check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Absolute Oceanfront Suite with Spectacular Kona Sunsets

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
studio
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
Studio
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
5 - 10 nights

Description

Kailua-Kona Studio Rental Photos and Description

Large oceanfront studio with an extended lanai, sleeps 2

Kona Magic Sands is nestled between Magic Sands (La'Aloa) beach and Pahoehoe Beach Park. The unit was fully gutted and remodeled in June 2011.

As you open the front door and step inside the unit, you realize how clean and modern the unit is. You walk to the glass wall and open the doors to the lanai. You step outside and hear the ocean, you see the waves and the colorful fish swimming...maybe you see a few turtles swimming next to some snorkelers. You look at the 180 degrees of ocean at your feet and you realize that this is why you rented this unit. You sit outside at the dining table or enjoy a cold drink at the bar table/chairs as you watch the sunset with camera in hand. The palm trees dance with the tradewinds and you decide to sleep with the lanai doors open and screen doors closed so that you can hear the ocean.

The next morning, you grind your Kona coffee and brew a fresh pot and enjoy another day in paradise. You spot more colorful fish, sea turtles, dolphins, and in the winter, humpback whales; you might decide to get to see them up close and go snorkel/swim at the beach next door.

For dinner and after a day of sighseeing, you grill your dinner on the gas BBQ while you take a dip in the pool. You may choose to eat on the dining tables under the pavillion. At night, the quiet central air conditionner and stainless steel modern ceiling fans keep you cool. The updated kitchen with the granite countertops and stainless steel appliances help you create great frozen drinks or delicious dinners. Dimmable track lighting and under cabinet lights set the mood for an enjoyable evening. Large flat screen TV, in-wall speakers, state of the art receiver/DVD/CD player, iPod plug/play, cable TV, new furniture, bedding, towels, etc. add to your comfort. You can even do your laundry in the unit's washer and dryer and go home with clean clothes. There is a free assigned parking stall near the entrance to the condo, so you never have to look for a parking spot.

We are located on the famous Alii drive, where you can go for a walk/run. There is a public bus that stops in front of the condo and goes between the Kailua Pier (less than 4 miles away) and Keahou shopping center (2 miles away). Kailua town offers many restaurants/bars, and stores for shopping. Keohou has a few restaurants, a supermarket, drug store, cinemas, book store and more.

Enjoy hanging out at the beach or watch the hula dancers practice their routines in the park. Keahou offers daily free Hawaiian cultural activities, including ukulele lessons, making flower leis or watching a hula performances.

Whatever you do, you will have a great time on the Big Island.

P.S. If you have to combine work and play, we do have WiFi and the modem was just upgraded in September 2016.

If you choose to book our unit, we thank you in advance and request that you provide a mobile/cell phone number so that we may be able to contact you in case of an emergency.

Keywords: studio

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Sonia
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 7, 2016
Call Owner

About Sonia

We have been visiting Kailua-Kona for the past 20 years and finally decided to buy at KMS where we always stayed. The third floor unit had everything that we wanted for. So we bought it in 2010, gutted and remodeled the place to our liking. We hope you enjoy your stay and make many memories like we have. Kona is paradise for us and we are glad that we can share it with you. Aloha!

Sonia purchased this studio in 2010

Why Sonia chose Kona Coast

We love the location. We have stayed in KMS every time that we visited the Big Island. We have done so for the past 21 years. We enjoy the beach next door and the fact that there is so much to do here or just hang out and relax.

What makes this studio unique

The location can't be beat. The view from the lanai, the fish and turtles, the sunsets! You have to see it to believe it.

Guestbook comments from the owner

“Kona Magic Sands 303”

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 26, 2013



Paradise on a budget!



I love the Big Island and especially Kona; fell in love with it 40 years ago on my honeymoon. I dive and for many years dove with Dive Makai, but unfortunately the original family owned business was bought out by a mainlander who drove it into the ground. I have tried Jacks and they are good but I would also highly recommend Big Island Divers (same dive sites for less).I personally like to rent condos and have tried a variety of properties over the years. I have stayed at Kona Magic Sands a couple of times before and always liked the location. There aren’t a lot of beaches in Kona and this property is right next door to one of the nicest ones. This year I splurged and rented one of them (Unit 303). It is on the top, 3rd, floor so you have a large open lanai and you’re practically standing over the ocean. Sitting out on the lanai you can watch dolphins and turtles at almost any time. The constant surf provides a pleasant backdrop and you can see an amazing amount of reef fish just by looking down into the water, we call it porch diving.

There is large table and umbrella for al fresco dining, a lounge chair and some other seating out there so it is all very comfortable.

The unit inside is very nice, everything looks new. It is kind of laid out like a large hotel suite, very roomy. My wife really really liked the place (she has not always appreciated some of my previous choices).

There is a big screen TV, which I never turned on, but I did use the WiFi all the time which was pretty fast (looks like a cable modem)

The kitchen appliances, like everything else, looked new and we seemed to find everything we needed. We brought our Costco card and packed the fridge, so we pretty much ate in, or packed the fridge, so we pretty much ate in, or packed lunches to go most of the time. The farmers market is on Wednesdays and great place to get local food cheap. BTW the fish at Costco is really good but I think the best fish can be bought at Safeway which is near the local Walmart.

There is a restaurant on the property, although I didn't try it this trip. Tried it years ago and it was okay but it looks like it is under new management now. Something to try next year.

There was a washer/dryer in the unit which as divers came is real handy; because after a dive almost everything comes back wet.

Communication with the owner was quick and easy. My wife wants to re-rent the unit.
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 7

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(70 traveler reviews)

Absolute Oceanfront Suite with Spectacular Kona Sunsets
average rating of 4.8428574 based on 77 reviews
5

Condo overlooking the beautiful Kona shoreline

  • 5 of 5

Sonia, thank you so much for letting us share your beautiful condo for a week in October! It couldn't have been any more perfect. Your place is modern, beautiful, and well appointed. The view is spectacular! We had 180 degrees of incredible Kona ocean views starting from directly below our expansive lanai. I believe that the proximity to the water, coupled with direct access to Magic Sands beach, makes your condo a great choice that other places might charge many times your rates. We have owned many rental units in the past and know how much attention to detail they require. your instructions were easy to understand and access. We plan to vacation there again as soon as we can.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5

This unit was absolutely perfect for us! It was spotlessly clean, comfortably decorated and has an incredible view. Magic Sands beach is just a few steps away, and we did some of our best snorkeling right there. We saw dozens of tropical fish and I even found myself swimming next to a green sea turtle! Magic Sands is a short drive from the airport and to the shops and restaurants on Ali'i Drive. Kona is a fairly central location to just about everything, we took day trips to Black Sand Beach and Volcanoes National Park, Hilo and the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens, Captain Cook, The Painted Church and Place of Refuge.

This unit is equipped with some nice extras too, including a washer/dryer, a cooler, ice packs and Tommy Bahama beach chairs. Our one, and only suggestion would be to replace the high-top table on the lanai, it's just about reached the end of its usefulness.

I can highly recommend this unit to anyone, and hope to stay here again on our next visit!

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Susan, Thank you for submitting a review, we appreciate your time; other guests will benefit from reading your review and seeing the options they have for sightseeing our beautiful expanding island. Our lovely table has reached the end of its life, however, we are having a hard time finding the right replacement. I searched a lot on the island when i was there in September, but the selection is very limited. We have to think about the sun (can't be metal), wind (can't be lightweight or tip over quickly), rain (no standing water) and salt water (corrosion). I am leaning toward a more modern table but i have not made up my mind yet. Once i have a new table, we will update our pictures and share it on Facebook. Thank you. Sincerely, Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

So close to everything!

  • 5 of 5

The unit is well stocked and clean. We loved the lanai and the air conditioning worked great. This is an older condo complex but the grounds are well maintained and this unit is lovely. We enjoyed the pool and Magic Sands is literally steps away with good boogie boarding and awesome snorkeling. We could watch fish, turtles and even dolphins right from the lanai. Location is a great jumping off point for really anything you want to do on the big island. Honestly we saved a ton of money staying here and cooking our meals over how much we paid to stay at the Marriott last year. Only downside was the Internet did not work, we did all the trouble shooting possible but I ended up having to tether my cell phone to my lap top. If you are vacationing and not working you probably won't care about that though! Unfortunately it was a working vacation for me so it was a bit of an inconvenience. We will definitely return to KMS 303. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Emily, Thank you very much for the review and i am glad that the dolphins and the turtles came to entertain you. We have binoculars in the unit so that you can be closer to all the action and watch the snorkeling/dive boats stop to watch the dolphins play. I wish you had contacted me about the Wifi. We had the same situation occur in April and when one of our guests notified me, i was able to have the cable company reset the link. There is nothing wrong with our Wifi except that the cable company shuts the link down because they see traffic being generated using our wifi address. There are emails being sent out with sexual undertones and the good guys and gals at Oceanic Time Warner cable company notice it and turn off the traffic, hence we request that our guests make sure that their laptops have the latest anti-virus software installed on it. I will correct this today. Lastly, thank you for your review and for your decision to stay with us in the future. We appreciate you keeping our condo nice and clean too! Sincerely, Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous sunset view, convenient location

  • 5 of 5

This is a gorgeous ocean front condo on the top floor of a rather mundane looking building. The owner has done a lovely job of making it very comfortable and livable. The location is very convenient and the sunsets are unbeatable! We ate breakfast every day on the patio overlooking the ocean and a nice looking beach adjacent to the building. Highly recommend and we will stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michael, Thank you very much for submitting a nice review, we appreciate your time. We are fortunate to have such a nice location in Kailua-Kona. Close to everything yet nice and secluded too. I hope you enjoyed Hilo and were able to see the volcano flow. When you do stay with us in the future, please feel free to remind me about my promise :) Thanks again, Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Stay!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was everything that the pictures looked like and better!

The inside of this condo is very nicely decorated and all amenities you could think of!

We loved the location right at the ocean's edge and the surrounding views!

Thank you for sharing your condo!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Wayne and Gayle, Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you found our condo better looking in person that in the pictures! We strive to provide our guests with the amenities that will make their stay enjoyable. The sunsets are beautiful, the sound of the waves is intoxicating and watching the surfers is entertaining as well. Thanks again and have a wonderful rest of the year. Sincerely, Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A very nice place...

  • 5 of 5

This rental is very nice and modern. The bed was super comfortable and the space was open for its size. The lanai is super cool to be able to see the fish and everything else. The condo has all the amenities including a washer and dryer. The only thing that is missing is a dishwasher. If you want a really nice clean full equipped condo with great view and a great lanai for a couples adventure i recommend it.

We will be staying here again. Sonja was very prompt and arrangements were easy.

Thanks Sonja for letting us use your great home away from home.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kurt, Thank you very much for your review; it is always a pleasure seeing our past guests come to stay with us again and again. We would have loved to have a drawer type dishwasher in the unit, but the condo association wouldn't let us do so. They already frowned on the Washer and Dryer, but that was already in the unit when we bought it. So they couldn't make us remove it :-) Enjoy your summer. Sincerely, Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Queen K. (hwy.11)
Nearest Beach
Magic Sands Beach
Car: recommended

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late 2016
Oct 11 2016 - Dec 15 2016
5 night minimum stay
$165
 
 
Holiday 2016
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$180
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Apr 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$180
 
 
2017 Low season
Apr 16 2017 - Oct 6 2017
5 night minimum stay
$165
 
 
2017 Ironman
Oct 7 2017 - Oct 16 2017
10 night minimum stay
$180
 
 
Late 2017
Oct 17 2017 - Dec 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$165
 
 
Holiday 2017
Dec 16 2017 - Dec 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$180
 
 
Winter 2018
Jan 1 2018 - Apr 15 2018
5 night minimum stay
$185
 
 
2018 Low Season
Apr 16 2018 - Oct 5 2018
5 night minimum stay
$170
 
 
2018 Ironman
Oct 6 2018 - Oct 15 2018
10 night minimum stay
$185
 
 
Late 2018
Oct 16 2018 - Dec 15 2018
5 night minimum stay
$170
 
 
Holiday 2018
Dec 16 2018 - Dec 31 2018
5 night minimum stay
$185
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $90 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Cancelation Policy:A refund of $150 is made to the same credit card used during the booking process, ONLY if the cancelation is made more than 61 days before the arrival date. Otherwise, we do not issue any refunds.Our Check-in time is 3PM Hawaii Standard Time (HST)Our checkout time is at 11AM Hawaii Standard Time (HST)THIS IS A NON-SMOKING UNIT.
Please be advised that we DO NOT collect Damage Deposit, INSTEAD, we require that your purchase insurance from VRBO. The latest fee is $59 for a $1500 insurance. This protects everyone and reduces the transaction fees that we pay. MAHALO.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Secure Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Vacuum System
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Dear guests, please provide your cell phone number when sending us inquiries. The reason for that is that we will contact you to review your request. This is due to a number of spam requests that we receive. Thank you.

Partner Offers