check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Erik van Engelen

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Spacious detached villa near beach with private pool, nice view and cool breeze

11 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights

Overview

Willemstad Villa Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, max. 6 people (and 1 child up to 2 years of age)

Villa Pura Vida is a new (2009) detached villa with a private pool in the neighbourhood Brakkeput Abou nearby the famous Spanish Water and prestigious areas of 'Jan Sofat' and 'Jan Thiel', situated close to historic town of Willemstad, beaches (Jan Thiel and Papagayo), shopping, sailing, diving, surfing and fine dining.

We offer a one story detached villa with three bedrooms, two bathrooms, two porches, spacious living room, dining room and open kitchen and bar. Fully equipped and very comfortable.

Very affordable and very child-friendly. Your children can play 'on the street' without worries.

Spacious and cool: The villa is built a spacious lot and has very generous surfaces for the available rooms and terraces. It has a floor plan of about 200 m2 (2200 sq feet) and therefore offers a lot of space not very commonly found in holiday homes.

From the front porch you enter the living room of the villa. Cathedral ceilings offer a spacious effect and the living room appears even larger than it already is. Hot air will disappear to make room for the gentle blowing tradewind which is always there and will make your stay a very comfortable one.

The trade wind will leave through the rear end of the villa where there is another covered terrace and this terrace has a open connection to the kitchen by use of a cosy bar.

Relaxing with a view: At your arrival you will find that the large and impressive front porch will attract your attention immediately. It is completely covered and offers, amongst other furniture, a great lounge bed to make your stay outside comfortable and relaxing. And there is always the view.

The view form the front is to the old and historic (and completely renovated) mansion 'Rust en Vrede' (which is Dutch for Peace and Tranquility) surrounded by its plantation. Looking a bit to the right you will see the sailing ships on the Spanish Waters and there is always the spectacular view to Table Mountain. The villa is surrounded by a tropical garden and two terraces: one in the back of the villa and a large one (covered, on Curaçao called a 'porch') in the front. You will always find a sunny or shady place to stay.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
Erik van Engelen (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Eric and Marjolein,



Just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed staying at your rental house during our holiday. It was so nice to open up the place in the morning and experience the warm breeze and fresh air, two things we miss most during our long, cold winters here in Pennsylvania. The amenities were just as you advertised and the place quite spacious and comfortable for a family of five.



You were so kind to pick us up in the middle of the night after our delayed travel after just arriving in Curacao yourselves. We overheard other travelers at the airport talking about their frustration with getting in late and having to make alternate ground transportation arrangements. You made it easy for us. Though driving around the island was challenging, since most roads were not marked on our map, we were able to find our way fairly well after some trial and error. Most of our time was spent at beaches in the Westpundt area where we had some fantastic snorkeling experiences; however, we did go into the city one evening. My thought was that the cruise ship visitors miss out on what the island is really like by staying so close to port.



Unfortunately our holiday had to end too soon; however, our trip home was more as planned. The only setback was that our eldest child got very sick while in Miami so his trip home was less than pleasant. This was our first experience using the VRBO website and it turned out to be a positive one for us. We would highly recommend your place to other potential renters.



It was a pleasure to meet you both as well as Inke, who was very helpful. Best wishes for the upcoming birth of your first child. They bring such joy, and frustration at times, but change your life forever.



Kind regards,



Tom and Linda and family
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.2
based on 11 traveler reviews

Spacious detached villa near beach with private pool, nice view and cool breeze
average rating of 4.181818 based on 12 reviews
Fort Wayne, IN
4

Near paradise in Curacao

  • 4 of 5

The villa was nearly perfect - just as described, large, very clean and relaxing. There were a few glitches throughout our 6 week stay but Shabana (the manager) took care of everything right away and helped with any questions/concerns. The housekeeper was super and cleaned everything! She was always on time and left extra towels and sheets when needed. The location was great, in a neighborhood and close to Jan Thiel and 20 min. from Wilhemstad. Good restaurants were very close and great supermarkets not far. I would recommend this villa to anyone that wanted a relaxing and comfortable stay on Curacao. The pool was just right for dipping and cooling off and the outside spaces were also super - always a breeze! Fantastic and look forward to returning some day.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Onze vakantie was fantastisch!

  • 5 of 5

We hebben n heerlijke vakantie gehad in Villa pura vida! Het huis is heel erg ruim voor 4 volwassenen en 1 kind van 2! Zoals het er op de foto's uitziet, zo is het in het echt ook; kortom fantastisch! Echt vakantie! Elke week werd ons huis schoongemaakt. Het huis is daarnaast van alle gemakken voorzien, handdoeken, airco in de slaapkamers (ideaal voor snachts)! Het zwembad was ook heerlijk, net als de wind die lekker door het huis waait! Het huis ligt vlakbij caracasbaai en jan thiel! Zest Beach bij jan thiel is een aanrader voor ouders met kinderen! Als je met z'n tweetjes heerlijk wilt eten dan is baoase een aanrader!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Comfortable relaxation in a tropical atmosphere

  • 4 of 5

The villa delivered what was promised in the listing. I offered a spacious, wel equiped residency during our 2 week stay on Curacao. The interior was simple with a luxury feel to it and offered all the comfort needed for a pleasant stay.

The architecture and situation of the villa provided for a right amount of cool air trough the house and on the porch.

The villa is located in a relatively quiet part of the island, close to the beach, supermarkets and various nightlife. Also it's relatively close to the city.

In short: Villa Pura Vida provides everything for a comfortable and relaxed stay (short or long) on Curacao and I certainly would recommend it to other people.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Nice house

  • 5 of 5

It is a very nice house with a beautiful porch where you can sit. There is always wind. The house has 2 bathrooms which is very nice if you are with 6 persons. The swimmingpool is small but with a cocktail sitting in the water very nice. We enjoyed our stay very much. Every week they cleaned the house, it was a real holiday for us!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
4

Great Stay in Curacao

  • 4 of 5

The Villa is very spacious and clean with a nice breeze going through it most of the time. We only needed to use the A/C at night when we slept. The pool though small is very refreshing in the tropical climate and was the perfect depth for a person 6 feet tall. We used the pool multiple times every day and it is in the shade from about 2 PM on so you don’t need to worry about getting to much sun.

Curacao is very European so do not expect everything to be like Hawaii and we really liked the grocery store in Jan Thiel. We felt safe in Curacao but if you’re the worrying type and want to put on the alarm while you sleep go over the instruction with Inki very well, as the nighttime settings are different. All in all a very relaxing time and the fish bought day of catch from the local fisherman was fantastic.

  • Submitted: May 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
3

Decent stay, but could be improved

  • 3 of 5

The house is exactly as pictured, and is lovely. It was difficult to find, even with detailed directions (which probably should be rewritten since street signs are almost nonexistent). The neighborhood consists of new houses, houses being constructed, and empty lots, so visually it is mixed. There are dogs EVERYWHERE, stray and domestic, and they bark constantly. Owners of these dogs do not seem concerned. A rental car is a must since nothing is in walking distance. It takes about 20-30 minutes to reach downtown Punda, longer during rush hour.

Positive aspects of the house include the spaciousness, open floor plan, front and back deck areas, private pool, security and automatic gated driveway. We found the front deck next to the pool to be particularly nice. The bedrooms were spacious and a/c worked well. The kitchen had most necessary appliances and utensils so cooking was easy (a missing blender was soon replaced by the helpful caretaker).

For negative aspects, we noticed the floor was dirty upon arrival, because after using the pool (with slightly damp feet) the living room quickly turned muddy. We mopped the floor ourselves and resolved the issue. Also, we were surprised at how many flies came in the villa, and since there is no a/c in the main living space, you need to open all doors and windows to stay cool. This also brought in flies. At one point, we woke to more than 50 flies on our towels and kitchen counters. I'm not sure how this could be resolved, and it might simply be idiosyncratic to Curacao living, but be prepared. The pool was quite chilly so swims were brief and usually only when the sun was out. The couch had stains and was uncomfortable to sit on.

The last negative about our experience was the electric usage. You are given an allotment for your stay, based on number of days and number of bedrooms. We were told by the caretaker at check-in that if you only use a/c at night, and only do a couple loads of laundry, you won't exceed the allotment. Well, we did just that, and exceeded the allotment by 35 USD. This was all the more surprising since one person in one bedroom left early, so we used even less a/c as a result. The allotment of electricity seemed insufficient if you plan to sleep in comfort, plus you are also paying for the automatic pool and landscape lights, appliances, etc. We weren't energy hogs by any means, and would rather not obsess about electric usage when vacationing, yet we felt we had to do so here.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 2

Map

The Curaçao Ostrich Farm
Zest
Shete Boka National Park
Papagayo Beach and Lounge Resort
Windsurfing Curacao
The Aloe Vera Plantation
The Boathouse Restaurant
De Kleine Wereld
Punda
Playa Porto Marie
Karakter
Christoffel National Park
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad
Zuikertuin Mall
Cabana Beach Curacao
playa mambo beach
Gouverneur de Rouville
The Kurá Hulanda Museum
Baoase Luxury Resort
Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Curaçao Intl Aiport (Hato)
Nearest Barpub
3 Kilometres
Zanzibar Beach & Restaurant
Nearest Golf
11 Kilometres
Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa and Marina
Nearest Restaurant
3 Kilometres
Zest (Mediterranean), Tinto (Argentinian)
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Jan Thiel Beach - Papagayo Beach Club
Car: necessary

Curacao is one of the most 'original' Caribbean islands and offers s wide range of tourist activities and facilities. It has daily flights from Netherlands, USA (Miami) en regular flights from Newark and other cities in the area. Situated between the islands of Bonaire and Aruba (15 minutes flight!) it has the same climate (dry, tropical, outside the hurricane belt) but offers much more. Historic downtown, many restaurants with all kinds of cuisine, the Seaquarium (swimming or diving with doplhins!), the Ostrich Farm: also for children there is a lot to do. Great shopping, tax free facilities and world class diving, snorkeling and beach life. It has about 70 beaches with pristine waters along the whole south shore. Spectacular north shore with beautiful National Parks offers great wildlife. And much, much cheaper then Aruba or Bonaire! You will love the island and will return!

Golf: Add this once-in-a-lifetime experience to your “must play” list. Designed by the legendary Pete Dye, the par 72 Old Quarry Curacao golf course draws its name from the historic quarries where famed Curacao marble is mined. If you’re looking for a phenomenal getaway, our Curacao golf resort is the perfect choice.

Measuring just less than 7,000 yards, the course offers a visually stunning experience for the intermediate, beginner or advanced golfer. Beginning at the resort, the course also features a full-service clubhouse, a driving range, golf grill, pro shop, lockers and club storage.

Why wait? Join us for a Curacao golf vacation you’ll never forget.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Willemstad Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 6 2017
10 night minimum stay
$157
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
10 night minimum stay
$157
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$112
$787
$2,811
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 7.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Willemstad Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 220 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm System
  • Broadband Access
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 king , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 2 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 king
  • Every bedroom has box-spring bedding. Bedding is single (90x200 cms) but are placed next to each other to form a King Bed. Every bedroom has its own air conditioning (split level, very silent and with remote controls).
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Shed
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers