check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Caroline Barde

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish, fluent french, poco de espanol

Location, location! 3 bdrms+loft Chalet, Ski in/out to main lifts, large Hot tub

12 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Sunburst Estates Chalet Rental Photos and Description

Post & beam chalet, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths

Kodiak Timber Lodge is the main unit *3 bedroom plus loft*, ski in ski out vacation rental home located in Sun Peaks Resort, British Columbia. A “Canadian style” log post and beam chalet with a casual, elegant mountain atmosphere. Superb for family get togethers!

Situated in Sunburst Estates, the south facing Kodiak Timber Lodge is nestled alongside of easy 'connector run' or exciting Blazer run. Connector run, backs on to the property. Walk up the back yard and hrow on your skis and glide to the *main Sunburst and Sundance lifts. Ski home to your door from meandering connector or more difficult pistes like Blazer or Cruiser. Bring the kids home for lunch or just to take a break at the kitchen table while watching skiers swish by. Take advantage of the panoramic vistas of Mt. Morrissey and all the ski runs that funnel past the chalet. The large outdoor hot tub awaits you at the end of the day to relax and soothe weary muscles before beginning your next adventure. The village is a mere 5-10 minute walk or 3 minute drive.

Kodiak Lodge is 2400 sq ft, and sleeps a maximum of 8 adults or 10 including children. It has three spacious bedrooms plus a loft with a double bed and box spring. A flowing open plan provides space for family gatherings or retreats . Enjoy two dining areas plus a snack/drink bar. Soak in the mountain atmosphere with details such as vaulted ceilings, massive fir beams and a river rock fireplace. ** *Kodiak lodge is the main ' 3 bdrm plus loft' unit. There is also a separate but adjoining ( through basement laundry room) two bedroom ground floor suite which may be rented separately or with the main unit, upon request and availability. Rates are for main unit only.

**This chalet is for mature groups and families only, this is not a party house.

The lodge features a seven person shared hot tub, 2 1/2 bathrooms (luxurious ensuite), full kitchen with jenn-air stove and bar sink, laundry facilities, linen and towels, gas fireplace, cable TV, VCR, stereo, telephone, and a one car garage (extra parking is available outside the chalet).

Enjoy your morning coffee in the breakfast area as you watch skiers swish by your window. In the evening, dine in the grand room overlooking Mt. Morrisey and the golf course before sitting down in front of the rock fireplace or at the bar for a night cap.

Ski to your door and enter the mudroom where you can store skis, boots etc. The main area of the lodge looks through a log staircase into the light filled living room. The kitchen, living, and dining room are one large space divided by a 9' maple bar with oak stools. The spacious kitchen and breakfast eating area is designed to take in the exciting view of skiers flying down Blazer run. Awesome views overlook the golf course. The main floor master bedroom has high ceilings and a log queen bed. The elegant ensuite ensuite containing double sinks, ceramic tiled shower and a cast iron lady slipper antique style bathtub.

Upstairs, the raised loft area features large windows with an extra shower and toilet to help alleviate rush hour at the Kodiak. Each of two bedrooms on the loft floor, overlooks the ski run. There is a queen bed and set of bunks in each room and a double bed in the open loft area.

Sun Peaks is located in the Thompson Okanagan, B.C., Canada . Powder conditions are commonly found on the slopes of the resort. In 2008, Condé Nast Traveller magazine named Sun Peaks Resort “one of the top 10 ski resorts in North America.”

BEDROOM CONFIGURATION

Master bedroom, main floor, one queen bed

Loft area: one double futon, tv, two separate bedrooms.

Bedroom #1 in loft: queen bed plus one set of twin bunk beds.

Bedroom #2 in loft: queen bed plus one set of twin bunk beds

*ask about our adjoining two bedroom suite which may be rented together with main unit to make 5 bedrooms/loft.

**This chalet is for mature groups and families only, this is not a party house.

Keywords: chalet, chalet rental, slopeside, golf, horseback riding,barbeque, Sun Peaks, Sun Peaks Resort, mountain bike, riding, festival, wine festival, Thompson Okanagan,Kamloops, ski, skiing, snow,private, ski in ski out, slopeside, hot tub, log, spacious, open concept, views, close to village, Sunburst, Sunburst Estates, mud room, wax room, garage, laundry, loft, Sun Peaks, barbeque,rock fireplace, large dining table, kitchen, games, flat panel tv, free internet, internet,parking, location, ski in ski out, slopeside, additional suite, accommodation, lodge, lodging, rental,owner

More Details
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Caroline Barde (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish, fluent french, poco de espanol

About Caroline Barde

Geologist and teacher with two grown children. We have led an active life, skiing, snowboarding and windsurfing.

Caroline Barde purchased this chalet in 1986

Why Caroline Barde chose British Columbia

My husband and I met in Whistler. Years later we moved to the interior with our two children. We used to ski Sun Peaks in the early days when it was called Todd Mountain. We had witnessed the growth in Whistler so when Sun Peaks was beginning we knew we had to get in on it. That's why we have such a great ski in ski out property! We planned and built our dream log post and beam chalet and were lucky enough to get in on the first phase of Sun Peaks. The location of the chalet is second to none and we have had nothing but great times and wonderful memories in Sun Peaks. Renting has been amazing, people respect the chalet and it makes us feel good to know that our clients enjoy it as much as we do!

What makes this chalet unique

Amazing ski in ski out location backing onto connector run. Awesome panoramic views with true mountain atmosphere. Fabulous log post and beam with an open plan.

Summer is magical in Sun Peaks. Enjoy stunning views and watching wildlife grazing on the runs surrounding the chalet. Enjoy the barbeque on the front deck after a hike or mountain bike. The Kodiak Timber Lodge is just a short 7-10 minute walk to the village. You will not be disappointed!

Guestbook comments from the owner

The Kodiak provided my favorite feature; superb location. "

The location was fabulous in which we were able to ski directly from the chalet to the most popular lift in the village. The fact we did not need to drive to get to where all the action was, is a great asset in my eyes. We were not a taxi driver, the kids enjoyed their freedom as well did us big kids. The view into the village from the hot tub was enjoyed as well are all the cherished memories.
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.9
based on 12 traveler reviews

Location, location! 3 bdrms+loft Chalet, Ski in/out to main lifts, large Hot tub
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 15 reviews
4

Great Ski in ski out..Kodiak Timber Lodge

  • 4 of 5

We were at Sun Peaks March 1 to march 6 ..2016 .at Kodiak Timber Lodge...the place was amazing ,very clean and communication with Caroline was very good ...all questions answered either by E-Mail ..text or Phone. If you rent the top of house you can put your car in the garage..,great if you get a big dump of snow over night, also use of carport..they have a snow service that comes and clears all snow on the steps and around the Hot tub ..had a great time Thanks.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

WOW - Kodiak Lodge is fantastic

  • 5 of 5

Kodiak Lodge was a superb place to stay as a family of five and so well appointed in every way, making our skiing holiday the best ever. Kitchen facilities were excellent. Being able to ski in and ski out every day with 2 young children (3 and 5 years) was so good. Magnificent views over Sun Peaks and the nearby ski runs were always appreciated. The wood featured in the lodge needs to be seen to be believed. In fact our 3 year old wanted to take Kodiak Lodge back to Vancouver with her, because she loved the house so much. That says it all.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent home and surroundings!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful family time at this beautiful home! The owners were very thoughtful in that they provided some seasonal decorations that made the place so homey.

Thank you for our very comfortable stay! We loved the ski in and out convenience and the gorgeous scenery.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to host your group! Thank you:)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5

The home is large and beautiful. All the amenities were there. There was nothing I wished I would have brought from home. A very short walk to the village, 5 minutes. The owners were wonderful to deal with. I would stay again and hope to but this time for a ski holiday.

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the Kodiak Timberlodge. We enjoyed the premo ski in ski out location, the walking distance to downtown and the after beer ski in the brand new hot tub!

Thanks a lot for the great stay.

See you next year!

Simon

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutley stunning.

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was perfect in every way, from the initial booking to our last meal. We were so pleased at the picturesque, well maintained lodge for our group of 6 men. The kitchen is spacious and well stocked with an extra bar fridge for "refreshments".

Carol was very accommodating from our first contact in August until the end of our stay. She even emailed a list of condiments for us.

The location was perfect with a view of Mr. Morrissey out the front window and the Blazer ski run out back. It was most enjoyable, relaxing and refreshing in the hot tub after skiing. The village is a short stroll or a quick drive for extra provisions at reasonable prices.

We highly recommend "The Kodiak" and the hosts.

Sincerely,

Bill, Alex, Dick, Doug, Frank and Tim from Peterborough, Ontario.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear you had a great time! Hosting groups such as yours makes it all worthwhile! Hope to see your group back soon:)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Thompson-okanagan district, 50 minutes from Kamloops airport

Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada

Sun Peaks, British Colum

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sunburst Estates Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring to Autumn Main unit
Apr 18 2016 - Nov 24 2016
3 night minimum stay
$302
$1,675
 
 
Early season
Nov 25 2016 - Dec 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$378
 
 
Holidays! (Add$325 for suite)
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$607
 
 
Jumpin January
Jan 3 2017 - Feb 16 2017
5 night minimum stay
$427
 
 
President's week
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$572
 
 
Glory Days!
Feb 25 2017 - Apr 17 2017
5 night minimum stay
$427
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $382
Tax Rate 5.0%

Unless otherwise stated, booking is for Main unit.
Main unit, 3 bedrooms plus loft, sleeps 8 adults or 10 including children.
Both units (Main plus Suite) 5 bdrms plus loft, sleeps 12
Absolutely no pets or smoking in chalet.
**Deposit and balance are non-refundable.
This chalet is for mature or family groups. Credit card holder must be at least 30 years of age.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sunburst Estates Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Business Center
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Local Calls
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Wet Bar
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master bdrm - toilet , tub , shower , double sinks, lady slipper cast iron tub, tiled shower
    Powder room on Main - toilet , toilet with sink
    Loft bathroom - toilet , shower , toilet, sink with shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master bedroom on Main floor bedroom #1 - 1 queen , Log furniture, luxurious ensuite
    Upstairs loft bedroom #2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , queen bed with set of twin bunks
    Upstairs loft bedroom #3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , queen bed with set of twin bunks
    Open loft bedroom/sitting extra TV - 1 double , double bed with mattress and box spring.
  • Main three bedroom loft sleeps 8 adults or 10 including children.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • MP3 Dock
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer, Full Kitchen House is clean upon arrival and will be cleaned at departure. Housekeeping services beyond normal clean will be charged at $35/hr.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties