Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon


Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Self contained and thoughtfully fitted out, Sefton Cottage is a delightful and relaxing holiday destination suited to couples, families or garden lovers of all ages.


Well equipped kitchen with gas cooking, dishwasher and all the basics staples supplied making your stay a breeze.

One king bedroom plus two double bedrooms all with garden views.

Lounge and sitting rooms with combustion fires create a cosy and warm atmosphere throughout the cottage.

2 generous bathrooms.

Sun filled outdoor entertaining deck

APPLE TV and extensive DVD collection to choose from.


Wander the gardens enjoying the myriad of secluded garden paths, take in the 1000’s of cool climate plantings within the garden with a never ending spectrum of colour throughout the seasons. Enjoy the reflections pond or just throw a rug onto the lawn and let time stand still.

More Details

Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2017


Mount Wilson House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • forests


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
22% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia


  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Sefton Cottage for 2 nights and found it to be perfect! The beds were comfy, the kitchen well-equipped, and the gardens were even more beautiful than the pictures would suggest.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Liz, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I guess we can't ask for more than that. The garden is a real labour of love. You were great guests and looked after this magical space. Cheers The Booking Team at iRIS PROPERTY
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful escape to an oasis of flowers

  • 5 of 5

A weekend admits the flowers and trees of Sefton has restored our spirits. A wonderful place to stay- from the moment we arrived we were planning our return.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Jen, Sounds like the stay at Sefton did you the world of good. It is a beautiful property in a beautiful location. You and your fellow guests were great and would love to see you back. Cheers The Booking Team at iRIS PROPERTY
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Comfortable house but not 5 stars!

  • 3 of 5

We were disappointed with Sefton Cottage and didn’t think it was worth the money we paid for the 2 nights.

The positives were the beautiful gardens and the comfortable beds.

The negatives were a wooden table which collapsed. Luckily no one was injured but all of us were in shock after it happened.

The shower in the second bathroom leaked everywhere because the shower door didn’t close properly.

The door latch on the first bathroom was very difficult to open and gave 2 of our family members a graze on the finger.

There was also no iron or ironing board which was very frustrating because we needed to iron our clothes for a wedding we were attending.

Unfortunately there was a black out the second night we were there and we couldn’t find any torches in the house.

And if you are a light sleeper the generator noise is constant 24 hours a day which made it hard to sleep.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Katy, We have spoken with both the owner and the cleaner with regards to your concerns. I must admit the owner was little mystified re the "generator" as there isn't one there. I think that the "generator" was the water pump and I assume that when you turned the tap on when the power went out to see if you have water when the power came back on the tap was left running. Rural properties while beautiful and peaceful do need a sensitive approach to water usage especially in times of low rainfall. The owner has also checked and the iron and ironing board are in the laundry. There are candles on the mantle and located on the table along with matches on the mantle. The nightlight which I believe you emailed me about comes on when there is no power and it is also a torch. You did mention in an email to me that the night light did come on. The cost for the damage to the antique table and the light that occurred during your stay the owner will absorb. It is an antique table which is part of the magic of Sefton Cottage. Unfortunately antique furniture is not as robust as modern furniture. We will attend to the shower and we do appreciate you letting us know. The doors are sticking at the moment which is an issue with the extraordinarily dry weather that we have been experiencing and hopefully rain will bring things back into balance. We are pleased you enjoyed the gardens and the comfy beds. Regards The Booking Team at iRIS PROPERTY
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Beautiful countryside cottage!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughtly enjoyed our stay at this charming and comfortable cottage.We will definitely come again!

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Emily, Thank you for taking the time to review Sefton Cottage. We would love to see you again as you were great guests, Autumn is a great time to visit with all the colour. Cheers The Booking Team at iRIS PROPERTY
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Cosy cottage in beautiful surrounds

  • 4 of 5

We had a very pleasant stay at Sefton Cottage. The grounds are so beautiful and would be at their peak in Spring which would be a bit warmer too! My only comment in relation to comfort would be to replace the double beds with queen beds. We all appreciated the home touches and added extras and enjoyed some memorable good times around the dining table.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Kerry, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes the grounds are spectacular in Spring and also amazing in Autumn with all the autumn colour. Have taken on board your comments re the bedding. Hope to see you again maybe in Spring. Cheers The Booking Team at iRIS PROPERTY
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Camden, New South Wales, Australia

Wonderful place

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful stay even thought it rained. Beautiful fire and gardens as usual. We have stayed before and went back again. Fantastic for a break from a busy life. We will go again!

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Anne, thank you for the review. Pleased you had a wonderful stay despite the rain. Hopefully next time the weather will be more obliging. Once again you were great guests. You are always welcome!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • For this property:
    ‘Weekend Night’ refers to Friday night and/or Saturday night (per night)
    The ‘Nightly’ rate refers to Sunday night through to Thursday night (per night average)
    The ‘Weekly’ rate is for a full 7 day week
    Rates listed based on 6 guests. Property has 3 beds and can sleep a maximum 6 guests

    Mandatory Costs
    Bond Deposit: $500 per stay
    Cleaning and linen: $180 per stay

You might like these similar properties