Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Elizabeth

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Oceanfront And Marshfront Stunner! Great Rates and Perfect Getaway!

17 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee

Learn more

Overview

Coastal North Carolina Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 4 Baths (Sleeps 9-10)

I have been coming to Holden Beach North Carolina since I was 5 years old. My parents rented a little cottage at the West end of the island for two weeks in the summer every year until I was about 13. The home they rented came on the market and they decided to purchase their first beach property. To this day, they still enjoy every moment at that beach home that has collected so many family memories over the years. In 2004, Chesapeake (this cottage) came on the market and it had always been one of my fathers favorite homes. A weathered wooden gray beach house with tons of character yet tons of space for family and friends. When he went inside and saw the knotty pine ceilings that had weathered over the years and the views from the great room, he knew it was a perfect match for a second beach home on the island we all love so much. I being the eldest daughter (and the one with kids!) have spent the most time in the cottage with my husband and two boys.

I have also had many girls weekends in the cottage.

The house is built on stilts so the first livable floor is really the second floor! The underneath of the house is perfect for covered for parking your cars. There is also an enclosed outside shower.

The first livable floor has two bedrooms with private bathrooms Each bedroom has a twin and a double bed in them. There is also a laundry room on this floor. The kitchen/dining/den combo is on this floor as well. Full view of the ocean from this room!

The upstairs consists of two master bedrooms. The first with a private bathroom with a shower (no bathtub) and a King size bed. Access to the covered upstairs porch. The second master has a King size bed and access to the covered porch, but shares a bathroom with another bedroom.

There is another bedroom upstairs with a queen size bed and access to the covered porch.

There is a wonderful second den upstairs with a television/dvd/vcr player and a futon. This room overlooks the marsh on the front side of the house.

Feel free to contact me with any additional questions regarding bedding, sleeping arrangements etc....

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Elizabeth (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.6
based on 17 traveler reviews

Oceanfront And Marshfront Stunner! Great Rates and Perfect Getaway!
average rating of 4.5882354 based on 17 reviews
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

I read the fluff by the owner and I must say that as someone who has spent almost all my childhood summers staying for the week with family at Holden Beach, this was one of the worst homes we've stayed in. Definitely overpriced.

1. The upstairs air-conditioner is breaking. It went out on us (leaving us with 36 hours of 90 degrees inside) and was "fixed" to get us through the week but barely cooled to 80. The repairman said he'd been there before so it will probably go out on you too as the unit is very old.

2. Dirty. I doubt the owners have stayed there for years. Pillows, covers and shams are all very stained. Carpet is stained. Wall decorations are dusty. They must not have a very good cleaner either as I found trash in two of the rooms on the floor. The kitchen cupboards were dirty and filled with questionable dishes (we re-washed everything).

Not sure what else to say. We had to kill our fair share of bugs. The furniture has seen better days but I wouldn't expect it to be perfect. The beds are extra firm and don't think about using the futon as a bed - super bumpy! The fridge had a hard time keeping our food cold. The photos here and on coastal vacation resorts are outdated. I really doubt the owners have stayed there in a long time.

We've had two homes that were worse, one smaller and tackier and one that had seagulls in the attic that stunk the place up. This home did the job - it was on the beach, good location, and had the beds and baths needed for our crew. I'd like to see the owner take a little more pride in their property or sell to someone who will.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh I am just so sorry that you did not have a pleasurable experience. I really am. I have been renting our home for the last 5 years and had nothing but amazing reviews, phone calls, repeats etc.. I am going to personally check on the cleaning situation myself. I certainly wish you had called me the minute you walked in and it was not clean. I would have gotten a cleaning person over there asap. I am so sorry. Unfortunately, we do have renters from time to time who are very rough on our home. I will say that this home is not advertised as a "new" home. It was built in the 80's and part of what we love about it is the old beach charm. No white furniture, no "beachy" themed stuff everywhere, etc.. I believe I even listed this on my listing. IT IS NOT FOR SOMEONE who wants new construction or pristine house. In addition, having multiple beach properties and having gone my entire life, I can tell you that beach dust is almost like mountain bugs. It is inevitable. I have dusted before and came home in afternoon and dusty again. It is just beach air. In addition, unfortunately, beach air corrodes things in a hurry. We replace our AC units on a regular basis (every 4-5 years) due to the toll the salt air takes on them. I am so sorry that you had a problem with our unit. Once again, I sure wish I had known about it. I pride myself on personal service with people who stay in our home, and unfortunately things do happen. I am so sorry.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Chesapeake Review

