check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Snowmobilers and Ski getway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

This property is nicely settled in the heart of the White Mountains. Here you will find many activities for your family to enjoy. The house sits adjacent to many snowmobile trails, just park your trailer in the driveway and go from here with your snow machine (the ATV trail system is approximately 1.5 miles from the house). The driveway is large and can fit many ATVs, snow-machines and trailers. Close by are many trail heads, including the Appalachian Mountain Trails. There are many activities to do such as: Golfing, cycling, Story Land, Santa’s Village, Shopping in North Conway, Mount Washington Auto Road, Wildcat Ski Mountain, Sunday River Skiing, Bretton Woods, Attitash, and the newly popular Jericho ATV park. The property sleeps up to eight people. There are three bedrooms, 3 full sized bathrooms and one ¼ sized bath. The master bedroom has a king sized bed with a master bathroom, the second bedroom has a full-sized bed, and a third bedroom has 2 twin beds. There is a full sized kitchen with a dining area and off this area you will find a porch to grill/BBQ. The cellar is finished and has a full sized bathroom and a pull-out couch, a great play area for kids. There is a large back yard for everyone to use.

We have pack n' plays, kids toys, and bouncy seats available if needed.

On busy ATV weekends (when it's hard to find parking on the ATV route), we have parking options available. You can not access the trails from this property, but the shared ATV route and trailhead is approximately 1.5 miles from the house.

More Details

Owner
Stephen
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 12, 2017

About Stephen

We are a family of 6 "locals" with many great ideas for trips and activities you would never find if renting from a hotel.

Stephen purchased this house in 2010

Why Stephen chose White Mountains

The house was purchased as a primary home which we lived in for 3 years prior to moving into town to be closer to the schools, parks and family members. The house has been well cared for and is always cleaned prior to arrival. This an excellent location for snowmobilers directly on a lightly used and groomed trail. There is a fire pit in the back yard to enjoy the stars.

What makes this house unique

the fire pit, snowmobile trail and be isolated yet close to town are great benefits

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Snowmobilers and Ski getway
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 12 reviews
4

Comfortable home for special family time

  • 4 of 5

We have been staying in this home for the past 3 years over the Christmas holiday. It has become, as my son-in-law put it, the "Christmas House". My husband and I, our children, their spouses and children all gather here so we can be together and near extended family for the holidays. The accommodations are not luxurious but comfortable and clean. There are a couple of maintenance issues like broken arms on a couple of dining chairs and a missing towel bar in the downstairs full bath, that will hopefully be addressed soon, but otherwise, a good family home. The kitchen is sufficiently equipped to cook meals; we have prepared most of the family meals here during our stays. New mattresses in 2 of the bedrooms were appreciated this year! The owner is very friendly, quick to respond and very accommodating should you have a special request. We grew up in this area and it's beauty still astounds us, especially now that we have been away for the past several years. A wonderful place to visit in all seasons!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Arlington, MA
5

Simple and cozy

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I had a wonderful time in Gorham! The house was the perfect size for our group (7 people) and had the space for a cozy, winter weekend. It was super easy to get into town and the ski areas (we went to Wildcat) and the big backyard was perfect for playing in the snow. We loved the huge kitchen table and open living room. The couches were super comfy!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. It was great to host your group. Hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and Spacious!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay. The house was beautiful and spacious for our family. After contacting Steve he accommodated our family of 10 and we were all able to be together. The location was perfect, a quick 10 minute ride into town, but secluded enough in the woods for privacy. Steve was always available for questions and responded immediately. We will definitely be renting from Steve again!

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you again. We discount all return renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great location

  • 5 of 5

House was located close to many activities and the owner was easy to deal with. House is pet-friendly and this worked well for our 2 dogs. Enjoyed our stay and the firepit in the backyard. Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for keeping the house so clean despite the pets. Hope to see you again. We discount all return renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

High expectations fell short

  • 3 of 5

The positives:

The owner, Stephen, was incredibly fast in responding to messages

The location was perfect for white mountain hikes

Pet friendly

The negatives:

The house was incredibly unclean and the yard uncared for. To pay a cleaning fee on top of the nightly rate, I do not expect to have to wipe down counters/floor/refrigerator and wash all dishware/utensils before use. I also do not expect that there would be hairs all over a pillowcase and glasses left on a bed, as if someone slept in it before our arrival. I do not have high expectations by any means, but I do expect a clean rental.

I messaged Stephen to let him know that if his cleaner had been there before, he may want to consider hiring a new one because the property was clearly dirty. I thought he would be concerned or apologetic, but his only response was that the cleaner had already been paid before our arrival so there was nothing he could do! I asked him to come over to see it himself but he didn't. The trash was piled up in the garage and the lawn needed to be mowed. Judging by other positive reviews about cleanliness, my best guess would be that someone had thrown a large party there before our arrival and it was hastily cleaned.

Overall, the location was great, but I was embarrassed to have taken my parents on a trip to use this house when it was so dirty and unkempt. I think with a little TLC (i.e. cleaning, yard care, owner sympathy), this house could be great. I would not recommend this at this stage, though.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I will keep this response professional and I'm sorry to see your review, from your stay, three months ago. As a sign of good faith and our commitment to keeping our guests happy, we refunded you the cleaning fee. Obviously, this has not satisfied you as you have elected to post this inaccurate review. Your review has complaints that you had failed to make me aware of during your stay, such as the lawn and garbage in the garage (which there was none). We are committed to our cleaning person who has been with us for several years. My teenage- son keeps the lawn in reasonable condition and will continue to do so. I want to assure that these problems did not exist, or were not made aware of at the appropriate time. We are committed to making sure all our guests are satisfied and comfortable as evidenced by prior reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A nice quiet last minute getaway

  • 5 of 5

The house look waaaaay better in person. We love the fact that it was so roomy, the yard is huge and the house itself was very clean. The owner was very attentive and responded very quick even though it was a last minute trip for our family. The only bad part was that we wished we found this house sooner so we can planned to stay longer. There's always next year! We missed it already!! ☹️

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to host your family. You're welcome to return anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
125 Miles
Manchester Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
J's
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Androscoggin Valley Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Rt. 2
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Yokohama
Nearest Ski
12 Miles
Wildcat Mountain

Close by are many trail heads, including the Appalachian Mountain Trails. There are many activities to do such as; Golfing, cycling, Story Land, Santa’s Village, Shopping in North Conway, Mount Washington Auto Road, Wildcat Ski Mountain, Sunday River Skiing, Bretton Woods, Attitash, and the newly popular Jericho ATV park.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Gorham House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - tub , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sized sofa
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties