check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

'Pop Castle' Historic Gem on the Rappahannock River

36 Reviews
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

White Stone House Rental Photos and Description

House, 6 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-16)

Crossing the bridge into the town of White Stone you arrive at this magnificent estate on the Rappahannock River. 'Pop Castle' is a property entrenched in civil war history. It is on the National Registry of Historic Homes and a registered Virginia Historic Landmark.

This 1855 house, flanked by two majestic Oak trees overlooking the two-mile wide Rappahannock River, offers expansive lawns, towering trees and a long sandy beach. Sit out on the screened porch and watch the osprey and the resident eagle go after their daily catch while the dolphins swim by. Relax in the hammock on the sandy shores of the river or go swimming, fishing, or crabbing off the 30 foot deck (two crab pots are available). This five bedroom historic home on twelve exquisite acres with hundred year old magnolias and oaks is fully furnished and equipped with WiFi, cable, bikes, outdoor games and a ping pong table.

With the wood paneled living room with fireplace, comfortable TV room with fireplace, formal dining room with fireplace, sunroom with a large bay window overlooking the river, a large and bright kitchen with adjoining windowed garden/laundry room, and a spectacular 50 foot long porch opening directly to the wide treed lawn and the river, your family and friends will have plenty of space to share your valued time together. On the second floor, five bedrooms, three with fireplaces, offer ample sleeping space (although if more is needed, the first floor sunroom and TV room with adjoining full bathrooms can easily be converted into bedrooms using our queen airbeds).

Vacation homes abound, but none other offers such serenity and natural beauty, while allowing you to stay in a house shelled by Union gunboats in 1861 or on the land raided by the British fleet during the War of 1812. The property includes historic outbuildings, including a smoke house and granary from the 1850s and an enormous work shed housing some of the cannonballs uncovered on the property.

Come take off your shoes and relax in this historic estate on the Rappahannock River, one mile from the Chesapeake Bay. Above all, come sit on the deck and experience a sunset as you have never seen it before, and be a part of history.

Keywords: Waterfront, Chesapeake Bay, Northern Neck, Historic, Colonial, Riverfront, Beach, Swimming, Boating, Fishing, Dock, Family, Kids, Biking, Rappahannock River, White Stone, Privacy, Weekend trips from Washington D.C.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 36 traveler reviews

'Pop Castle' Historic Gem on the Rappahannock River
average rating of 5.0 based on 36 reviews
5

PERFECT HOUSE FOR SIX KIDS UNDER THE AGE OF 7 (YIKES!) AND SEVEN ADULTS!

  • 5 of 5

My first review, written two years ago after our first visit to Pop Castle, spoke of the history of the house and the beauty of the grounds, as well as the consideration of the owners, the Ramadans, who have provided a fully stocked kitchen, a huge video library, shelves of board games, and a library stocked with books for kids and adults, and a TV and DVD/VCR machine. Two years later and the review still stands as true and "glowing" as ever....though now I want to include the information about the outdoor toys i.e. a complete croquet set, children's basketball net and an adult regulation size basketball net, a double kayak, a couple of adult bikes, lots of chairs for outdoor sitting and beach chairs to take down to the sandy beach. A propane gas grill in excellent condition is provided just off the kitchen door. A rope swing with a wooden seat hanging from the high branches of one of the massive oak trees is popular with all age groups! The house is an historic house on the National Register. Old homes can often have "issues" with wiring and plumbing, insulation and comforts that a newer home may not have. I appreciate that this lovely old home has beautiful bathrooms with all tubs, toilets, and showers working well....that the kitchen is clean and has efficient and well working dishwasher, garbage disposal, 2 refrigerators, and lots of counter space. The washer and dryer are large capacity and work well....the house has multiple and comfortable areas for family gatherings for conversation and games or for private escape to read quietly or work on your computer which picks up wi-fi from anywhere in the house. The Ramadans are to be commended for their commitment to the ongoing maintenance of this large and old house while not interfering with the beauty of the old floors, stairs, banister and the original windows and woodwork throughout. My FAVORITE part of Pop Castle, however, are the magnificent grounds with numerous giant, old magnolia trees and large, centuries old oak trees, the honeysuckle, flowering privet, and a sweeping, lush green lawn that invites one and all to go barefoot. In early June the magnolia trees bloom and the entire yard smells faintly of the subtle lemony fragrance of the magnolia flower. If you are thinking about this VRBO, I hope you will do it.....time spent at Pop Castle is a rare opportunity and creates lasting, lovely memories.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC
5

Perfect location for our intimate wedding!

  • 5 of 5

We rented Pop Castle for a week in October of 2014. We stayed there with our family for the week leading up to our wedding, and then held the rehearsal dinner and wedding there at the end of the week. It was the most beautiful and perfect location that we could ever have hoped for! The property was so pretty and spacious, and everyone who came to the wedding was in awe. The location right on the river/bay opening made for the most gorgeous sunset wedding photos. The opportunity to combine such special family time with the wedding was so unique, since most locations only allow you to be at the property for a few hours during the event before they kick you out. Recently we were in the area again with our newborn baby girl, and we went back to visit. It was so special to walk the grounds and reminisce on our special time there. Our entire family wants to plan another week long vacation there so that we can once again relax and enjoy the gorgeous house, grounds & river/bay views. I would highly recommend this property to any family looking for a special vacation place to be together, and especially to any couple looking for a fantastic wedding location!

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for our wedding and I know we will be back for a family reunion or two!

  • 5 of 5

We were lucky enough to have our small family wedding at Pop Castle in May! I'm not even sure there are words to describe the beauty of the grounds and the charm of the house. Our stay and everything leading up to the wedding was perfect. The owner was quick to respond to any questions and provided so much information on the house, surrounding area and vendors for our wedding. I am so thankful and happy that we found Pop Castle. If you are looking for a place to relax on the river or somewhere special to celebrate Pop Castle is the place. The house is so comfortable and fully appointed with anything you could ever need while visiting. I can't wait for us to find our next reason to celebrate and visit Pop Castle.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We will definitely be back!!!

  • 5 of 5

Pop Castle is truly a gem of a house - it is lovely and spacious with a wonderful flow; the location is spectacular - right on the Rappahock River, with views not to be rivaled. The grounds are manicured with lush lawn and enormous trees which may be as old or older than the historic home. We had three generations of family stay at Pop Castle with us, from Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina. The owners were always quick to respond and flexible in working with us. We are already working on a return trip.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely, updated historic property with panoramic views of the Rappahannock River.

  • 5 of 5

When we were children, my sister and I had stayed at Pop Castle, which was owned by family friends. We returned about 25 years later with our families to stay near our parents over Christmas. The crazy warm weather allowed us to enjoy in December the river, the lovely grounds and the fabulous porch we all remembered so well. My sister and I did not remember much about the furnishings, but we appreciated the updated (and additional) bathrooms. Our mother commented on many "elegant" changes. We especially admired the many international touches, from Brazil, the Mid East, and Southern Europe.

Thanks to Walid and Virginia for sharing Pop Castle and for being responsive and flexible hosts!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pop Castle is the perfect Tidewater Home!

  • 5 of 5

Our family hosted our daughter's wedding at Pop Castle. It was the perfect venue and a wonderful place to build happy memories. We had enough room to host the groom's family as well as ours, which made for a special weekend. Many relatives came from the Dominican Republic and New England, so we were happy to show off our beloved Tidewater Virginia at such an exemplary home. All of the accommodations were superb, from the beautifully decorated interior to the absolutely amazing grounds and view. I have never seen such magnificent trees! All in all, aside from the bride and groom, Pop Castle was the star of the wedding.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

In the heart of historic Virginia, less than one hour to Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, Richmond.

Photos

Rates & Availability

White Stone House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Peak 2016
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
Off Peak 2016
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 21 2016
3 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2016 - Nov 29 2016
5 night minimum stay
$800
$4,500
 
 
Off Peak
Nov 30 2016 - Dec 21 2016
3 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2016 - Jan 3 2017
5 night minimum stay
$800
$4,500
 
 
Off Peak 2017
Jan 4 2017 - May 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Summer Peak
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
Off Peak
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 27 2017
5 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
Off Peak
Nov 28 2017 - Dec 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Christmas
Dec 21 2017 - Jan 1 2018
5 night minimum stay
$800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Housecleaning $300
Refundable damage deposit $400
Tax Rate 5.0%

Rate /night is $642 if you stay for a week during PEAK SEASON

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

White Stone House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • 5 full bathrooms, one with bathtub
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2 double
    Bedroom 5 - 2 double
    Bedroom 6 - 2 double
    Air bed - 1 queen
    sofas - 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (6), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2), Queen Airbed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 20 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties