check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

How About a Private House for Less Than a Hotel or Condo? 100 yards to the sand

19 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

Playa Langosta House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Why pay for a Condo or a Hotel room when you could have an ENTIRE home all to yourselves for far less? (Seriously - If you don't believe me, refer to the 'Notes' just before the Amenities section below). If your tropical dreams include a desire for privacy, a wonderful garden setting, a private rear yard, and a comfort that provides a home away from home, Casa de las Olas (House of the Waves) might just be what you’re looking for. At Casa de las Olas, when you arrive we like to think that you 'Drop In' to Life !!!

This 2 bedroom, 2 bath private home is one the few personal, single-family residences available to the public in Tamarindo. Located midway between Tamarindo and Langosta, Casa de las Olas is tucked away from the bustle of town in a quiet, premier location that’s just 100 yards from the safest swimming beach in the area, and a short two-minute walk from one of the finest restaurants in Tamarindo. 'Town' is a beautiful 10 minute walk down the beach.

Your host recognizes that when you are looking for a vacation rental, you have many choices. In sharing my home with you, my goal is to provide you with a memorable tropical experience, at a cost that’s less than many of the moderate priced hotel rooms or crowded condo complexes.

If you would prefer a private setting, you can begin to understand why this home has become one of the most sought after properties in the Tamarindo area. Whether it’s surfing, fishing, diving, snorkeling, exploring, reading, or just plain old relaxing in the hammocks, let Casa de las Olas be your tropical oasis.

Notes of the true 'Value' of this Property:

After recently returning, I truly began to understand what a GREAT bargain this home is compared to most other properties in the area. I am constantly being told that I'm 'under priced' and that 'the pictures don't do it justice.' I can offer this 'value' to you because I bought this property 25 years ago (long before Tamarindo was 'discovered'). Even though it probably won't work for everyone since it doesn't have a pool, I challenge you to find a better bargain, especially when one considers that the home comes with 2 Surfboards and 2 'Beach Cruiser' style Bicycles. And, when I'm in residence (I have a small 'casita' studio above the garage that I stay at occasionally), you even have your own in-house Costa Rica advisor - Wishing you the best in your Holiday planning !!!

PLEASE NOTE: This a very popular property - I am very blessed to have many returning Guests and the house is often times booked solid during the primary season. However, I DO NOT MAINTAIN THE VRBO CALENDAR, so please contact me to check for availability. Thank you.

Keywords: House, private, 2 bedroom, close to beach, surfing, hammock, fun, tropics, BBQ, fish, fishing, snorkeling, private, close to beach

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Owner
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

I'm an old 'Surfrat' who has spent a vast majority of my time traveling the globe looking for waves. I retired in 2009 from the Fire Service. Like everyone, I've had some challenges, but I generally keep a smile on my face most of the time and laugh at myself fairly often.

The Owner purchased this house in 1988

Why The Owner chose Guanacaste

I purchased this property in 1988, which was long before Tamarindo was 'discovered' - literally, there was nothing there. At the time, if you wanted a quart of milk, you had to travel to Santa Cruz, which is about an hour away. I built the home between 1993 and 2002 (I didn't have pocket fulls of cash). Since I was intimately and directly involved in all phases of the construction and Tamarindo was quite primitive at the time, I had to bring down most of the materials i.e., plumbing, electrical, etc in those 32 and 18 gallon Rubbermaid plastic bins. Even though I have been active in my life, the construction and logistics of building this home was one of the most challenging things I've ever done.

Since I've spent a fair bit of my time (and money) chasing waves in the backyards of the world, I knew that one day I wanted to retire in the Tropics and Tamarindo seemed to be a good place. Although it's changed dramatically over the years (show me a place that hasn't changed in 20 years), overall, it's still a great place to kick back and enjoy life. Besides, when I'm in residence (I have a small 'casita' studio above the garage that I stay at occasionally), I not only stay out of your way, but you even have your own in-house Costa Rica advisor.

What makes this house unique

Overall, probably one of the best 'values' in Tamarindo (especially when you consider having the use of 2 Surfboards and 2 Bicycles that comes with the house). No matter what your preference is, whether it's surfing, or laying in the Hammock, this is the place people continue to return back to.

'Remember, work less, Surf more'

Reviews

4.9
based on 19 traveler reviews

How About a Private House for Less Than a Hotel or Condo? 100 yards to the sand
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
New Orleans, La
5

A Gem steps from the Beach

  • 5 of 5

The details, furnishings and garden show a true labour of Love. Rik has created a real garden of Eden near the Beach with all the toys included. We enjoyed our walks along the Ocean, but there were bicycles and surfboards available, too. Birds, iguanas and monkeys gave us great entertainment as we enjoyed this property and the closeness to the Beach. Kitchen was very well equipped--but as we were on vacation we took advantage of several beachfront restaurants--very good!! Thanks, Rik

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for your kind words - it was a pleasure to get to know all of you. I have always been impressed with those who have an "Adventurous Spirit" and it truly was an honor to hear even just a few of the stories pertaining all that the four of you have experienced - I Loved It !!! If your journey's bring you back to beautiful Costa Rica, please visit us again - it would be an honor to have you. Once again, Thank You So Much and Happy Travels !!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, Oregon, USA
5

Outstanding house!

  • 5 of 5

Casa de las Ollas is a true gem! The house is gorgeous! A very short walk to the beach. The house is equipped with just about anything you could need. Rik (the owner) is a wonderful guy! He along with his staff keep the house and grounds impeccable! The beds are very comfortable as well as good pillows! Everything about the house and grounds scream relax and enjoy your stay!

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm very sorry for the long delay in responding to this Review (for some reason, it slipped by). Either way, thank you, thank you, and thank you for your kind words - besides being grateful for your review, it was really fun to get to know both of you and to hang out. Yes, our entire Team tries hard to maintain the quality of the house, grounds, and, more importantly, assist in making your stay the best it can be. Be Well and we hope to see you back again at Casa de las Olas !!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Costa Rican vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had been to Costa Rica 2 years ago and managed to meet Rik (Landlord). After deciding to go back we thought we would rent Rik’s place and we are so glad we did. The place is very clean, has all the amenities we needed and the staff were amazing, including Kat (Rik’s girlfriend) who helped us out with whatever we needed. It’s only a short walk to the beach (2mins) and we walked into town every day (10-15mins). Having the bikes, boards, coolers etc was a definite bonus and it was nice to cook some meals at home once in a while. I would recommend this place to anyone and if we come back to Costa Rica we would stay at Casa de las olas without hesitation. Thanks very much Rik

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Paul and Debra: It seems like I'm always repeating myself on this subject but, we REALLY do have the BEST GUESTS !!!! I know that I speak for our entire Team but, we appreciate you taking the time to write such kind and thoughtful words about the House and our Staff. Although most people intend to write a review, often times our Guests get back to their busy lives and never quite get around to it. So, once again, thank you for your kind words and we are excited that you had such an enjoyable stay at Casa de las Olas. Merry Christmas and have a Wonderful New Year !!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Boise, ID
5

Everything you would want or hope for!!!

  • 5 of 5

Casa de las olas was the best place we could have stayed on our trip to Costa Rica!!! Upon arriving we were so happy with the location and how quick it is to the beach and to town! The house has EVERYTHING you could need or want! We stayed for a week and were in pure heaven in Tamarindo! We used the surfboards and bikes provided at Casa de las olas! The bed were super comfy, the house has the best ambiance, and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals! We also referred back to the Casa de las olas help binder! The binder has all the information about Tamarindo from great places to eat, things to make the stay better, and information that only a local could know! The help around the house through the week was fantastic as well. The house keeper and maintantence staff were absolutely delightful, so friendly and helpful!! You will be soooo glad you chose Casa De las Olas!!! It was the best trip I've ever been on and hands down I wouldn't of wanted to stay anywhere else! We will ALWAYS come back to stay at Casa de las olas!

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ashley and Lucas: On behalf of myself (Rik, the Owner) and our entire Team at Casa de las Olas, thank you so very much for taking the time to write this review - it is very much appreciated !!! We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable time at our little splinter of Paradise and we hope to see you back soon !!! Once again, thank you for your kind words. Be Well !!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful Place

  • 5 of 5

Tamarindo is a beautiful little town with very friendly people. Casa de las Olas was is a beautiful very clean well kept house. Rik (the landlord) is a awesome man, he was there to help with everything we needed. You just cross the street and go down a short path and there's the most beautiful soft sand beach. A must place tto stay if your in Tamarindo. Thank you Rik

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is awesome !!! Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review of Casa de las Olas in beautiful, Tamarindo, Costa Rica - I know that people are always busy and although they often times intend to, it's sometimes difficult to take the time to write a review, but our entire Team, Irania, Jesus, Brian and myself (Rik) really appreciate it !!! It was an honor and a pleasure having you both and I hope that you find your way back to visit Casa de las Olas in the future. Thank you again and, Happy Travels to All, Rik
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Neptune Beach, Florida
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed the stay at Casa de las Olas. It was in the perfect location...being so close to the beach, and just out of the noise and traffic of Tamarindo, but yet close enough to walk down for dinner or other activities. My three year old loved the hammocks, outdoor showers and futon for watching TV. The wife thinks that with the included bikes, that we don't need to rent a car next time. That remains to be determined. Best vacation in a long time. Definitely will be returning.

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
The "Circle"

Included in the price of the House are 2 'Soft-Top Surfboards and 2 'Beach Cruiser' style Bicycles, which saves you approximately $100 each day of your stay if you were to rent these items separately - like the boards and the bikes, all of it is for the exclusive use of the Guests. Additionally, the Bay (Bahia de Tamarindo) is perfect for SUP (Stand-Up-Paddleboarding), which you can rent in the local area.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Playa Langosta House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

As of 2014, I have elected to limit the occupancy of the house to a total of 4 maximum. This change is due to my concern of overtaxing the infastructure of the house i.e., the septic system. Should Guests choose to "sneek" additional members into their party, please know that each additonal Guest will be charged at the rate of $100.00 US per person, per night. Addtionally, "Holiday Rates" are in effect one-week before and one-week after Christmas - please contact me for a quote.

Upon a requested reservation and the availbility of the house, I am willing to hold your request for a period of 7-days awaiting the required 25% deposit. Since the requested dates will be blocked, and then confirmed on the client’s behalf, & no other reservation will be accepted for those dates, the 25% deposit is non-refundable. The remaining 75% is due no later than 30-days prior to arrival.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Playa Langosta House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1) One Queen Bed in each Bedroom with new 'Pillow Top' mattresses, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) One Fold-out Couch and One Futon
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
If you've ever thought about learning to surf, Casa de las Olas saves you money again by providing not one, but two, 'soft-top' surfboards for your use (if you wanted to rent a surfboard from one of the surf shops, it would cost you $15 to $40 per day). Casa de las Olas has 2 'Beach Cruiser' style bicycles for the exclusive use of the Guests (bikes rent for about $15 p/ day). Additional amenities include 'boogie boards;' as well as maid service every other day; a private rear yard with a Rancho (round palm-roofed structure) with hammocks and a BBQ area; DVD/VCR; full Linens; and Wi-Fi (Wireless). However, NO SMOKING is allowed.

Partner Offers