check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Chris Wilson

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

2.5 wooded acres on quiet deep water cove - create great vacation memories

16 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Moneta House Rental Photos and Description

10% off if booking within 3 weeks of stay. 4 bdrms,3 baths,sleep sofa

Still Waters Getaway is located in the Beachwood West community and is placed perfectly in a 2.5 acre wooded setting in a quiet, deep water cove of Smith Mountain Lake between channel marker R30 and R32. The perfect place to enjoy all the water sport activities on the lake, or a quiet swim right down the hill at the dock. A gently sloped walk leads to the water's edge featuring stationary dock with party deck. You can fish, or jump off the top part of the dock and swim around without being annoyed by boats, or wakes. A pedal boat and canoe are also available for you to enjoy. Great game room with pool table to round out the day, this home equipped for a fun filled family vacation. We are close to Bridgewater Plaza where there are numerous stores, restaurants, and night time entertainment. There are several places close by to rent boats, personal watercraft, and tubes. Come create your great vacation memories. Don’t forget you can bring the dog!

The entry level features the kitchen and living room/dining room area with a fireplace and flat screen TV. Sliding glass doors leading to a deck overlooking the lake, enjoy the porch swing, a meal on the deck, maybe something special from the grill, or just sit and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Also on the entry level, a bedroom with a queen size bed, and a full bath await you.

Up one flight of stairs brings you to the loft which overlooks the entry level living area. On this level you will find the second bedroom with a queen size bed with access to its own private balcony with fantastic views. Also on this floor will be the second full bathroom and the kids bedroom. The kids bedroom contains a twin over full bunk bed set plus another twin bed.

On the lower level you'll find the 4th bedroom with a king sized bed and the third full bath room . Other than that the lower level is all fun and games and features a pool table, flat screen TV, kid's game corner, puzzles, books, and board games. There is a wet bar area with microwave and coffee maker and an additional refrigerator. You will also find a full size washer and dryer for your convenience. A sleep sofa can also be found in the game room. Exit the game room to the lower level covered deck and terrace.

The gently sloped path leads to the water's edge featuring stationary dock with party deck. At the dock area - swimming is great, deep water in a secluded cove - no wake zone! You can fish, or jump off the top part of the dock and swim around without being annoyed by boats, or wakes. A pedal boat and canoe are also available for you to enjoy. We are close to Bridgewater Plaza where there are numerous stores, restaurants, and night time entertainment. There are several places close by to rent boats, personal watercraft, and tubes.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Chris Wilson (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful stay at this house. We were there for Thanksgiving weekend, the weather was fabulous and we were able to enjoy the outside area as well as the inside. The dock was great for fishing. We traveled with our dog and it was a great area for her to run around and play. Loved the dining room table for doing jigsaw puzzles and the pool table was great in the basement. Plenty of room for 5 people, loved that there were full bathrooms on each level. This was our first trip to the area and we will be returning when the weather is warmer - loved it! Thanks so much for opening your house to allow visitors to enjoy.
Nov 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 traveler reviews

2.5 wooded acres on quiet deep water cove - create great vacation memories
average rating of 4.75 based on 17 reviews
Durham, NC
4

Nice location & amenities; could use some updates

  • 4 of 5

We loved the location of this home (quiet cove, not too far from the water) and the amenities (large dock area, 3 floors allowed our family to spread out, game room with pool table and second kitchen was a great feature), but the description and photos are not up-to-date and some of the features need to be improved.

The description says you can "jump off the top part of the dock" -- which my kids were really looking forward to -- but there is no safe/easy way to do this (no opening to jump through, so you would have to climb over the railing). The photos show a lovely swing on the second level of the dock; the swing is still there but looks like it has been unusable for years (the slats on the seat have all fallen off). There is no easy way to get from the main dock to the floating dock where the canoe and pedalboat are stored (you need to navigate a steep slope which is a little slippery and weedy). And we were disappointed that there were no darts for the dartboard! All of this could be improved with a little TLC, which would make it an excellent place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful property

  • 5 of 5

We had an excellent vacation. We found the rental comfortable and in good condition.

The view from the deck...spectacular!

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Such a peaceful getaway!

  • 5 of 5

First, I would like to commend the owner Chris Wilson for being so understanding and accommodating before we stayed here. There was the threat of Hurricane Joaquin coming the same weekend as our stay, and Chris was flexible with even changing our dates and working with us (if we were affected by it). Kudos to him!! Most would have said "too bad," but Chris knows a lot about customer service and was more than willing to help out on his end if we needed! :-)

My husband and I, along with my brother-in-law and wife, stayed here this past weekend, and ABSOLUTELY loved everything about this place! The scenery of the lake was immaculate, from every level of the home. Standing outside and on the 2nd level deck, the scenery is even more amazing. The home was extremely comfortable, and the pool table downstairs was a plus. Unfortunately, we didn't get to experience the fishing and canoeing because it rained the entire weekend, but we will definitely be back to experience more activities. The only critique that I do have is that the canoe/pedal boat (if they are used) are not easily accessible (as they are on another dock, and we couldn't figure out how to get to it when it did stop raining for a little bit).

Aside from the beautiful home, it is only a short drive away to Food Lion, Bridgewater Plaza restaurants, and Jake's Restaurant (which was tasty as well).

We will surely be back, soon!

Thanks for everything!

The Sessoms

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful vacation in a wonderful home!

  • 5 of 5

What a great home! We had a wonderful stay in this home! Plenty of room, and a great layout for our group. Everything was exactly as described in the listing, the home and dock area are even more beautiful than the pictures show. The owner quickly answered my questions via email before our trip, and I had no reason to contact them after we were there because we had no issues. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who has a large group and wants separate areas for kids and adults to relax at the end of the day. Our little ones played pool and video games in the basement while the adults and older kids watched tv or played games on the main floor. The dock area is wonderful for swimming and a little fishing (all of the little kids were able to say they caught a fish), and the swing off of the dock was a big hit! All in all, this house was a great find!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great choice!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying in your home and plan on going back again soon! Quiet, clean, relaxing...couldn't have been more perfect! Thank you!

  • Submitted: May 10, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The Perfect Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

I don't usually comment on things like this but this is the most beautiful cabin/cottage I have stayed at here at Smith Mountain Lake. We have been coming here for about five years now and this is like a home away from home. The minute I walked in the door I was amazed. It was so clean and welcoming. There wasn't anything we needed as far as kitchen dishes or pans. We had a place close by to put our boat in the water and plenty of room to tie up to the dock that didn't interfere with the kids swimming. There was a paddle boat as well the kids used and they had a ball with this as well. I think the real treat at the dock was the chain with a handle on it so the kids could swing on it and drop into the water. We felt like we were in the woods as everything is natural woods and leaves. Needless to say I got plenty of exercise walking up and down the steps to the lake but it was well worth it. I sure plan to come back next year and stay here if the week I request isn't taken. Thank you for such a wonderful week! KPW

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Roanoke, VA
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Westlake Golf and Country Club
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Route 460
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Smith Mountain Lake State Park

Still Waters Getaway is located in the Beachwood West community and is placed perfectly in a 2.5 acre wooded setting in a quiet, deep water cove of Smith Mountain Lake between channel marker R30 and R32. The perfect place to enjoy all the water sport activities on the lake, or a quiet swim right down the hill at the dock. A gently sloped walk leads to the water's edge featuring stationary dock with party deck. You can fish, or jump off the top part of the dock and swim around without being annoyed by boats, or wakes. A pedal boat and canoe are also available for you to enjoy. Great game room with pool table to round out the day, this home equipped for a fun filled family vacation. We are close to Bridgewater Plaza where there are numerous stores, restaurants, and night time entertainment. There are several places close by to rent boats, personal watercraft, and tubes. Come create your great vacation memories. Don’t forget you can bring the dog!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Moneta House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 4 2016 - Dec 3 2016
2 night minimum stay
$220
$1,500
 
 
Winter
Dec 4 2016 - Mar 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
$190
$1,300
 
 
Spring
Mar 5 2017 - Jun 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$220
$1,500
 
 
Summer
Jun 3 2017 - Sep 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $120
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Damage deposit with all rentals, $300

$50.00 Non refundable Pet Deposit (per Pet)

Cleaning Fee: $120

Local Taxes: 10%

Payments can be made using electronic checks, credit cards, or PayPal. Your reservation can be secured by paying 1/3 of the rental fee at the time the reservation is made. The remaining rental balance can be spread between 2 additional payments, the last payment will be due 60

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Moneta House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2160 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Main Level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Upper Level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Lower Level
  • There is a full bathroom located on all 3 levels of the house.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main Level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upper Level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Lower Level
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , Upper Level
    Game Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Lower Level
  • Main floor queen bedroom. Upper floor, queen bedroom. Upper floor, kid's room with twin over full bunk beds with addition twin. Bedroom on lower level with King bed. Additional sleep sofa located in lower level game room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • water sports
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers