Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sueño Encantado - Mexican Oceanfront Villa

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only

Overview

About the property

Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Temperate, tranquil, private get-away ...

Are you looking for a balmy climate to escape to for your vacation? Would you like to awake to a glorious sunrise, smell the salty sea air, hear the gentle roll of ocean waves, and feel the soft, warm ocean breezes? Imagine stepping outside onto the white sand beach of the Gulf of Mexico. In the evening you can sit out on the veranda, sip a Margarita, and watch the magnificent sunset before lighting the tiki torches? If this sounds appealing you will love villa Sueño Encantado.

Just a short walk away, is the charming fishing village of Telchac Puerto, where you will find a grocery store, bakery, hardware store, laundry services, a clinic, fruits and vegetables stands, several excellent seafood restaurants, fresh tortillas, fried fish stands, pay phones and an internet café. The town plaza is shaded by beautiful old trees and offers a play area for children. The lighthouse is situated close-by on the seaside promenade.

For those who want more than the beach, there are many things to do and places to explore. Mayan ruins, cenotes, haciendas, and quaint little villages abound. The gulf offers fishing, kayaking, swimming, and snorkeling. Progreso, a pleasant 30 minute drive to the west, along the coast, is a lively port town that cruise ships have recently discovered. If you have a momentary longing for city life, Merida is just a 50 to 60 minute drive from Sueño Encantado. There you can find many of the popular food and shopping chains found in Mexico's neighbors to the north: Costco, Home Depot, Walmart, McDonalds, Chili’s -- you get the picture. But you certainly can avoid all of that in Merida if you choose. In the squares and the Paseo de Montejo Avenue in the city centre you can experience the wonderful sights, sounds, shopping, and restaurants that this historical colonial city has to offer.

The people are very friendly and many speak English.

More about the villa …

the palapa covered entry-way into villa Sueño Encantado serves to set the tone for a relaxing beach get away upon your arrival. The Mexican tile floors and tile accents featured throughout the villa were hand-picked by the talented local architect, Gabriela Cornelio, who designed this custom home. The authentic Mexican décor lends a warm, comforting charm that enhances the whole experience.

There are 3 Bedrooms and 3 Bathrooms. The first floor bedroom has a queen bed and opens onto a lovely terrace. Upstairs is another bedroom with a queen bed. The master bedroom has a king bed and a lovely palapa-covered balcony overlooking the ocean. The well-supplied kitchen and dining and living room areas are on the first floor. Glass double doors open onto a beachfront terrace where you can enjoy the beauty of the ocean from sun-up to sun-down!

Keywords: Villa

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 23, 2017

Amenities

Telchac Puerto Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Village
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Stove, Oven, Cooking Utensils, Blender, Toaster, CD, Ceiling Fans, Multiple Hammocks, Authentic Mexican Decor, Tile Floors, Tile Accents, Talavera throughout, No Smoking Inside, Caretaker on Adjoining Property

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Sueño Encantado - Mexican Oceanfront Villa
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews
5

Charming getaway spot

  • 5 of 5

A charming spot away from the crowds, this place was great to get away from it all. It's a home spot for adventuring out into the Yucatan, you can get to most of the major sites within 2 hours drives. The town of Telchac itself has a few great places to eat and a market to get groceries. The beach is quiet and nice for swimming. The internet worked great (they just installed a new wireless modem) but we didn't want to use it! We wanted to disconnect and enjoy our little slice of paradise. Plenty of potable water was provided and we had the cooking equipment we needed. Lovely hammock on the patio and plenty of space for a group of friends. Would definitely come again!

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great beach, lovely place, needs some updating

  • 4 of 5

You can''t beat Telchac Puerto for laid-back beach time and fresh fish, friendly people and quiet nights. The house is great, plenty of light and charming with Talavera accents everywhere. The property manager, Gary, was very helpful when our water cooler sprang a leak - he went out and bought a new one (it took 2 days so he brought extra water over in the meantime). Plenty of kitchen stock to cook with. However, the drip coffee maker really drips water and evidently has needed replacing for awhile. As other reviewers have noted, the king mattress is really uncomfortable and seems to have been so since 2014 at least. Only 1 of the plastic outdoor lounge chairs was usable - the rest were broken. And to echo others, the living room furniture is really uncomfortable. The hammocks were moldy and pretty much torn up. OTHER THAN THAT we 4 really had a good time there and spent plenty of time on the beach and in the water so inside life was minimized. Updating these old/broken items would make this place a 5 star!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Delightful Stay in a Peaceful Beach Town

  • 5 of 5

The house was adorable - looked very much like the pictures, and was fun to stay in. Charming Mexican-style decor, and gorgeous tile-work and sinks etc. GREAT deal for a bargain price, especially when split between 5 people.

Literally only a 40 foot walk to the ocean, (found the shell of a horseshoe crab on the beach!) Picturesque boats on the sand. There was a cool, cheap and delicious restaurant we could walk down the beach to get to, (Mirimar,) the ocean was clear most days, and the water was warm and swimmable. A few cool fish in the water, flamingos at dawn, and pelicans all day.

TECHNOLOGY: In previous reviews, there were some complaints about the internet - apparently we were the first people to experience the brand-new internet! It worked great! There was only one day when it was down (and it was down for the neighbors, too, so looks like a service problem). Also, via the local phone company, could send texts when you walked outside about 15 feet from the house, and could receive texts in the house.

The owner was lovely - responded quickly to issues, & when we had trouble finding the house, gave us the caretaker's phone number, who sent his son on his motorbike to guide us to the house. BTW, don't rely on GPS! It's not connected to the street that the address says it's on! Very tricky to find!

Plenty of pots and pans, lots of water, the house was fairly well supplied. When the coffee maker stopped working, there was a french press back-up that worked wonderfully!

Screens on all the windows - nice for opening up the house. (Although mosquitos were unavoidable. Bring or buy citronella candles, bug spray and those spirally bug-things.)

There were a couple things that could have been improved, but overall, it didn't dampen our experience in this delightful house.

The king-sized mattress needed a couple blankets under the fitted sheet, as you could feel the springs. The other mattresses were very firm, which was great for us, but could be a problem if you like a soft mattress.

2 of the rooms didn't have curtains, which is fine if you're an early riser!

We thought the fan didn't work, but it just needs a bit of a push to get it started.

Probably the worst thing was that all the downstairs furniture is very uncomfortable. Very lovely and fashionable, but uncomfortable as heck. Pillows helped a little.

But this didn't dampen our experience! We had a wonderful time, and would definitely come back if we're in the area again.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Quiet oceanfront tranquility. True Mexico beach holiday - great for family

  • 4 of 5

We truly enjoyed our family stay at the villa. Space worked great for our family of six. Days spent on the beach, in the ocean and shelling made for memorable family moments. Loved falling asleep to the sound of waves/ocean. Stars shined bright in the evening and we also loved having a fire on the beach. We all appreciated being "unplugged" from wifi/devices. One mile walk into Telchac was easy and we did almost daily. Fast Wifi was available at the little white motel in town for just 10 pesos when we needed to get online. Felt very safe wherever we went and we appreciated experiencing true Mexico away from resorts and being crowded with tourists. Even met friendly Expat neighbors from USA and Canada for added local insight. If your seeking a relaxing, beach vacation away from crowds this is the place to go!

P.s. Thank you for securing a charcoal grill for our stay- we used it regularly and it's ready to go for the next guests!

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The perfect stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had the pleasure of staying 1 month at the villa that we became used to calling home! Just what we expected and hoped for! This is a disconnect from our regular lives, no internet, no cable, no a/c, just the pure experience of being in Mexican soil! The kids just loved it, they had to go out and just enjoy life! Sunset and sunrise, the life at its best! It was clean, nice, calm, and there are so many other things to say! We actually are now conseding more than ever this coast to have our own little place to call paradise! There was no surprise and we enjoyed every seconds of that vacation! We will cherish this family vacation for a very long time!

I will definitely be back in this area!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Parksville
3

Not Quite as it was advertised

  • 3 of 5

Ok the house was pleasant. The Beach was pleasant. Will I come back to this area again? Yes. Will I come back to this house. No!

The owner is responsible for his/her own advertising accuracy. One of my chief requirements was WiFi and broadband access which the advert clearly states is available. Was it available? No, it does not even exist. If you want Cell phone access make sure you are in the front bedroom and within a few feet of the window otherwise phone access is hit and miss! It does have a TV but do not assume it is connected to any over the air or cable service. It isn't. I will give the owner her dues because she did offer to refund me my money but when you have just traveled 5,000 kms who wants to be told they can have their money back but now you've to go hunting for a new place for 3 months.

The living room furniture is pleasant but uncomfortable and the master bedroom bed is extremely uncomfortable. The neighbours are very nice and so is the building manager but the property itself is not what I will be returning to next year. There are many places nearby to rent that are much nicer for similar money.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am happy to hear that overall you had a pleasant stay. It is unfortunate that some things were not entirely to your liking. I have communicated much of this to you already, but will elaborate here for the sake of others. You are correct that internet access was advertised as available. When you asked me about it before your stay, I conveyed that the villa connection was weak and accessible only from the back bedrooms. I mentioned that if you needed dependable service you could use the wifi connection at a hotel located a short distance away, which is strong and very inexpensive. Internet access is challenging in Mexico, especially in a relatively rural area like Telchac Puerto. It is not like in the States or Canada, where a person can make a simple phone call and internet is installed. It requires either cable, which is not available at my location, or a land line which is procured only after being on an extremely long waiting list and submitting much paperwork. Therefore, I had been sharing with several neighbors one internet connection that was located in a property behind me. Since I am only in Mexico at my villa 1-2 weeks a year, I depend greatly on my Mexican property manager for information. Unfortunately, he was not aware that the shared internet had been recently discontinued and access was lost to all of us. When you arrived and informed me of the situation, I offered to refund your money. I agree that after traveling such a long distance it is not appealing to begin searching for other accommodations; however, you were there for three months and my offer of a refund had no time constraints. Had you found other lodgings with internet after 1 week or 1 month, my offer would have stood. As far as the furniture is concerned: I arrived for my yearly stay the very day you departed. I must admit that the master bedroom mattress was indeed uncomfortable. We simply flipped it and ‘voila’!’ It was as good as new. It’s unfortunate that you did not communicate the issue at any time during your stay. I would have had my property manager do the same thing and you would have been much more comfortable. The living room furniture is brand new; in fact, you were the first guests to use it. I am sorry that you found it uncomfortable. That was not our experience and found it to be very comfortable indeed. I do thank you for sharing your experience, and wish you the best of luck with your next stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Rates & Availability

Telchac Puerto Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$115
$675
$1,995
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Protection $45
Cleaning Fee $55

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Merida (MID)
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
In Telchac Puerto
Car: necessary

Wildlife/Flamingo Viewing, Mayan ruins, Cenotes, Haciendas

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties