Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Western Sea Views Port MacDonnell

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

- A great little house with beautiful western views of the Southern Ocean.

- Spacious lounge and dining area with electric heating and can accommodate up to 6 people comfortably.

- The house has 2 generous bedrooms, two with queen sized beds and 2nd lounge with sofa bed. There is also a single mattress available for use. So can accommodate up to 6 adults.

-A functional and well equipped kitchen with electric flame effect heater that creates a very homely atmosphere whilst preparing a delicious meal of local produce.

- Outside there is a pergola that is undercover facing the North sun to provide protected outdoor entertaining.

- General store, fish and chip shops, pub and cafe all just a few minutes walk and only 20 minute drive to Mt Gambier.

- Located 200m from boat ramp

- Pets allowed but must clean up waste and be accommodated outside.

- Cleaning of fish and boats to be performed at boat ramp area only. There are facilities located on site.

- Please keep in mind the house is basic much like a beach shack and the cheapest house accommodation in Port MacDonnell.

FACILITIES

2 bedrooms with linen.

1 toilet

Shower over small bath

Towels supplied (please bring your own beach towels)

Small BBQ

Offstreet parking

Enclosed rear yard

Wifi Access

It's important you bring all food and toiletries as none of these are supplied. Kitchen table has 4 seats, use outdoor seating or other seats inside for 6 people. Please bring your own beach towels, bathroom towels are supplied and are not to be used at the beach. Pets are allowed but must be kept outdoors and all waste cleaned up. Please keep the property clean and all dishes are cleaned and put away upon vacating.

IMPORTANT NOTES:

- ONLINE PAYMENTS ONLY VIA STAYZ PAYMENT FACILITY.

- I ALMOST ALWAYS RESPOND WITHIN 24HRS, SOMETIMES COULD BE 48HRS. EMAIL IS MY ONLY CONTACT AS I'M OVERSEAS.

- MIN 3 NIGHT STAY ALL YEAR ROUND.

- BOOKINGS WILL NOT BE TAKEN AFTER 20th APRIL 2018, HOUSE TO UNDERGO EXTENSIVE RENOVATIONS.

- IF AN EMERGENCY OCCURS YOU CAN CALL THE CLEANER WITH THE PHONE NUMBER PROVIDED. A $10 CALL OUT FEE WILL BE CHARGED IF YOU LOCK THE KEYS IN THE HOUSE.

- ALL DISHES ARE TO BE CLEANED AND PUT AWAY PLEASE OR A CLEANING FEE WILL BE CHARGED OF $25.

- THE BBQ IS TO BE USED OUTSIDE ONLY, NEVER USE IT INSIDE, A CLEANING FEE OF $100 WILL BE CHARGED.

- DO NOT USE PUBLIC SERVICE/GOVERNMENT EMAILS TO CONTACT ME. THEY CAUSE ISSUES AND EMAILS ARE NOT RECEIVED. ALSO CHECK YOUR SPAM FOLDER FOR MY RESPONSES VIA STAYZ.

- DO NOT USE THE WIFI TO DOWNLOAD EXPLICIT OR ILLEGAL DIGITAL MATERIAL. YOU WILL BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE IF ISSUES OCCUR.

Limestone Coast....

Port MacDonnell is the southernmost town in South Australia. The small port located on the Great Australian Bight in the Limestone Coast region about 477 kilometres (296 mi) southeast of Adelaide and 28 kilometres (17 mi) south of Mount Gambier in the District Council of Grant local government area had a population of 623 in the 2006 census.

Once a busy shipping port, the town now relies heavily on its fishing and summer tourism industries, particularly rock lobster harvest industry, proclaiming itself the "Australia's Southern Rock Lobster Capital".

History

The area was originally inhabited by the Bungandidj Aborigines.

The first Europeans to see the area were led by explorer Lieutenant James Grant in HMS Lady Nelson on 3 December 1800.[3] In 1860 the area was proclaimed an official port, was given a name, and was surveyed. It is named after Sir Richard Graves MacDonnell who was Governor of South Australia from 1855 to 1862.

In the 1880s, it was one of Australia's busiest ports, shipping large quantities of wheat and wool to Europe.

The port was, however, exposed to the weather and the site of many shipwrecks. Across the border in Portland, Victoria is a much more sheltered port.

Geography

The town of Port MacDonnell is set on flat swampy land in a bay between rocky capes of spectacular wave eroded formations the most spectacular being those to the near west at Cape Northumberland. The port's harbour itself is formed by a large artificially constructed rock breakwater, while the coastline is sandy beaches and rock outcrops providing shelter to the port from the rough seas. The rock provides substantial habitat for the southern rock lobster which is the town's main industry and colonies of little penguin.

Lighthouse

Cape Northumberland has a prominent lighthouse which dates to 1882. An earlier 1858 lighthouse was the first in South Australia however was demolished after it was in danger of collapse. A monument marks the site.

More Details

Owner
Stayz
-
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
October 11, 2017

Map

Other Activities:

Fishing, Boating and Diving.

Amenities

Port Macdonnell House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing

Reviews

3.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Western Sea Views Port MacDonnell
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews
Durham Lead, Victoria, Australia
5

Excellant property

  • 5 of 5

We had the most amazing 7 days. The property was homely, comfortable and clean. We were sad to have to leave. Port MacDonnell is a beautiful spot, clean and very accommodating to families and there pets. We went for dinner at the Hotel and the hospitality was amazing, they could not do enough for us and were very warm and inviting. Look forward to booking it again, and making it a yearly event .

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
1

Not up to standard

  • 1 of 5

So very disappointed ,this was not at all what we thought it would be

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: I tried calling Mark to find out what the problem was. I left a voice msg for him to return my call. I have never had anyone complain like this. The house is clean, pictures of the property are accurate. Furthermore the house is priced appropriately, being the cheapest house per night in port macdonnell. If you need the Hilton, pay Hilton prices. I don't agree with the comments and there is a strict no refund policy in place...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rainbow, Victoria, Australia
5

Great views with all you need

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay here. The place had all that we needed. Clean and tidy, close to shops and central to all the towns nearby and attractions. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Thanks Alison, Im glad you had a good stay and hope you come back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dimboola, Victoria, Australia
4

Very comfortable & clean.

  • 4 of 5

Had a wonderful week at Western Sea Views. The sea views were amazing as we had some wild weather, and we could watch it all from on the couch! The house is individual and very liveable, we have only good things to say about it. Loved some of the period features and the electric fire did a good job. The updates have been tastefully done without compromising the character of the house. Just a short walk to the beach and boat launching area. The house is not new but we have found it to be one of the best we have stayed in.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Thanks Helen, im glad you had a great stay and hope you come back again. Thanks for your honesty too, very much appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
4

Great property enjoyable stay!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed the property, comfortable and relaxing.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Thanks Paul, cheers! I hope you had a good stay...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Notes

  • For this property:
    ‘Weekend Night’ refers to Friday night and/or Saturday night (per night)
    The ‘Nightly’ rate refers to Sunday night through to Thursday night (per night average)
    The ‘Weekly’ rate is for a full 7 day week
    Rates listed based on 2 guests. Property has 2 beds and can sleep a maximum 6 guests

    Optional Costs
    Adults: $15 per night
    Children: $10 per night

    * Ask the owner to arrange these

You might like these similar properties