Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Franklin House - Sleeps 20/8 Bedrooms

Bedrooms 8
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights


About the property

Large spacious house-great for multiple families and large functions or retreats

Franklin House comfortably sleeps 20, with plenty of room for being together and enjoying each other's time, but plenty of space if you need 'me time'!

The upper level consists of a large open plan area, 2 lounge areas with comfortable leather couches and Fetch TV (including 32 Satelite channels and Optus Sports), a fully equipped kitchen, 5 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a large decking area, which has a 6 burner bbq, outdoor dining setting and sun loungers. There is also air-conditioning and a coonara for your comfort.

The lower level has 3 bedrooms, a laundry room with washing machine and tumble dryer, a bathroom and a cozy lounge. There is a double garage and plenty of room outside for 3-4 vehicles.


Bedrooms 1 to 5 - Double Bed,

Bedrooms 6 to 7 - Double Bed & 1 Single Bed, with a cot in the master bedroom.

Bedroom 8 - 4 Single Beds.

(Sorry kids, we know you enjoy bunk beds, but frankly there's plenty of room so there's no need - enjoy the space!)

Age and Identification will need to be provided pre acceptance of booking. All Doona's and pillows are provided but you should bring your own linen. If you can't, linen can be arranged, please enquire about the cost.


We are located in Rhyll, a peaceful fishing village. Franklin House is about 500 metres from the foreshore, where you will find restaurants and bars. A 5 minute drive away is Cowes, where you can shop and dine.

Other attractions include:

Penguin Parade at The Nobbies,

Chocolate Factory,

Amaze N Things,

Grand Prix Circuit,

Scenic Flights,

Koala Conservation Centre,

Stunning Surf beaches,

Inter-Island Cruises,

Rhyll Trout Farm,

Fishing charters.

Tennis courts, basketball hoop and playground close by - 300m.

And if you want to see the local wildlife up close, take a drive down Wallaby Way (ok, it's the road to Cowes from Rhyll) after sunset and you will see plenty of wallabies, possums, etc - just drive carefully!

Phillip Island has it all, so go and explore, you won't be disappointed!

Check out our Facebook page : Franklin House Phillip Island.

More Details

Jason & Liza-Mari Stephenson
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
March 14, 2018


Rhyll House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 8 - 4 twin/ single
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • playground
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • surfing
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Franklin House - Sleeps 20/8 Bedrooms
average rating of 4.7391305 based on 23 reviews

Great property for big groups!

  • 5 of 5

The house is very spacious to accomodate an extended family or group of friends, has got everything one needs for the stay and is close to everything on Phillip island. There is a nice walk from the house via the boat pier leading to Rhyl Historical walk. The owner Jason is very prompt and easy with communications.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent House

  • 5 of 5

We had a group of 17 Adults stay for MOTOGP 2017 weekend. All the facilities in this house made it a very comfortable weekend. Everything needed plus all the extras of a home away from home.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Great house

  • 5 of 5

Property is exactly as described and there is plently of room for large groups. I would rent the property again and Jason is fantastic to deal with.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Incredible stay!

  • 5 of 5

We booked this trip for a women's football team for bonding and to celebrate our season. Each and every one of us LOVED it!!

The house is gorgeous and very spacious. The owner is great and very comminicable.

I would recommend the stay to anyone and everyone and we will definitely be staying here again.

Easiest 5 stars I've ever given.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely house!

  • 5 of 5

Brilliant house for large groups. There was plenty of room for us all to fit comfortably. The kitchen, lounge and dining area was all very spacious. The outdoor decking was nice to sit on and allowed for some fresh air. Location was perfect, quiet area and only a short 5 minute drive into town. Would 100% stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
15 Rhyll-Newhaven Rd, Rhyll

Dirty and smelly!

  • 1 of 5

We recently stayed at Franklin House with my family and was very disappoint.

Firstly the gas bottles for the BBQ were all empty, we couldn't even enjoy our first breakfast because the gas ran out. The tv reception was terrible, we could hardly watch tv, the reception would drop in out all the time. The recycling bins were full to the brim as well so we couldn't recycle anything.

Also on arrival the house was not clean, there was grit and dust all over the floor along with plastic cups under the beds. When we went to give it a good clean, we moved the couches and saw mouse droppings everywhere along with dust, crumbs and left over food scraps. The couches were also full of crumbs and dirt.

There was also a terrible fish smell coming from down stairs that smelt the entire house. We worked out that it was coming from the fridge in the garage so we gave it a clean and sprayed it with glen20 but the house still smelt all weekend.

Apart from there being a great amount of rooms and beds, I can't say anything else was great about this house and for the amount it cost for 2 nights, we all expected a lot better.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Firstly may I say sorry that your stay at Franklin House was disappointing. May I address these issues: - I am sorry for the gas running out, there should have been one full bottle spare. Thank you for sending me your receipt, I reimbursed you straight away. - I will look into the tv reception because we have not had an issue before where the picture was so bad it was not viewable, and I could imagine that would be frustrating. - The recycle bins on Phillip Island are only emptied every two weeks, there were, however, 2 blue bins provided that were empty as well as the general rubbish bin. - The issues you had with dirt and the smell from the fridge were only brought to my attention after you had left and had not been mentioned when you contacted me over the weekend about the bbq gas and tv reception. If you had let me know, we would have been more than happy to deal with this for you. Again, I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at Franklin House. Jason
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary
Other Activities:

Rhyll Beach


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties