check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

John Jensen

Member since: 1999
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Luxury Log House with Snowbasin Ski Resort and Lake View

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Huntsville Estate Rental Photos and Description

Estate, 5 Bedrooms + Loft, 6 Baths, (Sleeps 10-22)

CAUTION: DO NOT BOOK VIA BANK WIRE TO ANYONE!

A 6800 sq ft Neville log home with 25' hi Cathedral ceilings of 50' log perloins compares to the Lodges at Sun Valley resort. Spectacular views of the resort and lakes makes every morning breathtaking.

Large spa, Stone bar, steam room, Pool table, foosball, darts, and an exercise room, add amenities rarely found in other homes.

4 Fireplaces with 2 master bedrooms, and in floor radiant heat make this large home very cozy.

Accompanying beds for 14, extra room is available for the kids on inflatable beds and futons

On a hillside, plenty of off street parking is there with a 3 car garage and a 2 car covered

entrance.

Steam room is available in ...the upper master bedroom. 4 TV's, One being a 58' flat screen. Dish TV, surround sound, streaming netflix through a WII system. Plus a DVD library provide for apre ski entertainment.

Winter amenitties

Snowbasin ski resort is 10 minutes away, Wolf Mountain is 15 minutes, and Powder is 20 minutes away.

There are 3 Nordic ski areas nearby.

There is a tremendous snowmobiling

Summer amenities

There is a beautiful lake called Pineview Reservior 10 minutes away. Waterskiing, jet skiing and windsurfing are available

Bike trails and hiking trails are close. The neighborhood has private trails and a fishing pond

There is also fishing in streams and the lake.

Snowbasin is open for gondola hiking, biking, and concerts, and other events

Autumn foliage

Autumn is one of the most beautiful times. Red, yellow and gold abounds in the valley

Keywords: estate, Large log home, Ski house, ski lodge,

Luxury, Rustic, fireplaces, Snowbasin, Powder Mountain, Wolf Mountain, Pineview Reservior, Wasatch mountains

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
John Jensen (Owner)
Member since: 1999
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About John Jensen

UPS pilot . Enjoys winter and summer sports in Utah and the Gulf Coast.

John Jensen purchased this estate in 2000

Why John Jensen chose Utah

I wanted a mountain home that resembled the Snowbasin/Sun Valley lodges, didn't find it so I built it

What makes this estate unique

Wild life viewing is incredible, from, Deer, Moose, Foxes, Wiid Turkeys, etc.

Wake up in the morning to see what new snow has fallen on Snowbasin.

Views are spectacular from the morning Alpen glow to the lights of Ogden silhouetting

the mountain ridges at night.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)
Luxury Log House with Snowbasin Ski Resort and Lake View
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 13 reviews
5

wonderful setting for a family reunion

  • 5 of 5

Great facility and perfect gathering place for our reunion. Close to golfing, A TV riding and shooting. Thanks again

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very Nice Place!

  • 4 of 5

Great Location and a beautiful place. Mr. Jensen was great to work with and very accommodating. I would recommend this place and definitely consider this place again when we visit Pineview Reservoir.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Jose, CA
5

Great for large family or multiple families

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful large mountainside home skillfully built with huge logs reminiscent of the construction of the Snowbasin ski area day lodges. Great views across the valley to Snowbasin mountain. Ample room for a large family or multiple families. Varied living areas provide multiple locations to hang out and relax by the many fireplaces. Kitchen provides all you need to serve a large group. Three car garage a big plus in the winter. We stayed a week for a ski trip to Snowbasin and all thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Beware the driveway is steep and can ice up in the winter. Owner does provide service to assist clearing driveway.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Snowbasin Ski Trip

  • 5 of 5

Just came back from a ski trip with friends where we stayed at this house. GREAT house for skiing and coming back and relaxing with friends. I would recommend this property to all in the future. BEAUTIFUL views out the back deck. The owner was responsive with any questions we had. In all a great experience.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Beautiful but not taken well care of....

  • 1 of 5

We booked this log home for a family vacation. When we got there the room above the garage was 59 degrees. I had three young children with and were not able to sleep up there....... The hot tub was also not taken care of and the chemicals were off. We were not able to use it our entire stay. That was one of the main reasons we booked this property. Very disappointing. Also... there was hardly any hot water. We would come home freezing from skiing and have to rock paper scissors for who got to shower first. Nothing worse than a cold shower after skiing!! Also the basement bathroom had a light that dripped dirty water on you when you were using the toilet. During our stay pipes also froze in the garage and we had water running everywhere!!!!! We also had hardly any working lightbulbs!! We had to take them from different areas in the house in order to see in our bathrooms. I would not recommend staying at this accommodation. The pictures look nice but overall this place was not maintained well at all. Every place I have stayed at through VRBO has been very nice... but not this property.... Definitely not up to our cleanliness standards. I would pass on this one!! Unless you like cold showers, no light, dirty hottub, and a cold house!!!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Prior to the arrival of this guest we had an arctic express cold come through. Had the guest called me soon enough I could have helped their dilemma sooner. I had extra heaters for the garage bunk room that can run, The showers run of a boiler that also operates the house. If I had a call I could have told the guests hove to turn the boiler up and increased the hot water capacity. The hot tub was serviced in fact I had to drain most of the water out prior and refill because prior folks didn't shower prior to use. It had full chemicals. Yes because of the excessive cold, garage pipes did freeze. but I had a neighbor come up and secure it and a plumber the next day. Also the boiler exhaust runs over the downstair master bath. It opened up and vented steam exhaust.After guests left, we cut into ceiling a repaired the problem. Sometimes in snow country, things happen. But with better communication we could have resolved issues quicker.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Like Renting An Entire Hotel

  • 5 of 5

The great room, with its soaring ceiling, wraps around a warm and comforting gas fireplace, built from tons of stone. The walls and joists are massive wooden logs, giving the feeling of a lobby at a National Park hotel. With plenty of parking, as well as a fully-equipped kitchen, game room and gym, and lots of cozy nooks for interactions of all kinds, it's an excellent choice for parties, family gatherings or a business retreat. I held a family reunion with 18 attending festivities and 12 sleepovers, and it was perfect for our group. We tremendously enjoyed the scenic views from the huge balcony, socializing around the kitchen island, playing pool and foosball until the wee hours of morning, and the wild turkeys wondering around the property. Beautiful afternoon sunlight and artificial lighting at night. A lot of love and planning went into this home. I give it five stars, and thank the owner for this nostalgic and memorable experience.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
SLC
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Shooting Star
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Wolf Creek
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Ogden Frontrunner
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy39
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Jackson Fork
Nearest Ski
7 Miles
Snowbasin
Car: necessary

Windsurfing, wakeboarding, jetskiing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Huntsville Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 29 2016 - Sep 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
$6,000
 
 
Fall
Sep 26 2016 - Nov 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$400
$2,400
$5,000
 
 
Early ski
Nov 23 2016 - Dec 16 2016
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
$6,000
 
 
Holiday high
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
$700
$4,200
$10,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
$8,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

utility fee $100
cleaning fee $200
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.0%

more than 20 people, add $20 to $35 pppn.
Must bring extra bedding

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Huntsville Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Alarm System
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Gym
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Hydronic Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Split-System Heating
  • Study Room
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Workshop
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Steam room in shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower , off studio room
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , off Great room
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , adjacent to spa
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , downstair master with fireplace
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , upstair master bedroom with fireplace
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , downstair bedroom
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , futon bedroom with workout gear
    Bedroom 5 - 2 double , 4 twin/ single , Bunk Studio, 2 double beds are inflatable with pumps
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (2) Futon Double , Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) 2 Queens sofa sleepers
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Golf Clubs
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Shed
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Sauna ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Steam Shower
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Steam room available, spa available, Workout room available Game room with Pool table, Foosball, and electronic darts Bar with sink and refrigerator

Partner Offers