check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Rita and Winfried Merkies

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, dutch, Papiamentu

Caribbean Sea Front Apartment

19 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Sabana Westpunt Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment (2 stories), 1 Bedroom, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 3)

The apartment located 30 feet from the sea within a small gated resort is situated in Westpunt, a tiny village at the west side of Curacao. From the apartment you have an uninterrupted view on the deep blue and crystal clear ocean where you may spot dolphins jumping out of the sea. For swimming, snorkeling or diving: just walk down the stairs from the resort to the sea or otherwise go to one of the many other nearby beaches. Great mountain biking and hiking on the nearby wild north side of the island and at the Boca Tabla Nature Preserve. The Mt. Christoffel National Park and the Savonet museum are at a 15 minutes car drive away.

Westpunt is the ideal spot for an exiting or quiet getaway from daily life.

Keywords:

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Rita and Winfried Merkies (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, dutch, Papiamentu

About Rita and Winfried Merkies

Owners are a local couple living over 35 years on the island.

Rita and Winfried Merkies purchased this apartment in 2006

Why Rita and Winfried Merkies chose Curacao

Growing up as a child we always rented vacation homes during our school holidays on this part of the island, now we had the chance to buy one ourselves.

What makes this apartment unique

The fact that we can walk from our unit to the stairs to the ocean almost directly in front of our unit and go for a swim, snorkle or dive.

Reviews

4.5
based on 19 traveler reviews

Caribbean Sea Front Apartment
average rating of 4.5263157 based on 19 reviews
4

Lovely nature retreat

  • 4 of 5

This was good value for money. Upstairs, in main bedroom, its is especially peaceful and comfortable. Downstairs living area a bit older. 2 balconies with ocean views. System with codes in stead of keys works well.The condo is in a safe, gated community, Marazul dive resort, so you can leave your windows open at night. I loved the area - totally away from it all, but its not for everyone. There is a nice swimmingpool or you can swim in the ocean, but there is no sandy beach. You go down about 25 stairs and get into the ocean with a step ladder - either to swim, snorkel, or dive. The water is turquoise crystal. There's lots of birdsong and lots of iguanas on the property. Playa Forti, a nice sandy beach, is within walking or swimming distance. To get anywhere else, a car is handy - dive operation is about 2-3 km from here. Other good beaches are Grote Knip and Kleine Knip, as well as the one at the dive operation. Shete Boka National park, about 10 min drive, has wonderful sea views, especially when its windy. The restaurants in the area are very average, but according to ratings on other sites, there aren't many better restaurants in the whole of Curacao. Sol's food, Trio Penotti and Ranco el Sobrino (walking distance) were OK. There is a bar with sunset views close by, overlooking Playa Forti, Blue view Sunset Terrace. Groceries are not easy to get. The store in Barber, about 15 min drive, is not good, especially for fresh produce. The best store for groceries is Centrum supermarket near the airport. I also noticed the manager at Marazul does shopping for a $15 fee.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Marazul- curacao

  • 5 of 5

Our love of Curaçao is enhanced by our wonderful accommodations! This was our 3rd stay here and it was as great as the first. The apartment is very spacious with all necessary amenities. Being close to the pool was a plus. We also utilized the stairs giving ocean access for our daily swims and even snorkeling. We especially enjoyed the upstairs balcony for our nightly viewing of the sunset and gazing at the stars! The wifi was consistent, there are screens on the windows and doors and hot water in the shower. We will definitely return!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What can we say .........other than: You will always be more than welcome ! Winfried & Rita
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful place

  • 4 of 5

We have a wonderfull Time .

Is the Best place to be in the sea and comtemplate the Sunset.

Mr Merkies and the manager was very kind, there is no problem...only solution!

Thank for all,

Merveilleux voyage. C'est le meilleur balcon pour contempler le coucher du soleil et entrer dans la mer comme dans une piscine. M. Merkies et son manager ont a été là pour répondre à nos besoins. Nous avons été privilégiés, car nous n'avons pas eu de voisin.

Parfait pour la plongée et snorkeling.

Merci !

Sylvie et Sylvain

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sylvie & Sylvain, Thanks for visiting us and glad that you had a good time !
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

great view and snorkeling

  • 4 of 5

We loved our stay. Great snorkeling right from the property, awesome ocean view, quiet. Couldn't give it five stars because the dishwasher didn't work, the ground in front of our patio was tore up because of problems with the pool, the maids never came for our 10 day stay so no fresh towel or other linens, also the air conditioner got really loud intermittently. Great value aside from that stuff.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: At the time of the stay a major pool leakage occurred that had to be fixed immediately. The leakage has now been repaired and the pool is fully operational. Timely changing linens and towels has been brought to the attention of the resort management. The apartment is rented out without dishwasher.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing Stay - Beautiful, Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

My stay was truly wonderful. I wanted someplace remote and staying on Westpunt was the perfect choice. The location of the resort was fantastic. From my balcony I could just gaze out at the sea all day. When I got hot I took a dip in the pool. I took a few trips to nearby secluded beaches (there are 30+ along the coast). Cooked my own meals and went out to eat to great restaurants within walking distance. Just beautiful, relaxing, and serene. Winfried was super responsive and absolutely everything about the stay was smooth and enjoyable. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Berlin
5

Our adventure trip to curacao

  • 5 of 5

At was a lovely condo direct on the ocean side of West-Curacao. Every morning, the iguanas have visited us to have breakfast on the direct in front of our terrace located palm. A great spectacle.

Every evening, fantastic sunsets. Short drive by car to the best beaches for snorkeling and diving.

The apartment is well furnished and practicable. The equipment of dishes could be a little more comprehensive.

Otherwise, the Apparment is absolutely recommendable. We had a great vacation. Thank's to Rita and Winfried

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Hato
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
El Sobrino
Nearest Golf
25 Kilometres
Blue Bay Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
El Sobrino
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
Westpunt Baai
Car: recommended

The apartment is located in the western part of the island; the area is rural and quiet with many possibilities for diving, snorkeling, swimming, (mountain) biking and walking. There is a good dive school in Westpunt and a tank depot in our resort should you want to dive with them.

The national park Christoffel can be reached within a 20 minute drive from Westpunt for sight seeing, bird watching or climbing mount Christoffel for a beautiful view over the island. Landhuis (Mansion) Savonet is inside the park and is a museum that is worthwhile a visit. The north coast where the waves are breaking on the rocks can be reached within 10 minutes.

Dining can be enjoyed at Kura Holanda Lodge, Misjhe, El Sobrino, Sol foods or Jaanchi. At Westpunt on Sundays you can enjoy a local lunch at the Fishermen's bay of Westpunt or at Shete Boca which can be reached within 10 minutes by car.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sabana Westpunt Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low season
Apr 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$110
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$125
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

End Cleaning Fee $85 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 7.0%

Rates are based on 2 persons, additional persons will be charged a small fee of US$ 20 per person per night extra

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sabana Westpunt Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 84 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • King size beds (1) A topper is added for extra comfort., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Gated Community
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
Notes:
Massage and pedicure upon request. Massage will be given next to the Caribbean Sea. Diving is possible directly from the resort. A dive container with rinse tank is available and you can hang your diving gear inside to dry.

Partner Offers