Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Absolute Oceanfront Suite with Spectacular Kona Sunsets

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights

Overview

About the property

Large oceanfront studio with an extended lanai, sleeps 2

Kona Magic Sands is nestled between Magic Sands (La'Aloa) beach and Pahoehoe Beach Park. The unit was fully gutted and remodeled in June 2011.

As you open the front door and step inside the unit, you realize how clean and modern the unit is. You walk to the glass wall and open the doors to the lanai. You step outside and hear the ocean, you see the waves and the colorful fish swimming...maybe you see a few turtles swimming next to some snorkelers. You look at the 180 degrees of ocean at your feet and you realize that this is why you rented this unit. You sit outside at the dining table or enjoy a cold drink at the bar table/chairs as you watch the sunset with camera in hand. The palm trees dance with the tradewinds and you decide to sleep with the lanai doors open and screen doors closed so that you can hear the ocean.

The next morning, you grind your Kona coffee and brew a fresh pot and enjoy another day in paradise. You spot more colorful fish, sea turtles, dolphins, and in the winter, humpback whales; you might decide to get to see them up close and go snorkel/swim at the beach next door.

For dinner and after a day of sighseeing, you grill your dinner on the gas BBQ while you take a dip in the pool. You may choose to eat on the dining tables under the pavillion. At night, the quiet central air conditionner and stainless steel modern ceiling fans keep you cool. The updated kitchen with the granite countertops and stainless steel appliances help you create great frozen drinks or delicious dinners. Dimmable track lighting and under cabinet lights set the mood for an enjoyable evening. Large flat screen TV, in-wall speakers, state of the art receiver/DVD/CD player, iPod plug/play, cable TV, new furniture, bedding, towels, etc. add to your comfort. You can even do your laundry in the unit's washer and dryer and go home with clean clothes. There is a free assigned parking stall near the entrance to the condo, so you never have to look for a parking spot.

We are located on the famous Alii drive, where you can go for a walk/run. There is a public bus that stops in front of the condo and goes between the Kailua Pier (less than 4 miles away) and Keahou shopping center (2 miles away). Kailua town offers many restaurants/bars, and stores for shopping. Keohou has a few restaurants, a supermarket, drug store, cinemas, book store and more.

Enjoy hanging out at the beach or watch the hula dancers practice their routines in the park. Keahou offers daily free Hawaiian cultural activities, including ukulele lessons, making flower leis or watching a hula performances.

Whatever you do, you will have a great time on the Big Island.

P.S. IF YOU DO NOT CHECKOUT BY 11AM HST ON THE SCHEDULED CHECKOUT DATE, AN ADDITIONAL NIGHTLY FEE WILL BE PROCESSED AGAINST YOUR CREDIT CARD. PLEASE MAKE YOUR TRAVEL ARRANGEMENTS ACCORDINGLY.

If you choose to book our unit, we thank you in advance and request that you provide a mobile/cell phone number so that we may be able to contact you in case of an emergency.

Keywords: studio

More Details

Owner
Sonia
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

About Sonia

We have been visiting Kailua-Kona for the past 20 years and finally decided to buy at KMS where we always stayed. The third floor unit had everything that we wanted for. So we bought it in 2010, gutted and remodeled the place to our liking. We hope you enjoy your stay and make many memories like we have. Kona is paradise for us and we are glad that we can share it with you. Aloha!

Sonia purchased this studio in 2010

Why Sonia chose Kona Coast

We love the location. We have stayed in KMS every time that we visited the Big Island. We have done so for the past 21 years. We enjoy the beach next door and the fact that there is so much to do here or just hang out and relax.

What makes this studio unique

The location can't be beat. The view from the lanai, the fish and turtles, the sunsets! You have to see it to believe it.

Guestbook comments from the owner

“Kona Magic Sands 303”

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 26, 2013



Paradise on a budget!



I love the Big Island and especially Kona; fell in love with it 40 years ago on my honeymoon. I dive and for many years dove with Dive Makai, but unfortunately the original family owned business was bought out by a mainlander who drove it into the ground. I have tried Jacks and they are good but I would also highly recommend Big Island Divers (same dive sites for less).I personally like to rent condos and have tried a variety of properties over the years. I have stayed at Kona Magic Sands a couple of times before and always liked the location. There aren’t a lot of beaches in Kona and this property is right next door to one of the nicest ones. This year I splurged and rented one of them (Unit 303). It is on the top, 3rd, floor so you have a large open lanai and you’re practically standing over the ocean. Sitting out on the lanai you can watch dolphins and turtles at almost any time. The constant surf provides a pleasant backdrop and you can see an amazing amount of reef fish just by looking down into the water, we call it porch diving.

There is large table and umbrella for al fresco dining, a lounge chair and some other seating out there so it is all very comfortable.

The unit inside is very nice, everything looks new. It is kind of laid out like a large hotel suite, very roomy. My wife really really liked the place (she has not always appreciated some of my previous choices).

There is a big screen TV, which I never turned on, but I did use the WiFi all the time which was pretty fast (looks like a cable modem)

The kitchen appliances, like everything else, looked new and we seemed to find everything we needed. We brought our Costco card and packed the fridge, so we pretty much ate in, or packed the fridge, so we pretty much ate in, or packed lunches to go most of the time. The farmers market is on Wednesdays and great place to get local food cheap. BTW the fish at Costco is really good but I think the best fish can be bought at Safeway which is near the local Walmart.

There is a restaurant on the property, although I didn't try it this trip. Tried it years ago and it was okay but it looks like it is under new management now. Something to try next year.

There was a washer/dryer in the unit which as divers came is real handy; because after a dive almost everything comes back wet.

Communication with the owner was quick and easy. My wife wants to re-rent the unit.
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Secure Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Vacuum System
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Dear guests, please provide your cell phone number when sending us inquiries. The reason for that is that we will contact you to review your request. This is due to a number of spam requests that we receive. Thank you.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(90 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Absolute Oceanfront Suite with Spectacular Kona Sunsets
average rating of 4.8555555 based on 97 reviews
5

Exactly as pictures show.

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our stay so much. Spent many lovely hours watching dolphins and whales from the lanai including a mother and calf humpback for about 45 minutes! Unit is nicely updated and well taken care of. Thank you Sonia!

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Malinda for the review. This is a beautiful time of the year to watch the whales. Being able to see them from the lanai, with the pleasure of a cup of coffee or drink in hand, beats having to get on a charter boat to enjoy the whales. Sincerely, Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego
4

Wonderful location

  • 4 of 5

The studio and lanai were a great size, and included all the amenities (stove, oven, and a washer and dryer in the unit). The AC was great to use when needed. This unit is very well maintained and clean. There was limited construction taking place at the first floor which led to the pool, however the noise was minimal during a few days of our stay. Look forward to another stay in the near future.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful place

  • 5 of 5

The building doesn't look like much from the street, but this condo is beautifully appointed and has a wonderful deck overlooking the ocean. Air-conditioned and very nicely furnished, with a small kitchen area (perfect for breakfast; we didn't do any real cooking, but it seemed well-stocked), and the view is fabulous.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Louis. We appreciate you taking care of the unit. Sincerely, Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, great location and amaizing views!!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was clean. The view is absolutely amazing. The location is great! It's located just a short drive away from shops and restaurants and Magic Sand Beach is only a few steps away 😍�😍�

The condo was well equipped with dishes- my husband and I cooked some of our days and had everything we needing for a simple breakfast :)

Beach chairs are available for when you to down to the beach and plenty of beach towels. The size of the condo was perfect for just my husband and I, if we had kids this may have been a bit too small. Overall this is the best HomeAway home I've rented!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Natalie.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Southern Cal
5

Fantastic property

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay here! We too found it exactly like pictures -- no surprises. The deck with the view is wonderful. We spent most mornings and evenings enjoying the lanai & view. White Sand beach next door was one of our favorite beaches on the island. Can not beat the soft white sand and clear water. Our only regret, not spending enough time at the property. This was our first trip to the Big Island so we were out exploring a lot. The location is great for exploring ... short drive north or south to see other sites or restaurants.

The coffee maker, cooler and laundry were nice additions we took advantage of.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mary Jo and we are glad that you enjoyed the Magic Sands beach. The sand isn;t always there and at times, it disappears based on the weather, hence the name "Magic". Sincerely, Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bowling Green
5

Ideal Spot

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I are so grateful to have chosen this particular spot for our Big Island adventure and 25th wedding anniversary. It was just perfect for us. We've traveled to a pretty wide variety of oceanfront locales including Mexico, Oahu, the Bahamas, and all sorts of locations in the southern U.S. and this room is our favorite so far. Having the ocean so close was just amazing and the space is very very comfortable and functional for a couple.

The combination of large lanai open to the sky, ocean and palm trees both so close, air conditioning, heavy duty washer/dryer, excellent snorkeling and boogie boarding so close, comfortable furniture, ease of rental, attractive decor, convenient to airport, shopping, restaurants, and lots of little extras like that lovely bottle of wine (thank you!) and a firestarter for the candle and the cooler we used almost daily etc etc...it just all added up to IDEAL.

We had a very big, very busy agenda for our first trip to the Big Island, but would love to return and do nothing but snorkel, boogie board, and hang out in the room. It's so peaceful and beautiful.

Tips:

- If you arrive past dark, it's handy to have a flash light to help you retrieve the key from the lock box.

- It wasn't until our last day that we discovered that a couple of the light fixtures have dimmers - small slides just to the right of the button

- This condo is WELL stocked with handy stuff. Be sure to look in all the drawers and cabinets before shopping for stuff you didn't have room to pack.

Wish list:

- New boogie boards - the two in the box were broken

- New tall table for the lanai. The current one is workable, but a replacement would be nice.

Many thanks for sharing your lovely space!

Dan and Sherry Oglesby

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sherry, Thank you for the review, we appreciate it very much. Yes, we do have dimmers on the lights above the bar and the overhead one in the bathroom. We think having that ability can help set the mood :) As for the boogie boards, we DO NOT provide them as they are a liability that we do not wish to have. In the box that is on the lanai, we only provide the beach chairs. The rest are items that our guests purchase, use, and then leave behind. Sincerely, Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Queen K. (hwy.11)
Nearest Beach
Magic Sands Beach
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $90 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 13.42%

Cancelation Policy:A refund of $150 is made to the same credit card used during the booking process, ONLY if the cancelation is made more than 61 days before the arrival date. Otherwise, we do not issue any refunds.Our Check-in time is 3PM Hawaii Standard Time (HST)Our checkout time is at 11AM Hawaii Standard Time (HST)THIS IS A NON-SMOKING UNIT.
IF A GUEST STAYS PAST THE !!AM HST CHECKOUT TIME WITHOUT THE OWNER'S APPROVAL, THE GUEST WILL BE CHARGED ANOTHER NIGHT'S FEE>
Please be advised that we DO NOT collect Damage Deposit, INSTEAD, we require that your purchase insurance from VRBO. The latest fee is $59 for a $1500 insurance. This protects everyone and reduces the transaction fees that we pay. MAHALO.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties