Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Sandgroper ~ Right on the Beach!

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

Sandgroper is located on one of the most pristine beaches in Australia.

The views are stunning from the living area and the two main bedroom's look out at white sandy beaches and blue sky's.

Sandgroper holiday house has absolute beach front access.

Perfect for families, where you can take a short stroll directly in front of the house to the beach. The beach is shallow and safe for swimming and playing.

There are two decks for entertaining and having a BBQ or just sitting back on a deck chair with a glass of wine or two, taking in the view and listening to the waves.

Sandgroper has three bedroom. The main bedroom has a King bed, the second room has a queen bed and the third bedroom has two singles. Extra guests can be arranged where we can supply a fold away bed. Please advise if you require a cot or high chair.

There is Foxtel for you to enjoy if you would like to relax on the extensive and comfortable lounge.

There is plenty of parking.

Sandgroper is close to many attractions, so be sure to book enough nights to enjoy them all.

Experiences such as a food & wine tour, wineglass bay cruises, scenic flights, 4WD bike tours, kayak tours, Sail Freycinet and a special dinning experience such as "Tombolo".

For all you nature lover's, there are plenty of walks and secluded beaches to enjoy.

Stay for a week & come fishing!!

Sandgroper has plenty of room to park your boat, also in & out access so you don't need to reverse or manoeuvre your boat.

There is a boat ramp only 2 minute drive away, at the other end of the street.

There is basic fishing gear for you to take down to the beach where you can catch flathead, salmon and only occasionally seaweed ;)

Perfect for jet ski's, kayak's, stand up paddle boards, and surf boards. Although small, in the right conditions there can be a nice little beach break right out front, which is quite good for beginner surf riders.

Recreational Crayfish season opens in November, why not bring back your catch and cook on the BBQ.

More Details

Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
October 11, 2017


Other Activities:

Winegalss Bay


Coles Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Child's Highchair
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • forests
  • winery tours
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
9% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Sandgroper ~ Right on the Beach!
average rating of 4.181818 based on 11 reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

It's just ok

  • 3 of 5

Look you can't fault the view and the location. But the house is tired. just lacks character. Beds & linen are basic. Could use some decent ambient lighting. It's not bad but it's not great.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Perth, Western Australia, Australia

Loved our stay

  • 5 of 5

We were really impressed with this house, the location and views were just amazing. We walked down to the beach each day, just in front of the house.

Our kids really enjoyed themselves. We found the kitchen was well stocked & had all the essentials, tea, coffee, oil etc. The spa was a bonus.

It is an older house but has been decked out nicely. We look forward to coming back in December.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing View & that's about it

  • 1 of 5

Well where do we start, firstly I will admit the company that handles the house had great communication so I can't fault them one bit. Entry and finding the house was easy and its in a quiet street. Opening the front door our group of five was amazed by the view but that's where it stopped. Right away the house had a tired look, screens were bowed in and out so insects could come and go, the bathroom was clean but extremely outdated and small for a single bathroom house. Several lights didn't work so we used our iPhone lights to help, the back deck was missing a chair and we couldn't believe the amount of smoke buds left behind last guest, the rooms themselves were clean but seemed out of place as they were either just old mis matched furnature or just missing items. All in all this house had a amazing view but that's all, also the long lie down chair that is on the photo (one main reason we booked this) was no where to be seen. For $300 a night this isn't worth it, I would pay $150-$200 max but as a whole our group was very disappointed!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Brian, Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed you have felt this way about Sandgroper and did not enjoy your stay, as most of our guests absolutely love this house! The views and location, being absolutely right on the beach is why this property is constantly booked and so popular and why it is this rate. I can assure you that the rates are in line with the quality of the house. I could send you links to the houses listed at $150-$200 in this area and they are definitely not like this property, in fact there are not many at all listed below $170p.n in winter and that is for a very basic property. If the house was brand new it would have at least another $150 added per night to the rate. We are honest about the description of our properties and try to leave photo's unenhanced, so that guests can make an accurate choice in what accommodation they would like and what is suitable for them to select. Most of the furnishing are actually less than a year old. Also all of the furnishing that are in the photo's (except the deck chair), can clearly been seen in these images, so perhaps a different property would have been more suitable for you to book. If you were looking for something more modern we could have recommended a different property for you, that would be more suitable to your needs. Alternatively, if you would have notified us upon your arrival that this house for some reason was not what you were expecting or wanting, we could have happily arranged alternative accommodation for you right there and then. The deck chair has only recently been damaged by past guests, we do have 2 more arriving soon, however in a remote location replacing items like this can't always happen straight away. We do have high standard of cleaning, however our staff must have missed the terracotta pot outside with cigarette butts, so sorry about that, we will notify staff. We checked the lighting since this review, to find that 2 globes were blown, they were in places that were not impacting on the overall lighting (as this house has a lot of down lights & lamps), they have been replaced. There was still adequate lighting, I'm a bit confused about you needing mobile phones for lighting?? As we state in all of our correspondence if you do have any issues or require assistance to contact us, if you do not contact us, we unfortunately can't help you after you have left the property and only hear about these issues in a bad review. The owner has got plans to make changes and improvements to this property, it is a work in progress. We really appreciate your feedback, although we are also disappointed and are hoping you had a wonderful Tassie experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scottsdale, Tasmania, Australia

Tranquil spot with spectacular views

  • 5 of 5

We were 2 couples spending one night at Sandgroper. One of the group had a broken ankle and couldn't join us on our planned walk up to the lookout, but he was so delighted to be settled on the comfy sofa, with a few snacks, looking out over the gorgeous views, that we all decided that the walk didn't seem quite as much fun as staying to enjoy it too and settled ourselves down next to him! The living/dining area is enormous & beautifully appointed, and although the rest of the place is standard little beach house, it has everything you need for a pleasant holiday. The toilet is separate to the bathroom so we didn't find one bathroom an issue at all. And Verina, the manager, couldn't have been more helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

Sooo Relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay in this house. The view was to die for! You could just sit all day and watch out the window. Beach just outside the gate. The house was immaculate when we arrived, beautiful clean sheets, comfy beds and big bath towels. Our doggies had a ball with long walks along the beach (Dog Friendly house) Would love to go back in Summer to stay for longer!!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Fantastic views and location but that's about it

  • 3 of 5

There is no doubt that the views here are amazing! The property however could do with a thorough clean and some TLC. There were greasy marks and cob webs on the windows and we were bitten by fleas during our stay. Also there were things inside the property not working such as the bedroom TV and Foxtel and the front door knob became inoperable during our stay. We ran out of toilet paper after the second day so some extra supplies would have been great. A clothes horse also would have come in handy. On the upside, Verina was very polite and helpful and did try and get the Foxtel working and the location is beautiful.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0





  • For this property:
    ‘Weekend Night’ refers to Friday night and/or Saturday night (per night)
    The ‘Nightly’ rate refers to Sunday night through to Thursday night (per night average)
    The ‘Weekly’ rate is for a full 7 day week
    Rates listed based on 2 guests. Property has 4 beds and can sleep a maximum 9 guests

You might like these similar properties