check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Richard Heim

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

The Ranch - The Best Camp location in Borrego

40 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Borrego Springs House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, (Can sleep 8 in beds and more, upon request)

The Ranch, aka the Camp, situated in the quiet desert valley of Borrego Springs with several golf courses and just two hours to Sea World, Pacific Ocean, MCRD, Downtown San Diego, Fashion Valley Shopping Center and the San Diego Zoo.

Our Camp sleeps up to 8 in four beds plus two on a sofa sleeper. The large master bedroom suite has both a king and a double bed. The two other bedrooms have queen beds. Great place and location for a large get together.

While in Borrego, visit La Casa Del Zorro, just a few blocks away, for their Music by the Pool, every Saturday, 7 p.m. to 10...No cover charge. Their cantina is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day. You can also use their tennis courts and pool for a small day fee. Also, for our visiting veterans, American Legion Post 853 is just down the street and is open every evening in season. Don't forget to take the short drive up to Julian for some apple pies, about a half hour ride up the mountain from the house. They also have a VFW in Julian. If you want to bring your horse, just let us know in advance.

Book early for best season dates.

While here, consider visiting the Temecula Wine Country, about one hour drive away. Go horseback riding through the vine trails, wine tasting, hot air balloon and jeep rides or a self guided tour.

Our place can be Google Mapped at 3893 Pecos Dr, Borrego Springs 92004 and has three bedrooms (one king with a double beside it and two queen beds), one sofa bed, two bathrooms, linen, patio deck area, fireplace, wireless Internet access, fully equipped kitchen, coffee maker, blender, spices, gas stove range, microwave, side by side refrigerator, air conditioning, blu-ray dvd player, flat screen internet only TV. Additional amenities include board games, horseshoes, fire pit, charcoal grill, washer (provide your own laundry soap) and dryer, hair dryer and iron/ironing board. Please remember this is a smoke-free property inside. Pets welcome. Only a small security deposit will be required in most cases.

What You Need to Know:

Extra-person charges per night per person may apply and vary depending on occupancy.

Credit card or a Echeck payment is required when making a reservation with full payment within 45 days of arrival.

(house parties not allowed, unless all guests are paid guests)

Check-in time starts at about: 4 PM

Check-out time is: 10:45 AM

Departure cleaning fee added to all stays.

Local hotel tax of 8% added to invoices (San Diego County Tax Permit #5-1702701-11)

Pet enclosed fenced area is 36” high.

Additional RV hook up to electricity is $15 per day. (holding tank required)

Accepted payments USD: Major credit card or Echeck

If you are looking for a last minute escape from the hustle and bustle of life we have the escape for you!

When the rental is booked for only two guests, we expect the two small bedrooms will not be occupied requiring a linen change. Use of additional bedrooms or beds will be deducted from the deposit at the rate of $25 per night per bed.

We like to exchange homes for trips into Mexico and Canada. If you have another location in mind, ask us. We also have a Penthouse Vacation Rental in the Mission Bay area of San Diego for additional consideration.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Richard Heim (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Richard Heim

Contractor, retired

Richard Heim purchased this house in 2006

Why Richard Heim chose San Diego County

Great view

What makes this house unique

The best winter get a way!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just wanted to thank all of you who have stayed here and those of you who have left your comments. I built this house in 2003/4. My wife and I always enjoy spending a few days here when we both have the time. We have no plans to sell this home, so it should be available for many more years as a great getaway place. Hope you enjoy it as much as we have had and come back soon. Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years are special times out here. Don't for the wildflower season!
Mar 2009
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 40 traveler reviews

The Ranch - The Best Camp location in Borrego
average rating of 5.0 based on 41 reviews
5

Girls Trip 14

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this home. The owner bent over backwards to provide us with everything that we needed to make our stay most comfortable. The house is a great layout. We would definitely come back and stay at this house again.

Thank you!

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
San Diego, CA
5

Glad I found this place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I really enjoyed our time at 'The Ranch' in Borrego. Richard, the owner, was very helpful and has done a great job making this a comfortable home away from home. There was ample room for all us to spread-out and not feel crowded. The house was clean, which is important to me. The location of 'The Ranch' was perfect for us. We were close enough to town that we could drive into town for dinner or we could go on a hike nearby. If you are looking to getaway for awhile or just for the weekend, my family and I would recommend this home.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I see that this was you second stay here, thanks, and we look forward to another one of your return family trips. As you noticed, the house has been updated with ranch style furniture, four beds now, wall and room painting along with a refinished polished concrete great room floor. Our last guest stayed on for almost three years and had decided to move closer into San Diego. I was happy to see you were one of our seasonal first guests to experience the new layout. Thanks, again. Rich
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pasadena california
5

relaxing getaway with the kids.

  • 5 of 5

The ranch is clean and beautiful. Brand new. Much nicer than in the pictures. The weather was perfect.for stargazing. We stayed up til 2am to watch the meteor shower. Was awesome. The kids also enjoyed seeing the steel sculptors at Galeta Meadow Estate. Some are withing walking distance from the Ranch. Thank you Richard for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gray Mountain, AZ
5

Excellent Stay!

  • 5 of 5

My family & I stayed 5 days & 4 nights at this house & it was exactly what were were looking for. The listing was very accurate in the portrayal of the property as well as the photos. It was very clean and orderly. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to stay in this area. My family & I stayed here and traveled into San Diego during our trip. It was a 2 hr trip, but it was a very beautiful drive. Thank you again for the wonderful house!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lakeside
5

Relaxing Retreat!!

  • 5 of 5

We truly enjoyed our visit to Borrego Springs.Our family had a wonderful time together in this lovely home. The beautiful views and high ceilings in the Great Room added to the comfort of our stay.

The views of the stars and listening to my grandson,sons and husband playing music around the campfire while enjoying the jacuzzi will always be a treasured memory. We are so glad and thankful we stayed at "The Ranch".

Sincerely,

Tom and Robin and Family Feb.2012

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego, CA
5

Very fine visit to Borrego Springs

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely home, and we really enjoyed our stay. The kitchen is fully equipped, the bedrooms comfortable, the main room spacious and with lovely views from all windows. The hot tub is a nice luxury. In the instructions, perhaps the owner could indicate that the wireless router is in the 3rd bedroom; it had been unplugged and it took us until the last day to find it and plug it back in again!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Palm Springs and SAN
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
American Legion Post
Nearest Ferry
75 Miles
San Diego
Nearest Train
75 Miles
San Diego
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Carlee's Rest and bar
Nearest Beach
75 Miles
Mission Bay
Car: recommended

The Camp: rustic ranch type house, three bedrooms, greatroom, dining for 8-10 at the large hand made ranch table, fire pit,, corral, fireplace, open space, walking trails and much more. At The Camp it's like being camping on an open desert range without the tent. Sitting around the campfire, roasting marshmallows, looking for satellites, falling stars and counting the planets. The Milky Way, show it to the kids. Bring the pet too...everybody loves this place.

See shooting stars, world famous sculptures and Palm Canyon. All just minutes away. Stay here for less and drive to the coast of San Diego. We also have 'The Penthouse' rental near Mission Bay in San Diego. Considering staying at both of our places.

Other Activities: Wildlife Viewing, Rock Climbing, Basketball Court, Shopping, Boating, Biking

Golf: Several golf courses to choose from

Photos

Rates & Availability

Borrego Springs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Columbus Holiday
Oct 7 2016 - Oct 11 2016
3 night minimum stay
$185
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Vet's Day Holiday
Nov 11 2016 - Nov 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$185
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Xmas to NY
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 3 2017
5 night minimum stay
$185
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season
Jan 4 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$125
From
$10
Thu,Fri,Sat
$850
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Setup/Departure cleaning $125 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Utilities & Amenities $45 + Tax
Pet Fee $35 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%

This rental is worth over $250 per night, so take advantage of our current low rates. Our request for a small Security Deposit is to cover excessive use of the property, minor damage, not departing from the property on time, leaving a messy house causing extra cleaning,and not following the departure list...if you pick up after your use, a full refund can be expected within 7-10 days..Our rental permit and Tax ID: 5-1702701-11

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Borrego Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 double , Double bed make up by guest
  • Super large master bedroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Enclosed 36" high pet area. This has been a Smoke Free rental and thank you for keeping it that way. Recent reviews are limited due to a long term staying guest who just wanted to relax in quiet setting for a few years. We are back better than ever... and with lots of new improvements. Come join us and enjoy our ranch, you won't regret it.

Partner Offers