check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Max Tibbits

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Secluded Western Ranch House on 4 Acres less than a mile From Bandera

25 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Bandera House Rental Photos and Description

2 Br, 2 ba, sleeps 6

If you are looking for a place close to Bandera yet in the country this 2 bedroom 2 bath home is the place. It is authentic vintage 1940’s Texas western. Located within a mile from Main street Bandera this home is situated on 4 acres and is quiet and feels secluded and offers perfect bird & deer watching. The house is loaded with character but has all of the modern amenities and is very comfortable with a restful atmosphere. This home will sleep up to 6 people. The master bedroom has a comfortable king size bed, the second bedroom has 2 twins, and there is also a fold out sofa bed that will sleep two. The house was built by my grandfather and father as a family vacation lodge in 1947-48. Outwardly it appears much as it did when it was built, but it has all brand new mechanicals, wiring, & plumbing. The large living room has a rock fireplace (wood burning), hardwood floors, finished pine walls and vaulted ceiling, & is decorated with Ranch Oak & W.R. Dallas furniture.

$195.00 a night for 2: The breezeway with D’Hanis tile floors and large windows looks out onto the wooded property and serves as the dining area. The second bedroom has a western theme with cowboy wallpaper, sheets, and furniture. The kitchen is fully equipped with all appliances, except there is no dishwasher. The home has a security system, covered parking, new central air & heat, satellite TV, a MP3 / Ipod capable stereo AM / FM sound system , CD player, and a washer & dryer, and there is no telephone service but excellent cell coverage. The House features:

-King size bed in master bedroom

-First bath with glass enclosed shower

-Twin beds in second bedroom

-Second bath with tub / shower combination

-Fold out sofa bed for two

-Kitchen with coffee maker, microwave, range top &

convection oven, and refrigerator- fitted out with good cookware and appliances

-Large living room

-Large front porch

$390.00 for a couple for the weekend: Amenities:

-Washer & dryer in adjacent shed

-Bandera smoker & charcoal grill

-Firewood available

-Ipod / MP3 capable stereo sound system

-Satellite TV

-Water softener system

-Security system

-Covered parking

-Dog kennel

-All bath & bed linens provided

-Utensils & dishes provided

Event & holiday weekends require a 3 night minimum

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Max Tibbits (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Max Tibbits

I grew up in this house and have many fond memories of many good times here.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved staying at your house over the weekend. We really had everything we needed, right down to the spices to add something special to our meals. We enjoyed wine on the patio along with our dinners, and watched deer grazing. This was also a perfect place for bringing our telescope to look at the stars and moon. Besides the charm of this place, your great suggestions for things to do in the area, the 78's and record player made our weekend! (Listening to Dinah Washington as I'm writing this) Thanks for everything and we would recommend this to friend and family. We hope to come back again!
May 2014
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

4.6
based on 25 traveler reviews

Secluded Western Ranch House on 4 Acres less than a mile From Bandera
average rating of 4.64 based on 30 reviews
5

A unique house

  • 5 of 5

Everything in the place makes you feel like you've been transported to the late 60's early 70's with a mixture of folk memorabilia of an authentic Texas family style tradition. Wonderful wildlife experiences! We saw at least 2 different kinds of deer and not just 1 or 2. We saw a herd of about 30-40 deer on the property everyday. We saw black squirrels (which are much more timid than the tan ones). We saw magnificent wild turkeys. The house layout is one that will cause discussion. Everything has been updated fairly recently so you will not be disappointed in the amenities. The only thing that was missing was a WIFI connection, but I was assured by the owner that would be remedied in short order as soon as things get in place in Bandera. You can get 4G out there and use your phone as a hotspot though. All in all it was a great choice for my wife and I to get away for 4 nights!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

This was the 3rd time at this place and it's just perfect! Close to town, easy to get to, and very homey. We go there on our motorcycles so the ONLY thing I wish was that the garage was available but other than that we always enjoy our stay there.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a gem!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Anchorage House during a quick weekend trip to Bandera. What a perfect place for my family of 5! The boys enjoyed the house and the classic decor. I enjoyed hanging out on the porch while reading a book and drinking coffee. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet getaway close to town...

  • 5 of 5

On outskirts of Bandera, very close to honkytonks in town or great parks nearby. The house has great AC, is immaculate, and is stocked with all the cooking and cleaning supplies you could want. While it is easy to get to from Austin or San Antonio, and close to Bandera, it still has a nice quiet, secluded feel to it. Liked the western decor inside. We cooked out and watched the deer in the backyard. Nice, easy place to hang out for a few days.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Anchorage Ranch House was Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

When arriving, the home looked a bit on the small side, but after entering, the house went on and on! It was very spacious and charming! The cheerful and quaint decor brought smiles to our faces. My elderly parents, along with some brothers and sisters came to Bandera, TX for a family reunion. We all stayed here and had no complaints! The welcoming cool air from the powerful AC was pleasing to my parents and all of us - it was pretty hot outside! As an early riser, I was able to see the families of deer crossing our driveway, all kinds of birds including colorful Cardinals and Humming birds made it a nature escape that felt so peaceful. All the amenities were thought out carefully. There was more than enough of everything for cooking, eating, drinking, bathing, even the thoughtful shampoos and soaps that were available, along with coffee filters and other daily needs left for us to use was comforting. We didn't spend a lot of time in this wonderful home, as we were there to visit family nearby, but this is the first vacation home that I rented and would come back in a heartbeat if I ever visit this way again! Thank you for the information regarding nearby attractions as well. Wish we had time to cook in the smoker and visit all the suggested attractions ~ maybe next time!

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York NY
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I had an amazing time at this house. Unlike other properties which can feel like a rental, this one was clearly a home, and had so much charm. The house was even decorated for the holidays! The owner was really helpful at addressing any of our questions or concerns. Would love to come back!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
San Antonio
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
11th Street
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Flying L Ranch
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Bricks on Main
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bandera House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
All Year
Dec 29 2015 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,170
$1,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$195
From
$195
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,170
$1,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bandera House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Alarm System
  • Basic Soaps
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Breezeway
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Courtyard
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Shed
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties