line to fighting bonefish or bring something tasty back to throw on the grill. A beachfront fire pit is perfect for socializing and cooking your catch!

Although very secluded and serene, Grotto Bay is within easy walking distance to restaurants and the best grocery stores on the island.

Grotto Bay is the primo spot for watching the Long Island Regatta (every June). The races start right off of our own beach. Just grab a beach chair, a pair of binoculars and a libation & you'll have the best seat on the island. An unusual feature on the property is the 3-chambered Salt Pond Cave, one of the largest in the Bahamas, featuring beautiful stalactites and stalagmites.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Long Island Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Season
Apr 17 2016 - Nov 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$145
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$145
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $40
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Long Island Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Outdoor shower on the deck.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower
  • The sink and cabinet area are outside the main bathroom, which has toilet and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • bed - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • The queen captain's bed has excellent quality linens and several comfy pillows, with an overhead ceiling fan and built-in reading lights over the bed. There are 4 large drawers for clothing and storage., in addition to a chest of drawers and nightstand. Also provided are alarm clock, flashlight, small safe, remote control for TV and DVD player.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Beach towels, beach mats and 'noodles' are provided. We can provide any size cooler to take off the property. A freezer for ice is located near guest rooms. An Open-Air Full Kitchen is now available for our guests. Each guest unit has a small safe for cash, passports, etc.

Partner Offers