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable, had everything that we needed. We are a large family and came to visit our oldest son and his family. We had plenty of room for all of us. It was nice to have a dinner table that actually fit all of us at one time. We enjoyed playing on the beach and watching the waves. We would recommend this house to others.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you had a wonderful stay. Please contact me any time to stay in our home again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Columbus, Ohio
5

Chesapeake Review

  • 5 of 5

Solid house! Great for your future family vacation. Enough space and room for comfortable living and really close to the ocean!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clayton, NC
5

Great Family Get together

  • 5 of 5

We recently got married and wanted to celebrate with our family and this house was perfect for the occasion. My parents live at Holden beach so we decided to invite the rest of the family that way. The bedrooms are spacious and having a bathroom in each room was extremely helpful. I made the kids bedroom downstairs so we would have a public bathroom on ground floor level at least until the kids went to sleep.

The beach was so close which helped me (7 months pregnant) and the rest of us since we didn't have to make sure we had enough drinks and snacks to last the day. The feel of the house had a true beachy-cottagy feel that was perfect. I wish we had the time to stay the week instead of just 3 days.

  • Submitted: May 12, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice house with beautiful views

  • 4 of 5

wonderful open floor plan with kitchen/dining/living room across the ocean side with many windows for a great view. The kitchen was well furnished and we used every inch of it to prepare our 26 lb turkey with all the trimmings. Seating for 8 at the table and 6 more at the island.. The porch and deck have spectacular views as does the 2nd floor balcony. Three bedrooms upstairs have a fantastic view of the ocean and open to the balcony that extends the entire width of the ocean side of the house. So nice and close to the ocean - enjoyed while still in your jammies! Elizabeth was super helpful and friendly and quick to answer all of our questions in planning our trip. the info packet she sent also contained a lot of very useful info. It is an older house with wood paneled ceilings and other natural wood throughout making it feel less beachy/ tropical but more comfortable/cozy. It has tons of windows and natural light - and i repeat - gorgeous views of the ocean and sunrise/sunsets. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Asheboro, NC
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5

Holden Beach is like a home away from home for our family. We have been coming since we were children and now with our grandchildren. Our dad passed away and since HB was a favorite of his, we all reunited to celebrate his life. We loved staying at the Chesapeake and it's great location. It fit our families well and was very comfortable for a large group. The large bedrooms and extra floor space was valuable for pack/plays and blowups; and then with 4 bathrooms to boot, what a dream. We loved the openness of the main floor, to enjoy family members. The kitchen was stocked nicely and we ladies, especially enjoyed the huge bar area for visiting with each other, serving food and extra eating space. The deck and porches were well used and especially first thing in the morning with our first cups of coffee, to chat and watch the ocean front life. Thank you Elizabeth...you have been more than a pleasure to work with on booking and answering all of our questions promptly. It was very hard to depart when the time came and we do look forward to returning when our schedules permit.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

In Between Wilmington NC and Myrtle Beach SC;

Cottage is located very close to the Holden Beach pier for those that enjoy fishing. It is a short drive or walk to the pier. In addition, Holden Beach is a short drive (45 minutes) to Myrtle Beach and various other areas for world class golf.

Other Activities: Kayaking, Boating, Biking, Miniature golf, Shelling, Wildlife Viewing.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Holden Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Season Rates
Jan 23 2016 - May 21 2016
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,800
 
 
High Season
May 28 2016 - Sep 10 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,300
 
 
Off Season Fall 2016 Rates
Sep 17 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$350
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

$200 Fully refundable damage deposit for every rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Coastal North Carolina Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Living Area
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Split-System Heating
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outside - outdoor shower , Enclosed place outside below the house to shower!
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Den with a Futon
  • The two bedrooms on the First Floor each have one single bed and one double bed in them and a private full bath inside each bedroom. Upstairs their are two master bedrooms with King beds in each. There is a 5th bedroom upstairs with a Queen bed. There is also a small Den upstairs with a futon in it.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Sand Box
  • Shed
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Washer- Located on the main floor. Very well stocked kitchen. Plates, glasses and silverware for more than 9 people! One charcoal grill located in shed. Be sure to bring your charcoal! At this time we do NOT offer internet service.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote