Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Tignes catered chalets and self-catered apartments with stunning views - Kirkwood, Tignes Les Brevieres - 3 bedrooms, sleeps 6-8

Bedrooms 3
Space 807 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights



Kirkwood, Tignes Les Brevieres - 3 bedrooms, sleeps 6-8

Kirkwood is one of 4 luxury, well-equipped self-catered apartments in Le Belvedere residence. It has 3-bedrooms sleeping 6-8, and 2 bathrooms. It also has free broadband internet access and UK Freeview TV channels. There is a large deck offering superb views of the slopes and mountains, and 1 garage parking place.

About the property

Chalets du Belvedere, Tignes

Le Belvedere is a recently-built luxury residence close to the slopes at Tignes Les Brevieres which combines the charm of a traditional Alpine village with fast lift access into the Espace Killy, one of the largest ski areas in Europe (Val d'Isere & Tignes). The properties have a very high quality of furnishings and equipment throughout with plenty of storage space. There's very efficient electric heating and plenty of hot water. Each property has a flat-screen TV, DVD player, iPod docking station and FREE internet connection. Please note that the properties are strictly NON-SMOKING and pets are not accepted.

The skiing: Tignes les Brevieres combines the charm of an Alpine village with a high speed link to the famous Espace Killy, one of the largest ski areas in Europe. This enormous area - 96 lifts, 137 ski runs totalling 300kms spread over 10,000 hectares - offers superb skiing for all ability levels. Tignes Les Brevieres is located in the North-East part of the Espace Killy. Sunny from the early morning, you benefit from the views of the Grande Sassière (3748m), the Chevril lake and the Mont Blanc peak as you ride. Its highest peak is Aiguille Percee (2748m), forming a peculiar geologic shape through which you can take a great picture of Tignes le Lac. The village has it's own ESF ski school and nursery slppe with a free lift for beginners. Intermediates will enjoy the long sweeping red and blue runs that return to the village, whilst the more advanced will be challenged by the infamous black Sache piste and off-piste terrain.

The village: There are a number of bars and restaurants in the village offering everything from haute-cuisine to pizza. There are also a couple of discos and a sports bar with UK TV for those all-important un-missable sporting events! The supermarket has everything you need for self-catering and there are several sports shops for equipment and general browsing.

More Details

Property Manager
Ruth Anstice
Member since: 1999
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

Notre séjour c'est achevé sous le soleil présent une bonne partie de la semaine.

Nous avons été très satisfait de la résidence, tant pas l'état de l'appartement que la prestation globale et l' accueil des gens sur place.

En vous remerciant
Feb 2011
  • 1 of 2

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing


Bed linen, towels and end-of-stay cleaning are included in the rates.
1 parking space in the garage below the Residence is included.
The tourist tax of 1.10 Euro per person per night is payable in addition to the rental rate.
A security deposit of 1000 Euros is payable on arrival.


Les Brévières Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 807 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Village
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Elevator
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Ensuite to ground floor bedroom
  • The main bathroom even has stunning views of the pistes and mountains!
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , First floor, Beds can also be made up as a double.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double , Ground floor with ensuite bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , First floor. Two sets of bunks.
  • The entrance floor bedroom can be a double or twin and has an ensuite bathroom. The upper floor bedroom can also be a double or twin, and the third bedroom has 2 sets of bunks.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Terrace
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Kirkwood is one of 4 luxury, well-equipped apartments on the first floor of the main Residence building (there is a lift) which also houses the garage, ski lockers and boot room. It has 3-bedrooms sleeping 6-8, and 2 bathrooms. The living area has large comfy sofas with a flat screen TV, UK Freeview channels and DVD player. There is free wireless broadband internet. The decor is a harmonious mix of traditional and modern. The high vaulted wood ceiling above the living area gives a feeling of space and light, enhanced by the picture windows overlooking the large sunny terrace with views of the mountains and ski slopes. The well-equipped modern kitchen with it's blond wood cupboards has a ceramic hob and stainless steel oven, a dishwasher and a large fridge with freezer compartment.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
30% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Kirkwood, Tignes Les Brevieres - 3 bedrooms, sleeps 6-8
average rating of 4.3 based on 12 reviews

Skiing in Tignes

  • 4 of 5

Our accomodation (Chalet Belvedere, Homewood apartment) was quite good. The apartment was very nice and comfortable, the equipment very good, the only problem were TV and radio not working and may be some more light in the apartment would be welcome. Even the cleaning is improvable. The location is very good for skiiers because of the lift connecting the hill of the residence to the main street, very close to the ticket office. Tignes les brevieres is a very little village, there is only one little supermarket, prices are extremely high (for instance 1 single kiwi= 1 euro, 1 kg of beef meat minimum 49, maximum 59 euro), just to know....Skiing in Tignes and Val d'Isere (easily connected) is very expensive but even very amazing....

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Our best ski trip experience yet

  • 5 of 5

We were very impressed with Chalet Kirkwood. Its location was at the top of the hill above the village which gave stunning views of the resort and mountains. There is a small bubble lift down the hill to the village itself which made getting to and from the ski area easy... but it shuts at 6.30pm so we had to walk up the hill after dinner in the evening - not a big issue, even though we had young children in our group.

The resort itself is wonderfully quiet - none of the crowds you find in the better-known resorts (and we were there at half term) and ESF offers ski lessons on site. The village supermarket is disappointing and barely offered enough to cook a full meal in the chalet. This was the only detractor from our week away.

The chalet itself was clean and comfortable and the terrace was fantastic for sunny afternoons. The bread and pastry delivery from Harvey was a great extra service. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

No sound insulation, too much space used by owner

  • 3 of 5

The apartment is spacious and comfortable, but not luxurious, and well away from the village noise. The undercover car parking is easy to access and the caretaker, Harvey, will deliver bread and croissants every morning, at reasonable prices. Noise from the adjacent apartment was intrusive in the living area, we could overhear even normal conversations, but not noticeable in the bedrooms. We were irritated by the amount of storage space taken up by the owner's clobber and by the number of locked "private" cupboards in the kitchen. We couldn't even use the ski locker.

The location is good. From the apartment it's about 100 metres or so to the free funicular and from there another 100 metres to the gondola. Les Brevieres is a small pleasant village, very quiet for a ski resort, but the only food store is surprisingly small with only very basic stuff.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fantastic week

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Chalet Homewood for the half term week along with our two sons - aged 21 and 20 and one of their mates. The layout of the chalet was perfect with the boys all upstairs and my wife and having the privacy of the downstairs double bedroom. Location of the chalet was good - though it is a bit of pull from the village on an evening after a good meal and few drinks!!! Lauren the Chalet rep was very helpful, the fresh bread every morning great and the ski lift up and down from the village a great benefit. I would have no hesitation in recommending this to friends and colleagues. The skiing in Tignes was fantastic and look forward to returning.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very positive review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Nice apartment in a good location.

  • 4 of 5

The apartment is very nice. We were 7 and it did not feel too small. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the location is great. There is a little bit of a walk up the hill if you arrive by train/bus as some of us did so be prepared for that.

We had no problems at all once we were settled in and the village is well-equipped with restaurants and bars and a decent (if small) supermarket. You won't get your Apple iphone/ipod/ipad to play music through the tv and there's no hifi, so bring your own speakers if this is important to you. Otherwise the entertainment in the apartment is good - dvd player, big TV with many channels including BBC and wifi that worked without issues all week (as did the lift up from the pistes).

Tignes les Brev is excellent spot for skiing/boarding - there's quite a few nice runs, two free lifts for beginners and some fun off-piste including between the trees. It's two short lifts up to Tignes itself which has amazing terrain as does Val D'Isere beyond.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: February 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Nice apartment, but not luxurious

  • 3 of 5

There apartment is nice, but I wouldn't call it luxurious and there were a number of issues while we were there.

No internet access for 3 days, despite constant complaining to the building staff

Lift to the village out of order (hadn't worked the previous week either)

Deposit demanded in cash (sorted out with a phone call to the owner)

Car parking fee demanded (sorted out with a phone call to the building manager)

Jacuzzi and pool (20ftx20ft) were cool at best

Jacuzzi not working for two days

If driving and it has snowed you will need snow chains or a 4x4 to get up the hill, it can be very tricky as it was when we arrived.

Sky box and dish in place but unable to get a signal of any kind

Pool/sauna/jacuzzi opening times mean it is usually crowded, why only open at 16:00?

Nice large balcony, but it was under 2/3 feet of snow and we had no way to clear it, other apartments had their's cleared by the building staff.

The main waste bin in the kitchen had no lid and got smelly if you didn't remove the bag after any food waste went into it.

The cupboards were absolutely empty, completely cleaned out. So if you need salt, pepper, cleaning products, etc you will need to take them with you. Most apartments we have stayed in have at least a few basics like salt & pepper.

Overall we had a good trip. However the apartment did not live up to its write up, if you want to be billed as 'high quality' you need to fix all the niggling things (including the horrible cow skin rug which is rolled over at the edges and great at tripping you up!)

If you haven't been to the Espace Killy area before you should be aware that Les Breviere is not a good place for anyone less than an 'intermediate' skier. 90% of the skiing is over the hill in Tignes (Lavachet, La Lac & Claret) and Val D'Isere, to get there you need to negotiate some tricky blue and/or red pistes.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: February 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nov 2013 update: We are handling all of the on the ground services ourselves from December 2013 so we will be able to ensure that our usual high standards of cleanliness and customer service are maintained. The pool will not be operational for this winter season. Hi Gary. We're sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay at our apartment. Unfortunately, most of these issues are out of our control and we were not made aware of them during your stay. The internet connection, pool management, snow clearing etc. are the responsibility of the building managers and we have made them aware of the problems you experienced so that they don't happen again. The Sky box was simply not correctly plugged in to the TV so was easily solved. The cleaning company used at the Residence are instructed to clear everything from the kitchen each week so if we leave basics like salt & pepper etc. they simply get cleared out after the first week of the season. We had not been told that the lid for the kitchen bin was missing so we could replace it. Once again, our apologies that the holiday didn't live up to your expectations and thank you for bringing the issues to our attention so that we can address those which are within our control.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
100 Kilometres
Chambery Grenoble Lyon Geneva
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Tignes Les Brevieres
Nearest Ferry
900 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Tignes Le Lac
Nearest Train
25 Kilometres
Bourg St Maurice
Nearest Motorway
70 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Tignes Les Brevieres
Nearest Ski
100 Metres
Tignes Les Brevieres
Car: not necessary

Le Belvedere is nestled on the side of the mountain at 1550 metres altitude, 500m from the village centre of Tignes Les Brevieres in the Tarentaise valley in the French Alps. You can ski or take the lift down to the main bubble lift from a point about 100m from the Belvedere main building, and there is a lift back up to the same point. Access to the chaelt from the main building is on foot, so it's not suitable for young children or older people. We are ideally placed for winter ski holidays at Tignes and the linked resort of Val d'Isere, as well as Sainte Foy Tarentaise, Les Arcs and La Rosiere. We are a comfortable 10-hour drive from the Channel. If you prefer to fly, Geneva and Lyon airports are 3 hours away, Grenoble 2½ hours and Chambery 2 hours. All airports are served by one of the low cost airlines as well as the national carriers. Eurostar runs direct services from Waterloo or Ashford to Bourg St Maurice during the winter.

Other Activities: Dog sledding, white water sports, canyoning, paragliding, mountain biking, hiking, ice skating.

Golf: There is a challenging 18 hole golf course at Tignes Le Lac as well as a 9-hole pitch and putt, and a driving range. You'll be amazed how much further the ball travels at 2000m altitude! And don't miss the hole with more vertical drop than horizontal distance!

Ski: The properties are located at Tignes Les Brevieres which is linked into the Espace Killy. This is one of the largest ski areas in the world, offering 300kms of ski runs to suit skiers and snowboarders of all levels. You can take the lift or ski down to the main bubble lift from a point just 100m from the Belvedere, and take the lift back up to the same point at the end of the day.


You might like these similar properties