Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Best winter ocation in So CA. Awesome views, Cozy, 'Walk to ski, zoo, golf' Hik

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6) Hot Tub, wi-fi, best ski location

You will be across from one of the best ski resorts in Southern CA. All will be able to walk to: ski, golf, zoo, hiking and biking trails. The Chalet is at 7400 ft. being cool in the summer and accumulating an abundance of snow in the winter.

The views are spectacular all year round. You can actually sit in front of the fireplace and watch the skiers and snowboarders come down the slopes. The hot tub is available for your pleasure. Note: there is a cancellations fee equal to a one nights stay for all cancellations. No refunds without 30 day notice unless another guest is found.

I also have a 6BR, VRBO 149392, which sleeps 16 in beds and a 4BR, VRBO 150528, which sleeps 12 in beds.

If you would like to see my other listings go to the Owners Information Section at the bottom of the page and click on, ALL MY RENTAL LISTINGS

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Rich Pariseau
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 26, 2017

About Rich Pariseau

X teacher from Huntington Beach, came to Big Bear to ski and fell in love the the area.

Rich Pariseau purchased this condo in 1975

Why Rich Pariseau chose Big Bear Lake

In the best part of Big Bear with great view and walking to many activities. Can't get any better.

What makes this condo unique

too many to list.

Amenities

Moonridge Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Village ...
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , full bath shower and tub combination
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
We are directly across from the ski area just a short walk...You will not drive

Reviews

3.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Best winter ocation in So CA. Awesome views, Cozy, 'Walk to ski, zoo, golf' Hik
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 6 reviews
Santa Clarita
5

What a "Home Away From Home!

  • 5 of 5

The brochures don't do justice to the beauty that surrounds these vacation rentals. Our cabin slept our family of six comfortably. We found it was fairly priced, and as parents traveling with children we much appreciated the cleanliness, the home-away-from-home ambience of the chalet, and the accommodating , hospitable owner. We couldn't have found a better location. We all walked across the street to Bear Mountain for family skiing; our children enjoyed a walk to the zoo and a short distance hike through the forest before enjoying the cabin's fireplace as dad barbecued dinner. We will enthusiastically recommend Bear View Chalets to our friends. This summer we're looking forward to our family's outing to the golf course across the street and exploring the many trails through the forest on our mountain bikes. At night my husband and I will romantically enjoy star gazing into the dark clear sky, way high above the majestic pine trees, inside the outside "hot-tub."

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Close to slopes, nothing much else

  • 1 of 5

Extremely unimpressed. Very old and dated everything. Pictures in add did not necessarily match the decor. No wifi (as stated in listing) and when contacted owner, he stated I was "lucky to have heat and electricity in Big Bear." That seems to perfectly describe the place. If your needs are close proximity to slopes with heat and electricity, then this is your place. Spa was filthy and washer and dryer required quarters which was not in listing. One of the beds smelled heavily of cigarette smoke (prob not owners fault, but need to change mattress). Whole place is up for sale so my guess is that owner is doing just bare minimum to upkeep place. For the price of nightly rent plus multitude of fees, better and cheaper to stay in a B&B since this place cost us approx. twice the listed rate in total per night.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

TERRIBLE ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE!

  • 1 of 5

Rented the property for a weekend. Saturday the entire day the heater was not working and there was no hot water. When on the return trip I tried reaching out to the landlord he told me that I should have called him the day of the incident so he could fix it. When you only take vacations a few times a year you don't want on your vacation having a plumber fixing things while you are trying to relax. No remorse, no gratitude and no sense of transparency in terms of the landlord's attitude towards his clients. He was only nice when he was waiting for the reservation to take place. After that all bets are off.

Everything is so old and outdated. Couches look like they are 40 years old. When you are being charged top dollar you expect top dollar service. Guy told us to bring our own soap, toilet paper and plastic garbage bags. I mean ARE YOU SERIOUS? I have stayed all over the world and almost in every state from 5 star hotels to motel 6's. THIS PLACE WAS THE WORST EXPERIENCE I have ever had. Wouldn't send my enemy to this establishment.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest is a true con artist. I caught him at his own game. The one truth is that he called me two hours after he left and mentioned he had no heat and the hot water was just warm. I stayed just twenty-five yards away and could have solved both problems in a few minutes. I stay on weekend just to help my people with any problems. He did tell me while he was there his family loved my chalet and the location could not be any better. He wanted a discount and that was easy grasp from the beginning of the conversation. I right away asked him why didn't you call me. I stated I can't give you any refund if you can't give me an opportunity to solve the problem. He stated he did not want to be disturbed. He proceeded to call VRBO and his credit card and stated he had never stayed at my chalets. What kind of father/husband would subject his family to a cold chalet and cold water when it is not necessary. Probably not true. Nice guy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Huntington Beach, CA
5

Cozy condo with an AMAZING location!

  • 5 of 5

I spent my 30th Birthday here with a few friends for the weekend and it couldn't have been more perfect. Since only 2 of us were skiing, the location really made it easy for everyone keep in touch throughout the day. We were able to wake up, catch and early chair and ski for about an hour, then walk back to the condo for breakfast with the rest of the group. When we left to head back to the mountain, they went into town to get lunch and supplies for that night. Once the mountain closed, we all met at the base bar for a couple of celebratory drinks. This wouldn't have been possible if we weren't so close.

The condo was the perfect size and the fireplace kept the place warm at night. The hot tub has a great view and was great after a full day on the mountain. I would recommend to anyone who wants to get away with a small group.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Love to hear my visitor enjoyed their stay. Rich
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
San Diego
3

Great Location.

  • 3 of 5

Great location for this property...Literally right next to the slopes. Other than the location though, the units (we stayed in A), leave much to be desired. We didn't really mind though because we knew we were paying for the ability to virtually ski-in/ski-out.

Upon arrival we had serious issues with the front door. It took quite a while to jimmy the lock open, and for the rest of the stay we had a lot of issues locking our door when we left. I called the property manager, and he came at 8am the day of check out to take care of it! Check out was not until 11, so our last morning packing up was spent with someone drilling and hammering in the living room.

Dishes in the cupboards were not exactly clean.

Rich, the property manager, is a very nice guy but seems somewhat disorganized. I must have gotten four or five phone calls from him in the weeks prior to our arrival where he had confused us with someone else; telling me that payment had not been received (when it had), that we had not checked in yet (the night prior to our reservation), etc. Lets just say it caused a little panic as to whether this unit had been triple booked or not! In fact, just yesterday I received an email from Rich that was clearly meant for someone else.

Overall a great stay BECAUSE of the location! This is not the place for you if you are looking for amazing amenities and luxury.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As James experienced I am a hands on guy. I check and make sure I get everyone in the right place. Better be safe then be sorry. As soon as we hear about a problem we try to solve it. I think that is positive statement. The price is well worth it because of the loction. I think that is that is what people like to hear. James came at the busiest time of the year. Most of my chalets are occupied back to back. I have gotten a new management team. Always looking for good reliable people to help me. James seemed to have a good experience over all. Do love to hear comments as we would like to have our guest have a great experience and come back. Rich
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
San Juan Capistrano, Ca
5

Tom, Tiffany and four little boys

  • 5 of 5

We came up when a heat wave hit down the hill. It was nice and cool up here. We had a great time. We walked to the zoo, passing the ski lifts and the golf course one the way. All in about 600 yards. We went to the lake, out to eat and Lake Arrowhead the third day. The condo was very accommodating. Full kitchen, two bedrooms, cable tv, dvd. perfect. Highly recommended for your get away.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Snow Summit
"A free shuttle is caught just across the street. Your ski ticket is accepted at both Bear M..."
Bear Mountain
"One of the best snowboard parks in the world. Skiing is great also. i love Siver Mountain ..."
Big Bear Lake
"Best lake in So CA, many activities"
Big Bear Snow Play
"Fun for all especially the youngsters"
The Bowling Barn
Big Bear Discovery Center
"Forest service does a nice job teaching about the area and it is free."
Boulder Bay Park
"Very nice views, you will want to take pictures"
Swim Beach
"Great family fun"
Village Theaters North
Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Big Bear
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Bear Mountain Ski or Golf
Nearest Golf
0.1 Miles
Moonridge
Nearest Train
45 Miles
San Barnardino
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
38
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Bear Mountain Ski or Golf
Nearest Ski
0.1 Miles
Bear Mountain
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Big Bear Lake
Car: not necessary

Walk to golf, ski, zoo, mountain biking and hiking trails, hot tub. You will not drive to Bear Mountain Ski Resort. You will walk. You most likely will come back for lunch and head back to the slopes for more. Just far away with double glass windows you will sleep well, as they often make snow at night and always groom the slopes.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Moonridge Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Labor Day
Aug 31 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$155
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Early winter
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$245
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,134
 
 
Pre Holiday
Dec 18 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$285
 
 
Holiday
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$345
 
 
Winter
Jan 3 2018 - Jan 10 2018
3 night minimum stay
$295
 
 
Martin Luther King Weekend
Jan 11 2018 - Jan 16 2018
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Winter
Jan 17 2018 - Feb 7 2018
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$245
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
President's Day
Feb 8 2018 - Feb 13 2018
3 night minimum stay
$345
 
 
Feb
Feb 14 2018 - Mar 18 2018
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$247
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
March
Mar 19 2018 - Apr 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$145
From
$205
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$89
From
$135
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$895
$2,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

booking fee $25 + Tax
Damage Protection $59
cleaning fee $110 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 11.0%

No extra charge upto 6 occupants.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties