check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Sueño Encantado - Mexican Oceanfront Villa

Bedrooms 3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Temperate, tranquil, private get-away ...

Are you looking for a balmy climate to escape to for your vacation? Would you like to awake to a glorious sunrise, smell the salty sea air, hear the gentle roll of ocean waves, and feel the soft, warm ocean breezes? Imagine stepping outside onto the white sand beach of the Gulf of Mexico. In the evening you can sit out on the veranda, sip a Margarita, and watch the magnificent sunset before lighting the tiki torches? If this sounds appealing you will love villa Sueño Encantado.

Just a short walk away, is the charming fishing village of Telchac Puerto, where you will find a grocery store, bakery, hardware store, laundry services, a clinic, fruits and vegetables stands, several excellent seafood restaurants, fresh tortillas, fried fish stands, pay phones and an internet café. The town plaza is shaded by beautiful old trees and offers a play area for children. The lighthouse is situated close-by on the seaside promenade.

For those who want more than the beach, there are many things to do and places to explore. Mayan ruins, cenotes, haciendas, and quaint little villages abound. The gulf offers fishing, kayaking, swimming, and snorkeling. Progreso, a pleasant 30 minute drive to the west, along the coast, is a lively port town that cruise ships have recently discovered. If you have a momentary longing for city life, Merida is just a 50 to 60 minute drive from Sueño Encantado. There you can find many of the popular food and shopping chains found in Mexico's neighbors to the north: Costco, Home Depot, Walmart, McDonalds, Chili’s -- you get the picture. But you certainly can avoid all of that in Merida if you choose. In the squares and the Paseo de Montejo Avenue in the city centre you can experience the wonderful sights, sounds, shopping, and restaurants that this historical colonial city has to offer.

The people are very friendly and many speak English.

More about the villa …

the palapa covered entry-way into villa Sueño Encantado serves to set the tone for a relaxing beach get away upon your arrival. The Mexican tile floors and tile accents featured throughout the villa were hand-picked by the talented local architect, Gabriela Cornelio, who designed this custom home. The authentic Mexican décor lends a warm, comforting charm that enhances the whole experience.

There are 3 Bedrooms and 3 Bathrooms. The first floor bedroom has a queen bed and opens onto a lovely terrace. Upstairs is another bedroom with a queen bed. The master bedroom has a king bed and a lovely palapa-covered balcony overlooking the ocean. The well-supplied kitchen and dining and living room areas are on the first floor. Glass double doors open onto a beachfront terrace where you can enjoy the beauty of the ocean from sun-up to sun-down!

Keywords: Villa

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 9, 2017


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Sueño Encantado - Mexican Oceanfront Villa
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews

Quiet oceanfront tranquility. True Mexico beach holiday - great for family

  • 4 of 5

We truly enjoyed our family stay at the villa. Space worked great for our family of six. Days spent on the beach, in the ocean and shelling made for memorable family moments. Loved falling asleep to the sound of waves/ocean. Stars shined bright in the evening and we also loved having a fire on the beach. We all appreciated being "unplugged" from wifi/devices. One mile walk into Telchac was easy and we did almost daily. Fast Wifi was available at the little white motel in town for just 10 pesos when we needed to get online. Felt very safe wherever we went and we appreciated experiencing true Mexico away from resorts and being crowded with tourists. Even met friendly Expat neighbors from USA and Canada for added local insight. If your seeking a relaxing, beach vacation away from crowds this is the place to go!

P.s. Thank you for securing a charcoal grill for our stay- we used it regularly and it's ready to go for the next guests!

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The perfect stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had the pleasure of staying 1 month at the villa that we became used to calling home! Just what we expected and hoped for! This is a disconnect from our regular lives, no internet, no cable, no a/c, just the pure experience of being in Mexican soil! The kids just loved it, they had to go out and just enjoy life! Sunset and sunrise, the life at its best! It was clean, nice, calm, and there are so many other things to say! We actually are now conseding more than ever this coast to have our own little place to call paradise! There was no surprise and we enjoyed every seconds of that vacation! We will cherish this family vacation for a very long time!

I will definitely be back in this area!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not Quite as it was advertised

  • 3 of 5

Ok the house was pleasant. The Beach was pleasant. Will I come back to this area again? Yes. Will I come back to this house. No!

The owner is responsible for his/her own advertising accuracy. One of my chief requirements was WiFi and broadband access which the advert clearly states is available. Was it available? No, it does not even exist. If you want Cell phone access make sure you are in the front bedroom and within a few feet of the window otherwise phone access is hit and miss! It does have a TV but do not assume it is connected to any over the air or cable service. It isn't. I will give the owner her dues because she did offer to refund me my money but when you have just traveled 5,000 kms who wants to be told they can have their money back but now you've to go hunting for a new place for 3 months.

The living room furniture is pleasant but uncomfortable and the master bedroom bed is extremely uncomfortable. The neighbours are very nice and so is the building manager but the property itself is not what I will be returning to next year. There are many places nearby to rent that are much nicer for similar money.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am happy to hear that overall you had a pleasant stay. It is unfortunate that some things were not entirely to your liking. I have communicated much of this to you already, but will elaborate here for the sake of others. You are correct that internet access was advertised as available. When you asked me about it before your stay, I conveyed that the villa connection was weak and accessible only from the back bedrooms. I mentioned that if you needed dependable service you could use the wifi connection at a hotel located a short distance away, which is strong and very inexpensive. Internet access is challenging in Mexico, especially in a relatively rural area like Telchac Puerto. It is not like in the States or Canada, where a person can make a simple phone call and internet is installed. It requires either cable, which is not available at my location, or a land line which is procured only after being on an extremely long waiting list and submitting much paperwork. Therefore, I had been sharing with several neighbors one internet connection that was located in a property behind me. Since I am only in Mexico at my villa 1-2 weeks a year, I depend greatly on my Mexican property manager for information. Unfortunately, he was not aware that the shared internet had been recently discontinued and access was lost to all of us. When you arrived and informed me of the situation, I offered to refund your money. I agree that after traveling such a long distance it is not appealing to begin searching for other accommodations; however, you were there for three months and my offer of a refund had no time constraints. Had you found other lodgings with internet after 1 week or 1 month, my offer would have stood. As far as the furniture is concerned: I arrived for my yearly stay the very day you departed. I must admit that the master bedroom mattress was indeed uncomfortable. We simply flipped it and ‘voila’!’ It was as good as new. It’s unfortunate that you did not communicate the issue at any time during your stay. I would have had my property manager do the same thing and you would have been much more comfortable. The living room furniture is brand new; in fact, you were the first guests to use it. I am sorry that you found it uncomfortable. That was not our experience and found it to be very comfortable indeed. I do thank you for sharing your experience, and wish you the best of luck with your next stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Loved the place

  • 5 of 5

Great house! Very comfortable. Quiet and convenient location. Spent 5 wonderful weeks there and wish we didn't have to leave!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
St. Paul, MN

Best of both worlds: A great place to stay, a great base from which to explore the area

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic two-week stay at Sueno Encantado. The villa was spotless, bright and airy, the bedrooms were huge and comfortable and the bathrooms were pleasant.

With the beach just a few steps away the location was ideal. I love how all the houses are set back from the water slightly amid the dunes.

There is a small, functional and tidy kitchen and the open floor plan makes the whole villa feel larger than it probably is. The courtyard entrance is really nice and provides a real sense of privacy.

The location, perhaps a mile or so from "downtown" was great. It's certainly possible to walk into town along the beach but a car was very useful.

Cell reception is spotty at best at the villa itself (in town it's better) and I don't recall any internet. We never once turned on the TV, so I have no idea if there is reception. Instead, we just enjoyed being disconnected, reading on the patio, the sound of the water, the breezes (which can get strong as the afternoons heat up) and the tranquility of Sharri's villa.

Telchac Puerto is a hidden gem and I hope it stays that way. February and March when we visited is very much the off season with not much happening. The town is, I'm told, jam packed around Easter and again in July and August as folks from nearby Merida flock to the beach.

There are two or three restaurants that are open consistently, a dozen or so "Concinas" that are cheap and delicious and several small Bodegas for the basics. There are also a few sweet shops and an internet cafe.

If you're looking for a wide variety of restaurants, coffee shops, shopping and party opportunities Telchac isn't the place. All those things can be had nearby, however, in Progresso, Merida or even Motul, and it was nice to be able to return to our very quiet and extremely pleasant "home" after exploring the surrounding area.

Motul, about a 30-minute drive away is a really nice slice of small town Mexico. For a more touristy destination, Progresso and its shops and restaurants are an easy drive along the beach road and also has a large, modern grocery and multiple ATMs. (There are no ATMs in Telchac.)

Merida is a lovely city that is worthy of a multi-day stay to really explore. The central markets in all three towns were great spots to wander and eat an informal lunch.

Izamal, about 90-minutes away, is a beautiful town and a must-see if you're in the area.

English was a rarity but a few words of Spanish and a good attitude will see you through the basics.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was great to hear how much you enjoyed the villa and surrounding areas. Thank you for sharing your experience!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Indianapolis, Indiana

We had a wonderful month ...

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful month at Sharry's Telchac beach villa! The villa is very well supplied with cooking utensils, towels, sheets, etc...and the furnishing is very comfortable. Our family loved the clean beach and the lovely views from the upstairs balcony. I enjoyed sleeping with the balcony door open to hear the breaking waves. It is so quiet and restful at the villa that I was able to read 6 books and take many naps. We are already dreaming about next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Merida (MID)
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
In Telchac Puerto
Car: necessary

Wildlife/Flamingo Viewing, Mayan ruins, Cenotes, Haciendas


Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $55
Damage Protection $45

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Telchac Puerto Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Village
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Stove, Oven, Cooking Utensils, Blender, Toaster, CD, Ceiling Fans, Multiple Hammocks, Authentic Mexican Decor, Tile Floors, Tile Accents, Talavera throughout, No Smoking Inside, Caretaker on Adjoining Property

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties