Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

The Ocean House at Rye Ocean Beach

Bedrooms 6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

This property is an absolute gem.

The ultimate resort-style luxury beach house, just steps from the ocean with access by footpath to the back beaches of the stunning Mornington Peninsula, this magnificent six-bedroom property in huge grounds has an outstanding entertaining area, complete with solar heated pool, heated outdoor spa, cabana, shower, outdoor fireplace and outdoor kitchen. You might never want to leave.

The Ocean House is sheltered behind the sand dunes, in 2 acres of private ground and allows the utmost privacy, it's nestled into the National Park and you can hear the ocean in the background and walk to the beach down the coastal path.

There are 3 excellent living areas, the main room which is upstairs, bathing in sunlight from floor to ceiling windows with a fabulous double sided open fireplace. The open plan dining area has a table for 10.

The gourmet granite kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need including an inbuilt Miele coffee machine, a pantry, double door Smeg fridge/freezer and a fabulous new Smeg double oven.

There is a casual family room with large TV/Foxtel and a glass wall which tilts up to allow indoor/outdoor living next to the huge decked courtyard with dining for 18 and the pool and spa area.

On the ground floor level there is a superb home theatre with a full size projection screen, great for a rumpus room for kids and next to a games room with a table tennis table and dart board. Pets are welcome.

6 Bedrooms with plenty of room for all.

There are 3 bedrooms and a bathroom (shower) with a separate toilet on the ground floor level.

Bedroom 1 has 2 sets of bunks (sleeps 4)

Bedroom 2 has a single set of bunks and a single trundle bed (sleeps 3)

Bedroom 3 on this level has a queen bed (2)

Bedroom 4 is the luxurious master bedroom - with a king bed - which includes a stunning enormous en suite with an egg bath, double shower and walk-thru robes (sleeps 2).

Bedroom 5 has a queen bed and a single pull out bed (sleeps 3)

Bedroom 6 has a queen bed (2)

There is an additional sofa bed in the area near the stairs. (2)

There is also one single air mattress which can be set up in a room of your choice. (1)

There is also a travel cot and high chair

The family bathroom has a spa bath and separate shower.

There is ducted heating throughout the house and 5 wall mounted Daikon split system AC units in the upstairs area plus a portable air conditioner.

Totalling more than 50 squares including decks and balconies, there is a huge driveway and entrance which is fully fenced with plenty of off street parking.

This stunning property really is the perfect beach getaway.

This property is ideal for executive retreats, large family and friend gatherings, great for kids and is pet friendly too.

Please note that linen can be hired at an additional cost however there are doonas and pillows on all beds should you wish to bring your own

The property is not suitable for end of year school celebrations or noisy groups.

Smoking is prohibited both inside and outside the property

Please note that linen can be hired for $33 per single bed and $61 per queen.

More Details

Property Manager
Nikki Maxwell
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 12, 2018


Rye House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 19
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • Spa use is prohibited after 10pm due to local bylaws
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 19
  • Bedroom 1 - 4 twin/ single , (2 sets of bunks)
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , (set of bunks and a trundle)
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , (king master with ensuite)
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , (queen and single fold out)
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , (queen)
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , (queen)
  • additional double sofa bed in area near stairs and single air mattress
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • forests
  • winery tours
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
26% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
The Ocean House at Rye Ocean Beach
average rating of 4.4 based on 15 reviews

Fantastic Property

  • 5 of 5

We had a large group of 16 stay here for 2 nights, we all loved the property!

Very spacious, comfortable, modern and lots of things to do to keep everyone entertained, from the spa, pool, beach, watching a movie in the theater room, playing card/board games or just enjoying the beautiful views on the deck.

We will definitely be staying again

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted you had such a lovely time, we'd love to welcome you back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

We stayed 3 nights at ocean house, with a full house and it was fabulous. Huge big spaces so didn’t feel like we were on top of each other. Great location right next to beach but also away from other neighbouring properties so felt very private. Really enjoyed the spa (esp with no additional cost for use). Kitchen was well stocked.

Despite only staying for 3 nights, between all of us there was a lot of rubbish accumulated, so greater rubbish allowance for groups staying longer than 2/3 nights may be required/beneficial.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you all enjoyed your stay, it's a wonderful house for a group of friends to relax in. We actually supply oversized bins for all of our guests however one was recently stolen from the property and that has now been replaced. Hope to welcome you back another time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia


  • 3 of 5

excellent location and a very spaciously designed property that suited my large group. However the property does need maintenance works. light bulbs outside in the entertainment area to be replaced, kitchen cupboard hinges need to be fixed and equipment like table tennis board should be protected from the elements. I am sure these would be attended to. So yes I might stay at this property again.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback Raj, the Ocean House is constantly maintained in order to make sure that it's in the best condition so we appreciate you taking the time to let us know.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Rye, Victoria, Australia

Good place

  • 2 of 5

Needs some kitchen up dates egg slide? and checked before new guest Bed still set up in the walking wardrobe Great place good times had by all

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay Lisa, we do try to make sure the kitchen is well stocked - missed the egg slicer!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Most Beautiful Location and Exceptional Pool

  • 4 of 5

Absolutely beautiful home in a location that was just so beautiful. Views from every window are magnificent. The Pool is very deep and private and great for a gathering. We had the full amount of people allowed and there was so much room for everyone. Will definitely stay again, very easy communication to book.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rye, Victoria, Australia

Rye ocean get away

  • 4 of 5

We just got back from a week at The Ocean House in Rye. All round it was a comfortable stay and i would return. Although, maintenance is needed in the pool area. A lot of the kitchen cutlery was dirty and had food still remaining on it from the previous tenants, also the bins were full when we arrived there and had not been emptied so we had a lot of rubbish that we had to get rid of. Upstairs air conditioning is excellent but note downstairs only has a portable air con.

the house is in a secluded location and the private entrance to the back beach is awesome. Other than these small cons, the house is a great get away

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback Kate, always much appreciated. We do ask our guests to call with any issues on arrival so that we can immediately attend the property to sort them out, always happy to do that. The pool fence has been completely re-done and a maintenance check carried out at the property. We always leave 2 extra large bins free for guests use, being such a popular property, there are sometimes additional bins on the road waiting collection.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Close access to ocean beach


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties