check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Mountain's Largest Log Retreat, 7 Bedrooms, Pool Table, Hot Tub, Grill, Bar

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
lodge
Sleeps
20
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
4
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
1 - 5 nights

Description

McGaheysville Lodge Rental Photos and Description

Lodge, 7 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 18-22)

Come see this charming 3-story lodge nestled in the heart of Massanutten Resort in Harrisonburg, Virginia! Grand Pine Lodge is a 5,000 square foot, white pine lodge offering year-round, beautiful views of the Shenandoah Valley and Blue Ridge Mountains. View the ski slopes and relax in the hot tub or patio seating on the lodge’s spacious 840 square foot deck.

This custom log home boasts 7 bedrooms and 4.5 bathrooms and accommodates 18-20 people comfortably. There is a spacious master bedroom, master bathroom, and huge master walk-in closet on the third level. Above the living room, there is also a large loft area with 2 twin sofa beds and one full sofa bed for additional space. On the lower level, there is a large wet bar, pool table, and entertaining area, as well as a two-car garage (additionally, there is ample street parking).

The kitchen, dining room, and great room provide a wonderful area for entertaining and gathering. Rewind by a cozy fire in the stone fireplaces found in the great room and master bedroom. Gather with friends and family around the 12-foot long custom-built wood table to enjoy a meal, or simply a glass of wine. The kitchen is fully equipped with a gas cooktop, double-wall convection oven in addition to an abundance of pots, pans, cookware, and dishes to accommodate large family meals!

For those who enjoy outdoor cooking, this lodge comes equipped with a stainless steel propane grill, or you can rent our mobile oil-drum commercial smoker for an additional $100. This large smoker will be delivered to the house prior to arrival for your group to enjoy during your entire stay! Contact us for more information.

Massanutten has numerous activities for your stay. The resort offers hiking, skiing, snowboarding, tubing, swimming, etc. There is also an indoor water park that is sure to provide great memories. Wonderful restaurants and theaters are available within a 10-minute drive.

Need a beautiful location to house your wedding party? Look no further! Grand Pine Lodge has the amenities, space, and comfort to house your wedding party for all the special festivities. Please contact us about specific details. Private Chef, Masseuse available for special occasions, advanced bookings required. Please contact for more information and pricing.

If you’re looking for something a little cozier, check out our other rental property #195927.

Home Layout:

Lower Level:

o 2 bedrooms each with Queen beds

o 1 bedroom with 2 Full size beds

o 1 large bedroom with 2 Twin-Over-Full bunk beds

o 2 1/2 bathrooms

o Wet bar and entertaining area

Main Level:

o Great room with stone fireplace

o Dining area

o Kitchen

o Back deck with Jacuzzi

o Master Bedroom #1 with Queen bed

Upper Level:

o Master Bedroom #2 with King bed

o Large Master Bathroom

o Bedroom with 2 full beds

o Sectional sofa in Loft area

Keywords: Lodge, Cabin, Resort, Haven, Chalet, Retreat, Massanutten, House, JMU, Shenandoah Valley, Harrisonburg, Wedding

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
Brian and Sara Wilfong
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2016
Call Owner

About Brian and Sara Wilfong

Brian and Sara are natives of Harrisonburg and both graduated from JMU. Sara is a real estate agent and Brian, a real estate investor. They own two houses on Massanutten resort and a tiny house in Harrisonburg that they rent out on a short term basis. They have three young sons, Grayden (6) Chapman (4) and Hudson (2).

Brian and Sara Wilfong purchased this lodge in 2011

Why Brian and Sara Wilfong chose Shenandoah Valley

This property offers something for everyone!

~Spacious, open floor plan for large groups

~12 foot dining room table for the entire family or group to eat and enjoy fellowship

~Bedroom on main level for guests with limited mobility

~Spacious Upstairs master with walk-in shower, tub, double vanities, loft area with sectional sofa

~Hot tub on back deck with patio furniture, enjoy the mountain views, propane patio heater, propane grill, and fire pit

~7 Bedrooms and 5000 square feet of living space to accommodate large families, reunions, work retreats, and anything in between!

~Wet bar with pool table, Cable and Smart TV connectivity

What makes this lodge unique

The benefits of Grand Pine Lodge are numerous. Some of the best characteristics include:

*Over 5000 square feet of living space to accommodate large groups and families

*7 bedrooms and nine beds to sleep up to 22 people

* Over 800 square foot deck to enjoy mountain views and peacefulness of the resort

* Comfortable log cabin accomodations with stainless appliances, gas cook top, double oven

Guestbook comments from the owner

Your house was the perfect headquarters for our 20th anniversary of graduation from JMU! Many Thanks.
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 28

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

Mountain's Largest Log Retreat, 7 Bedrooms, Pool Table, Hot Tub, Grill, Bar
average rating of 4.428571 based on 70 reviews
5

Wonderful getaway retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We came here to celebrate my 30th birthday weekend and had a blast. The cabin itself is gorgeous and very spacious with tons of amenities. Some cosmetic work needs to be done around the house but nothing that hindered our good time. After skiing and snowboarding one day we went to the ski lodge at night where a live band was playing country and rock cover songs- big dance floor as well! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to host a big party/getaway/reunion. Thank you Sara and Brian!

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful Lodge in a great area

  • 5 of 5

This is a gorgeous property, convenient to the Shenandoah area. I held a staff retreat here and the layout was great for it. The long dining room table was perfect for group meals and our more formal team building activities. The den area was great for games and relaxing. Very well maintained and the beds were comfortable.

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Mixed Review

  • 2 of 5

I have both positive and negative points to share about our stay. Firs,t we maxed out the beds and the house handled us all fabulously! The bathrooms were sufficient, bedrooms nice and lots of "common" area. I LOVED the huge table which between it and the island handled our large family and the kitchen was supplied very nicely with appliances, dishes etc. We have a family that excels in "gourmet" cooking and though an extra few burners would have been nice , it accommodated us well. The grill and hot tub were utilized as well as the lovely outdoor deck. We had some older parents (93 years old) and they were able to be involved due to the open layout and the downstairs became the kid "getaway".

So, after all that good, what was bad? For such a wonderful place with so much charm, and a fairly high rental price, the maintenance was terrible!!! I did not mind the worn sofas and well used outdoor furniture but never expected to need my husband to fix a shower that only put out HOT water, retighten a couple doors handles and cover open floor switch boxes with no cover plates with tape as we had a baby on the prowl. The oven door was sprung and would not close totally and the icemaker was insufficient for a large group. All handles on the outdoor sliding doors were actually broken and very difficult to open and shut. One was actually kept shut with dowel rods. Many lights did not even turn on or work. Some of the furnishings for the bedrooms were sparse, very few night stands or lamps and be sure not to lean on the first post on the front porch! They had a gorgeous walk in shower upstairs but there was mold on the shower heads, grouting etc. No excuses for that! and the AC .... well what can I say? We had a literal icebox in the basement in order to not have an oven in the loft! Towels were barely sufficient so there was alot of washing going on and I would like to have had more blankets and linens for sofa beds.The propane was empty so we had to make the trip to replace it and the landscaping is beautiful but untended and unkempt.

It is such a wonderful place that I cannot fathom not repairing what is broken or not working! I think it has the potential to be a knockout place but the maintenance is very irritating.

So, would I recommend it.... a tentative yes.... with tongue in check. Too bad I could say a resounding "yes!"

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. While we hate to hear that you were not absolutely in love with our cabin like so many others are, we appreciate your feedback and we always strive to improve/upgrade this home to make it more comfortable and better for our guests. We have been busy making improvements and upgrades on the property throughout September!! Some of the many upgrades include: Stainless steel French door refrigerator with freezer on bottom Brand new patio doors on all the sliding doors Addition of a seventh bedroom off the master (top) to allow for an entire family to enjoy the upstairs level Updating all exterior lighting Adding alarm clocks, lights, additional furniture in several bedrooms Adding clothes racks to master upstairs and downstairs New Log bed in main level bedroom Evaluation of water level and pressure by plumber to ensure adequate and appropriate temperature of all showers/bathrooms Purchased brand new bedding, linens, and comforters for bedrooms, as well as cotton robes and towels Again, we appreciate your suggestions and We hope you will return to our lodge and see all of the new upgrades and improvements.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Fabulous property - perfect for our group of 14

  • 4 of 5

We had a fabulous time at this wonderful home. Large, well appointed and functional...it was just what we needed for our group of 14. Would have rated this a 5, except for the following: (1) detailed list of what is provided and what is not did not arrive in time for us to properly prepare and included outdated information (2) the pictures on the posting include items that are no longer available and (3) some minor but essential maintenance would make this place a 5+. NONE of these issues were problematic enough to diminish the experience. WELL DONE!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Large spacious home in need of a number of repairs to make it a super place

  • 3 of 5

Our family had a reunion and birthday party there. It was wonderfully spacious home with lots of nooks for all ages to gather in and have a great time! Sadly the home is in need of repairs to bring it to its full potential.

Issues with Pine Lodge

- Rear sliding doors in need or repair - from the looks of the door this has been a problem for quite sometime.

- Door on the closet in the basement with the air handler is not in place and just laying in the against the equipment.

- Hot tub filter is a biohazard - I tried to get the junk & slime off of it with little success. The filter hasn't been changed in some time.

- Master bedroom; ceiling chandelier does not work, ceiling light on fan does not work - only one dim table lamp for light in the bedroom.

- TV controllers in basement and loft don't have batteries - render the TV's useless

- Loft fan light does not work

- Ceiling lights in the first two basement bedrooms don't work - only one dim table lamp in each bedroom, can't ever read with the light!

- Bathroom light in the first basement bedroom works occasionally with one tube

- One stove burner does not ignite.

Other than that Mrs. Lincoln, it was a fine play!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your suggestions! We have upgraded all exterior patio doors. We have also hired an electrician to ensure all of the lights and fans are working properly throughout the house. The cleaning company is checking to make sure all of the remotes are working for the next group. We appreciate your suggestions and we hope you return to our lodge at some point!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Literally Perfect

  • 5 of 5

We were here for a wedding and had so many people there yet it felt like it was just a family there and not so many people. It was a great place and I'm so glad we chose there I wouldn't want to go anywhere else.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Shenandoah Valley Airport
Nearest Barpub
Encounters Lounge
Nearest Golf
Massanutten Resort
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Amtrak Staunton VA
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Interstate 81
Nearest Ski
Massanutten Resort
Nearest Beach
240 Miles
Virginia Beach
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

McGaheysville Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas Holiday
Dec 20 2016 - Jan 2 2017
5 night minimum stay
$600
$3,000
 
 
MLK Weekend
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Presidents Weekend
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
Independence Weekend
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Aug 31 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
$400
From
$500
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Cleaning fee $175
Refundable damage deposit $300

There is also a $300 security deposit for all guests. We charge $175 cleaning fee. Optional $50 pet fee per pet. Optional early checkin/late check out option may be available at an additional fee. There is a three night minimum for most weekends. Holidays have a minimum night requirement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

McGaheysville Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
House is newly renovated,4000+ square feet log cabin with wood floors, wood walls & wood ceilings throughout. Enjoy a cozy fire in the massive stonewood fireplace in the living roo, large kitchen and entertaining area, spacious master bedroom, bath, and closet, large bar downstairs. The lodge is convenient to all of the resort amenities, on a quiet wooded street, with mountain and slope views.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties