Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Monhegan Island Retreat - Spacious, 4 bedrooms, fireplace, decks and views!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 1.5 baths, Lovely Views & Close to Everything

This fabulous two story, four bedroom, 1.5 bath cape-style home on Monhegan Island offers spectacular water views from both floors. The house will comfortably accommodate a large group or an extended family. Magnolia House offers an open floor plan, which is flooded with natural light through the large picture windows and many skylights. Spacious, well stocked kitchen with updated stainless refrigerator and stove makes cooking a pleasure. Sun yourself on one of three private decks overlooking the beautifully designed perennial gardens,or enjoy the handcrafted stone fireplace on a cool evening. Lots of wood will be provided for you!

Separate media room offers quiet space for reading, relaxing, or family movie night with flatscreen and Netflix. House has several high end bluetooth stereos for streaming music on the high speed wifi. For extra guests, there is a full size futon and a single pull out bed in addition to the bedrooms. Hopefully you won't need it, but there is a large desk and office space on the second floor. Unlike many Monhegan properties, we are more than happy to consider pets.

Just past the Trailing Yew on Lobster Cove Road, Magnolia House is only minutes from Fish and Swim Beaches, galleries and the rest of the village in one direction and Lobster Cove in the other direction.

Have a larger group? Consider also renting the Kendall Apartment, which can be rented separately or with the main house! Kendall is a large studio apartment that has a private entrance, kitchen, bathroom, deck and gardens, but when rented with the main house, we can have the privacy wall adjusted so that there is a door that connects the two! Perfect for extended families or large groups attending festivities in the area.

Bringing children? We have a fantastic wooden playhouse on the property (with a loft!) that kids love, plenty of toys, puzzles, games and Legos, beach chairs, books for all ages, and a perfect bedroom with bunk beds (and a pull-out trundle) on the second floor. For much of the summer, there are delicious wild raspberries blooming in the yard, and late summer/early fall you can find wild blackberries. These are not just for kids, of course...last week we made a batch of homemade raspberry ice cream using freshly-picked berries from the yard, and we encourage you to do the same!

More Details

Owner
Shaw Zeeck
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2017

Amenities

Monhegan House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , on second floor
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • First floor bathroom is the full bathroom. Upstairs is the half bath.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • There is one bedroom with a queen bed on the first floor. The second floor has three bedrooms. The largest is a spacious, airy room with a queen bed, picture windows and private deck with ocean views. The second bedroom has a full bed, and the third has a bunk bed with a trundle (three singles in total). If needed, there's also a futon with a full-size mattress in the media room and a loveseat that pulls out into a single bed (in the library nook off the master bedroom). Guests bring own linens and towels.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Shed
  • Wood Deck
  • 5 garden chairs
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Wi Fi is provided. Guests bring own towels and linens. Pillows and duvets/comforters are provided. Note that Kendall Apartment is adjacent, although completely private (separate entrance off of main road, private porch and yard).

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Monhegan Island Retreat - Spacious, 4 bedrooms, fireplace, decks and views!
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
5

Lovely stay for a wedding - great for a group, well equiped, completely relaxing.

  • 5 of 5

A group of us who are familiar with the island, had to find a house that could accomodate 7 adults and 2 children for a wedding event. The Magnolia house was a great choice. The rooms were well situated and the beds comfortable. We were able to fit very comfortably and accomodate kiddos that needed to be close to their parents. The pantry is also well stocked from previous guests, which was great for us as we hosted a cookout one evening for a medium sized group (the grill was functional if not the best for controlled cooking), and we cooked all of our meals in the house. We even had to prepare brunch foods for the brunch after the wedding, and we were able to utilize existing pans and had no issues using the oven. The night of the wedding was very stormy, and we were thankful to the owners for having a closet full of rain jackets in all sizes (kids and adults) that would be used for the walk to the wedding site. You will need to buy bottled/jugged water, and I would suggest reading the ownders manual as prepared because it provided a lot of information. The kids loved the playhouse and all of the toys in the the yard and house (so many toys!). The only slight issue for us was that with people traveling on flights and internationally, the requirement to bring out own linens and towels was a bit difficult. But we do understand the water shortage issue.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spacious and welcoming

  • 5 of 5

Family time and cozy sleeping made it easy to make ourselves at home. We had a view of the village and the water. We fully enjoyed the fabulous kitchen to cook extensive meals. Our short walk to Lobster Cove for the sunset or to church and incredible hiking made it easy to feel like we were dreaming.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic stay at a lovely home!

  • 5 of 5

Magnolia is a lovely centrally located house on the island. There was plenty of space for everyone with stunning views. We enjoyed grilling out on the private back porch, as well as walking the many nearby trails. The beautiful stone mantel and artwork are a perfect fit for monhegan. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Beautiful home in dire need of deep cleaning and new septic

  • 1 of 5

The home is beautifully situated on the island of Mohegan. The home has great bones and was dirty. With a good deep cleaning and a paint job the place would be great. The kitchen floor is a broken mosaic that was falling apart daily. The water pressure was ok and the tap water had a red residue to it. The biggest issue was the pervasive septic smell that was really strong in front of the house and on the side all of the time. I m not sure if it was from the property or the house next door but it was bad.

The owner might consider getting a professional cleaning crew in pre-season,mid-season and before each rental. The person that is cleaning the space does a superficial job. We left the property much cleaner than we found it. Everything was grimy and that's too bad. There was no toilet paper on the premises.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sounds like there were a lot of problems with Magnolia House during your stay. I am terribly sorry that so many things went wrong. I will do my best to let you know what we have done to fix what is fixable and what is just what one gets on a tiny island 12 miles out to sea. First the septic smell. I apologize for the discomfort this must have caused. In the future, please let us know about any problems ASAP and we can send the caretaker or other friends on the island to fix things we cannot fix from afar. In this case we were unaware of the problem until you posted this review online. There was a plugged pump that our caretaker was able to fix within the hour. It was a bad luck week for you, and I am sorry for that, but you might be surprised to know that Magnolia House actually has the most modern septic system I know of on the entire island. The whole system was replaced and an entire septic field was created with trucked in soil in 2014. I am most sorry, though, that the house was not as clean as it should have been. As you suggest, we do have it cleaned deeply at the beginning and end of every season. Because, however, Monhegan is so small and has so few full time residents, sometimes it is hard for the few cleaners working on the island to do deep cleanings every turnover if the accommodations aren't already reasonably clean when they begin. This is why we ask that, insofar as possible, guests leave the space as they found it. Thank you for doing even more! We try to always make sure that cleaning supplies are readily available. Beginning in the spring of 2017, the person who cleans the apartment and the house has dropped her other clients to focus only on the Kendal Apartment and Magnolia House. This will undoubtedly help to ensure the spaces are ready for the next guests, but we will continue to ask for, rely on, and appreciate our guests for leaving the homes as they find them. The kitchen floor... We have been chasing the kitchen floor for years. It was hand made by the previous owners and we felt deeply that it was a large part of the house's character. We agreed with you, though, that we were beaten by its deterioration, and the kitchen floor has been totally replaced. Just realized i have only 197 characters left! So, quickly, TP is in the red shed. If its not there, let us know and we will order more. Finally, Monhegan water pressure stinks and the water is potable but red and unsavory. We buy bottled water.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

we loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Extremely welcoming house, beautifully sited; comfortable kitchen , wonderful fireplace (wood generously supplied) for chilly nights or rainy days,

Lots of good books,games, amazon prime. We eagerly look forward to our return next June.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nina, I'm so glad you had a lovely vacation. You are welcome back anytime! Best, Elizabeth
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Central Florida
5

Wonderful house, great views, excellent location

  • 5 of 5

We liked everything about this house. Everything was as described or better. The property was clean and well-maintained. The Zeecks were easy to work with while we were arranging the rental, and we did not need any additional services once we were on Monhegan.

I would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative.

The deck off the master bedroom brought in the morning light and was also a fine place from which to view the famous Monhegan sunsets. Or you could just sit out there and watch the comings and goings on the road. We also liked the little reading nook that was right off the master bedroom.

The kitchen was large, fun to work in and well equipped. Our granddaughters liked their hideaway room with its kid-sized door, as well as the outdoor playhouse and the yard.

We all enjoyed the numerous books, puzzles and games that were in the house.

We've been to Monhegan numerous times over the past 40 years and this time we're eager to return to this house, not just the Island.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Bangor
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Monhegan Brewery
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
The Novelty
Nearest Beach
0.02 Miles
Fish Beach
Car: not necessary

Monhegan Island is situated more than 10 miles from the nearest mainland and is accessible only by ferry. Boats dock in the same natural harbor that early European explorers and pirates alike "discovered" over 400 years ago. The tiny island's rich fishing grounds have been prized by Native Americans for thousands of years.

Once off the boat, visitors will find a charming village, artists studios and galleries, gift shops, restaurants, even the island's own Brewery. There are no passenger cars; just a few trucks to get bags and supplies back and forth from the ferry. The village is centrally located, surrounded by quaint and historic cottages, leaving the rest of Monhegan preserved in its natural state.

A short hike in any direction will take you to beautiful cliffs & dense, quiet woods, all protected by Monhegan Associates, a non-profit nature conservancy, that owns 70% of the island and dedicates itself to preserving Monhegan's wild splendor.

Despite being scarcely a mile square, Monhegan offers 17 miles of trails, taking hikers through magical woodland groves, to the top of majestic cliffs, and past countless vistas of wild shoreline- even a shipwreck that no one will be able to resist exploring!

The island also boasts a wonderful art museum dedicated to Monhegan life and the island's long history as one of the most important artists' colonies of the 20th century, a historic lighthouse, library, general store, several restaurants, two beaches, and a coffee house.

Hiking, local artists' studios, fishing, swimming, boating, birdwatching, and kayaking are a few of the things the island offers.

Most importantly, though, it’s a time to slow down, unwind and enjoy Monhegan's natural beauty, slow pace, and casual ambience.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 8.0%

Because the rental season on Monhegan is so short (and books months in advance), our refund policy is 100% refund up to 90 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.