About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum StayNone
Welcome to Wombarra,
Wombarra is an Aboriginal word meaning black duck. It is a very significant area to aboriginal people, particularly women.
Wombarra is a beautiful coastal village, just minutes from the well known Sea Cliff Bridge
Look out onto the dramatic escarpment which falls into the ocean
The property backs onto a pocket of semi rainforest and faces north east with the ocean to the east and escarpment to the west. It is truly a unique and peaceful location.
The apartment is generous in size with high ceilings and huge windows facing north east for abundant light and sun in winter.
The bedrooms are spacious with generous storage space.
The kitchen has both a gas cook top and electric oven, perfect for cooking that special meal to enjoy on the balcony overlooking the treetops to the sea.
There are two bathrooms.. the main featuring a bath and a view to the forest.
Wombarra beach and ocean pool is only a 5 minutes stroll and perhaps enjoy a cleaning ale at Wombarra Bowlo on the way back.
You can easily walk to the famous Sea Cliff Bridge which is only a few kilometres from the apartment
The main city of Wollongong is a 20 minute drive south.
The closest supermarket is a 5 minutes drive.
Trains and buses are easily accessible.
Where we are and what there is to enjoy
Welcome to Wombarra, just one hour drive from the city centre of Sydney.
Alternatively, enjoy the train trip from the city with Wombarra Station just a 5 minute walk.
Buses also travel up and down the coast linking the coastal villages
Wombarra is a beautiful coastal village,just minutes from the well known Sea Cliff Bridge.
The Scarborough Hotel is just a short stroll away. Enjoy their breakfast and lunch menus whilst sitting by the cliff overlooking the ocean...you may even spot a humpback whale and her baby making their way up or down the coast.
The area rich in Aboriginal history. There are many walks from a saunter to an arduous trek through the National parks and reserves just minutes away.
We get our coffee in Coledale, within walking distance along the coastal path. There are also several good restaurants within easy walking distance, including the Black Duck café at Wombarra Bowlo, Cheddos Restaurant and Coledale Cafe.
Thirroul is about 8 minutes by car and provides all services as well as a wide selection of shops, great cafes and restaurants.
Our thoughts on what makes a great experience
We will provide you with the space to just enjoy the peace of the landscape and perhaps read a great book on the verandah overlooking the treetops to the ocean.
You can play cards with the family, cook a fabulous feast, explore the many shopping delights of the area. Hike the trails of the Royal National Park along the cliff tops.
Observe the flight of man and their gliders at Stanwell tops, perhaps dare to go two up with one of the training schools. Fall out of a plane at Wollongong
Catch a $10 movie at the Gala or venture to the Outdoor Summer Cinema near the Wollongong University.
Catch a train up the coast just the enjoy the majestic views as the train winds its way along the cliffs and through the tunnels. Observe some of the remains of a region once rich in mining. If you are lucky, you may be visiting when the steam train travels from Bowral down to the Illawarra coast.
Spend time with loved ones playing games, singing, dancing making up plays
you can just enjoy the true luxury of nothing
nothing but contemplation and gratitude for a beautiful experience with those you love.
- Response time:
- within a few days
- Calendar last updated:
- Mar 10, 2018
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 2:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
We had a good stay in Wombarra - the location of this place is excellent. We enjoyed having the beach/pool so close and the bowling club right next door for a quick drink/meal.
The place is good - had everything we needed and was comfortable for four adults and two babies. It's worth noting that you can hear noise from upstairs but we brought white noise for the babies and this blocked out any doors or door falls which might have woken them. Thanks to our hosts for making everything easy.
While the house accomodates four, there was only me. I needed a retreat and this was perfect. The spa bath, the peace and quiet, the gorgeous walks close by, the proximity to cafes, restaurants, shops, pubs, not to forget the beaches, were all beautiful. I mostly cooked for myself. The kitchen is very small, however.
Miriam, the manager, is easily contactable and very helpful. The house was clean, the bath linen - a particular love of mine - is lovely. Perhaps some soap for the shower and a hand towel would be good. I also needed to read the list of inclusions more carefully because there is no hair dryer.
The four star rating is only because the house is not luxurious, just really comfortable and entirely lovely.
Not real happy
I agree totally with comments made by Richard.
1. The ads made reference to enjoying an Aussie BBQ on the patio... impossible as there is no BBQ.
2. Once people moved in upstairs it was noisy every time anyone upstairs moved around.
3. There was no hot water for our shower this morning.
4. I was gaulled by the SMS I read this morning from the manager reminding me we had to be out between 10-11 as I had been previously told, by the manager, we could say until noon without any issue. When confronted the answer was that the unit was now rented and needed cleaning before next people arrive... in short NOT MY PROBLEM!
These things messed up my plans for the weekend and spoilt the weekend away. I am expecting a refund for the inconvenience you caused me.
We totally agree with all the positives mentioned in the other reviews however there was no mention in the info provided about the sound transfer from guest above. Depending on who is above - it will be very noisy at best and annoyingly so if adults and children above show no consideration for the guests below . There needs to be an explicit disclosure of this. Also limited hot water and no BBQ facilities were a problem especially with such limited kitchen facilities.
Hi Richard I am so sorry to hear that the issues you mentioned interfered with your holiday. I am away at the moment but will talk to my manager to see what practical steps we can take to help ensure it does not reoccur. Please note the home is designed along environmental principals and the water is heated by solar panels which can be boosted when needed. kind regards Julia
The name says it all! Peaceful Sanctuary
We really loved our stay here. So peaceful, plenty of space with everything you need. Such a gorgeous setting. We saw a beautiful sunrise from the outdoor verandah surrounded by trees. A short drive took us to Thirroul, Austinmer and we spent most of our time at the gorgeous Wombarra beach rockpools. It was a short stay that left me feeling more relaxed and in holiday mode than holidays longer and further away! There's great coffee and cafes between Wombarra and Thirroul too that we embraced.
We'll definitely return and stay longer and thanks to Miriam for your lovely welcoming texts and ease of access and use of the property.
A place to relax
A good place to relax. Comfortable surrounds. Can be a little noisy due to upstairs tenants on wooden floorboards.
Additional information about rental rates
For this property: ‘Weekend Night’ refers to Friday night and/or Saturday night (per night) The ‘Nightly’ rate refers to Sunday night through to Thursday night (per night average) The ‘Weekly’ rate is for a full 7 day week Rates listed based on 2 guests. Property has 3 beds and can sleep a maximum 4 guests