check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Sonia

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Absolute Oceanfront Suite with Spectacular Kona Sunsets

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kailua-Kona Studio Rental Photos and Description

Large oceanfront studio with an extended lanai, sleeps 2

Kona Magic Sands is nestled between Magic Sands (La'Aloa) beach and Pahoehoe Beach Park. The unit was fully gutted and remodeled in June 2011.

As you open the front door and step inside the unit, you realize how clean and modern the unit is. You walk to the glass wall and open the doors to the lanai. You step outside and hear the ocean, you see the waves and the colorful fish swimming...maybe you see a few turtles swimming next to some snorkelers. You look at the 180 degrees of ocean at your feet and you realize that this is why you rented this unit. You sit outside at the dining table or enjoy a cold drink at the bar table/chairs as you watch the sunset with camera in hand. The palm trees dance with the tradewinds and you decide to sleep with the lanai doors open and screen doors closed so that you can hear the ocean.

The next morning, you grind your Kona coffee and brew a fresh pot and enjoy another day in paradise. You spot more colorful fish, sea turtles, dolphins, and in the winter, humpback whales; you might decide to get to see them up close and go snorkel/swim at the beach next door.

For dinner and after a day of sighseeing, you grill your dinner on the gas BBQ while you take a dip in the pool. You may choose to eat on the dining tables under the pavillion. At night, the quiet central air conditionner and stainless steel modern ceiling fans keep you cool. The updated kitchen with the granite countertops and stainless steel appliances help you create great frozen drinks or delicious dinners. Dimmable track lighting and under cabinet lights set the mood for an enjoyable evening. Large flat screen TV, in-wall speakers, state of the art receiver/DVD/CD player, iPod plug/play, cable TV, new furniture, bedding, towels, etc. add to your comfort. You can even do your laundry in the unit's washer and dryer and go home with clean clothes. There is a free assigned parking stall near the entrance to the condo, so you never have to look for a parking spot.

We are located on the famous Alii drive, where you can go for a walk/run. There is a public bus that stops in front of the condo and goes between the Kailua Pier (less than 4 miles away) and Keahou shopping center (2 miles away). Kailua town offers many restaurants/bars, and stores for shopping. Keohou has a few restaurants, a supermarket, drug store, cinemas, book store and more.

Enjoy hanging out at the beach or watch the hula dancers practice their routines in the park. Keahou offers daily free Hawaiian cultural activities, including ukulele lessons, making flower leis or watching a hula performances.

Whatever you do, you will have a great time on the Big Island.

P.S. If you have to combine work and play, we just had our own Wifi installed in July 2012.

If you choose to book our unit, we thank you in advance and request that you provide a mobile/cell phone number so that we may be able to contact you in case of an emergency.

Keywords: studio

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sonia (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

About Sonia

We have been visiting Kailua-Kona for the past 20 years and finally decided to buy at KMS where we always stayed. The third floor unit had everything that we wanted for. So we bought it in 2010, gutted and remodeled the place to our liking. We hope you enjoy your stay and make many memories like we have. Kona is paradise for us and we are glad that we can share it with you. Aloha!

Sonia purchased this studio in 2010

Why Sonia chose Kona Coast

We love the location. We have stayed in KMS every time that we visited the Big Island. We have done so for the past 21 years. We enjoy the beach next door and the fact that there is so much to do here or just hang out and relax.

What makes this studio unique

The location can't be beat. The view from the lanai, the fish and turtles, the sunsets! You have to see it to believe it.

Guestbook comments from the owner

“Kona Magic Sands 303”

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 26, 2013



Paradise on a budget!



I love the Big Island and especially Kona; fell in love with it 40 years ago on my honeymoon. I dive and for many years dove with Dive Makai, but unfortunately the original family owned business was bought out by a mainlander who drove it into the ground. I have tried Jacks and they are good but I would also highly recommend Big Island Divers (same dive sites for less).I personally like to rent condos and have tried a variety of properties over the years. I have stayed at Kona Magic Sands a couple of times before and always liked the location. There aren’t a lot of beaches in Kona and this property is right next door to one of the nicest ones. This year I splurged and rented one of them (Unit 303). It is on the top, 3rd, floor so you have a large open lanai and you’re practically standing over the ocean. Sitting out on the lanai you can watch dolphins and turtles at almost any time. The constant surf provides a pleasant backdrop and you can see an amazing amount of reef fish just by looking down into the water, we call it porch diving.

There is large table and umbrella for al fresco dining, a lounge chair and some other seating out there so it is all very comfortable.

The unit inside is very nice, everything looks new. It is kind of laid out like a large hotel suite, very roomy. My wife really really liked the place (she has not always appreciated some of my previous choices).

There is a big screen TV, which I never turned on, but I did use the WiFi all the time which was pretty fast (looks like a cable modem)

The kitchen appliances, like everything else, looked new and we seemed to find everything we needed. We brought our Costco card and packed the fridge, so we pretty much ate in, or packed the fridge, so we pretty much ate in, or packed lunches to go most of the time. The farmers market is on Wednesdays and great place to get local food cheap. BTW the fish at Costco is really good but I think the best fish can be bought at Safeway which is near the local Walmart.

There is a restaurant on the property, although I didn't try it this trip. Tried it years ago and it was okay but it looks like it is under new management now. Something to try next year.

There was a washer/dryer in the unit which as divers came is real handy; because after a dive almost everything comes back wet.

Communication with the owner was quick and easy. My wife wants to re-rent the unit.
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 7

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(67 traveler reviews)
Absolute Oceanfront Suite with Spectacular Kona Sunsets
average rating of 4.8358207 based on 74 reviews
5

Gorgeous sunset view, convenient location

  • 5 of 5

This is a gorgeous ocean front condo on the top floor of a rather mundane looking building. The owner has done a lovely job of making it very comfortable and livable. The location is very convenient and the sunsets are unbeatable! We ate breakfast every day on the patio overlooking the ocean and a nice looking beach adjacent to the building. Highly recommend and we will stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Stay!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was everything that the pictures looked like and better!

The inside of this condo is very nicely decorated and all amenities you could think of!

We loved the location right at the ocean's edge and the surrounding views!

Thank you for sharing your condo!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A very nice place...

  • 5 of 5

This rental is very nice and modern. The bed was super comfortable and the space was open for its size. The lanai is super cool to be able to see the fish and everything else. The condo has all the amenities including a washer and dryer. The only thing that is missing is a dishwasher. If you want a really nice clean full equipped condo with great view and a great lanai for a couples adventure i recommend it.

We will be staying here again. Sonja was very prompt and arrangements were easy.

Thanks Sonja for letting us use your great home away from home.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kurt, Thank you very much for your review; it is always a pleasure seeing our past guests come to stay with us again and again. We would have loved to have a drawer type dishwasher in the unit, but the condo association wouldn't let us do so. They already frowned on the Washer and Dryer, but that was already in the unit when we bought it. So they couldn't make us remove it :-) Enjoy your summer. Sincerely, Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

AMAZING VIEW!

  • 4 of 5

Condo was very clean and comfortable. Beautiful views and well-appointed lanai. Washer/dryer and A/C in unit was so nice to have! We really enjoyed our stay. The bed was very comfortable, the TV was great and there were plenty of towels.

I didn't give it 5 stars because of three reasons - 1) The bathroom. It doesn't doesn't offer a lot of privacy with the glass blocks (clear glass and they don't go all the way to the ceiling) and no fan so you can hear people doing their business. We remedied this by the one of us not using the bathroom going outside on the lanai so the other'd have privacy. 2) The kitchen is lacking in dishes, silverware and appliances. No toaster, only two sets of utensils, two plates, two bowls, two mugs, etc. 3) I totally understand we were in a tropical location but a cockroach ran across my foot at one point. It was the only one we saw and I'm sure it was the location rather than the condition/cleanliness of the condo. Still a little disconcerting!

That being said, we'd probably stay again just because of the view and the amenities that the condo did have. The kitchen and cockroach issues can be addressed, not sure that the bathroom can be fixed though. We still made it work!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Dana, Thank you very much for the review, i appreciate you taking the time to submit one. We strive to do our best to keep the condo nice and clean for our guests. For the comments on the glass blocks in the bathroom that do not go to the ceiling and have a pick-a-boo window is done for a reason, which was stated in one of previous responses. The reason is that at night, cooler air blows down from the mountain and if you leave the bathroom window open, the mountain air cools the room by at least 5-10 degrees. This is how the locals deal with the weather as most do not use A/C. As for the dishes, we do provide additional melanin type dishes in order to reduce the number of broken and chipped dishes that we replace quite often . Our toaster is stored offsite and is made available on request. It is usually stored in the pantry next to the blender and lemon/orange juicer. The reason we keep it offsite and make it available upon request is because we found out that some guests do not get rid of the bread crumbs that fall to the bottom the the toaster before they put it back in the pantry, this attracting ants. We appreciate you considering us in the future, we have a lot of repeat customers that come visit us and inform their friends about our little unit. Having the beach and the park on either side of the complex is a big plus. No need to get into a car and drive to the beach. Also, i think watching the surfers/fish and turtles from the lanai is very entertaining as well. Thanks again an have a wonderful summer. Sincerely, Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Fabulous time at Kona Magic Sands

  • 4 of 5

Property is older but well maintained. Location is excellent. The waves breaking outside your lanai can't be beat. Really appreciated having air conditioning and the washer & dryer! Would definitely recommend!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Vicky. Appreciate your review. It helps clear up the previous comments from Ed D. The condo complex is old but built on solid ground. The association keeps up with the maintenance and they are always updating the old pipes, carpeting, fencing, you name it. The site manager does a great job with cleaning and the ground crew keep the gardens and palm trees in check. We look forward to hearing from you. Enjoy your summer. Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Where Do I Start

  • 1 of 5

Over all experience was not what we expected. It was a cute little condo and a great view off the ocean but... We were told that the housekeeper of the unit was an exceptional housekeeper . That was very important to us. To start with the condo smelled musty, the sheets smelled musty and were so old and thin. I was going to wash them before we went to bed. Just what you want to do on your first night in Hawaii. Then the washer in the condo would not work and smelled so bad like mold. It was so dirty in the place where you put the detergent and had slime and looked like mold to me on it. Not a good start to a 9 day stay. We tried to over look those things and enjoy ourselves anyway. Then we saw big cockroaches starting to appear in the condo! OMG! So disgusting!!! Outside is one thing but inside is quite another matter. We did not even cook or bring any food into the unit in fear of attracting more cockroaches. The roaches came anyway and more and more appeared. We contacted the owner and she said that that was unacceptable, which it was. She had her housekeeper buy US roach spray and traps. We did not pay the amount of money we paid to have to deal with there bugs. It put a damper on the vacation and we will never stay at this condo again. The cleaning items that were in the condo to make sure you helped in keeping it clean... ha ha were so old and outdated it was a joke. A vacuum that was so old it was blowing more dust around the place than picking it up. No dust mop, or cleaning items that were not old and doing what they should be doing. We had to end up buying trash bags, Kleenex, paper towels, and toilet paper because it ran out before our stay was over. I the wife had to spend too much time trying to fix and keep the place clean than should of been necessary. Oh yes, the shower controller was so hard to turn on and regulate the water the first night we had no hot water! I also had to fix that! Great vacation. Also no outlets by the bed so I could not us my c pap machine for sleep apnea and became very sick after our stay and ended up in the hospital with pneumonia for 10 days! All in all a way to costly trip for having to deal with so much unnecessary problems. Be aware that things are not always what they seem on these sights and VRBO rated them very well. Very disappointed in this condo and VRBO. The owners may say "We have never had any problems before" but come on now they always say that!

  • Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ed, Let me start by saying that I was in the condo a few days before your arrival and the items that you mention are not accurate. For one thing, if you read all the pre and post reviews, they speak for themselves. The washer and dryer work (as stated by the last reviewer too). Once you close the lid, you press on that corner and it goes. The laundry detergent goes IN the drum when it fills up with water. Maybe you are not familiar with this model. The sheets have a high thread count, hence softer. We have THE BEST housekeeper in Kona; she brings her Professional tools and supplies to clean the condo What's in the unit isn't used. Supplies are in the cabinet above the fridge. We always leave extra TP and Paper Towels, bags. We used to be renters too and this is one of my pet peeves, having to run out to get TP, so we always leave extras in. If you keep the place clean and keep the outside door and lanai screen doors closed, you will not invite roaches/geckos/birds into the unit. You contacted me 5 days AFTER your arrival to tell me about seeing 2 -3 roaches. They were not there on Day 1 or Day 2 of your arrival otherwise you would have called me right away. Need I say more? The bug sprays under the sink were old you said. Of course they are old. We never needed them before your stay. But we got you new sprays and traps. We use high end fans, shower fixtures, etc. in the unit. We have a "How To" document, with pictures, in the Welcome book to help people like yourself that might not be familiar with these high end fixtures, learn how to regulate the hot water in the shower . So there was nothing broken, so nothing to fix. Just to learn the use of high end fixtures. We do have outlets near the bed, where the floor lamp (not shown in the pictures) is plugged into. You could have plugged your CPAP machine there or could have mentioned it to me, i would have gladly supplied you with an extension cord. Just a suggestion for you Ed, from our Cable company. Some suspicious emails were sent using our router/IP on 4/19 in the AM . The suggestion is to make sure that your laptop or phone has the proper anti-malware installed to prevent future problems. This problem had raised red flags at the Cable company and they had slowed down the Wifi. We had it corrected on 5/31 when one of our guests reported the problem to us. Lastly, thank you for how dirty you had left the condo. I will notify VRBO/Other owners in our forums to watch out for you. Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Queen K. (hwy.11)
Nearest Beach
Magic Sands Beach
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2016 Low Season
Apr 16 2016 - Sep 30 2016
5 night minimum stay
$165
 
 
IRONMAN 2016
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 10 2016
7 night minimum stay
$180
 
 
Late 2016
Oct 11 2016 - Dec 15 2016
5 night minimum stay
$165
 
 
Holiday 2016
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$180
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Apr 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$180
 
 
2017 Low season
Apr 16 2017 - Sep 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$165
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $90 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 13.45%

Cancelation Policy:A refund of $150 is made to the same credit card used during the booking process, ONLY if the cancelation is made more than 61 days before the arrival date. Otherwise, we do not issue any refunds.Our Check-in time is 3PM Hawaii Standard Time (HST)Our checkout time is at 11AM Hawaii Standard Time (HST)THIS IS A NON-SMOKING UNIT.
Please be advised that we DO NOT collect Damage Deposit, INSTEAD, we require that your purchase insurance from VRBO. The latest fee is $59 for a $1500 insurance. This protects everyone and reduces the transaction fees that we pay. MAHALO.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Secure Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Vacuum System
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Dear guests, please provide your cell phone number when sending us inquiries. The reason for that is that we will contact you to review your request. This is due to a number of spam requests that we receive. Thank you.

Partner Offers