check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy

Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Speaks: english


8 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


Massanutten House Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms. Sleeps 14.

This home, Bears Den, is professionally managed by Massanutten Vacation, a local vacation rental home company.

Reservations must be made on our website. We'll email the link to you when we receive your email inquiry. We do not have reservations enabled on HomeAway.

Luxurious and beautiful home with views of the ski slopes and surrounding mountains.

A big and long deck outfitted with a dining table for the whole gang!

Large rooms and tasteful,comfortable furnishings so you can enjoy the inside as much as the outside.

Dual zone heating & cooling is an added plus.

Foosball table, dart board (in the garage), family board games, and movies will keep everyone entertained.

Attention families! This home is a couple doors up the street from our Gobbler's Roost home, and very close to our Old Coot's Cabin, Double B, Great Escape, & Poplar Cottage homes!




Entry level: Step into the game room. There is a pool table waiting for you in the game room and a wall mounted flat screen TV. Off the game room are 3 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms.

One master bedroom has a king bed and a 32' flat screen TV, and a full bathroom with a shower.

On the other side of the home is a bedroom with a queen bed and a 24' flat screen TV. Another bedroom on that side has a queen bed and a 24' flat screen TV. A full bathroom with a tub/shower combo is outside these bedrooms.

Upstairs is a great room with a very big, light and open kitchen ready for the chef. The kitchen has a door to the back deck where you'll find a big gas grill and a picnic table. A spacious living room with a large sectional sofa, a 42' flat screen TV over the fireplace, (for use 01 October through 31 March, ONLY), PlayStation 3 & games, and DVD player, and a dining room with a large table for the family are also part of the great room!

Doors from the dining room lead out to the front deck. Mountain views can be enjoyed from the living room, dining room and deck. The ski slopes are also in view, and just wait until you see them at night time- all lit up!

Two bedrooms are off the great room. The master bedroom at the front of the house has a door to the front deck a king bed, a 32' flat screen TV and a bathroom with a shower.

Behind this bedroom is a bedroom with a twin bed, a double bed and a loft bed with a twin on top and a double bed on the bottom, a 32' flat screen TV and a bathroom with a tub/shower combo.

This Massanutten Vacation Home is approximately 3160 square feet, and is ready for your visit with the following items:

* Central air & heat

* Linens for all beds

* Pillows, Blankets

* Toaster or toaster oven

* Coffee maker and filters

* Cookware, bakeware and dinnerware

* Washing machine & dryer

* Microwave oven

* Cable or satellite TVs

* Dishwasher

* Gas grill

Items you will need to bring:

* Bath towels, hand towels and washcloths

* Cell phone (no landline phone at this home) * Dishwasher & dish detergent

* Laundry detergent

* Camera & film

* Trash bags

* Paper goods (bathroom tissue & paper towels)

* Baby items

* Toiletries

***10% MILITARY DISCOUNT on the rental fee given when you reserve this home. Holidays are excluded. Thank you for your service!


1) The reservation must be in the name of the person whose name is on the military ID.

2) A copy of your unexpired U.S. military ID card, current orders, or Veteran's Administration ID must be submitted with your signed rental contract to get this discount.

Mark through all social security numbers on the military ID copy.

Write MILITARY next to the Payment Details on page 1 of your rental contract.

Your rental contract will not show the discounted amount. Military discount will be applied once your rental agreement & military ID are received in our office.

3) Military IDs received after payment has been made will not be honored for the discount.

4) This discount is given to active duty, reservists and retired military persons.

5) Military discount is not given to civilians, civilian affiliates, contractors, Senior Executive Service (SES), Federal affiliates or Military affiliates accompanying the Armed Forces.

All Reservations: Refundable security deposit and cleaning fee additional.


1) Not valid in combination with any other discounts.

2) Not valid on reservations made previous to special rates being posted.

Please call 800-644-1355 for more info.


5 minute drive to the outdoor swimming pool, slopes, mini-golf & go-karts! 1 minute to Mountain Greens Golf Course and Fareways Restaurant! 7-10 minutes to the water park!

Area Information:

In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are a 10 minutes or less drive from this home!

Outdoor Swimming Pool, Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining.

Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue.

Charlottesville, Harper's Ferry, Lexington, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, and Washington D.C. are all within a 1-3 hour drive.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy (Property Manager)
Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

We have visited Massanutten for several years now. This is our first visit to Bear's Den and found the house to be very inviting and family friendly - the house is large enough for multiple families and is outfitted with all the right items to keep children busy.
Dec 2011
  • 1 of 6


based on 8 traveler reviews

average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews

Disappointed this year

  • 1 of 5

Let me start by saying that Bears Den is an awesome home. We've stayed there for several visits in the past years. We booked the house this year valentines weekend and we were anxiously awaiting our trip. Several days before we were due to arrive we rec'd notice from the office manager stating the house had significant water damage and we were not able to stay there. Understandably so. However the problem comes in where we were offered a 3br house as the only house that was available. As you could imagine a 3br home would be quite difficult with 5 couples (10 adults) Now while I understand that the water damage was not to the fault of "massantten vacation rentals" it was very frustrating that we as repeat customers were not offered any sort of compensation. It was the offer of the 3br home, change our dates, or refund. I was quite shocked that it felt there was nothing else that could be done and no appreciation shown for our loyalty. Even an offer to return in the future at a discounted rate would have been nice and a little more enticing to return. While we did receive a refund sad to say our trip was ruined. Granted the house is absolutely amazing but I would advise you to use caution if booking through I will NOT be returning for sure!

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are all so sorry we did not have another suitable house to move you to. We did what we could, but since the only house we had was too small for your group we promptly refunded all the money you paid for the rental of this house. The other house you rented from us had no problems and you were able to use it this past Valentine's Day weekend. You found another home in Massanutten to stay in since Bear's Den was uninhabitable, so you wound up with 2 vacation homes to stay in, after all, so how was your trip ruined? It seems it worked out and you were able to come have a fun getaway. We're sorry you will not be returning to stay with us, despite our offer of a discount the next time you come stay during a non-holiday. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Friends JMU Visit

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect place for 3 couples to spend a weekend--we would spend a week if we could get off work! We visit JMU each year and all of us agreed we had finally found a place that we could return to year after year. The house was clean, very spacious, and the layout made conversation easy. Having 4 full bathrooms was definitely a plus. The owner was extremely easy to work with, and we were able to check in and check out after hours with ease. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, so much, for your wonderful review! We are so very pleased you enjoyed the house and your stay! We hope you'll be back to stay in the Bears Den house. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Bears Den

  • 5 of 5

This is the second year we have rented the Bears Den for a ski weekend. The home is beautifully maintained and nicely decorated. Everything we have needed during our stays has been available in the house. We especially enjoy the large living area where our entire family can comfortably gather and with 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms everybody can have their privacy as well. We have all also enjoyed the pool table. The location is great, only a few minutes from the ski lodge. Having rented t several different places at Massanutten in the past, we plan to rent Bears Den again next year.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased your family enjoyed the house! We hope to see you in ski season 2014. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5

I spent three nights last Christmas and found it was too short for us. I will make sure stay longer in the coming Christmas, because it is a wonderful home for vacation.


  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, so much, for your lovely review. We are very proud of this house, so glad you enjoyed it, and understand why 3 days is not long enough! We'll be pleased to have your family back, to stay with us, again. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Heavenly Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Ten college classmates rented this house for a weekend 10 year reunion. This house was PERFECT for us. First of all, we are all nurses and thus have high standards of cleanliness. This house fit the bill being in great condition and extremely clean. The layout suited the group well since we wanted one big common area to relax and reconnect with. There was comfortable seating for all of us with room to spare. We loved having the fully stocked kitchen connected to the great room as well. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable with very up to date decor. Bathrooms were large and plentiful. We will definitely come back since this house accomodates our group seamlessly!

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's always wonderful to know our guests are happy with our homes. We look forward to having you and your friends back, to stay with us. the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place for Grandpa Bear to gather the clan

  • 5 of 5

Of the many rental vacation homes that we have rented (and owned!), this was in the top 1% with regard to cleanliness, overall maintenance, interior arrangement, bedroom/bathroom privacy, decor, brightness, furnishings, kitchen equipment, cooking and eating utensils, and entertainment (TV's, internet, WI-FI, movie DVD's, pool room, foozball). All rooms turned out to be more spacious than can be seen in the photos. The combined kitchen-family room-dining room comfortably held all of our 12 family members for a "one table" sitdown dinner and for smaller group activities and conversations in the same room without interference. Great place for family reunions where both privacy and group togetherness are important. The owners and rental agent should stand proud because they clearly have the interests of their vacationers at heart.

Dave and Virginia Pellett, Ormond Beach, FL

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this wonderful review! Your experience is just what we work for, for all our guests. We are so pleased you enjoyed the house and your stay. We hope to have you come back to stay, again. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Massanutten House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Early Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Sep 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
Oct 31 2016 - Nov 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
Late Fall
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 8 2016
2 night minimum stay
Christmas wk- New Year's wknd
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
MLK Jr wknd
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
Presidents' Day wknd
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
Early Spring
Mar 19 2017 - Apr 13 2017
2 night minimum stay
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
Apr 17 2017 - May 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
JMU Graduation weekend
May 4 2017 - May 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
Late Spring
May 8 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
Memorial Day weekend
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Labor Day weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Early Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
Oct 30 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
Late Fall
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $100

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Massanutten House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3160 sq. ft.
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Ducted Heating
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Parking
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Split-System Heating
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , downstairs, King bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , downstairs, between 2 bedrooms
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , upstairs, off King bedroom
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , upstairs, off dining room and queen bedroom
  • Guests must bring washcloths, hand towels and bath towels.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 double , 2 twin/ single
  • All bed linens are included.
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Partner Offers